The Kimpton Gray Hotel Reviews

8 | Chicago, IL
See photos, pricing and details

8 Reviews for The Kimpton Gray Hotel

Recommended by 90% of couples

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.5

Awards

8

13 User photos

Sort by:
  • Trish

    Trish O. · Married on 02/10/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible in every way - chelsea you're a dream!

    I’ll start with one word for those that don’t want to read a long review 😊 OUTSTANDING. Everything about this hotel, the staff, the food, the rooms, the experience…everything is truly outstanding. My husband and I got married here a couple weeks ago, and the Kimpton Gray made our dreams come true! We worked with Chelsea from our very first tour, and she is now my best friend. She is SO easy to work with, extremely attentive and responsive, and she genuinely wants to make your special day (weekend really!) so prefect and special. I cannot say enough amazing things about Chelsea Vaughn. The Gray is lucky to have her, and if you have the opportunity to work with her you are BLESSED! We love you Chelsea!!! The hotel itself is stunning, the marble staircase, the specific beautiful scent of the hallways, the gorgeous lobby, Volume39 bar, and of course the ballroom and rooftop lounge Boleo are stunning. I am not someone who loves a ballroom, but the Gray did it right. The chandeliers are modern and beautiful, the color palate perfect, and the carpet is not overwhelming. The guest rooms are perfectly done with beautiful lighting, nice finishes, and lovely bathrooms. They are everything you need, just much nicer than you really need 😊 If you are considering staying here for a visit in Chicago, a little staycation, or just for a drink – DO IT. It would be a mistake to not come here and partake in the magic! Don’t forget to bring your furry four-legged friend – they are so good to pets here and have accommodations for them without cost! A dream! Say hello to Mike upon your entrance, where he always says “welcome back” making you feel like family! If you’re lucky Sam or Paul will be there to help you bring your luggage up! They are the best!
    The second part of my review is specific to our wedding experience. Holy cow. This was an enchanting and truly unforgettable event, the very best day of our lives. We were married at the Gray on a Saturday evening, so we stayed the whole weekend at the hotel. We were treated like a king and queen, the staff so friendly, accommodating, and surprising us with small treats at every turn! Chelsea was with us every step of the way. She met with us multiple times leading up to the wedding day, was incredibly helpful during our final walk through, and helped make the day go perfectly. Clint also deserves a shoutout, he delivered an incredible experience (during the tasting AND the wedding!) and reminded me to eat my dinner which was a MUST. The FOOD wow wow wow Chef Brian is SO talented. I have been to many weddings where the food was medium. Here the food is 10 stars, it’s extremely delicious and the plates are just beautiful. Thank you Hugo for making dinner so fun with your fabulous smile and loving demeanor! The dinner staff was top notch, my guests commented to me on how amazing every member of the Gray’s team was. After dinner we had dancing with our band in Boleo. The cocktails were always flowing which was important to my husband, nobody was waiting long for a drink and the cocktails were done perfectly. They know what they’re doing here, especially if server Jesse is there giving your guests a welcoming smile! Boleo itself is a stunning room, and what’s amazing about the Gray in general, but especially in Boleo, is you do not need to spend money on décor, because the room already has everything needed to have your guests feel transported somewhere exotic and amazing!
    Everything about the hotel, the wedding experience from planning to execution, and the family/staff is utter perfection. I am so sad its over because I miss my Kimpton family, but we will be back for sure, on the regular for drinks at Boleo and Volume! THANK YOU GRAY from the bottom of our hearts!

    Sent on 11/09/2019
  • Mallory

    Mallorh · Married on 01/11/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Book The Gray For Your Big Day!

    We recently got married at The Kimpton Gray Hotel and we could not have had a more incredible experience! We searched the city for the perfect winter venue. We went to 12 venues before going to The Kimpton Gray and as soon as we finished our tour we knew we were done looking and it was the one. From the beginning, Chelsea worked with us to make sure we had all of our questions answered and helped us create the perfect custom package for our big day. She was extremely flexible with the multiple changes that were made in the first few months. Danielle took over the planning process a few months later and she couldn't have done a better job. She was always eager to help us with any questions we had, she came to each meeting with excitement and hospitality. She was so attentive and made us feel like we were the only wedding she was planning all year. You really can't get better service. We had multiple guests stay at the hotel from out of town and we continue to hear how amazing their stay was and how impressed they were by the hotel. We were so happy to hear that our friends and family enjoyed The Kimpton Gray as much as we did. It truly was the perfect setting to get married. We plan to go back to the hotel every year for our anniversary to celebrate!

