To Have And to Hold OBX Reviews

16 | Kill Devil Hills, NC
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for To Have And to Hold OBX

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

16

4 User photos

To Have And to Hold OBX 1
To Have And to Hold OBX 2
To Have And to Hold OBX 3
To Have And to Hold OBX 4
Order by:
  • T

    terri porter · Married on 12/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brenda is a wedding planner superhero

    BRENDA IS a wedding planning SUPERHERO. Her superpowers are vast and amazing and there is no way that I could properly list all of the big and little things that Brenda did in the months leading up to my daughters wedding and during the wedding weekend... that made our day fun, relaxing and memorable. My opinion ,as mother of the bride- Brenda was worth every penny. If you are planning a destination wedding in OBX- you need Brenda- She knows everyone- her preferred vendor list is full of reliable vendors who know exactly what needs to be done to make your wedding planning and wedding day stress free and perfect! She has OBX leverage! I did not believe that this could actually happen- but Brenda was totally right when she said her job was to make sure that … All I had to do was put on a pretty dress and show up to have a fabulous time at my daughter's wedding! It really did happen just like that! Brenda found a new florist two weeks before the wedding, when the one I chose (bride was deployed) could not meet my daughter's budget. Brenda recognized guests who needed care, special treatment or a bit less alcohol and she addressed these specific needs discretely and professionally. Brenda dealt with the details so I could focus on my daughter! Brenda is uber - organized and she provided a flawless ceremony, coordinated with the vendors, ensured that my daughter's wedding vision was a reality. I suspect that Brenda even ordered the perfect weather for our outdoor ceremony. Brenda allowed us to truly celebrate the occasion with friends and family because we did not have to worry about anything. Brenda and my daughter got along so well- and Brenda empowered my daughter to trust her instincts and they made this wedding a very personal and unique event. Brenda made us feel like our wedding was the most important and most special event.. She will do that for YOU too. Thank you Brenda for EVERYTHING- You set the standard very high...

    Sent on 12/06/2019

    To Have And to Hold OBX's reply:

    Terri, thank you much for these wonderful words and I was truly blessed to meet you and your daughter. Your entire family was spectacular. I love what I do and am so glad you had a wonderful time at your daughter's wedding. Hoping your Holiday will be fabulous and love to you all. We are celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary this weekend and it reminds me of when I planned my own wedding all those years ago, which got me started in this business. Please give my regards to the entire family.
  • Melinda

    Melinda · Married on 08/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brenda is amazing!

    Look no further! Brenda and her crew are absolutely amazing. I could not have asked for a better day of coordinator. She kept me sane and organized all the way through. She was like my organized, caring mom throughout the whole process. She always had a listening ear when I was overwhelmed and stressed about everything coming together. She is the reason everything came together so amazingly even when the weather did not want to cooperate. The day of I did not have to worry about a thing, which was truly a blessing. Again, I could not recommend Brenda even more. She is the BEST!!!

    To Have And to Hold OBX 5
    To Have And to Hold OBX 6
    Sent on 10/30/2019

    To Have And to Hold OBX's reply:

    Melinda, thank you so much. It was my pleasure to work with you and to make your day stress free. Hope you are doing well.
  • User3549217 · Recently married

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brenda went Above and beyond for us

    We booked Brenda about 8 months before our wedding. She was available to meet when we went up to OBX and readily available by phone. She helped us with vendor recommendations since we were out of town and went with us to meet with all of them. But beyond that.... 2 months before our wedding we lost our venue. I was out of town for work for 2 weeks and Brenda helped find us another venue and get our vendors switched. On top of all that 2 days before our wedding we decided to move the wedding up a day due to storms coming in!!! She helped get ahold of all the vendors to see if everyone could switch. Brenda went above and beyond her duties!! So thankful we hired her as our wedding planner!!! There is No way we could have done it without her!

    To Have And to Hold OBX 7
    To Have And to Hold OBX 8
    Sent on 06/07/2019

    To Have And to Hold OBX's reply:

    Ashley, thank you for this wonderful review. Working with you and Chris was wonderful. I am just so glad everything turned out so well. You two are the best!!
  • B

    Briana · Married on 09/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked Brenda just over a month before our wedding for day of coordination. From the moment I told her that we wanted to hire her, she was on it! She immediately got in contact with our other vendors and started on our timeline. She took on the stress for us which made it all much more enjoyable. We didn't have a thing to worry about on our big day as Brenda and her assistants kept everything on schedule. From setting up our reception space to timing the ceremony to breaking everything down at the end of the night, they did it all. Everything went perfectly and we can't thank Brenda and her team enough!

