Skip to main content
Weddings

The Mansion on Delaware Avenue Reviews

The Mansion on Delaware Avenue

The Mansion on Delaware Avenue

Buffalo, NY
4.5 out of 5 rating, 15 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.5 out of 5 rating
4.5 out of 5 rating
15 Reviews
90% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.3 out of 5 rating

Awards

15
Weddingwire
4.5/5 15 reviews
Google
4.5/5 439 reviews
  • Katie
    Katie C. Sent on 10/01/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Special Day at the Mansion

    The Mansion on Delaware is a beautiful venue and perfect for making your event feel special and intimate!
    We loved that we had the option to rent out the Mansion and have our guests centered around the venue. The staff was so great during the wedding but also throughout our guests’ stay. We loved chatting with everyone who worked at the Mansion and they all added to our experience.
    Throughout planning, Colleen was great to talk to and was knowledgeable about the venue and was great at giving advice on menu, best layout, and table styling options. It was also great when she knew some of our vendors from previous events and could give us extra confidence that they knew how to execute their jobs well at the Masion.
    The food is particularly impressive at the Mansion and we had multiple guests tell us afterwards that they were surprised at how well they were able to execute wedding food (especially fish!). Guests staying at the Mansion also received breakfast which was delicious.
    We especially wanted our venue to have lodging options and historic features and if either of those or quality food are important to you, I would highly recommend!
  • A
    Alyssa Sent on 09/19/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Reception Venue

    Overall we are very pleased with MODA. The culinary professionals and coordinators were outstanding. Our wedding reception flowed effortlessly and the food, decor, and vibes were spot on (elegant, classy). Colleen is a joy to work with! One of the rooms my MOA stayed in had a few malfunctions, phone not working and no robes available but these are minor things. Otherwise, 10/10 experience. What a historically classy and graceful venue!
  • E
    Emily Sent on 12/29/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Place for a Reception

    The venue was the perfect setting for our wedding of just under 100 guests. It was intimate but the tables weren't on top of each other. Having the cocktail hour outside on the terrace was absolutely beautiful. The butlers serving wine and appetizers was a nice touch. The food was outstanding and the dessert table display was phenomenal. The menu had a variety of options including Buffalo favorites & twists on classic comfort food. The Grilled Cheese Sandwich with Tomato Soup Shooters was a crowd favorite. The staff and the coordinators that we worked with were wonderful. They were responsive to our requests and emails were answered in a timely fashion. I would definitely recommend this venue.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Abby
    Abby Sent on 06/26/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everything was absolutely perfect from start to finish. From the first meeting to any email leading up to the event was professional and prompt. Jamie was amazing as serving as our day of coordinator. Everything was set up and handled the day of so I didn't have to stress a bit. The food was also excellent, everyone had a clear plate!

    The Mansion on Delaware Avenue's reply:

    Hi Abby,
    Thank you so much for the wonderful review! It was our pleasure to host your wonderful group and to make you day extra special!

    Warmly,
    Jamie Verity
  • E
    Edward Sent on 07/22/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our son's wedding rehearsal dinner at The Mansion in July 2016. What an elegant setting for an unforgettable event. The decor, atmosphere and food were perfect as was the staff. Superb and attentive assistance in planning everything. The gardens provided a great location for the cocktail hour with valet parking and a saxophonist providing a great backdrop. A special place for an memorable event.
  • EmilyJ
    Emily Sent on 05/28/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had an amazing wedding thanks to the mansion!
    I literally did nothing the afternoon of; it was so relaxing to know your wedding vision was in good hands.

    Patty and geno were always quick to respond to all of my questions, so matter how silly they must have seemed.

    Overal, just a great wedding day, stress free with amazing food.
  • K
    Katie Sent on 06/05/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My new husband and I had our wedding reception at The Mansion on Delaware Avenue. It completely exceeded our hopes and expectations for our wedding! Patty and Geno were a pleasure to work with during the planning process and made great suggestions that really enhanced our reception- such as a saxophone player during the cocktail hour, a parisian dessert buffet, and a gelato cart for the end of the night. We had a lot of out of town guests, so we were able to "take over" the whole mansion on Saturday night. I highly recommend this if you can do it! It was so much fun to have everyone stay in the same place and we were able to utilize all of the beautiful rooms in the Mansion. Our guests loved staying there, and we did, too!!

