We're here to help you keep moving forward, no matter what your plans are.

Allaura
Devoted April 2021

Chandelier Cake

Allaura, on August 7, 2019 at 4:24 PM Posted in Wedding Reception 0 19
Saved Save
Ok has anyone had one of these or seen one of these before? They look super cool but I’d be worried about like it falling or melting or something. Anyone have any insight into the logistics of something like this? Could the stand be something I DIY?

Chandelier Cake 1

19 Comments

• Dayna
    Expert March 2021
    Dayna ·
    • Flag

I am not a professional by any means but I watch way too many baking shows and bake a bit myself. You would use a cake board underneath each tier with a rod through the middle, and connect the hook at the top to the rod. I think you could DIY the stand as long as you know the general weight and height of the cake. It looks to me like they probably used a plant hanger stand of some type. I don't think you would be at risk of melting any more than a regular cake, although getting knocked into or having an unstable table might be more of a risk. I'm sure your guests would find it really cool and different!

• Michaela
    Super May 2020
    Michaela ·
    • Flag

That would be a statement piece for sure! I've never seen anything like it

• Jessica
    VIP September 2020
    Jessica ·
    • Flag
    I’ve only ever seen them in pictures and in some baking challenge tv show. My concern would be weight, cake is heavy especially with all the frosting and fillings! My MOH and I have experience making tiered wedding cakes and decorative b-day cakes, but I’m not sure I’d tackle a chandelier cake. I’m sure there are tutorials on YouTube though, I’d definitely go a trial run well before! They are certainly show-stoppers!
  • H
    Super September 2019
    H ·
    • Flag
    I've never seen or heard this but it is really interesting for sure! Maybe try contacting a local bakery to see if they have any insight?
  • Jennifer
    Super September 2020