    Sent on 10/08/2018
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 08/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brenda is the best!

    We hired Brenda for Day of Coordination and she was fabulous from start to finish! With her many years of experience as a wedding planner in the Outer Banks, she has worked with a lot of the vendors and had excellent advice for out-of-towners planning a destination wedding. What you can expect with Brenda is an experience that is really tailored to your style and vision. She gave us guidance based on her experience and provided us with options so that we could make the choices that were right for us. Every month leading up to our wedding day, she scheduled a call to review the wedding checklist to ensure we were on track with booking vendors, sending invitations, getting a headcount, etc. Some calls were 20 minutes, others were over an hour. She really took her time with us and always had our best interests in mind. I really looked forward to our calls, which gave me much needed peace of mind! Brenda is warm and friendly and an absolute pleasure to work with! I highly recommend her services! One of the best decisions we made was booking Brenda!

    Sent on 11/25/2018

    To Have And to Hold OBX's reply:

    Lisa, thank you so much for this amazing review. You were so much fun to work with and knew exactly what you wanted for your wedding day. Thank you again for sending this review, it has made my day.
  • H

    Haley · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely Amazing Assistance!!!

    Brenda was an absolute joy to work with for my wedding last June. Her monthly phone calls & meetings were incredibly helpful for making sure I stayed on track with everything I needed to do, and she and her team made sure our wedding went off without a hitch! She was knowledgable about all the vendors on the OBX and was able to make recommendations when needed. She helped get all our rentals set and thought of details I wouldn't have remembered. I have absolutely zero regrets about getting her involved in our special day, and I would recommend her to anyone!

    Sent on 01/13/2019

    To Have And to Hold OBX's reply:

    Haley, thank you so much for the review. Your wedding is up next on my Facebook Business Page. Enjoy!!
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 04/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I worked with Brenda to develop our vision for our wedding in Nags Head and she did not steer us wrong. Planning from out of town, Brenda helped us find the best vendors and to execute our vision. She nailed it!! She listened to what was important to us and lead us to the best venue, best caterer, best baker, best officiant, best florist, best DJ and best photographer for us!!! She was super helpful with our million questions! Thanks to her, we were able to relax and enjoy our ceremony and wedding reception with no stress. If we did it all over again, we would partner with Brenda every time!!

    Sent on 05/13/2018
  • A

    a · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words can not adequately express how fabulous Brenda is as a person and as a wedding planner. We live in PA and our daughter's wedding was at the Pine Island Lodge in the OBX. The Lodge was a wonderful place to hold the wedding, but we could not have done it without Brenda! Throughout the 12 months of planning, Brenda was organized, insightful, flexible, and always available via phone or email. As for the day of the wedding; perfect! Brenda's positive relationships with the vendors, organized schedule of events, and calm demeanor, allowed families and guests to enjoy each moment of the special day. As the mother of the bride, I will never be able to thank Brenda enough for helping create the wedding of our daughter's dreams. Brenda is absolutely fantastic!

    Sent on 06/19/2017
  • D

    Dani · Married on 04/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't think I have enough room in this comments box to say all the amazing things I want to say about Brenda and her team!! Simply put, I could not have planned my wedding without her. It wouldn't have gone nearly as smoothly as it did. Dare I say, the wedding planning process was actually FUN for me thanks to Brenda!! I felt very little stress along the way because even as our day-of coordinator, she helped me plan out all the tiniest details and make sure everything was on track for our big day. There was really no stone left unturned.

    When it came time for our rehearsal and our wedding day, she was firm with everyone about what needed to happen and managed to keep everyone in line, while still being the sweetest, kindest woman that everyone wanted to talk to at the reception!

    I did 90% of our reception decor DIY, and Brenda and her team set it up so beautifully that I literally cried the second I saw everything.

    Overall, I could not have asked for a better day-of coordinator. I still say to this day that hiring Brenda and her team was the best money that we spent on our wedding. I will miss my monthly phone calls with her dearly now that our wedding is over!!

    Sent on 04/30/2017
  • User5088463 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brenda and her team made my day absolutely incredible and stress free! I used them for day of coordination, but Brenda was with me the whole way. She helped me create my perfect, though somewhat untraditional, day and kept the boys in line for the ceremony. Hiring Brenda and her team was one of the best wedding decisions we made!

