The Yorktowne Hotel Reviews

40 | York, PA
See photos, pricing and details

40 Reviews for The Yorktowne Hotel

Recommended by 96%

40
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • User4000089 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Yorktowne Hotel was everything we wanted in a venue. We wanted a venue that was all inclusive with hotel rooms, but had charm and history. The hotel is beautiful and the mirror room and ballroom had the perfect amount of charm and beauty. Layla was amazing to work with. She always responded quick to my emails and was always so helpful and knowledgeable. Everyone at the hotel made sure of wedding went on without an issue. The rooftop pictures came out even better than we could have imagined. Would highly recommend!

  • K

    Kayleigh · Married on 03/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Yorktowne Hotel is such a beautiful venue. The hotel alone is so elegant. Its such a historical place that it just is on a completely different playing field than all other venues. The service was wonderful the day of my wedding. All the wait staff were so attentive to me and all my guests. We had our rehearsal dinner there as well and couldn't of had better food/ service. My husband had many surprises for me on my wedding day and our day of coordinator Stephanie did a great job helping out with these and keeping me completely in the dark as both surprises went off without a hitch! If your looking for a historical elegant place to have your wedding I urge you to check out The Yorktowne Hotel!

  • N

    Natalie · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Yorktowne Hotel provided us the wedding of our dreams. It was a storybook wedding. Most importantly, everyone had fun. We had a personal assistant on our special day, and it took off a lot of stress. They were very accomodating and even went down to the downstairs bar to get me wine that was not on our menu. Very accomodating for special food allergies.

  • User4143566 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Perfect Perfect! Working with Layla was exceptional and our whole day was like a dream!

  • M

    Melissa · Married on 12/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Christie from the sales department was our main contact person and wedding planner of sorts. She was always quick to respond to any question we had and was always willing to provide suggestions if we were unsure of what we wanted.
    The Yorktowne hotel itself is gorgeous. The spaces we utilized for the wedding party to get ready, ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception were incredibly elegant and perfect for our big day.
    The food was incredible, I was full before we even made it to the cake!
    We are incredibly happy that we chose the Yorktowne and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for an elegant affair. The list of things included in our package (we chose the gold) was incredible. The cake was included in our package. It came from a local bakery that was delightful to work with, I even chose to go there for the grooms cake. Also included in our package was an ice sculpture and it was beautiful!
    Thanks Christie!
    Melissa and Daniel Randolph

  • D

    David · Married on 11/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Yorktowne Hotel was the venue for our daughter's wedding and reception. A grand old hotel, that was a perfect choice for our daughter's big day! Wedding ceremony, pre reception cocktail party, reception and post reception party were all on site at the Yorktowne. We and several family members and wedding guests also lodged at the hotel. The accomodations were excellent! Our daughter, and we her parents, could not have been more pleased with the dedication and efficiency of the Yorktown Hotel staff ... with their excellent attention to detail.

  • P

    Paul · Married on 10/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The hotel really worked with us to meet our price range. They were really flexible with my wife bringing in decorations that she put together. The staff were friendly and made the night amazing.

  • K

    Katie · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our rehearsal dinner, ceremony, reception, after party, and Sunday morning brunch at the Yorktowne. Every single event was lovely and I am so happy that I chose the Yorktowne for our venue.

    We wanted a venue that has a space for an indoor ceremony as well as a unique and beautiful reception space, so our guests wouldn't have to drive between events. The Yorktowne has both; the mirror room for the ceremony was just gorgeous. The ballroom for the reception was breathtaking once everything was set up. It's very grand and elegant.

    I cannot even express how wonderful Layla is to work with as wedding coordinator. She was due to have a baby one week after our wedding, and she helped us with questions and arrangements right up to the very end. She has an amazing eye and when I was unsure of what to do on certain things, she was there with a suggestion and was correct every single time. She was responsive, kind, and enthusiastic about everything - she made me feel like our wedding was the only one she was working on. Absolutely nothing went wrong on our wedding day and it is because of Layla and her team. She is wonderful.

    For what was included in our package, the price was incredibly reasonable. We were able to add on many details that we otherwise would not have been able to, because everything was so affordable. I had my dream wedding at the Yorktowne.

    We reserved the downstairs bar for a private after party and our guests continued the party until 2 in the morning. We ordered some snacks to be delivered, like sliders and soft pretzels, which everyone loved that late at night. No one wanted the party to end.

    Our brunch was in the mirror room the morning after, and it was gorgeous. They moved all the flowers from the reception into this room and it looked AMAZING. Flowers everywhere. And the food at every meal was delicious, much better than most wedding food I've had.

    Our wedding was perfect. Thank you Layla!!

  • E

    Evan · Married on 04/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Yorktowne was a great host to our wedding reception. Layla did an outstanding job of coordination and was responsive to our questions and requests. The chef worked with us to develop an allergy-sensitive menu offering. Our guests made all around excellent comments regarding the taste and portion size of the meals.

    Overall, the Yorktowne offers a very affordable "all-inclusive" option for a wedding reception. Once we started adding up all the piece-meal items at other venues, we recognized the value that the Yorktowne had to offer. Couldn't ask for a more elegant setting!

