The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection Reviews

58 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

58 Reviews for The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Recommended by 94%

58
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.6
58 The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection Reviews
Sort by:
  • E

    Erica · Married on 01/27/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with the Mayflower was an incredible experience. The hotel could not have been more accommodating, and our coordinator, Drayton, was extremely responsive and did a wonderful job keeping everything organized. The Mayflower worked with us throughout the planning process to make updates to the layout of each room, and made sure that everything went smoothly the entire wedding weekend. The catering team went over the top to design a menu specifically tailored for our event, even adding peanut butter cookies to the menu for dessert at a last minute request! I could not recommend the venue or the staff more highly- they were absolutely amazing.

  • H

    Hillary · Married on 09/30/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mayflower helped to make sure that our wedding was everything we ever wanted and more. I was lucky enough to work with Ron Kee to develop our contract and Drayton Haycock who handled the planning / coordination for our wedding. The whole Mayflower team went above and beyond to ensure that our wedding was exactly how we envisioned it. Ron and Drayton were both very responsive to our questions throughout the planning process (and we had so many questions!). Drayton was amazing, she was always organized and professional and she managed the planning and scheduling with tremendous expertise. The Mayflower team (bartenders, waiters) were all so professional. Mayflower really went above and beyond to ensure that our guests had a great time and that they their stay at the hotel was flawless. I couldn’t be happier with the Mayflower and everyone who worked to make the day so memorable.

    The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 1
    The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 2
    The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 3
    The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 4
    The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 5
    The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 6
  • R

    ALEXA · Married on 09/02/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Magical Evening! The wedding was everything I dreamed of and more! The venue is so beautiful, so elegant, historical, and comfortable! One of the guests told me that it was the best wedding they had ever been to, and that The Mayflower and its Staff had enhanced their experience. The wedding coordinator, Sasha Wilder, was the best person I have ever worked with. She was on top pf every detail. Prior to the wedding there were tweaks needed to be taken care of, and she was already doing so, always thinking ahead. She remained calm through every minor rises that would arise. She is genuinely invested in your best experience. I recommend this wonderful place to be your wedding venue!

  • L

    Liz · Married on 08/12/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot rave enough about the team and experience we had in holding our wedding at the Mayflower. They organized a room block large enough for every single one of our guests and every guest was so impressed by the hospitality and history of the hotel. The events team truly treated us like royalty - from the impeccable menu tasting and planning meetings to the many gifts and surprises on our wedding day to the ballrooms, food, and service itself. Kelly Dodds is amazing!

  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 10/24/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My event manager, Jessica Dankos, did not miss a beat. She was amazing and made my whole experience so much fun. It's a really beautiful hotel and I felt that it was unmatched by any of the other venues in the city. Everyone there was extremely professional.

  • E

    Emily · Married on 10/17/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the minute we met with Elizabeth Kearse- we knew that the Mayflower was the best place to host our wedding. She was very welcoming and understanding of our financial situation to work within our budget. She then introduced us to our wedding coordinator, James Reilly. James and Elizabeth went above and beyond their "job description" to make us feel special! James (aka Jimmy) was beyond fantastic. Words cannot describe how much he helped execute our vision for the event which in the end exceeded all of our expectations! He was always available and prompt to getting back to us which was important since we live out of the area in Philadelphia. He was also very accommodating to our last minute requests and made them work. James and Tomeka Turner also accommodated and graciously assisted our guests. Everyone who stayed with the hotel told us a glowing review of their stay. Not only is the hotel absolutely beautiful (we love the room renovations too), but all the staff (front desk, bell hop, valet parking, housekeeping etc) were warm, friendly, helpful and welcoming. We all were completely and utterly impressed! Lastly, we do not want to forget mentioning our event banquet captain. Although her name escapes us now... She was very attentive and helped keep things on schedule and flowing nicely. Overall, it was an amazing wedding all thanks to the staff at the Mayflower! We miss it so much!

  • LeAmber

    LeAmber · Married on 10/11/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Lizzy (sales), Allie (event manager) and the entire Mayflower Hotel team was an amazing experience! I had the wedding of my dreams two weeks ago and the Mayflower Hotel was the perfect backdrop! From the moment I stepped foot inside the Mayflower, I knew this would be my wedding venue. Besides the fact that the hotel is breathtakingly GORGEOUS, the customer service was exceptional! Lizzy and Allie went above and beyond the call of duty to answer any questions I had (which were numerous), resolve any issues that may have occurred, or accommodate my special requests (i.e., infusing Caribbean food into the menu. The chef special ordered mini beef patties!) My guests are still raving about my wedding, many proclaiming it was the wedding of the year! Every aspect of the wedding planning process went seamlessly and the BIG DAY was flawless! Having my wedding at the Mayflower was worth every penny and the best decision I cloud have made. I look forward to celebrating my one year anniversary there!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/12/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Mayflower gave me and my husband the wedding of our dreams! Our family and friends still talk about how amazing the venue was and how much fun they had at our wedding. I would choose the Mayflower for our wedding a hundred times over!

