The Omni Homestead Resort Reviews

26 | Hot Springs, VA
See photos, pricing and details

26 Reviews for The Omni Homestead Resort

Recommended by 97%

26
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

7 User photos

The Omni Homestead Resort 1
The Omni Homestead Resort 2
The Omni Homestead Resort 3
The Omni Homestead Resort 4
The Omni Homestead Resort 5
The Omni Homestead Resort 6
The Omni Homestead Resort 7
Sort by:
  • K

    Kw W · Married on 03/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent!

    The Omni Homestead is not only a beautiful resort but it proved itself to be an amazing wedding location. My husband and I had an intimate wedding of about 50-60 guests. Unlike many of the other venues we looked at, the Omni did not force a minimum fee on us that we would have needed 100 guests to hit. They worked with us to mold a wedding package that worked for us. Most our family came in from out of state and the resort made for an amazing weekend away for our guests. We did the cocktail hour in the charming Washington Library and then a buffet reception in the Mt Stratford. The food was delicious.

    While the Omni itself served as the perfect venue, the true star of our wedding was Esme Pitard. From the day we emailed the Omni she assisted us every step. Esme made sure we had every detail covered for not only the wedding but the rehearsal and after party as well. She helped us find off-site vendors and was honest about what she thought would work best for us. She even showed up at the church to send my wedding party down the aisle.

    Esme was also very flexible and was prepared for every last minute change and hiccup we threw at her. My husband and I received an increase in our guest list the week of our wedding and Esme stepped up to find us a room to better fit our crowd. And then the day before the wedding we had doubts about the speakers we had brought for music and joked about hiring a DJ. Esme quickly went to work and found a DJ literally the night before the wedding. The DJ was a hit and really set the scene of our wedding.

    The Omni Homestead is a pricey place but they truly take into the needs of the couple by providing people like Esme to help out. We never felt like we were just another wedding and every step was about what we wanted. If you are looking for a historic backdrop with activities for all your guests to enjoy and a professional planner we highly recommend the Homestead for a wedding.

    Sent on 03/09/2019
  • A

    allie · Married on 10/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    dream come true...

    I spent summers and holidays here growing up as a kid. Always knew I wanted to get married here. So worth it - everything was beautiful. Service was impeccable, food was excellent. Would do it again tomorrow.

    Sent on 11/02/2018
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Clearly, as I have awarded five stars in every category, you can guess that we are extremely pleased with our venue choice! Ten days have passed since the service, and our family is still thrilled as the day could not have gone better. Rain forced our planned outdoor ceremony inside, but it hardly mattered. The staff at the Omni Homestead Resort made the change seamlessly and when all was said and done, we couldn't have been happier with the set-up! From the very start, Rachel Withrow and Cali Baskin were fantastic to work with and totally responsive to a million questions from myself and the bride. The rest of the staff at the Homestead was fantastic, as well. The wedding planning weekend allowed us to choose our own menu, and we were given a lot of flexibility along the way to tailor the weekend to our needs. Most of our 140 guests stayed on-site, and I have heard nothing but raves about the property. In spite of the weather, everyone had a fantastic time. The food, the drink, the service...it was all spot-on. Many thanks to everyone at the Omni Homestead Resort!

    Sent on 06/12/2018
  • J

    jill · Married on 08/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outstanding! My husband and I could not have thought of a more beautiful venue to share with all our friends and family. We wanted our wedding day to be a part of an experience in bringing two people and lives together, and the Omni Homestead was the perfect setting. Our families and friends had a week long of luxury vacationing and activities that brought everyone together for our intimate wedding day. The picturesque golf view outdoor wedding was over the top beautiful and our reception in the Grand Ballroom Foyer was perfection. I still have dreams about our wedding cake and the amazing food from our rehearsal lunch, the reception, and to an amazing buffet breakfast the next morning. There is not one person that hasn't come up to me and said that our wedding was the most 'beautiful wedding' they have ever seen, and it truly was. Rachel and Cali from the event team are fantastic! My husband and I can not thank them enough for giving us the most seamless day and making every girl's dreams come true.

    Sent on 11/19/2017
    The Omni Homestead Resort 11
    The Omni Homestead Resort 12
    The Omni Homestead Resort 13
    The Omni Homestead Resort 14
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 01/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Omni Homestead and its staff exceeded expectations in every way. Our wedding was scheduled for October 7, 2016, in Charleston, SC but was canceled when we were forced to evacuate the area due to Hurricane Matthew. Taylor Underwood did more than was humanly imaginable to help us pull off a 130+ person wedding in less than 15 weeks and did so with such professionalism and grace, it is simply beyond words. The Crystal Ballroom was stunning and the food surpassed all expectations with many stating it was more like eating at a fancy restaurant than eating at a wedding. I recommend the Omni Homestead without reservation or hesitation.

