Weddings

The Westin Carlsbad Resort and Spa Reviews

The Westin Carlsbad Resort and Spa

The Westin Carlsbad Resort and Spa

Carlsbad, CA
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 18 Reviews
View more information

18 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 18
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

29 User photos

Sort by:
  • Michelle
    Michelle Married on 09/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful coastal views for destination wedding!

    My husband and I decided to go with the Westin Carlsbad because we felt it would give us the best value for our destination California-chic wedding! We fell in love with the Westin’s palm trees, greenery, and overall aesthetic. I had done some research on prior to landing on the Westin and fell in love with their beautiful grand view terrace. The Westin Team and Debra Ayala were phenomenal to work with. We had our ceremony on the pacific lawn and cocktail/reception on the terrace overlooking the beautiful Carlsbad coast and Pacific Ocean on the horizon. It was truly a dream! Thank you to the amazing team for making this such an unforgettable experience for us! The food was amazing and our friends and family enjoyed the open bar set up with all sorts of drink options!

    The Westin Carlsbad Resort and Spa's reply:

    Michelle,
    It was our pleasure to help make your dream come true! You were such a lovely person to work with you and your wedding was so romantic and beautiful! Best Wishes for a lifetime of happiness always!
    Debra
  • J
    John G. Married on 04/07/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our Wedding - incredible Marriott Weston Experience

    Incredible, the entire team helped make our wedding a life changing experience, the food, the view of the ocean.. everything.. thank you!

    The Westin Carlsbad Resort and Spa's reply:

    Hi John

    Thank you for those kind words. It was our honor and pleasure to create such a memorable day! We look forward to celebrating more with you in the future.
  • J
    Jean L. Married on 12/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent. Could not be better

    The location, the set up, the food, the room arrangement, the service were all excellent. But it all could not happen without the professionalism of Mr Jeremiah Oshiro who put it altogether with his knowledge, his experience, his cultural awareness (very important) coupled with his own personal touch. A+ We are very happy with a memorable moment forever. Our heartfelt Thanks

    The Westin Carlsbad Resort and Spa's reply:

    Dear Jean

    Thank you for those kind words. It was a honor to host you and your family for such a wonderful milestone. We hope to see you again soon!
  • J
    Julia F. Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Perfect Day

    Thanks to the wonderful staff at the Westin Carlsbad our event was as perfect as my fiance and i had hoped and in actual fact exceeded our expectations. The good Lord blessed us with beautiful weather, the ocean views were spectacular, the ceremony lovely. Food and service was impeccable and all guests had a wonderful time. It is a day that will be cherished by us both forever. Thank you

    The Westin Carlsbad Resort and Spa's reply:

    Hi Julia

    Thank you for those kind words. You and Mark were just a wonderful couple to work with. It was an honor to host your beautiful event. Congratulations and Best Wishes!
  • Joseph
    Joseph W. Married on 09/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Father Of The Bride

    Jeremiah and the fine folks at The Westin Carlsbad exceeded our expectations. They paid very close attention to every detail. Our guest raved about the delicious food served, the attentiveness of the staff and the breathtaking beauty of the venue. Jeremiah you out did yourself, Excellent communication, Excellent attention to detail, Excellent execution, Excellent food and Excellent staff.
    " If you're looking for a 5 Star venue " This is it !!!!

    The Westin Carlsbad Resort and Spa's reply:

    Hi Joseph.
    Thank you for those kind words. It was truly an honor to be a part of Jasmine and Chris's Wedding Celebration. The evening was absolutely magical and I hope the memories from that day will last a lifetime. We hope that you come back and relive those memories. All the best! - Jeremiah
  • B
    Becca Married on 05/25/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best kept secret in North County!

    Everything was smooth and seamless from the day we chose the Westin as our venue up until our checkout after the big event! They were accommodating, and I appreciated the attention to detail. I highly recommend this gorgeous location!

