Skip to main content
Michelle
Just Said Yes May 2022

dj my own reception?

Michelle, on December 7, 2021 at 11:31 AM Posted in Wedding Reception 0 10
Saved
I’m considering not hiring a DJ for a couple of reason, just wondering how disastrous this could be… we aren’t doing a ceremony and are hoping to have an early dinner at our barn reception, followed by a mixture of dancing and live performances…

My husband and I are amateur (but pretty decent) musicians, I was a professional dancer and we have a lot of friends that perform which we would like to incorporate into the festivities.
We’d also like to include some Bollywood music (and potentially performances) since my husbands family is Indian. Since so much of this will be live entertainment we didn’t know how necessary a dj is. The barn required DJS to use their speaker system etc… so we wouldn’t need any of that equipment.
Has anyone DJ’d their own wedding, or have any advice?

10 Comments

Latest activity by Ashley, on December 15, 2021 at 10:59 AM
  • Samantha
    Rockstar May 2022
    Samantha ·
    • Flag

As long as you don't mind being pulled away to announce/ organize things, sounds manageable. You'll just have to be aware of the timeline at all times!

• Heather
    Super November 2021
    Heather ·
    • Flag

We didn't hire a DJ. Instead we designated two people to control the music. And we rented speakers. Our wedding planner/coordinator (who was my husband's cousin) played from my playlist on certain ceremony songs to play. She also played our wedding entrances for the reception. Then we designated one of the groomsmen to play his songs from his music playlist because we (me and my husband) have the same music taste as him.

Make sure to designate someone to control the music if you do not have a DJ. Also have someone MC as well. We had our wedding officiant (husband's other cousin) MC for the night.

• Cece
    Master November 2022
    Cece ·
    • Flag