Skip to main content
Weddings

The LINE DC Reviews

The LINE DC View more information

Reviews

4.6 out of 5 rating
16 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.3 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating
87% Recommended by couples

Awards

16
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • Laura
    Laura M. Sent on 05/03/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream Venue, Incredible Staff

    We got married in a small wedding (12 people) on the bridal terrace. Not only was the venue itself gorgeous with incredible DC views, but the staff was efficient, pleasant, and super responsive. Lauren, our Event Producer, was quick to answer any questions and helped us feel super prepared. Our bar and dinner team was also wonderful, providing our guests with a perfect dinner and cocktail experience. I would 100% recommend!
  • Alexa
    Alexa T. Sent on 03/02/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best of DC

    We loved getting married at the LINE!
  • T
    Timirose Sent on 03/17/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Line DC MADE Our Wedding!

    We absolutely loved getting married at The Line. Most of the compliments that we got about our wedding were about The Line - from the beautiful venue, to the incredible food & drinks, to the service staff, to the overall experience. We had our ceremony in Carina, our cocktail hour on the rooftop, and our reception in Banneker. Each space was perfect. Carina made our ceremony intimate and simple. We had the most perfect weather on our wedding day and the rooftop was an experience for all of our guests to remember! And we turned Banneker into a big party with non-stop dancing.

    Lauren was amazing to work with. Her expertise and responsiveness was beyond helpful especially when I was starting to get fatigued with planning. The service staff on our wedding day were incredible. Every guest said that they were well taken care of by the entire staff!! I wouldn't think that that would be something guests remember, but they absolutely did. We didn't have signature drinks, but our guests still said that the drinks were SO good. We loved their selection of alcohol! The hotel staff treated us and our guests so well upon arrival and made sure to take care of us.

    I can't thank The Line DC enough for turning our simple wedding into a memorable one. It truly is such a special place.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer Sent on 12/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue and amazing experience

    We absolutely loved having our wedding at the Line. It's such a unique venue/hotel in a fun neighborhood that provided a great overall experience for our guests. Our ceremony was in Carina, we had cocktail hour up on the roof, and the reception was in Banneker. We were also able to use the mezzanine for the brunch the next morning, which was really amazing. Lauren was a wonderful contact to work with, she always answered my questions in a timely and enthusiastic manner, always super helpful. I loved how inclusive the wedding package was, it make the planning process so smooth. To top it all off, the food was amazing. It was so special to have nearly all our guests staying at the hotel as well, it was comforting to know that guests from out of town could be seeing the city but only have to go upstairs at the end of the night, it was also convenient for the bride and groom as well!
  • H
    Hannah Sent on 09/05/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing venue for our micro-wedding!

    We were a 2020 couple that had to plan a micro-wedding essentially from scratch in about 2 months, and Karen from the Line DC was a gem to help us manage to have the dream micro-wedding! The Line DC has a master suite with a tremendous balcony, and we had the most stunning outdoor ceremony for 20 guests with the DC skyline as our backdrop!! Karen worked with us to have a delicious selection of food and drinks available for our guests, and the staff was amazing. And there are so many places to take photos!!! We were so grateful to be married at the Line DC. Highly recommend, especially for a micro-wedding!
  • Rachel
    Rachel C. Sent on 12/03/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Perfect Location

    The Line was the perfect location for our wedding. We wanted good food in a non-traditional space where we could enjoy beautiful views of DC, and The Line delivered! Annie was our point of contact, and she was always available to answer questions, troubleshoot issues, and help us find vendors. Her professionalism was an amazing addition to the wedding planning experience. We used three spaces at the venue, including the rooftop and the ballroom. The food was amazing, and the staff were excellent.
  • D
    Daniel Sent on 09/03/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Venue

    The LINE was great for our event. We had a cocktail hour on the roof and a 70-person reception downstairs in the Carina Ballroom. We love the LINE for all of its built in decor and beautiful spaces. The service was amazing (Richard was great) and our event coordinator at the Line (Annie) was also very professional and quick to meet our many requests. They were wonderful to work with! There was a mistake on the evening of our reception where the staff had the bartender close the bar down one hour early, although we paid for a full 5hrs. Luckily, our attendees knew that the event did not end until 11pm and informed us immediately. The bride had to leave the party to have a quick discussion with the bartender. Once this was discussed, they quickly reopened the bar and extended it for us to makeup for the lost time. Our DJ was also kind enough to play a few more songs so that the event could go later into the evening so everything worked out in the end. However, this could have been a tragic mistake if all the vendors were not kind and flexible with extending times, flower pickup, etc. We understand that mistakes happen and ultimately, we would not change anything about our party and most of the guests did not seem to notice that anything occurred. Also, our guests truly enjoyed the hotel space and their room block! It is just a beautiful venue!
  • W
    Wendy R. Sent on 06/03/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Loved the space, amazing staff

    We had our wedding (ceremony and reception) at The LINE DC and loved it so, so much. We had our ceremony inside, with the plan of having cocktail hour and dinner on their beautiful roof. Due to weather, we had to move inside after cocktail hour, but the staff seamlessly moved everything from the roof to the inside event space without anyone event noticing what was happening. People LOVED the view from the roof and the chance to be up there for awhile. The staff (especially Richard, the head server, and Annie, the event coordinator) were wonderful to work with, and guests raved about the service throughout the event. The building itself is beautiful as well, and we loved being able to stay in a suite that night. I'm so happy we chose this for our wedding!
  • M
    Michael S. Sent on 07/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Venue!