    Our guests have told us that this is the best wedding they have ever attended. The service was impeccable. The butlers were waiting with trays of wine and champagne when guests arrived, which eliminated the long lines that are typical at most wedding bars. One of the butlers, Will, even ran to get people's cars in the pouring rain at the end of the night even if they didn't use the complimentary valet. The food was phenomenal- our guests were raving about the sea bass and the filet, as well as the appetizers.

    I cannot recommend this venue highly enough! The Mansion really helped showcase all that Buffalo has to offer. We can't wait to come back and stay there on our anniversary!!

  • User2089546 Sent on 04/07/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a very untraditional wedding but the MoDA worked with us to bring our vision of the perfect day to life. They offered input when needed but really made it exactly what we wanted. They were so helpful and professional. The day turned out perfect. The rooms were beautiful and the food was unbelievable!
  • J
    Julie Sent on 07/08/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Patty, Geno, Lisa and the entire team at the Mansion is OUTSTANDING!! Every detail was looked after. The food was fantastic and the venue is stunning and provided an amazing backdrop for my wedding. I could not have asked for anyplace more perfect.
  • R
    Rachel Sent on 07/18/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We knew from the first visit that this was the perfect place for our reception! The owner, Gino, asked us what our vision was for the evening and from there he helped us see it come to life! Patty and Lisa were incredibly helpful, knowledgeable and responsive. The venue is beautiful, the service was 5 star, the food took it to a whole new level! I would highly recommend this venue, Gino and his team, to anyone looking for personal service with attention to every detail. It was a perfect evening!!

  • C
    Colleen Sent on 01/01/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amazing! 5 star service. Amazing food. Excellent service. Made myself and all of my guests feel like Kings and Queens. Taylored to all of my requests, yet keeping in flow with the integrity of the Mansions Modern, Elegant Flair. Excellent food, amazing desert table...they did an amazing job...worth every penny!
  • A
    Angela Sent on 07/07/2017
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    The customer service and experience was fantastic!
  • S
    Beth Sent on 01/24/2012
    4.1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    The Mansion is one of the most beautiful places in Buffalo to have a reception and it is the best food. We put our focus (and money) towards having amazing food and it was...from the cocktail hour to dessert everything was even better then we expected. We did have to push a bit for what we wanted in terms of specific food choices, but in the end they came through. The wine choices were also wonderful - our only disappointment was that there wasn't any left over for us to save for our anniversary! Our only other complaint was that we had wanted a lounge area and did not get it - and didn't realize it until the reception and we had spent a lot of money on a flower arrangement for that mantle that no one saw! Overall, the Mansion puts together a wonderful cocktail hour and reception that all your guests will rave about.
  • A
    Andrea Sent on 11/26/2019
    3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing food, average service

    The mansion was a beautiful venue and the food was amazing. The 1st floor suite for the bride and groom is huge and in a great location for the venue. We had trouble with our room block, the room types we were promised seemed to change as we got closer to our date and became unavailable even though we had them in writing. The attention to detail was lacking, the tablecloths were all wrinkled and we were told the day of they had no way to iron them so they ended up staying that way and are pretty noticeable in photos. The downstairs area where we had the ceremony was a little dark and we had to ask them to change the light bulbs the day of the wedding and even with that the lighting was still kind of poor in the photos. They also were stingy with ceremony chairs even though they had a bunch in their back room. The day of coordinator planner seemed to give us the run-around prior to the wedding it was really hard to hammer out details in advance and then a lot of last minute decisions got made when we finally showed up onsite for the wedding. That being said I think the mansion is a beautiful historic venue and overall we were really happy with our wedding and the food really was amazing. However if the finer details matter to you and are going to make or break your day I would not recommend this venue.
  • Kyle
    Kyle Sent on 05/26/2020
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Nightmare - stay away

    Absolutely awful group to work with. The Henry and Mansion are extorting couples who had planned 2020 weddings to force them into holding their receptions this year despite COVID. Apparently they are so cash strapped they can't afford to refund deposits or work with couples on finding solutions during this difficult time. Stay far away.