    The Mayflower staff made me feel pampered from the moment I checked in to the bridal suite on Friday. There were so many extra touches that made the weekend unforgettable. Jimmy Reilly was our wedding coordinator and did not miss a detail! We met several times leading up to the wedding- and he made sure to take care of all the details when wedding weekend came. Lizzie was our sales manager, who my parents still talk about like we are best friends! Everyone was so friendly and attentive.

    Most of our guests were from out of town, so we had a large room block. Everyone commented on how friendly the staff was and some have even gone back to stay again! The remodeled rooms are gorgeous, with beautiful suites. Your guests will not be disappointed!

    The food was excellent with large portions. Many family members told me there were actually too many appetizers at cocktail hour- that he could not stop eating the delicious food. We chose the duet entree of steak and halibut. Everything from the napkin folds to the China was perfect. The uplighting in the room was also gorgeous. You cannot go wrong with the Mayflower!

  • R

    Roma · Married on 08/29/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have found a better venue for our wedding! The Mayflower was everything we wanted for our wedding and more! The hotel has a special charm to it. The history behind it along with the beautiful renovations made it really stand out as a venue. Additionally, it is centrally located to everything in Washington, D.C which was very convenient for all of our out of town guests. We hosted our wedding ceremony in the State Ballroom, a post ceremony coffee/tea reception in the East Ballroom, our cocktail hour in the foyer and our wedding reception in the Grand Ballroom. Every space was set up beautifully and the historical charm to these spaces really shined during our events.

    We worked Lizzy Vacarella when first booking the event. Lizzy was extremely patient and understanding – she answered several questions and allowed me to bring up every possible detail before signing that contract. She gave me ease and made the process already start smoothly. Jimmy Reilly was our events manager and worked with us the 9 months following. We feel lucky that we got Jimmy as our events manager. He is so enthusiastic, energetic, patient, detailed oriented, professional, as well responsive. He continued to assure us how wonderful our wedding is going to be and everything will be taken care of by him. When time came to our wedding, he really stood by his words. We had many guests travel in from various parts of the world and he made their accommodations more than comfortable. He made sure to give the highest priority to my husband and me during our wedding weekend and we really could not have been more pleased. He helped make our wedding day one to remember!



  • User4290005 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Mayflower was the best venue! It was everything I wanted my wedding to be and more! The hotel has a vintage feel that makes it feel like it's not your typical hotel venue. The historic charm glowed and made our wedding beautiful! It was in a convenient location that allowed my out of town guest easy access to great sites around Washington D.C.

    Lizzy worked with us to book the event. She was very friendly and sweet. With her help we were able to get extra ammenities into the contract. Jimmy was our event coordinator and he was a pleasure to work with. He was with us every step of the way helping us all of the details. He was very organized and responded quickly to phone calls and emails. I will miss working with him! He helped make our wedding one to remember!

    The catering staff provided excellent meals for all of meals throughout the weekend. The service was amazing. I have nothing but good things to say!

  • K

    Katie · Married on 05/23/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have long been a client at The Mayflower Hotel - In the past, I have done large conventions and trade shows. So, when we went on a hunt for our wedding venue, the Mayflower Hotel was the first we looked at. I absolutely love the hotel - and the staff- but I was concerned that, because I'd done corporate / professional business there, that I would see it less as a wedding venue than I wanted to. After searching for *months* for something that I loved as much as or more than The Mayflower I realized that there was nothing comparable. We ultimately decided on the Mayflower and it was one of the BEST decisions we made. Everything was absolutely flawless. All the other properties I looked at were nice in different ways but the Mayflower was the only one that was *everything* we wanted - the staff and feeling connected to the people we would be working with for our big day was at the top of the list and The Mayflower's staff has always treated me [and my now husband] like family.

    Elizabeth Vaccarrella [Lizzy] was my sales manager - she was very knowledgeable, professional, confident and most importantly *capable*. She absolutely understood the things that were important to me and crafted a wedding package that met my individual needs - it wasn't a "cookie-cutter" wedding package like a lot of the other venues we looked at. She was great and always was quick to respond and answered questions before I asked them!!