    The LINE DC is a spectacular venue! We had our wedding ceremony and cocktail hour on the roof and reception in the Carina room. The rooftop has a stunning view and the food and cocktails were incredible. We had our reception dinner served feast/family style and very glad we did! Our guests loved it. Annie who is the event coordinator is great. She is quick to respond, professional, and goes above and beyond. So many of our guests said this was the best wedding they've ever been to!
  • C
    Claire Sent on 09/30/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our wedding in late September 2018 at The LINE DC and everything was perfect! The venue itself is stunning and was beautiful on our wedding day. We had our ceremony in the Carina, our cocktail hour on the roof, and then the reception and dancing in the Banneker Ballroom. Each space was unique and the staff helped guests move easily between. In addition, they worked seamlessly with our day of vendors and planner to execute on many fine details. The staff at the LINE was most gracious, polite, and accommodating during our whole stay from the front desk to Richard and the rest of the catering staff. The food, especially the appetizers served during the cocktail hour, were delicious and the bar staff was quick and made excellent drinks the whole night. They were able to work around dietary restrictions, were flexible on last minute changes, and even allowed for kids’ meals. Even though it is a busy hotel, during the event our guests did not even realize it. By the way if you are staying there, the rooms are very nice with local touches throughout. Many guests came up to us during the evening and commented both on the venue itself as well as the excellent staff. We worked primarily with Annie during the planning and her attention to detail throughout the months, weeks, and days leading up to our wedding were no small part in its success. We cannot thank her enough for all the hard work.
  • Heather
    Heather K. Sent on 08/02/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We love the line team

    We are a DC couple that really, really wanted to get married in DC. We knew the LINE was a top candidate, but once we met Karen, Annie and the LINE team we KNEW we had to go with them. We had a group of about 132 for the wedding and wanted to do the ceremony on the roof and reception/dancing in the ballroom. We were THRILLED with how Annie and Karen built a package to our needs that included a feast-style dinner, champagne wall, family owned wine requests, late night snacks and a huge out of town presence with 35+ rooms booked at the hotel.

    Annie was on our site coordinator and was AMAZING. We were thrilled with how she rolled with the punches, understood what we wanted, worked with our vendor team and ensured that every aspect of the day was absolutely perfect. Honestly, we can't even imagine the day differently as the LINE was perfect for our modern, classic wedding with a centralized location in DC. My husband and I care deeply about food and it was SO important to us that we didn't have re-heated food that everyone rolls their eyes at as they come out. We loved the curated, perfect food that was fired as we ate it and was truly phenomenal. We have been to many, many, weddings and by far we had the best food of them all; our friends and family still talk about it to this day.

    In addition to the hotel being photo-ready, it was just an absolutely perfect day, venue, staff and details for our wedding day.
  • Krista
    Krista Sent on 06/15/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stunning Venue!

    We had our wedding ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception at The LINE. The venue itself is absolutely stunning and inspired the aesthetic for our wedding. (The roof is so gorgeous and definitely worth the extra price)

    Annie at The LINE was great to work with and was responsive to questions that we had. The wedding itself went off without a hitch.

    The food from a Rake's Progress at cocktail hour and the reception was outstanding and the guests raved about it weeks after the wedding. It was very special to have all local food, especially for out of town guests.

    Finally, it was so lovely to have everything in one place. The Brothers and Sisters bar was a hot-spot for Friday and Saturday night after parties and it was so fun running into guests in the lobby.