    The Westin Carlsbad Resort and Spa's reply:

    Hi Becca

    Thank you for trusting us with your special day. It was a pleasure assisting you in creating such a memorable event.
  • leanneandchris
    Leanne Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Westin was an absolute dream venue for our wedding. It was one of the first places we toured and we ended up booking it on the spot when we got there and first met with Elizabeth Murphy. From the first day she was professional, helpful, and appeared to genuinely care about our wedding and helping us plan the perfect celebration. She worked well with our vendors and was promptly responsive to everyone on our wedding team. Planning our wedding in the middle of a move across the country was a breeze because of the incredible service this place has to offer. Also, pro tip: this is one of the few venues that allows you do do sparklers send-offs! The views from the Ocean Blue Lawn are gorgeous, and there are plenty of gorgeous spots for photos. The Grand Pacific Ballroom was HUGE and the food was phenomenal. The resort itself is conveniently located, and the rooms are newly remodeled. The newlywed suite we stayed in was gorgeous, I slept in the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in in my life, and it was perfect for hosting family gatherings/getting ready for the big day. It fit 4 makeup artists, 2 hair stylists, 2 moms, 1 flower girl, and TEN bridesmaids, not to mention myself. We all got ready comfortably and the lighting and views made the morning so enjoyable and perfect for pictures and videos. Our family and friends especially enjoyed being conveniently located in the middle of the action with the affordable hotel room block, and we got so much extra time to visit with everyone throughout the weekend because of this. My wedding guests loved the amenities, kids and adults alike, namely the 24-hour swimming pool and water slide. I was able to burn off some extra energy at the huge and clean fitness center. Finally, we worked with Casey Shaul and Sarah Lewis to plan the perfect rehearsal dinner at 20/Twenty Grill, and our guests loved the food. Sarah was so accommodating to our needs, especially with last minute changes.

    The Westin Carlsbad Resort and Spa's reply:

