The Outer Edge Reviews

21 | Seattle, WA
See photos, pricing and details

21 Reviews for The Outer Edge

Recommended by 99%

21
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

5 User photos

The Outer Edge 1
The Outer Edge 2
The Outer Edge 3
The Outer Edge 4
The Outer Edge 5
Sort by:
  • E

    Erica · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I seriously could not have been happier with everything that Jen provided! I've been going to Jen for my regular hair appointments for the past 2 years, and she is such an incredible and inspirational person! I of course asked her to do my wedding hair and makeup, along with my 6 bridesmaids. She was incredibly professional throughout the planning and trial process and really listened to what I envisioned for my big day. The day of the wedding, she and her assistant were so fun to work with, they had all my bridesmaids laughing and having a great time! My hair and makeup stayed in place the entire night, even with me being on the dance floor for 2+ hours! I received so many compliments, and am so thankful to have booked Jen!

    The Outer Edge 6
  • Naomi

    Naomi · Married on 08/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen is not only an incredible makeup artist and hairstylist, but also an uplifting and positive friend to have beside you as you start your wedding day. I first worked with Jen when she came to shoot in Paris, where I was living at the time. I immediately knew that she had to do my hair and makeup at my wedding, so when the time came, I asked her and then made plans to bring her out to Pittsburgh to do my hair and makeup, as well as my mom’s, my mother-in-law’s, and my bridesmaids’. She was the perfect person to have with me the morning of my wedding. So easygoing, so positive (I had a stressful morning, and she was able to keep me calm), and so talented. My hair and makeup absolutely exceeded every expectation, was gorgeous, and lasted through the whole night! She did a lovely job as well on everyone else, and I had so many bridesmaids later tell me how much they enjoyed getting to know her. She was not just another vendor at my wedding, but has rather become a lifelong friend. We loved having her! Photo credit to Meredith McKee Photography!

    The Outer Edge 7
  • J

    Julie · Married on 08/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved working with Jen! I hired her for bridal/wedding hair and makeup. She also did hair and makeup for my boudoir session which was when I first met her. She is very personable and great at what she does. After the boudoir appointment I ended up booking her to get my balayage refreshened. She did such an amazing job! I told her about how the last 2 times I got it done at another salon, they didn't get the color right. She told me about the product uses which is made specifically for darker hair to get it lighter without bleach and damaging it. She got my balayage color right on point! When it came to the bridal trial, she did such a wonderful job with my hair. We talked a lot during the hair portion and I ended up running short on time because I had a dress fitting right after. So makeup didn't turn out how I wanted which was my fault but also you know your skin better than anyone else. I'm really oily so that was something I was worried about. I contacted Jen just to see if we can change up some things and she was so nice about it. I didn't have any doubts that it wasn't going to turn out right on wedding day because I trust her. She's been doing this for a long time and is passionate about her work. She addressed all my concerns and on wedding day it looked perfect! Throughout the process I got to know her better and she is such a good person. I will definitely be a returning client for hair/makeup needs!

    The Outer Edge 8
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen was and is the best! When I went for my trial, she was patient and had great advice; I left knowing that I would be delighted and feeling good on the big day. On our wedding day itself, Jen did hair and make-up for four of us. She took the time to have each person feeling their best, and was a lovely, calming presence. When I wasn't sure about my hair, she adjusted. When I had my teary moment of overwhelm, she was the kindest. What more could you ask for? I wasn't sure that we needed hair and make-up done professionally, but I am so very glad that we spent the money, and that we chose Jen. I'd do it again in a heartbeat.

    The Outer Edge 9
    The Outer Edge 10
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen was my hair and makeup stylist for my wedding. During my trial, I noted a few things I'd like to change for the big day. She was diligent at remembering these adjustments and applied them day of to perfection. It was my first time getting airbrush makeup and it made my skin look flawless. My hair was secure through the whole day. She also gives you an adorable touch up kit. On top of all of that, Jen is super sweet and fun to spend hours with on your most special day.

  • User7431445 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen is a pleasure to work with. I was unsure of what look I wanted for my wedding, and she helped me come up with the perfect balance of natural but still "dressed-up." I felt confident in her talent, and enjoyed her upbeat personality!

  • R

    Risa · Married on 08/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen Lagers of the Outer Edge is everything you could want for a wedding day hair and makeup artist! Jen makes you feel so comfortable, is so fun to chat with, and is truly an artist. I had some notes for tweaks to my hair and makeup after my trial, and Jen incorporated them perfectly. I cannot say enough about how special she made each of us feel, and how beautiful everyone looked.

  • R

    Risa · Married on 08/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen Lagers of the Outer Edge is everything you could want for a wedding day hair and makeup artist! Jen makes you feel so comfortable, is so fun to chat with, and is truly an artist. I had some notes for tweaks to my hair and makeup after my trial, and Jen incorporated them perfectly. I cannot say enough about how special she made each of us feel, and how beautiful everyone looked.

  • C

    Candi · Married on 06/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'll start by stating the obvious - Jen is amazing to work with! Not only is she fabulous at what she does, she is also someone that you'll want to spend the morning of your wedding with. She’s so fun, laid back, and gets along with everyone. I’ve worked with Jen as a wedding coordinator and as a bride myself, and she’s awesome at getting everyone ready in a timely manner without feeling hurried or rushed. She also takes time to care for everyone’s skin and make-up preferences, and the results are stunning! She was great at matching my make-up style to the look and feel of my wedding and I felt absolutely beautiful on my wedding day :) I’d highly recommend her to any bride and/or wedding party looking for a make-up artist!