    *Photo by Angelika Johns*
  • Shaina
    Shaina C. Sent on 01/16/2022
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing views for a micro wedding

    We hosted our 2021 micro wedding at The LINE and could not have asked for a better venue and team. We wanted an intimate venue with outdoor space and the Monument View Suite fit the bill perfectly, the views of the city are breathtaking and we loved that we could open the glass doors to make it an indoor-outdoor space. Karen was incredible helpful in putting together our contract and Annie, our point of contact leading up to and on our wedding day, was great to work with and patiently answered all of our questions. We were so impressed by every employee at the hotel, from the servers and bartenders to the valets and front desk. I would highly recommend for an intimate wedding, especially if you are looking for an outdoor space and views in the city.
  • Bradley
    Bradley B. Sent on 08/26/2019
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The LINE is amazing

    The LINE Hotel in DC was an absolutely perfect venue for our wedding. We were able to utilize all of the spaces from the roof for cocktail hour, to the amazing Carina room for our ceremony. The hotel's vibe is amazing, and you can feel people feed off the energy of the space. Not to mention the roof and front steps were an amazing backdrop for pictures. One of the highlights of the evening for everyone was the food - from cocktail appetizers to the main dish, our guests raved about how delicious everything was. We can not wait to return to the Line again, wedding or not.
  • C
    Cristina Sent on 09/18/2019
    3.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Gorgeous wedding, but not an enjoyable experience to get there

    I have struggled with what type of review to leave for The LINE. We had a great wedding, with incredible service, wonderful food, and in a beautiful setting, but it took a lot of headache to get us here. The hotel didn't have many reviews on Wedding Wire, but of the few they had they were rave reviews, so we thought, great let's move forward! As I'm sure all brides say, I really tried to be breezy and relaxed with this wedding, not take on any "bridezilla" tendencies, and understand that people are busy, but our experiences with The LINE made me question whether I was being unreasonable on a regular basis. Every other vendor we had was great, zero problems and made our wedding day as stress-free as possible for us. I'll start with the bad and the good is at the end of the review.

    From the beginning, we toured the venue with Kathryn who was very helpful and quick to reply to our emails and calls. She gave us a list of several "available" dates. We expressed interest in a couple of those dates and she then told us they had holds on them, so they weren't actually available. Annoying, but whatever, we moved forward and secured a date in early September. We reserved the Vela Rooftop for our ceremony and cocktail hour because of it's incredible view (important later) and the Banneker Ballroom for the reception. We got our contract from Kathryn and the quoted amount was off by $5,000. Kathryn had accidentally misquoted us our price, but honored the original quote she gave us so right off the bat we thought we were booking with a great venue. The contract wasn't too detailed, but seemed to cover all of the important things. After we signed with Kathryn, we were transferred over to Annie are our event coordinator.

    Fast forward a few weeks and we are trying to reserve a hotel block for our guests. We get put in contact with Charlie, and it took literally THREE MONTHS of back and forth with him before we finally got a link for our hotel block. The way The LINE does hotel blocks is you are on the hook for 80% of your block, so if 80% of the rooms aren't reserved, then the couple has to make it up and pay for the difference. This meant that it was in our best interest to not reserve too many hotel rooms, because who wants to end up paying several thousand dollars extra on top of everything else in a wedding? So we booked only ten rooms and were given a "discounted" rate of $20 less than what guests could book online. We told them we weren't interested in putting ourselves on the line for so much money to save our guests a total of $40 over the weekend. Finally we were able to negotiate a lower rate and booked our block of 10 rooms with the written agreement that if we needed more hotel rooms, we would be able to add on additional rooms at the same rate as long as the rooms were available. When we had only two rooms left in our block, we reached out to Annie to add more rooms to our block. She told us we should wait until all of our rooms are gone to protect us and not to worry because there were plenty of rooms available to add to our block. Just one week later, we ran out of rooms and reached out to Annie to get more rooms added to our block. All of a sudden, there were only five rooms left that we could add to our block. How is it that a week ago, there were plenty and we didn't have to worry, and now we only have FIVE available rooms for us? We quickly reserved those five rooms and we're told that if we need more rooms, we're going to have to get a new contract because we will need "upgraded" rooms and those will be at a higher price. We had to end up adding upgraded rooms to our hotel block at the higher rate. Very quickly those rooms ran out as well and we were told we could not add anymore to our block. In the end, most of our guests were able to stay at The LINE, but we had several guests who had to find lodging elsewhere in the area.

    We expressed interest in having long rectangular tables instead of rounds for our reception and Kathryn assured us we could do this and that the hotel actually had rectangular tables we could use so we wouldn't have to rent additional tables. Fast forward many months later when we ask Annie for a mockup of our rectangle tables in the ballroom, she lets us know that we will need to rent those tables. I clarify that Kathryn told us the hotel had tables we could use and sure enough they do have rectangular tables, but they are two narrow to have guests sitting on each side with a full plate setting and centerpieces. So while not a huge amount of money, we were now on the hook for renting 17 rectangular tables for our wedding reception.

    We experienced a general lack of responsiveness to our emails with The LINE. Perhaps my industry is different than the hotel's, but when a customer emails with a question or a request, it would never be acceptable to have multiple days pass by before an answer. Combine that with the fact that over half the emails I sent to our coordinator with the hotel were bounced back with an Out of Office message and it felt like we were never getting responses. More than once, I had to CC a manager on follow up emails to ensure I received a response.

