C
Just Said Yes July 2020

For my legal ceremony - wear my dress or save for the real deal?

cat, on April 29, 2020 at 10:19 AM Posted in Wedding Attire 0 15
Saved
My fiancé and I are supposed to be getting married in July. We are looking at options to possibly have an intimate ceremony with parents and siblings only to get legally married on our date, and then to postpone our real “wedding” and reception to a later date. (I’m a teacher and we’re long distance so we need to get married this summer so I can move!) my question is, should I wear my wedding dress to the intimate ceremony or save it for the real thing later? Part of me wants to wait and let it be a surprise but another part of me wants the excuse to wear it twice. 😂 what would you do?

15 Comments

Latest activity by Tina, on May 4, 2020 at 2:37 PM
  • C
    Dedicated October 2021
    C ·
    • Flag
    I would wear it twice!
  • Hannah
    Master July 2019
    Hannah ·
    • Flag
    I don't think there's really any right answer here. For me, I think it would depend on where are we getting married and what kind of dress. For instance, I probably wouldn't want to trudge a giant ballgown through my parents backyard or something like that. I would just be mindful of if there's a way the setting can potentially dirty or damage your dress (snag on some branches or walk through mud). I may shy away from it if that's the case because I wouldn't want to risk it not being able to get cleaned or repaired properly. Otherwise, I would totally do it. These dresses ain't cheap and why not try and get your money's worth!
  • M
    Just Said Yes March 2020
    Marissa ·
    • Flag
    I wore it for my small ceremony with parents and siblings, and I’ll wear it again if we are able to have a reception when this is all over! Best of luck! I know this was hard for me to go through.
  • Gen
    Champion June 2019
    Gen ·
    • Flag