  • User6551452 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so lucky to have found the talented Jen Lagers of The Outer Edge to do my hair and make-up for my wedding this past April. Jen is so, so, talented. She also cut and highlighted by hair before the wedding, and it is the best cut and color I've ever received. Jen is a rock-star!

    The wedding hair and make-up trial put me completely at-ease. I felt beautiful and glamorous, but also like myself. This is the main reason I wanted to go with Jen, as she enhances natural beauty instead of making you look like someone you're not. She looked at my inspiration images and created a beautiful hair style that stayed put, all day. All of the products she uses are high quality - and lasted the entire day; through tears and all!

    Her work speaks for itself. Something you may not be able to see through images - is how kind, sweet and patient Jen is. Jen is an absolute joy to work with; she loves what she does, and it shows.

  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 12/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen did such a wonderful job on my wedding day. She really made me feel like a princess! The makeup stayed on all night despite countless hours of dancing. My bridesmaids and mother also looked fabulous all day. Not to mention she was prompt, professional, and willing to listen to my and everyone else's beauty requests. I wholeheartedly recommend Jen to any bride or woman looking to look and feel her most beautiful.

  • T

    Tara · Married on 09/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen is fabulous, she is so sweet and down to earth. She takes to time to listen to what is important for you as a bride and offers her artistic point of view as well. She did everyone's hair and makeup in my of party 5 in such a professional and timely matter. She takes each individual and highlights their natural beauty. I had a outdoor wedding in September in Washington state, as could be predicated in my state it started down pouring during our first photos as a married couple. We got our photos back and my makeup and hair was flawless, honestly I couldn't have been happier with the job she did. I highly recommend outer edge if you want a professional, durable, and beautiful hair and makeup.

  • User6168426 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen is a joy to work with and very talented.

  • J

    jennifer · Married on 09/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen is awesome! She had the best prices I found and she actually does this for a living--not just something she does for fun on the side. She truly knows what she is doing! She was so responsive to all the emails I sent and super flexible. She made sure the makeup and hair was exactly what I wanted and made the changes I wanted on the day of (which were minor because what she did for the trial was almost perfect!). She is so so sweet--I absolutely loved working with her!

  • User6159860 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen was a pleasure to work with. She responded to e-mails very quickly, even during the height of wedding season. That was so helpful in keeping my stress level down. My bridesmaids, mom, and I were all so happy with how our makeup and hair turned out on the big day. All the ladies in my bridal party are very low maintenance, natural beauties. I was nervous they would look too made-up and feel uncomfortable after getting their make-up professionally done. I was blown away by how Jen was able to match their make-up and hairstyles to their personalities, and bring out their best features. All my favorite ladies looked amazing in pictures, and I could tell they felt comfortable and confident. I was equally happy with my bridal makeup and hair. I spent more money on hair and makeup than I thought I would, but Jen's prices seem to be consistent with most other people, even taking into account the extra charge to travel an hour each way to our venue. You really don't appreciate how important it is to get your make-up and hair professionally done until you see your wedding photos, it was worth every penny.

  • C

    Claire · Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen is truely a gem. Best decision I made besides saying "I do". I usually wear subtle make up but have picky skin so needed coverage, I also obviously wanted to step it up a notch for the wedding, but didn't want to go overboard- SHE READ MY MIND! It was perfect! And for the hair, I had a picture and she matched it beautifully!!! Most of all though, even with hair and makeup on point, it is her personality that is truely irreplaceable. I would have her ( and her assistant) at my wedding just to have them there. Absolute dreams. Book her, you won't be sorry.

    Sent on 01/06/2016

    The Outer Edge's reply:

    Claire, you and your ladies were AMAZING! So much fun! Thanks so much! xoxo
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 06/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen did my hair and make-up along with my mother's make-up for my wedding reception. She did a phenomenal job! She really listens to what you want and works with you to create a beautiful look. She uses quality products and really knows her stuff in regards to the latest make-up artist techniques and hair styles. She was a pleasure to work with and I highly recommend her services!

  • K

    Karly · Married on 07/03/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen was by far one of my best vendors for my wedding! She was super fun and clearly had a handle on all things make-up and beauty related. I don't wear much makeup on a daily basis and she took all of my concerns into consideration and gave me a lovely natural look that I loved (it also photographed incredibly well!!). She was also very sweet to give eyeliner tips to my sister-who only had her hair professionally done-while she was completing my bridal hair. My mom and mother-in-law also had their hair done and the curls she created were very pretty.

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 07/02/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Jen was a fantastic experience. From the first time sitting down in her chair for a trial through the wedding day she made me feel comfortable and confident in her abilities to make me look beautiful on my wedding day. My hair trial resulted in lessons learned on what NOT to do with my hair on the wedding day and with continued communication, Jen and I came up with a hair style that was perfection. I would highly recommend Jen for her hair styling skills.

  • L

    Lisa-Marie · Married on 04/23/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Overall Jen was absolutely amazing and I would hire her again! However I didn't receive touch-up lipstick which we had talked about, so that was my only complaint. Otherwise I would trust her with making me feel beautiful and confident everyday!

    Sent on 09/08/2016

    The Outer Edge's reply:

    Hi Lisa-Marie, I am so sorry that the lipstick didn't make it, I had no idea until now! How frustrating for you. It definitely was packed and ready to go for the day. I'm disappointed it didn't get into your hands. Again, I apologize! Thanks so much, Jen
  • M

    Mara · Married on 07/03/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen is an absolute doll! She's friendly, down-to-earth, and truly makes you feel and look beautiful! She's been doing my hair for years, so it was no question to have her style my hair and do my makeup on my big day! I'd definitely recommend her to anyone tying the knot! Cheers!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review