Skip to main content
Weddings

The Samoset Resort Reviews

The Samoset Resort View more information

Reviews

4.6 out of 5 rating
4.6 out of 5 rating
33 Reviews
93% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating

Awards

33
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
Weddingwire
4.6/5 33 reviews
Google
4.5/5 1350 reviews
  • M
    Melissa Sent on 07/15/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Venue Ever

    Our wedding coordinator Linde was simply amazing! She took all the worries and stress and made the weekend perfect. We could not have asked for a better experience!
  • G
    Gina Sent on 03/26/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Linde has been a joy to work with, very responsive
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • B
    Brieanna Sent on 12/10/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I knew almost immediately that we had made an excellent choice when we booked the samoset as our venue.
    Will, the wedding coordinator is beyond fabulous. He was attentive to every request I made and every email I sent. In the days before our wedding he helped keep me calm and put out several small "fires".
    The resort was a beautiful location. The staff was amazing at every turn (accommodating every request and helping to make everythingness exactly as I imagined it). The food was incredible both for our rehearsal dinner and at our wedding. Many guests said it was both the best and most beautiful wedding they had ever attended.
    I always perceived the samoset as much too expensive for me to ever imagine having my wedding there. But due to the off season and the small(ish) wedding we wanted, it was very affordable and worth EVERY PENNY!
  • L
    Leslie Sent on 10/21/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Living in New York, but having grown up around the corner from the Samoset, we decided that it was a perfect venue for our wedding. Not only did we have the ceremony and reception there, but decided it was a perfect spot for our rehearsal dinner as well. Will Clayton is such a gem and truly a great wedding coordinator. He always made us feel like he completely understood what we were looking for, and his kindness, and flawless day-of organization really were over the top and more than we could have hoped for. Will really went above and beyond for us with drilling our chuppah together, holding my lipsticks, finding something for me to stand on during our outside photos, and making special mock-tails for family members that do not drink. We really can not express our gratitude for all of his help and all that he did for us. Our wedding day, as well as the entire weekend, were so magnificent, and in large part thanks to Will and the Samoset.