    Sent on 06/02/2016

    To Have And to Hold OBX's reply:

    Mallory, thank you so much for sharting your experience with To Have And To Hold OBX. I thoroughly enjoyed working with you and so appreciate your kind words.
  • M

    maureen · Married on 07/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is not enough words to express how much Brenda Ziegler and her assistant Kristen helped me during my wedding planning. I didn't have to lift a finger or contact any vendors because they did it all for me. I was a nervous wreck because of the rain on my wedding day but Brenda put me at ease and it ended up being a beautiful day. The reception was beautifully put together and any question i had was already answered before I asked it! Planning from far away was stressful but Brenda was quick to answer emails and her level of professionalism made me feel confident that my wedding would be amazing because of people like her and Kristen!

    Sent on 07/20/2015
  • T

    Theresa · Married on 05/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    If you are in need of a wedding coordinator Brenda is the one to pick! My husband and I decided that we would need some "day of" help for our wedding and went with that option. Let me tell you that Brenda was not a one day and done type of lady. She helped us through the whole wedding planning process (a year and a half!) by answering all of my questions and giving me great recommendations! She was quick to respond to all of my emails and made it clear that she really did want to make my day special. Brenda and her amazing assistant Kristin went above and beyond to make sure that our wedding day was absolutely perfect. On the day of the rehearsal Brenda met with all of us and thoroughly went over what we need to do on the big day, she helped me wrap my head around everything that was to come the next day and assured me that I would not have to worry about ANYTHING and she wasn't kidding! The wedding day was absolutely perfect! Brenda and Kristin were there from morning until the very end, organizing the vendors, helping with decorations (Kristin is incredibly creative!!), organizing the ceremony, keeping us on track with time and overall making sure that anything I could possibly worry about was taken care of! They were so incredibly nice and friendly, they were like family! If I could give 10 stars I would. Our day would not have been the same without them being part of it.

    Sent on 05/27/2015
  • K

    Katie · Married on 09/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brenda was a "day of" wedding planner, however "day of" doesn't at all describe how much help Brenda was immediately before the big day. Brenda was responsive to all of my calls and coordinated with all of my vendors for me to ensure the day went smoothly. She also was able to find a projection screen for my rehearsal dinner to play a video that one of my bridesmaids made for us. Brenda takes charge and makes sure everyone is doing what they need to do and is exactly where they need to be. This help allowed me to enjoy the day with all of my loved ones free to just have fun and have no worries at all.

    Brenda is awesome. I highly recommend!!

    Sent on 11/12/2014
  • Z

    Zach · Married on 05/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brenda was our "day-of" planner, but she really did so much more than that. From the minute we contacted her about 3 months or so before our wedding, she didn't take a break. She was always available to us and made us feel like someone was working in the background making sure everything was going to go smoothly. You don't want to have a single worry on your wedding weekend, and that's exactly why Brenda is so great. She put our minds at ease and we were able to enjoy every second of the wedding knowing that if something was wrong, she would fix it before we even noticed. She just gets shit done and isn't afraid to tell people what to do and where to go, because she puts the bride and groom first.
    I know that my bride was very worried about the wedding when we headed down to Manteo on the Tuesday before. After we talked to Brenda on Friday, I could see in Michele's face and in her actions that she was so much more relaxed and at ease.
    Thank you so much Brenda - you made our weekend the best it could possibly be.

    Sent on 05/07/2014
  • C

    Catie · Married on 07/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are not enough stars that I can give to Brenda for how amazing she is. I hired Brenda from, To Have and To Hold, as my day of wedding coordinator. It was the best decision I made for my wedding and I could not have made it through my wedding without her. She has different packages, and I picked the one for just day of, but Brenda was still there with me every step of the way whenever I needed help, or just needed to vent. She is a true expert in her field, she knows EVERYTHING about weddings, she really cares about you as a person and a bride and showers you with love. I felt like I had a second mom taking care of me. Her prices are incredibly reasonable, she could charge three times what she does and I would still happily hire her! Brenda never missed a beat, she kept everything on track on my wedding day and I can not thank her enough for helping me have the absolute perfect wedding and most amazing day of my life.

    Sent on 10/01/2013
  • C

    Chris · Married on 05/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't thank Brenda enough for all that she did to make our wedding run smoothly and without a hitch. She planned and executed our plan to a T. She was so professional, patience, kind, caring, generous, and understanding, and fun. She eased our minds, primarily my wife's, taking care of so many details, questions, and minor issues. She was very friendly and personable to us and our family, but also blended right into the background, when appropriate. Brenda (and Martha) helped out so much with prep work and exceeded our expectations on wedding day and helped make our wedding and reception so memorable and special. Thank you for everything Brenda!

    Sent on 12/02/2013