    Sent on 01/29/2017
  • S

    Shira · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We celebrated an AMAZING wedding weekend at the Omni Homestead! Our friends and family loved the picturesque venue and the many resort activities. We can't wait to make Homestead visits an annual family trip!!

    Sent on 10/31/2016
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was the mother of the bride and did most of the coordination with the Omni Homestead Resort. It is a beautiful venue and the coordinator, Rachel Withrow, did an outstanding job with all aspects of the wedding. She made really good suggestions and the wedding, reception and arrangements for our family and guests were first class!

    Sent on 12/09/2016
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Homestead has always been a special place to my family since we have visited it every year around the holidays! When we started looking at wedding venues, it was one of my top choices but my decision was made after our visit with the wedding coordinator there. Although it is expensive, the value of what you get within the wedding package makes it well worth it and truly more reasonable that many other top venues we visited throughout Virginia. They give you a wedding coordinator who works with you every step of the way to make your vision come true. I had the pleasure of working with Rachel Withrow, who was absolutely phenomenal. She answered every phone call and email within minutes and made the process so easy for us by accommodating every request we had. When the weekend came, not one single person had to worry about a thing because she had already done everything for us and was 10 steps ahead. We had our rehearsal dinner at the Gun Club Pavilion which was perfect since I wanted a part of our weekend to be outdoors. The views up there are spectacular and people are still raving about the gorgeous sunset background we had. We did our reception in the Crystal Ballroom and it was a perfect size for our 120 guests with plenty of room for the band and dancing. The food and beverage service during the entire wedding weekend was top notch and my guests are still telling us how it was the best wedding dinner they have ever had. Honestly, my family could not have felt more accommodated from the minute we pulled up to the time we left with door to door service from Rachel and the staff at the Homestead. She even knew most of my guests by their first names by the end of the weekend! These are the amazing perks that make it worth every dollar you spend!

    Sent on 09/22/2016
  • User5412724 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place is second to none in the area. Taylor and staff were amazing through the entire process. All requests were met with a positive attitude and a smile. Look forward to coming back for future anniversaries!

    Sent on 09/26/2016
  • K

    Karen · Married on 12/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My daughter got married in the Crystal Ballroom at the Omni Homestead Resort in Hot Springs, VA, on 12/20/14. The wedding was beautiful and flawless. The outstanding Homestead wedding planner, Gail Arnott, took care of everything, including helping us find the best vendors, scheduling our wedding activities and spa visits, coordinating all aspects of the rehearsal, rehearsal dinner, cocktail party, wedding, and reception. She does it all! The food and service at the rehearsal dinner and reception was outstanding, and the custom wedding cake was included in the wedding menu. The Resort itself is beautifully decorated (requiring minimal decorating for a wedding) and has spectacular indoor and outdoor photo opportunities. The staff is, without exception, friendly, helpful, and professional. Gail helped us stay within our budget, which is amazing at such a lavish venue. The resort is also family-friendly and there's lots of activities available for wedding guests who come for the weekend (i.e., the spa, ice skating, historical tours, golf, hiking, pools, gym, game room, etc.) We are happy we chose the Homestead for the wedding!!!

    Sent on 12/28/2014
  • A

    Amy · Married on 08/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing wedding ceremony and reception at the Homestead. Our ceremony was on the casino lawn and our reception was in the Crystal Ballroom. Gail is the most amazing wedding coordinator at the Homestead and you absolutely need her on the day of the wedding. Best of all, there is no extra fee! Having your wedding at the Homestead is definitely not cheap, but totally worth it for the best day of your life!

    Sent on 08/26/2013
  • E

    Erin · Married on 12/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The wedding coordinator Tricia was AMAZING. We were plagued by illness when arriving and she took care of everything. The hotel staff were great and attentive. Everything was perfect and everyone had a great time. It is an amazing venue!!!

    Sent on 01/03/2013
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 06/23/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had Tricia Fry as my wedding coordinator and she was amazing. I felt, throughout my time working with her, that I was the only bride she was working with and she always got back to me asap. The venue itself was so beautiful (I have been coming here for years), and it was such a wonderful weekend for not only myself and my husband, but everyone that attended the wedding. Highly recommend.

    Sent on 07/20/2012
  • E

    Emily · Married on 06/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words cannont express how grateful we are to The Homestead and its staff. We had a "wedding weekend" full of fun. Our guests had a great time and the food was wonderful. The resort is so beautiful both indoors and out. The Homestead's motto is that they are "The Birthplace of Southern Hospitality." This could not be more true. Time after time, the staff went above and beyond to ensure that our wedding day was perfect.