    The Samoset's front office staff, restaurant team, and all of the resort employees were also really spectacular and extremely professional. All of our guests (many of which from Manhattan, and in hospitality themselves) complimented each and every person they came in contact with over the weekend. The Samoset has such a fantastic staff, exceptional food, and how could you ever beat the view? A definite must for your wedding!
  • E
    Erick Sent on 12/10/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Will Clayton was our Group Contact during the planning and on our Wedding day. Will was so easy to work with and always understanding and open minded to our ideas. His knowledge of the industry was comforting to both myself and my now wife. Will was a superhero on the Wedding day! While I (the groom) was running around and tayloring the final touches Will checked in with me and took on anything he and his team to could take off my plate. When it came time for me to leave the ballroom and get ready myself Will went through any last minute touches that were needed and executed them beautifully! The Samoset Resort has been doing this for decades and is so accustomed to elegant presentation and service that it takes away any stress one would have. We were thrilled with the outcome of our Wedding and would highly recommend the Samoset and Will Clayton.
  • User1706589 Sent on 07/11/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We changed our venue at the last minute due to unprofessionalism and poor quality of food and rooms at the planned venue. Luckily Samoset was available to host our reception. There are two pools on the grounds (indoor and outdoor), tennis courts, child's playground, and, of course, amazing golf course. I could not be happier with the decision to move venues. Samoset staff was fantastic. Venue was beautiful. Food was delicious. We had a tented reception on the grounds, with picture-perfect views, huge lobsters, great cocktail hour. At the end, the staff efficiently organized removal of cards and personal items back to our room. Only slight negative I can think of is that the rooms could use some freshening up in decor, but were clean and definitely at a higher standard than our original venue. Common areas were well kept and resort was well staffed with very helpful attitude from all members of the team. Will Clayton in particular is fantastic and gets things done. He's the Samoset's ace in the hole. One guest told me ours was the best wedding he ever attended. I think that says it all. If you are considering Samoset for your wedding, you will not go wrong.
  • L
    Lisa Sent on 07/27/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I live in NY but grew up in Maine and wanted a wedding with a view. After looking at three locations in person, we chose the Samoset and we are so happy with our decision. The guests raved about the view from both the ceremony location and the tented reception. Customer service is excellent. When we viewed the venue we were driving from NY to northern ME and had our dog with us. Instead of making us wait outside with the dog, Will Clayton, the event coordinator, let us bring her all over the resort with us on the tour. Later in the summer my mother dropped by unannounced to show the resort to my in-laws. Will dropped everything to give them an hour long tour. Planning from afar was easy as the Samoset hosts a Grande Tasting where couples can experience a mock wedding, choose food, linens, etc; and also meet vendors. We were able to choose our florist, DJ, and tent rental from that one event. The day of the wedding the bridesmaids got a huge room with champagne and music provided by the Samoset to get ready. The service was excellent, the wedding was seamless, and the guests raved about the event and how perfect it was. I couldn't have asked for a better day and only wish that I could do it again and again. Several of my unmarried bridesmaids told Will that he had sold them on the venue for their own weddings and I would definitely recommend the resort to other brides. It can be pricey in comparison to some other Maine venues but was definitely worth the value. I'm so happy with my decision!
  • A
    Alanna Sent on 07/22/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Will Clayton and the staff at the Samoset went above and beyond to make our entire wedding experience so perfect. From the planning process to the big day, Will was responsive, reliable, and quite frankly our "Yes Man". If there was any wish or need we had he couldn't say yes to he sought the appropriate personnel and made it happen. We realized throughout our stay at the Samoset that the facility was beautiful on the inside too! We were sold on the views at the Samoset, but the rain and fog unfortunately prevented us from this on the big day. Will and his staff coordinated our rehearsal dinner, ceremony , cocktail hour, and reception to be almost as stunning as the views on a sunny day. We can not thank the Samoset enough!
  • J
    Janelle Sent on 12/21/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Will Clayton did a great job to make everything perfect for our wedding day! I would not go back and change a single thing. Everything was perfect!
  • R
    Rebecca Sent on 11/02/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We recently got married at The Samoset, and could not believe the level of service we received from Will Clayton and the staff. We were treated with five-star service, and the amount of effort everyone expended on our behalf was just amazing. Will went out of his way to make sure that every detail was taken care of, and that we were nothing less than thrilled with the resort. From the food to the setting, everything was spectacular. We look forward to going back every year for our anniversary, and hopefully more frequently!
  • A
    Autumn Sent on 03/31/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    All I can say is that the Samoset went above and beyond for my husband and I. Our original date had to be changed due to a deployment to Afghanistan, so we had to reschedule, but that was no problem for the staff at the Samoset. Will Clayton was the event planer, and made everything happen with no issues. The only other date that we could pick was going to have to be during the off-season time because my husband and I were scheduled to move overseas shortly after my return from deployment. Again, they acted like this was no problem. Even though the resort was in the process of going through major renovations, you could hardly tell. They brought in enough staff to make it look like they were up and running for the season, were able to house all of our guests from out of town, upgraded many peoples rooms at no extra charge, let Mike and I check in to our room before they had planned, upgraded us to the Presidential Suite, they went out of their way to make it all work. Will was there at the drop of a hat when I needed something, and made the event 100% stress free. If I had it to do over again, I wouldn't change a thing. Mike and I look forward to making the Samoset a vacation spot for many years to come. The area is beautiful, the accommodations are exceptional, and the staff is the best!
  • M
    Molly Sent on 09/07/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My experience at the Samoset could not have been more perfect! The staff is INCREDIBLE and the wedding planner, Will Clayton, is one of the most amazing people I have ever met. He is hard working, motivated and always smiling! I can't say enough great things about the Samoset and about how hard they worked to make our day all that it was!!
  • V
    Virginia Sent on 08/05/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Yesterday I completed this survey. After completing it, I saw that I had accidently marked "responsiveness" at a 4.5. That was not my intention. I thought I had marked a 5. The responsiveness of the staff at the Samoset Resort was beyond any I have encountered previously. In particular, Wil Clayton, was wonderful. I felt like he could read my mind as to what we needed. The reception staff were also very helpful and gracious.
    If you want a fairy tale wedding, go to the Samoset Resort!!!
  • B
    Barbara Sent on 08/10/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Wonderful venue, wonderful staff, and wonderful experience! I recommend it highly to others frequently.
  • S
    Selena Sent on 08/10/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Choosing the Samoset as the venue for our wedding ceremony and reception was a no-brainer from the very beginning. From the first day we arrived to check out the site, the service we received was impeccable. They treated us to dinner as well as a comped room for the night since we had traveled from Boston to visit. Aside from the fact that the resort is absolutely beautiful (and recently renovated), the staff were an absolute pleasure to work with. Our wedding coordinator Will Clayton went above and beyond to make sure that every aspect of our wedding was exactly what we envisioned. During the wedding planning experience, I learned first-hand how difficult it can sometimes be when working with vendors, but working with Will and the other staff at the Samoset was always a happy and calming experience. Will knew exactly what to say to make my husband and I feel at ease whenever we began to stress about the little details, and was so incredibly flexible and accommodating to our needs that we dubbed him "the yes man":). Furthermore, we never expected to be able to afford the wedding of our dreams at such a gorgeous venue, but once again the Samoset worked with our budget to help us make our vision come true in these hard economic times. I should also add that we both come from foodie families and the quality of our reception dinner was very important to us. The chef at the Samoset hit the mark, using fresh local ingredients and timing serving the dinner perfectly so that everything was hot and fresh. I received many compliments from guests who said that it was the best meal they had at a wedding. Clearly I can't say enough good things about both the resort, and especially Will and the other staff there who truly made our wedding the special event we will remember forever.
  • L
    Liz Sent on 08/05/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    everything was superior
  • B
    Amber Sent on 02/10/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I am thrilled to be able to write a review for The Samoset as they were EXPERTS on guiding me with my wedding plans. I was engaged in May of 2009 and my fiance and I wanted to wed in the fall of 2009. We had limited time to not to mention this was also a destination wedding and most of my planning would be done via email and phone. I wanted to find the perfect person at the right venue to take on my vision and make it happen! Will Clayton, was that person. He was the most incredible wedding coordinator whose unswerving responsiveness, attention to detail and the patience of a saint, was able to help me create my unforgettable day. I met with him once to start the initial planning and continued to plan over the next few months via email and phone. We met again two days before my wedding and Will didn't miss a beat. Everything was in place and ready to go.