  • B

    Brittany · Married on 09/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I did not hold my wedding here, but did have a room block for the whole weekend and the post-wedding brunch on Sunday morning. The whole staff (especially Dottie and Rick) were absolutely amazing to work with! They were so accommodating, responsive, helpful, and prompt with everything throughout my planning. The hotel was so charming and really gave that classic and elegant feel that I was looking for. Thanks again for everything you did to make our wedding weekend amazing!

  • C

    Casey · Married on 09/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Yorktowne was amazing to work with. Layla, walked us through every step and made my special day VERY special. I will recommend anyone getting married to check into the Yorktowne, affordable and professional!

  • M

    Meagan · Married on 07/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We thought we pretty much had our venue nailed down here in Baltimore until we visited the Yorktowne. Immediately after seeing the ballroom we new we had changed our minds. It felt much more grand and we loved its historic feeling. Things got even better after going over everything that was included. We loved that the drinks, catering, setup, cake, etc was all included in the package. It just made the whole planning process less stressful so we were able to focus on more of the details. We also liked that it was a hotel and our guests didn't have to drive anywhere for a place to stay. The prices were very reasonable for our guests too and I think they appreciated that.

    Layla was so wonderful to work with too! Even before we met her we had read other reviews about how great the staff was to work with. That was very important to us because we wanted the entire planning process to be a positive experience. We did have a little rough patch with the hotel being put up for Sheriff's sale, but Layla and the rest of the staff and GM were always there to answer our questions and concerns. We got through it and our wedding was perfect! Layla was even able to work with the chef so that we could have fresh funnel cakes for everyone at the end of the night! I thought anything extra and outside the box like that would be super expensive, but they charged us a very reasonable price. So worth it because they were a hit!

  • J

    Jaime · Married on 05/26/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue and an amazing staff. Layla, Yorktownes expert wedding planner, made our wedding day everything and MORE than we ever could have dreamed. You will not have to worry about a thing when booking the hotel. Classy, absolutely stunning, and reasonably priced. Highly recommend!

  • N

    Nikki · Married on 04/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Yorktowne Hotel is a beautiful, historic hotel with a gorgeous ceremony & reception space. The ballroom was breathtaking. The Staff at the Yorktowne made everything easy, the menu tasting, cake tasting, table design and space design were all planned for me. The food was wonderfull and all the guests loved the taste and service. Highly reccommend this location.

  • J

    Jordan · Married on 01/13/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I just got married here. FLAWLESS. The Yorktowne was amazing, as is their Wedding Cordinator Layla. Everything turned out so wonderful. We couldn't have been happier. We looked around at a lot of places, and this venue really offered the best value and package for your money. Layla had EVERYTHING under control and made the whole day perfect. Not to mention, the rest of the staff is also so friendly and helpful! And, the food was great!! We offered the Filet Mignon and the Chicken Diablo, and all our guest raved about it. We have had so many people tell us it was one of the best weddings they had ever been to. We never imagined everything working out so well. We would DEFINITELY recommend. Not only is this a gorgeous venue, but the staff are AWESOME!

  • N

    Michael · Married on 11/19/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We looked at a lot of different places and let me tell you, as soon as we walked in the Yorktowne's ballroom...we were sold! You can't find a more elegant, history-rich venue for your big day!

    The food is amazing! We knew this from the restaurant that is at the hotel but they definitely didn't disappoint. And the staff was more than helpful. Layla and Jill helped our day go perfectly without a hitch. We definitely plan on having more events there! Would definitely recommend it to anyone!

  • A

    Aimee · Married on 10/29/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can’t say enough great things about the Yorktowne. Everything, and I mean everything, was outstanding. The staff (thank you Layla and Jill) were terrific to work with, the food was absolutely delicious and the venue is stunning. The staff was so accommodating and every last detail was so well organized and though out. I did not experience any stress at all for my wedding and that was largely in part due to things going so smoothly. It actually snowed on our wedding day, which was in October, and th Yorktowne actually refunded our money for the guests that couldn’t arrive due to the snow. What hotel would ever do that? It was so nice of them. I looked at many, many venues and I’m so happy we went with the Yorktowne. You cannot go wrong with this choice.

  • N

    Nikki · Married on 08/13/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Yorktowne Hotel helped turn our August 13th wedding into the fairytale of our dreams! We never had a worry that it would be anything less than spectacular but they really took it to the next level. The ballroom looked magnificent and the food was absolutely incredible! We received countless compliments on the reception and the hotel itself. Everyone was impressed on how friendly and helpful the staff was from checking in to the reception to brunch the next morning. Layla is the wedding coordinator and is wonderful in her role. Every detail we talked about was portrayed - even the out of the ordinary special requests we had. She was willing to meet with us as many times as we needed and was always quick to answer questions. It was a relief to be able to drop off all the reception items Thursday before the wedding and know that they would be in good hands. The first time we walked through the Yorktowne looking at wedding venues, we knew it was the place for us. We were looking for a romantic and timeless location and the Yorktowne ballroom was exactly that and more. We could not have picked a more stunning location for our reception! Of course we will be recommending the Yorktowne to everyone we know.