    Sent on 07/20/2011
  • N

    Harrison · Married on 06/12/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I got married at The Homestead and would suggest it to any bride. If you are looking for a real Elegant Southern Wedding in Virginia- this is the place. We had the rehersal dinner at The Gun Club. The ceremony was in the Crystal Ballroom and reception was in the Empire Room. The staff is amazing! Tricia Fry is wonderful to work with and Chef Todd is fantastic! They were very flexible in putting together a one of a kind dinner. The staff at The Homestead is so nice. There are many activities for guests also. The spa was wonderful and was able to fit all 8 of my bridesmaids. The Homestead even provides transporation to other B&Bs if you have guests staying offsite. It is a bit on the pricer side, but well worth it.

    Sent on 06/17/2010
  • K

    Katie · Married on 01/05/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Homestead was an absolutely wonderful place to be married! My husband and I got married in the winter, and it was just a beautiful setting. It didn't hurt that that was the Homestead's "down season" and our family and friends were practically the only ones there. We had our rehearsal dinner in the Commonwealth room, got married at the Catholic church a short walk up the road (shuttles were available), and had our reception in the Crystal Room/Empire Room (latter for the sit down dinner). It was a great deal in the winter and we got fabulous personal attention from the staff. Plus, it is a wonderful place to go back for anniversaries! I highly recommend it.

    Sent on 07/14/2010
  • B

    Bradley · Married on 04/26/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We found The Homestead on an anniversary getaway, and when we got engaged we both had the same idea "Wouldn't it be nice to find something like The Homestead?" After looking around, we never did, and so we decided to hold it at The Homestead itself. We couldn't be happier. The location gave us ready access to our guests, while still allowing them to relax, and it was awesome seeing the facebook posts of all the interesting things our guests did over the weekend.

    The Ceremony location in the Grand Foyer was beautiful, and the Crystal ballroom just shimmered for dancing at the reception.

    The location itself is beautiful, the staffing is exceptionally competent and the best of all, it comes with an onsite wedding coordinator. Gayle, our coordinator was amazing, helping us to line up recommended vendors, design room layouts, and work through scheduling and logistics. Seriously, we don't know how we would have pulled this off without her.

    There are downsides. This is a destination wedding, and can be logistically hard to get to. It's 4 hours from DC and 2 hours from the nearest airport. Our guest list was probably cut by about 50 people based purely on the travel alone. Also, a Homestead wedding isn't cheap, hence the slight knock on value, but honestly, if you can spare the cash, it was worth every penny.



    Sent on 05/09/2014
  • Elizabeth

    Elizabeth · Married on 06/02/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Homestead was the wedding venue of my dreams and our wedding was beyond a dream come true. There is no way that any wedding coordinator could be more professional, detailed, caring and attentive than Tricia Fry. She was absolutely a pleasure to work with and we consider her a dear friend now that the ceremony has passed. Our guests all had such wonderful things to say about our wedding and their time at the Homestead. We plan on going back for our anniversaries and as often as possible. The staff was wonderful from the head chef to the wait staff to the housekeeping. It is certainly not cheap to hold a wedding here but you will not be disappointed and it will truly be a memorable and unique experience for your friends and family.

    Sent on 07/13/2012
  • M

    M. Mclaren · Married on 10/13/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So happy with our Homestead Wedding

    We are so happy we chose the Homestead for our wedding weekend! While every venue has pros and cons for our experience the pros far outweighed the cons and we will cherish our memories of that weekend. One of the best parts of the experience was working with Cali Baskin, the wedding coordinator. She was always responsive, helpful and creative about problem solving and really fabulous at her job!
    WHY WE CHOSE HOMESTEAD: The Homestead is a gorgeous old historic building. The grounds are beautiful and ballroom was perfect for our Black Tie wedding. In addition, we wanted a wedding where all of our friends and family could come together in one place for the whole weekend. We did not want to have to shuttle all over town and various locations... we wanted it to be easy!
    CONS
    -- The Homestead is a true destination wedding - it is not close to many cities or airports. While travel was hard, once people got there they really settled in and enjoyed the resort.
    -- The rooms as The Homestead are outdated and not up to par with a hotel of its stature. This did not affect the wedding itself, but as 95% of our guest stayed there, too many of them had issues and had to switch or leave their room. Its not great to hear those stories after your wedding weekend. I have heard they have a major renovation coming up.
    -- Like any destination wedding, for wedding props, accessories and all items really you have to find a way to get them there. They do not typically allow you to ship things there. However, I will say when asked on bulky items I just asked and they allowed me to ship them to Cali and had no problem at all.
    -- When you are locked into one location/ vendor things can be pricey. There are not many vendors/ suppliers in the area so often times that just pushes you to use the Homstead. As the Homestead knows they have a captive audience they can charge a lot for some things ( for example AV)