    A couple of things that were NOT in our contract that 100% should have been.
    -You are required to have a wedding coordinator for your event. We were already planning on having one, but knowing that this is a REQUIREMENT would have been nice.
    -When you get the meal options, they are all priced accordingly (vegetarian cheapest, chicken next, beef most expensive). We received our final bill a couple weeks before the wedding and saw that despite having many chicken meals and several vegetarian, we were being charged at the highest rate of the beef meal for ALL meals. When we emailed Annie about this, she said that the most expensive meal prevails and that's what you are charged for. So if you have 100 people at your wedding, 90 get chicken and 10 get beef, you are paying for all 100 people to have a beef meal.
    -You are required to have differing place cards for each type of meal, i.e. an indicator on each place card saying what kind of meal that guest is having. Once again, this was a thought I had already, but if it is going to be REQUIRED, it needs to be in a contract.

    All of these items above I was willing to overlook and still give an incredible review for the hotel as long as the event went off without a hitch. However, a week before the wedding a girlfriend and I went to The LINE to have a drink. She wanted to see the gorgeous rooftop I kept raving about so we popped up to Vela so she could see it. When we got to the roof, there was a tent covering the roof for an event. I made some comment like, "Oh yes, so this is the rooftop, but on our wedding day there won't be a tent." An employee overheard me and asked when my wedding was. When I let him know it's the next weekend, he said, "Um, I'm pretty sure this tent it going to be up, this is a permanent structure." I was sure he was wrong, as when we toured the rooftop, it had no tent and we booked it specifically because of the gorgeous views our guests would get to enjoy and that our photographer would have as our backdrop for photos. I promptly sent an email to Annie to confirm that on our wedding day we would not have a tent. The next day, I received a call from Annie in which she let me know that the tent would in fact be up on our wedding day and she thought she had let us know nearly TWO MONTHS ago at our tasting. She had NOT let us know and on top of the general anxiety that creeps up in the week before your wedding, the last thing I needed was learning that the rooftop we had paid $7,000 extra to have our wedding on was entirely different from what we had originally seen. Many emails and phone calls with Annie as well as Karen, the catering manager, basically ended up with them saying the tent would be remaining up and we would have to adjust. They ended up refunding us our venue fee for the rooftop, but the reason we booked The LINE to begin with was the incredible view that would be the backdrop for our wedding photos that we'd look back on for years to come.

    The good from our experience with The LINE:
    -The wedding went off without a hitch. I truly can't think of one thing that went wrong on our wedding day. So if that's the most important thing to you, then power through the headache of planning with the hotel and wait it out for your day.
    -Truly gorgeous hotel, beautiful rooftop, great ballroom (not stuffy like so many other)
    -Incredible food--we are "foodies" of sorts and this was NOT wedding food, it was honestly amazing. Endless guests kept coming up to us to let us know how good their meal was. Our passed hors d'oeuvres were so delicious and I wish I'd had the opportunity to eat more of them.
    -Our tasting was great. Everything was so well-organized and we had SO much food to taste they actually packed up some of it for us to take home. We had such a hard time picking what to serve on our wedding day because everything was so incredible.
    -Richard was our saving grace. He was our waiter for our tasting and left an impression with my parents and the both of us. He took care of us during the wedding and even got us a funny and meaningful wedding present. He also took care of our two pregnant guests incredibly as well as a guest with severe food allergies. So many people came up to us to rave about Richard and we felt the exact same way.
    -Great room service from Brothers and Sisters. The manager of the restaurant personally handled our orders and had food being sent up to the bridal suite all day while we were getting ready. When we had a mistake in the order, he rushed a correction up.
    -The apartment suites we rented were beautiful. Great spots to get ready and so much natural light our photographer actually had us take many bride and groom portraits inside.
    -Annie had pastries waiting in both of our suites upon check in and a bottle of champagne delivered to our suite during our wedding.
    -Annie herself was lovely, very friendly and helpful, just often very difficult to get a hold of and several miscommunications that caused a lot of stress.
  • L
    Lindsey Sent on 01/25/2020
    1.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.0 out of 5 rating

    Very difficult to work with, poor service

    We had our wedding here in November. The food was good -- but that's about where it ends.

    It was like pulling teeth to plan very simple aspects of our wedding: every email to the coordinator assigned to us would go unanswered for 3-5+ days until I would follow up.

    On the day of our wedding, they "couldn't find" our room reservation, and I had to wait an hour (holding my wedding dress in the lobby) to get into a room to get ready just before our event was going to start.

    We found out later that night that they gave a family member the room upgrade that was apparently meant for us. I guess they were confused by the fact they had the same last name... which happens when you have family attend your wedding? No bottle of champagne in our room or anything.

    And finally, what I find incredibly unprofessional, is the fact that they charged me for the event without even sending a final bill or ANY correspondence to me post-wedding.

    I've emailed twice to relay my feedback and haven't received a response.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message