    Will helped prepare my rehearsal dinner which was held in a private room. Fire places were lit, wine was served and the dinner was spot on! Even when my father wanted something that wasn't offered on the menu, Will was quick to hunt it down and deliver! Will always made sure that my husband and I were satisfied along with each guest. He over saw everything to insure that not only his standards were met for The Samoset, but mine as well.

    The wedding packages offered make it easy on your wallet and all packages come with perks a bride wouldn't expect! The food selection is distinct and delectable! My guests were blown away by the presentation of not only the ballroom, food and staff but of course by the striking and picturesque views of the grounds. We were married outside on the lush lawn surrounded by the sparkling ocean and exotic flowers that made for picture perfect wedding photos on any camera. The rooms are clean, large and very inviting! The bridal suite is a MUST SEE!
    This is one venue that truly goes beyond typical wedding planning. I was very satisfied with everyone at The Samoset and my guests continue to rave about how grand and distinguished my wedding was. I know my husband and I will be back well before our 1 year anniversary and we plan to share the other endless amenities at The Samoset with our kids in the future.
  • H
    Kristine Sent on 03/03/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our entire wedding weekend at the Samoset. I didn't have a lot of free time to plan the wedding, so I really appreciated that the staff at Samoset was so helpful and flexible. From picking linens to food to seating arrangements I never felt rushed or forced into a decision and everything came into place beautifully. From start to finish it was a high-class, high-quality affair without any pretense.

    In the spring they invited all of the future couples to come and stay for a night. We sampled food, met vendors and had a blast!
    Most of our guests stayed for the whole weekend of the wedding, and the staff helped us greet them with gifts when they arrived. They organized keeping the indoor pool open for two extra hours for a "pool party" for our guests. (Which my husband and I didn't officially request until noon on that day!) They helped organize a golf tournament the morning of the wedding. (Although it rained so only a few people ended up playing.)

    We had planned an outdoor ceremony with indoor cocktails and dinner. However, we knew it would be iffy in October so part of what we loved about the Samoset is that they assured us they would be flexible with us and we would be the only wedding that day. If things needed to be moved forward or backward during the day to catch the weather, or move the entire thing inside they would help us. The event coordinator, Will, gave us so many options ranging from completely outside, to partially covered on the porch, to inside depending on the level of the storm. He ended up setting up our ceremony inside in their restaurant which they kept closed until after our ceremony. (By the way he handled this all so smoothly that I felt zero stress on the morning of.) It was a great location because of the large windows, so we were still able to take advantage of the beautiful view. They also provided a six-person golf cart so my husband and photographer and I braved the weather for some gorgeous pictures!

    Our cocktail hour was in an upstairs room off of the lobby which also took advantage of the great view. The food and the service was great, and the staff was so friendly. (One server even put aside a plate of two of each of the appetizers for my husband and I so that we would not miss out on the food while we did the meet and greet.) The chef was very accommodating. We were allowed to pick from a variety of menus, even though our "package" had a menu associated with it. He even cooked up mini kobe beef sliders to serve at the cocktail reception which my husband and another husband-to-be thought of at the reception for future couples.