  • H

    Heather · Married on 07/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were very pleased with the wedding/catering services provided by the Yorktowne Hotel. Layla was so helpful and made sure everything was taken care of the day of, so we could just relax and enjoy the day. It was a great deal for everything that's included. The whole staff was so friendly and hard-working. The Yorktowne Hotel is such a historic, beautiful sight for a reception. And they offered a delicious brunch the next day as well for our guests. We were very happy with our experience and would recommend it to others.

  • M

    Tara · Married on 06/25/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Yorktowne played a huge role in making my wedding day a dream come true. The venue is the most beautiful in all of York County if you are looking for an elegent, classy, and traditional style wedding. The staff at the Yorktowne is unbeatable, providing the utmost professionalism and having the ability to calm an anxious bride's nerves. The food is phenomenal and the atmosphere is simply stunning. My grandparents had their wedding reception at the Yorktowne 60 years ago (in 1951) and I knew the moment I got engaged that my wedding reception would be there, too. I couldn't have been happier with the overall experience- from planning the reception with the most fabulous wedding coordinator, Layla- to the actual wedding reception which went smoothly and flawlessly. It was truly the fairy tale wedding!

  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 04/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The experience we had at The Yorktowne Hotel was wonderful. We were able to go through the entire planning process flawlessly with the help of Layla and Jill. The 2 of them made the entire process easy and stress free. I had some special circumstances concerning my family's needs and both Layla and Jill made sure everything was as needed and perfect.
    From the first day I stepped into Layla's office, I knew without a doubt this would be THE place for our day.
    Our wedding day was perfect. If anything went wrong, I did not know. The food was amazing; this coming from the daughter of a chef. We had a small ceremony and reception of a total of 88 including myself and my husband. The room layout enabled us to have a very large dance floor, where most of the night was made. For us, we wanted all of our guests to have a wonderful meal and a wonderful night.
    The Yorktowne not only has wonderful wedding planners, food, and overnight accomodiations, but packagaes to include every budget. We were able to stay under our budget and the only 3 things we needed to do was find a florist, DJ, and photographer. They took care of the rest, including alcohol and amazing cake by Providence.
    Like I have said, the entire process was easy. We were able to pay along the way so we have no wedding debt, had meetings along the way to decide all of the details.
    If you are looking for a beautiful place to hold you wedding weather it be ceremony or reception or both, The Yorktowne Hotel would be the perfect place.

  • T

    Teresa · Married on 04/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words cant express how beautiful my wedding turned out! Jill and Layla helped make the day absolutely perfect! The details put into the room made it absolutely stunning! Layla was so helpful in keeping constant communication and guiding me through the whole process step by step! I could not have asked for a better day and would recommend the Yorktowne to anyone searching for a venue for their wedding. Thanks again Layla and Jill!

  • N

    Nicole · Married on 12/04/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot speak highly enough about the Yorktowne Hotel and how pleased we were with the reception we held there. It is by far the classiest place in York to have a wedding reception---and the prices are very competitive with other venues in the area. We got so mamy compliments.

    Yorktowne's wedding coordinator, Layla, was phenomenal. She was extremely professional and responsive. There was no question or request too big or too small. And she was extremely organized with my requests, which helped put my mind at ease about the big day.

    What I learned through the wedding planning process is that tons of stuff will not go according to plan on your wedding day no matter how hard you try---your flowers may not look as requested, your hair may not be perfect, your DJ may end up doing a bad job, the weather may not cooperate. What I can say though is that if you book the Yorktowne, your reception will be exactly as you wanted it. Everything was perfect and it's all because of the super staff.

    The best wedding money we spent was for our reception at the Yorktowne. There's no question about that.

  • B

    Sean · Married on 10/16/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at the Yorktowne Hotel in October of 2010 and the staff went above and beyond for us and our 200 guests. Having been in several weddings and to countless weddings, we were worried as we had never paid much attention and had always just gone where pointed. The staff did an incredible job in the planning to make sure we had everything covered, and were on hand the night of the reception in case anything went wrong. There was no reason for them to be there, as everything went perfectly.

    The food, drinks and service were exactly as described. The set up of the room, linens, silverware, etc looked even better than we could have imagined. There were more than enough people on hand to cater to our and our guests needs.

    We had at least 75 of our guests from out of town, many from out of the country. Everyone wanted to stay longer as the hotel staff and atmosphere made everyone feel right at home.

    I knew several people who had previously worked at the hotel who recommended having a wedding there over anywhere else in York. I now see why.

  • K

    Kate · Married on 09/25/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our reception at The Yorktowne, but we did not have our ceremony there (I can't choose just one or the other on this site for some reason). We were married at St. Joseph's Church in Dallastown. Layla Sharnetzka, Jill Delaney and all of the staff at The Yorktowne Hotel were so wonderful to work with. They were some of the most professional and accommodating people I've ever worked with. They made everything so easy for me and worked in every one of my requests with patience and grace. They offered ideas and recommendations as needed. They were so great, I wish my husband and I could get remarry each other again and again :)

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review