    Allison Cocker [Allie] was my event manager and after the contract was signed she took over with the planning process - wedding tasting, timeline, floor plan, coordinating vendors, etc. She was great and had a ton of great suggestions - or offered a different option to ideas I had that didn't work well with previous events. She knows what she's doing. Everything was flawless - our timeline went exactly according to plan, though, I didn't pay much mind to it because she and the rest of the team really made it stress-free for me and my family. Loved it all

  • KbellaP

    Kiara · Married on 04/19/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best decision I made was being a Mayflower bride! From Ron in sales to Allie in events/catering, we had an amazing team who made us feel like we were their only wedding throughout the entire process, and we booked them two years in advance. They were the consummate professionals, handled any and every question, request or issue that came up - though they didn't let me know about any of the issues that did arise. All of our guests raved about how ours was the best wedding they had ever been to, because the hotel, staff, food, alcohol and location were so superb. If you are able to have your wedding at the Mayflower - DO IT!

  • K

    Katie · Married on 01/17/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely LOVED having our wedding at the Mayflower. It was a pricey option, but completely worth it. The venue is gorgeous, the food is amazing, the chefs are awesome, the staff is courteous, welcoming, and professional, the location is very central and super convenient for out of town guests, the rooms are great, and our wedding planner was outstanding. We worked with Ron Kee during contract negotiations and our wedding planner was Jimmy Reilly. I cannot convey how critical Jimmy was to our wedding and our enjoyment not only of our wedding day and our rehearsal, but also the months leading up to the wedding. He was incredibly responsive and attentive to every detail, which made us feel so reassured and confident that we were in good hands, and he proved that a thousand times over during the wedding weekend. He also took the time to get to know us and to really care about our wedding, our family, and our wedding party and managed to make the whole weekend run so smoothly and stress-free and feel so personalized. Absolutely nothing went wrong on our wedding day-- the Mayflower staff did a PERFECT job. It was unbelievable. And while we had initially planned to go take pictures down by the White House or something during the cocktail hour, there were so many beautiful, picturesque spots at the hotel, that we just stayed there and got gorgeous pictures. We had a pretty unique ceremony with some tricky A/V requests and they handled them all perfectly! The A/V team was really impressive. Even the head of security got to know us and gave us a little historical tour of the hotel (fascinating history, which the out of town guests also loved!). Throughout the whole wedding planning process and wedding weekend, we felt so welcome at the Mayflower. We were so glad we had our wedding ceremony, reception, hotel room block, and after party there!

  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 12/13/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Allie at The Mayflower handled my 140 person wedding. She was amazing throughout the planning processes. The week of most of my groom's guests flew in from California, Nevada and Texas. There were multiple events that week and most of our guests would end the evening in the J. Edgar for drinks and after dinner treats. The hotel was extremely hospitable. The day of we were surrounded by Allie and a team of people that made my event absolutely amazing! The food was excellent and everyone left saying they had never been to such a fun and beautiful event. The Mayflower is a special place in DC for me and my family, my aunt was married at the Mayflower in the 60s and many people in my family visited the Mayflower during it's rich history. I am thrilled to say it is now part of my history, too!

  • User4502631 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so impressed by everything about our wedding experience with the Mayflower. Ron Kee assisted us with preparing the contract, and Philip Shortino managed everything related to the event planning. They both were extremely helpful and far exceeded our expectations with regard to attentiveness, flexibility, and overall quality. We also were very impressed with the quality of the food (Chef Doug and his team did an amazing job with everything) and waitstaff. We enjoyed a beautiful wedding day, and much of this is due to the efforts and attention-to-detail of the Mayflower team.

  • S

    Solmaz · Married on 09/13/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at the Mayflower was a dream come true!! We worked with Cliff and Nancy and they were the utmost professionals and so receptive and accommodating! I looked at many different venues before choosing them and I must say they were impressive from the beginning. I live in Boston and was in town for the weekend. I cold-called the Mayflower to see if I could stop by for a tour and they fit me in for a tour that day. They were so friendly and answered all of my questions. THe venue itself is gorgeous!! One of the big things for me was that if I was going to get married in a hotel I did not want our reception hall to look like it was in a glorified conference room (ie low ceilings, weird carpets, etc). The mayflower on the other hand has high ceilings, an elegant grand hall and gold accents on the ceilings. It is really beautiful and elegant. Another plus was they allowed outside catering for ethnic food.(which is such a special treat since other venues would not let you do that or charge you crazy fees). We got the Persian food from an outside caterer and American food through them and the food was really delicious. Also, they were so accommodating with our budget (no one would have guessed how much we actually spent on the wedding). Also they were one of the very few vendors who let us extend the wedding past 12 am (which is key for an ethnic wedding :) Since we live in boston and couldn't come down often, they fit us in for a tasting on the weekend and were very receptive and prompt in their email correspondence back to us. I really, truly can not say enough wonderful things about this venue and the staff.!! I looked at several other venues in the area (willard, omni, several vineyards in VA and reception halls in VA and MD) and I really feel that the Mayflower gives you the most in terms of pricing, service and beauty of venue. Ask for Cliff or Nancy if you do end up going there...they will take good care of you!