    Our actual reception was in the smaller ballroom. Again, the food and service were fantastic. We opted for a buffet so that our guests could sample all the great food. The food was phenomenal, not "buffet-like" at all! The accompanying service was not "buffet-like" at all either! I don't think anyone had an empty wine glass the entire evening. The same waiter who had set aside all the appetizers for us kept checking in with my husband and I to make sure we were doing ok. The cake was beautiful and delicious.
    Will shuffled the musicians from our ceremony to the cocktail hour to the reception. He also moved our guests from all three locations as well. Everything was done so smoothly my husband and I didn't have to think about a thing.

    We had a send-off brunch the next morning, which again was great. I can't say enough good things about the Samoset.

    Besides the good food and great view, I think the thing we talk about the most is how as soon as my husband arrived at the Samoset the afternoon before our wedding we were totally relaxed. All the stress of planning in the last few days leading up to the wedding were totally wiped away. We knew we were in good hands and everything was going to be taken care of. We were able to really enjoy the fantastic weekend, our friends and family and each other. Everything was light and fun, but the details and service were impeccable! Our "theme" for the feel of our wedding was casual elegance. We wanted all the details to be perfect, but we wanted the atmosphere to be light and fun. The Samoset nailed it perfectly!

    Our friends and family are still talking about what a perfect weekend it was!
  • A
    Alison Sent on 06/12/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Samoset Resort, Rockport Maine is the one of the most breathtaking Resorts to host your wedding day!
    It's an Oceanfront Resort with a gorgeous award-winning 18 hole golf course along the water.
    Being able to have my guests stay in their beautiful newly renovated rooms as well as have my cocktail hour, ceremony + reception all in their amazing ballrooms - was very convienent for us as well as for all our guests!!
    Everything is right there - golf, restaurants, pools, breakwater...it's a perfect for guests who want to make your wedding a weekend getaway.
    Our wedding pictures were taken outside with the beautiful ocean in the background - and 20 of our guests (including the groom and his wedding party) - played golf the morning of our wedding!
    Jessica Nixon, the wedding coordinator at the Samoset is AMAZING. She is very calm + soft spoken which is so wonderful when you are a stressed out bride to be :-)
    All the staff at the Samoset are wonderful as well.
    I highly recommend the Samoset Resort to anyone!
  • K
    Katie Sent on 02/11/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I am a Maine girl and grew up going to the Samoset every year with my family for my Dad's business conventions. From the first time i went there, it was a special experience. It is the most beautiful and professional, yet family friendly, resort Maine can offer.

    The easiest decision about planning our wedding was choosing the Samoset as the venue. The event staff at the Samoset really made our wedding planning an easy process. They have great resources to make your wedding just how you have always dreamed!

    Everyone from the front desk staff to the waiters were the most professional and friendly staff you will ever encounter. My guests are still taking about what a great wedding it was and how much they LOVED the SAMOSET!!!!
  • A
    Alicia Sent on 02/03/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Thank you for making my ceremony the most amazing part of the day!
  • K
    Kerri Sent on 08/03/2014
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I was married at the Samoset on Friday July 25th. It is 10 days later and we are still getting compliments on how much fun people had at the wedding. We held our ceremony down by the ocean and had a tented reception outside up by the hotel. The views and atmosphere are breath taking. We had perfect weather and everything was beautifully put together. We worked directly with Will Clayton and I really can't compliment him enough. He is very down to earth and personable but also very professional and knows what he's doing. He was so helpful with any questions we had and was always quick to make recommendations. The wedding day was organized and just amazing. I had a great experience and would highly recommend getting married at this venue. It was everything I wanted for my wedding.
  • User981761 Sent on 10/20/2012
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had my Son and daughter in law's rehearsal dinner at the Samoset. I had to arrange for this event from afar. Will Clayton was very helpful and accomodating in setting up the event. Once the event details were set I was able to forgot about it until the date. When we arrived everything was perfect. The Venue (Schooner Room) was perfect size and the set up was great. My only regret is that the event was at night and because the daytime view from this room is spectacular.
    The food was excellent and presented nicely.
    Mostly, I cannot say enough about the service. The wait staff and bar tender went well above any expectations I had. They brought food and drink to the tables for the elderly (we did a buffet style meal) and were incredibly attentive, friendly and truly appeared to want this to be the best event we would ever experience. I would return to Samoset for any event I had to arrange in a heartbeat.
  • C
    Kelly Sent on 11/12/2010
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Samoset was an amazing place to have a wedding.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message