    Leanne

    Thank you for your glowing review. We are so honored that you selected us to be the backdrop to such a personal event in your life. We hope to see you again for your next life milestone and all the others in between.
  • Nicki
    Nicki Married on 08/18/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had the pleasure of the Westin opening a few weeks before our big fat Indian wedding on 8/18 (previously it was all Sheraton property until 7/2018) and everything was SPECTACULAR! I cannot thank Elizabeth Murphy and her team enough. For any wedding here, the best part of the Sheraton/Westin is that all your guests can stay on the property for the weekend and your wedding is on the same site, but still separate from where guests are staying so they aren't peeking in on your decorations the night before or intruding into your first look. The staff was incredibly helpful, they were accommodating with room changes leading up to the wedding, passed out welcome bags to over 70+ room bookings, helped set up decorations for our pre-wedding events, helped w/guests having breakfast/brunch in the Terramar Room in the Sheraton, and served ice cream on the day of the ceremony to our 350 guests (just to name a few of the things I really appreciated!). The property itself also has tons of great spaces for photos, and another wedding was happening on the Pacific Lawn and we had NO idea it was even occurring - that's how big the property is! Elizabeth was so amazing over the last year, with her quick replies to emails, her understanding of the Indian desire to negotiate costs, and her flexibility with our crazy ideas (from a giant sign with our names on it to a sparkler exit), she was the best. The ONLY constructive feedback I can think of is that the bridal/executive suite only had 1 mirror (on the day I needed to check myself out the most) - but really, even thats a stretch. For ANYONE thinking of having their wedding at the Westin, do not hesitate to do so! THANK YOU Elizabeth and the Westin Carlsbad!
  • J
    Jacqueline Married on 07/14/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Holy moly! Where to begin? Elizabeth Murphy at The Westin Carlsbad is a DOLL. From our initial tour a year beforehand, to helping throughout the process with diagrams of the layout (i.e. a legitimate drone photo taken of the site), recommendations for # people per table and photo locations, booking room reservations for us and our guests that weekend, menu tasting, and not to mention working through my absolute failure to communicate that our seating chart had changed the night before! I still feel horrible and wish I could give every staff member that night a giant hug for cleaning up after me and ensuring everyone was still served correctly ... especially those that were gluten-free weren't served the wrong plate! Elizabeth and the entire banquet team was kind, professional, and just amazing to work with. For the cost, it was absolutely worth every penny to us. We didn't have to worry about food, linens, tables, chairs, flatware, charger plates, drinkware -- they even provided decor like lanterns and votive candles! All we ended up renting was a dance floor and the chuppah from an outside vendor, and then we bought or made our own favors, signage, etc. We did add-on market lighting and the moon balloon from The Westin -- we and our guests LOVED it! It totally set the ambiance for the evening. Both our ceremony and reception were on the Ocean Blue lawn + terrace and it accommodated 100 guests perfectly. We used the smaller lawn for lawn games + belly table, the terrace for the cocktail hour and shade, and the larger lawn for the ceremony and reception. It felt super roomy and gave people enough space to move around and enjoy themselves! That ocean view and sunset was stunning too!
  • S
    Samantha Married on 06/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    WOW! What a fantastic day!!! We could not have asked for a better day! We planned our wedding from out of state over the past year. I thought it would be difficult, but Elizabeth was fantastic and made everything simple and fun! She is VERY nice and responsive to all calls and emails!! Gives great advice on best set ups, food options, vendors! Even FaceTime with us a few times and gave us walk around tours so we knew exactly how the set up would be. She is fantastic!
    The venue itself is beautiful!!! Perfect for an outdoor/indoor wedding. And the FOOD! Best wedding food ever!!!! The staff was so nice and courteous to the guests too! We could not have asked for a better venue or better people to plan our wedding with! Would definitely recommend!!!
  • H
    Hemu Married on 06/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    everything was well done just as we had wanted..
  • L
    Lizbeth Married on 04/14/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What a perfect venue for our perfect day! My wife and I had the pleasure of working with Elizabeth as our main contact on site for the venue and we instantly had such a positive connection with her that it made planning our wedding very easy and comfortable. Our ceremony was held on the lawn site with the ocean back drop and it was great. The whole hotel in itself gives you the feel that you truly are on a vacation and it offers a comforting atmosphere that allows everyone to enjoy themselves without worry. The food for our ceremony was DELICIOUS. All of our guests were complimentary of their dinners and this was very important to us as we all know how sometimes wedding food can be. Not the case here, exceptional entrees and appetizers. We truly had a great experience at the venue and Elizabeth was so helpful and great with everything. Thank you to her and the rest of the amazing staff for helping us achieve our best day ever!

    The Westin Carlsbad Resort and Spa's reply:

    Liz and Bryan,

    Congratulations! It was so fun helping you over the last year and getting to know both of you. The day was picture perfect! Best of luck on your new beginnings together in a new city. Please stop by if you are ever back in Carlsbad. Elizabeth
  • C
    Conrad Married on 11/12/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Westin Carlsbad Resort and Spa. is a amazing place to have a wedding.
  • M
    Marisol Married on 11/04/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We held our wedding at this location in Nov. 2017 and it was truly a great experience! Elizabeth was our coordinator and she went above and beyond to make sure that everything was taken care of on our special day. From the food to the location, to the help we received with coordinating our event with other vendors- we were blown away. Our guest truly enjoyed their experience and had nothing but great things to say about the venue and its staff.

    The Westin Carlsbad Resort and Spa's reply:

    Marisol, your fall wedding reception was gorgeous! I loved all red roses in the room and helping you carry out your vision. Best of luck to both of you. Elizabeth
  • B
    Benjamin Married on 01/19/2018
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our wedding in January 2018. Elizabeth was phenomenal in every way. She met with us early on and described all that she could offer. She then listened intently to our desires and worked with us to ensure that every need, desire, and idea we wanted was met all why staying within our budget. Elizabeth made planning a wedding easy, enjoyable, and fun. The event went off even better than we could have imagined and there were zero issues. Elizabeth and the venue were extremely accommodating and provided top level service throughout the entire planning and execution process. I would highly recommend Elizabeth and this venue to anyone who is looking to plan a wedding.