  • Mona

    Mona · Married on 08/09/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of the hardest decisions in the wedding planning process is selecting the venue, and I think the best decision we made for our wedding was choosing The Mayflower as our ceremony and reception venue. Not only is the venue stunning and unique in its architecture and design, but the staff is incredible to work with. The initial signing the contract process, which can be tedious and frustrating, was so easy and fun with Ron. He was enthusiastic and sweet, and always took into account our concerns and genuinely cared if were happy with the contract. He went above and beyond to make sure we were getting a great deal. Our planner through the venue was Jimmy, and he was such a pleasure to work with during this process. He was hard working, diligent, but also incredibly sweet and friendly. Throughout the planning process it was as if ours was the only wedding he had to work on. The night of the wedding, everything went with ease, but its only because the staff catered to us like we were royalty. The catering staff and Jimmy were there every step of the way with us, constantly making sure we were ok and asking if we needed anything. The service at the Mayflower is unique in the sense that they are very professional and elegant, without being stuffy. I actually consider Jimmy and Ron as friends now, and continue to keep in touch with them. Its the high level of service with the personal and friendly touches that make The Mayflower one of the best decisions you will make for your wedding.

  • User3384225 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They Mayflower just hosted my dream wedding last weekend! I could not have asked for better service or a friendlier staff. All the rooms were beautiful!

  • D

    Diana · Married on 07/26/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so very pleased with the wedding reception held at The Mayflower on 7/26/14!
    We had cocktails in the Chinese room and the reception in The Grand Ballroom... it was truly GRAND!! We worked with Nancy Calabrese and she was just wonderful...the attention to detail was excellent. Everything went smoothly and we never had a care in the world. Everyone had such a great evening...the room looked beautiful (thanks to the flowers from Bergerons), the navy chairs, napkins, lighting etc. The food was delicious, the servers were very professional and many of the guests enjoyed staying at the hotel! The band ( 'Round Midnight) had everyone dancing and having a great time. Thank you to all those involved in making the evening so very special!

  • M

    Marie · Married on 06/14/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The elegance of this hotel alone is enough for a 5 star review! Since the wedding, we have gotten so many compliments on the reception site. The food, service, hotel rooms, atmosphere, etc. were all above and beyond what we were expecting. The planning stage with Ron and Philip at the Mayflower was so easy and fun! They were both so great to work with, quick with email responses and answers to questions, easy to plan meetings with. The Chef put together a really delicious menu for us that was exactly what we were looking for. The room accommodations were beyond what we were expecting. Every guest said how much they loved every detail of this beautiful, historic hotel.

  • P

    Perry Franks & · Married on 05/21/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great location. Close to everything. Staff was GREAT.

  • User4150544 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't speak highly enough about our experience at this gorgeous D.C. hotel. The Mayflower was an absolute dream of a venue, and even more so, was the team we worked with. The Mayflower is professionalism and class at its finest. Ron and Nancy were so dedicated to us from the start, provided rapid responses, knew every single answer to any kind of question we had, and made the day so unbelievably perfect. The entire staff, from the front desk to the bellhop, were so friendly and accommodating - our guests felt the same way. We only had 6 weeks to plan our wedding and reception, and Nancy and Ron made sure it was as stress free as possible.

    The venue itself is gorgeous and the history of the hotel made the evening even more special. Doors were always opened for us, the service was amazing, and everyone was just SO friendly! They truly made us feel so special on our day. Following our ceremony at a church in D.C., my new husband and I were greeted at the doors of the hotel with a red carpet and champagne for us and our parents. We continue to hear from our guests about what a wonderful evening it was, and how delicious the food tasted. I can't imagine having my wedding reception anywhere else!

  • User4150613 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't speak highly enough about our experience at this gorgeous D.C. hotel. The Mayflower was an absolute dream of a venue, and even more so, was the team we worked with. The Mayflower is professionalism and class at its finest. Ron and Nancy were so dedicated to us from the start, provided rapid responses, knew every single answer to any kind of question we had, and made the day so unbelievably perfect. The entire staff, from the front desk to the bellhop, were so friendly and accommodating - our guests felt the same way. We only had 6 weeks to plan our wedding and reception, and Nancy and Ron made sure it was as stress free as possible. The venue itself is gorgeous and the history of the hotel made the evening even more special. Doors were always opened for us, the service was amazing, and everyone was just SO friendly! They truly made us feel so special on our day. Following our ceremony at a church in D.C., my new husband and I were greeted at the doors of the hotel with a red carpet and champagne for us and our parents. We continue to hear from our guests about what a wonderful evening it was, and how delicious the food tasted. I can't imagine having my wedding reception anywhere else!

  • User3144600 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Mayflower was amazing to work with and made my wedding perfect! They went above and beyond to make me happy and feel special and it was truly a magical weekend. Plus, the ballroom is like no other venue in DC!!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review