    PROS
    -- Beautiful historic building with numerous options for event locations and photos. Within one resort we found numerous options for events on both Friday and Saturday night - all of which were beautiful space. We held our welcome event in the Library and our wedding reception in the Crystal Ballroom. The number of event spaces became extremely important because our weather was much colder than expected on our wedding day. That was not an issue and we just moved our cocktail inside for the Jefferson Parlor, which is a pretty space. Using a resort like the Homestead provides lots of flexibility in case things go wrong! In addition, I could not be happier with my wedding photos ( By Lauras Focus) and there were so many pretty locations at the hotel to use as backdrop.
    -- The Homestead provides the food, rentals, tablesettings etc etc so you do not have to go through many vendors - it really streamlines the process. That being said, they could get expensive outside of their main wedding packages.
    -- Many activities and amenities for our guests to enjoy. It was great to know that while we were getting ready our guests were going on hikes, going to the spa, golfing and really enjoying their weekend away.
    -- Provided Bridal Suite in the spa. The day of my wedding I had a bunch of friends stop by the bridal suite in the spa. The hotel was great about helping me set it up with glasses and plates etc. It was perfect for getting ready it even had a hair sink and makeup vanities for our hair and makeup folks ( with many girls getting ready we needed it!)
    -- Lastly and most importantly, we really enjoyed working with the wedding coordinator Cali Baskin. She went above and beyond to make our weekend great. An example: The groom and 25 of his friends went golfing on our wedding day. She figured out how to help me send them a surprise drink with a note on each of the golf carts ( her idea) with our wedding logo (which she created and put out). All in all I would say Cali, the Homestead coordinator, did much more for us than our wedding planner.

    Sent on 11/20/2018
  • T

    Teller · Married on 08/05/2006

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Homestead was an amazing place for a wedding. The scenery is unparalleled as are the dining and activity options for guests. In this venue the bride and groom do not have to take full responsibility to entertain their guests, let the Homestead do that for you! We were able to relax and enjoy the weekend with our guests instead of stress about every detail. I highly recommend this venue!

    Sent on 07/08/2008
  • H

    Haleigh · Married on 10/01/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The weekend was AMAZING and we LOVED having our wedding here, but nothing here comes without an escalated price. We had 140 guests, mostly in 20s-30s and out parents and their close friends and family. We had our rehearsal dinner with all our guests at Garth Newel Music Hall 4 miles down the road and also did a Farewell Brunch on Sunday at The Homestead.
    Cons- difficulty with room block, 23% service charge & 9% tax on EVERYTHING, pay for welcome bag delivery, ran out of beer and vodka at my reception (totally unexceptable) with no reimbursement of any kind. Extremely rude security threatening to evict us from our $2000 suite the night of our wedding for having guests in our room and being too loud.
    Pros: TAYLOR UNDERWOOD, WEDDING COORDINATOR WAS AMAZING. Taylor took care of vendor recommendations, all the details, and I had A LOT of details. She went above and beyond to make sure our night was perfect. I mean this girl would get back to my emails ASAP, gave us a room to make welcome bags in, comped wine and cheese the arrival night, held a ton of decorations for us, listened to every detail and set it up EXACTLY how I wanted. I truly cannot say enough amazing things about Taylor. The Homestead takes care of everything onsite; linens, rooms, catering, setup, cleanup, coordinator which is SUPER HELPFUL. I have other friends who are brides having weddings at vineyards and halls where they had to bring in so many more vendors than I did. It was a more expensive weekend for our guests but they LOVED it. I had so many people tell me it was one of the best weddings they had been to and how much they enjoyed their weekend and the resort. Despite all the cons I would do it all over at The Homestead. The resort is beautiful and overall the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Sent on 10/26/2016
  • Rebecca Ott

    rebecca · Married on 07/25/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Even though we had a few changes in wedding planners over the course of the year leading up to the wedding, our experience with the Homestead was excellent. It is one of our favorite places and they did everything possible to make sure that our day was perfect. From the beautiful cake to the help with rooms and guests, they covered everything. We loved having everything in one place and it made it so much easier when it came to the food, cake, lodging and ceremony. We had our reception in the Grand Ballroom West and it was the perfect space for our 200 guests!! Would also recommend having cocktail hour in the marble hallway before. The space is gorgeous.

    Sent on 10/15/2015
  • User3576827 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The Omni Homestead is a GORGEOUS venue any time of year. We chose January because it is off season and a little less expensive and fit our budget. Gail was very helpful in every way possible (though I did have a planner of my own) and was for the most part very responsive. The ballrooms are gorgeous and we also used the Foyer for our ceremony. Couldn't have been a better wedding!

    Sent on 01/28/2015
  • M

    Marina · Married on 04/23/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Very accommodating & considerate of our special day!

    Sent on 06/29/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review