    THANK YOU ELIZABETH!!!

    The Westin Carlsbad Resort and Spa's reply:

    Benjamin and Lindsey, what a beautiful vineyard theme wedding you had. It was truly my pleasure to help you both carry out your wishes for this spectacular day. You both looked so happy and relaxed on your wedding and that is what I strive for. Please stop by and say hi, I love seeing my local Carlsbad couples! Elizabeth
  • D
    Davina Married on 10/19/2018
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    One and done, no stress

    If you're looking for an all-inclusive kind of package, the Westin is for you. Yes, I'll admit it was probably more than I budgeted for; however, it was all worth it. We were engaged in February of 2018 and were looking to get married within the year. While considering enough time to plan a wedding, October was just far enough out, but we didn't want to do it any later due to going into the holiday season. At X amount of $ per person, we got everything with the Westin we still would have had to hire other vendors for. Your price per person includes everything your guests will need, and with your booking with the Westin, it eliminated the needs for several other vendors involved. Less vendors, less risk of something going wrong the day of, which in my opinion, was worth every penny. It also eliminated a lot of stress of having to book other accommodations such as tables, chairs, bar tenders, and a caterer. All in all we had a great experience, we received so many compliments about how beautiful the wedding was and we wouldn't change a thing. We were so thrilled with the way everything turned out, we highly recommend this venue or anyone looking for a one and done kind of place. Being that we also live in the area, we are definitely looking forward to our next stay at the Westin carlsbad.

    The Westin Carlsbad Resort and Spa's reply:

    Hi Davina

    Thank you for your kind words and Congratulations! We strive to create magical memories for our couples by making the planning experience as stress free and fun. We are so happy that you received that and at a value you were happy with. Please think of us for your next big life event. Showers, Birthdays, Anniversaries, and Baptisms? Congratulations again and many blessings on your marriage.
  • H
    Hannah Married on 06/14/2018
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The pictures did not do the place justice. We had to plan the event from cross country. The event was amazing and the staff was amazing at responding to everything we needed. I would totally hold another event there again.

    The Westin Carlsbad Resort and Spa's reply:

    Hannah, it was a pleasure planning your wedding reception from across the country and so happy you were so pleased with everything. It was a beautiful evening! Elizabeth
  • J
    Janelle Married on 06/02/2018
    Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    The experience at the Sheraton was over all really good. There were only a couple things on the day of that put a slight damper on my wedding day. For any Bride, I suggest you pay for a hotel room the day of - they placed me and my bridal party in a small conference room that did not have any windows - obviously this makes the lighting very harsh and my photos of me and my bridesmaid getting ready are not very nice as there is no windows or natural lighting.

    We also had asked for a slight switch in the salad as I personally do not like spring mix salads so we had switched it to the butter lettuce, on the day of the salad was placed in front of us with the spring mix, I was not going to freak out since its just salad; but it was a little disappointing since it was something we had talked about with the event coordinator at the Sheraton.

    The Last thing that I would suggest is that to tell them how you would like the cake served - we had 3 different flavors for our wedding cake and instead of allowing our guests the choice of which flavor they wanted (which was our point for having 3 different flavors) they cut the cakes up and served it to each person. Unfortunately I did not end up getting to eat any cake, since the one flavor I was not a fan of was the only one served to me and the bridal party.

    Basically - overly communicate with them about what you are wanting and expect. Other than those couple of things they were really nice to work with, they allowed us to come early to place out Arbor at the ceremony site and allowed us to take it down the next day so there was no rush for us at all. They took some of their waitstaff out of the restaurant to help up set up the reception hall which was great!

    If I could do it over again, I will still go with the Sheraton - but I would just clarify what I was wanting and hoping for!