    Sent on 01/27/2020
  • Andrea

    Andrea · Married on 08/31/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Can we do it again?!


    We were married at the Kimpton Gray Hotel over Labor Day weekend, the perfect wedding weekend for end of summer and for brides and grooms who have out of town guests. It was absolutely the best weekend of our lives, and we just can’t recommend getting married at the Kimpton Gray enough. We worked with Chelsea, and she was absolutely amazing. She was completely on top of everything, extremely responsive to every question, comment, concern, or request. Our guests stayed at the Kimpton Gray for the weekend, we continue to still hear family and friends rave about the guest rooms, as well as the accommodating staff. My bridesmaids and I got ready in the Presidential Suite, which was overwhelmingly huge, had great natural light, and was very comfortable for us the day of the wedding. The groom and groomsmen got ready the morning of the wedding in the Robie Room, which was perfect and complete with flat screen TVs, a billiards table, and plenty of room to hang out. We had our cocktail hour in the 15th floor foyer, which was beyond beautiful, had our reception dinner in the Adler ballroom, followed by dancing in Boleo with our live band. Unfortunately, it did rain the evening of our wedding, so we were not able to open the rooftop to the Chicago skyline, but we did have guests who commented on the full glass ceiling. Our guests absolutely loved the food that the chef prepared for us, and Chelsea worked with him to ensure we were able to accommodate any of our guests’ food restrictions and allergies. We had anywhere from vegan-only to peanut allergies and gluten allergies, and he was able to make wonderful meals for all of those guests. Boleo in itself was outstanding. Our guests LOVED the décor, absolutely loved the mixed cocktails and the bartending staff, as well as the late-night bites and food that the chef prepared for us. We still have guests complimenting us a month later about the late-night sliders and the Old Fashion drinks, ha! We honestly wish we could have our wedding here again and again every year just to come back and do it all over again. Can’t say enough great things about Chelsea and her team at the Kimpton Gray Hotel. Absolutely we would recommend getting married here to anyone looking for a beautiful, unique venue with outstanding staff and amazing food and drinks.

    Sent on 09/17/2019
  • M

    Melanie · Married on 06/29/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Can we do it again?!

    We got married at the Kimpton Gray on 06/29/19 and could not recommend the venue enough. We had a unique vision for our wedding and the team at the Kimpton Gray was more than willing to help us achieve that vision. Every single person at the Kimpton Gray was so nice and accommodating prior to our wedding. We worked with Chelsea, and she was so easy to work with. She responded to every comment and request promptly, and answered our questions completely. The weekend of our wedding, every single staff member at the Kimpton Gray made us feel so special. Our out of town guests raved about the guest rooms. My bridesmaids and I used the presidential suite to get ready in, and it was absolutely perfect. We used the Boleo space for our wedding reception, and it was exactly how we envisioned it. The weather cooperated, so we were able to have the rooftop open for everyone to enjoy. We constantly hear from our guests how amazing our venue was! The food was absolutely delicious, the bartenders were amazing, and the entire staff made sure we were having a great time. Wedding planning can be such a stressful time, but I really feel like working with Chelsea and the team at the Kimpton Gray made it all so easy. Honestly, I wish I had another kind of event to plan so that I could do it at the Kimpton Gray again! I truly would recommend this venue to any couple looking for a beautiful venue in the heart of Chicago.

    Sent on 09/12/2019
  • nicole

    Nicole · Married on 05/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dreams can become a reality!

    We are so grateful to have chosen the Kimpton Gray Hotel to host our wedding reception! Chelsea and her team were amazing to work with and the day would not have been as organized, beautiful, and care-free without all the time and effort they put in to make our wedding so perfect! All of our family and friends had an amazing time
    - from the gorgeous decor, to the delicious food, to the dancing under the stars in Boleo, they could not stop raving about our day. I would ABSOLUTELY recommend this venue to anybody who wants to make your wedding dreams become a reality!

    Sent on 09/16/2019
  • Gemma

    Gemma L. · Married on 03/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding 3.30.19

    I honestly cannot say enough about this dream hotel and the staff. Particularly Abbe who made the weekend absolutely amazing. She made sure everything went smoothly and even helped to bring my change of shoes and dress change from the room so I didn’t have to leave the party. The day was just so magical. The food was outstanding; everyone was raving about it! We were married in the Adler ballroom and danced all night under the glass ceiling in the Boleo. It was a dream come true and I wish we could do it all over again!

    Sent on 09/10/2019
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our ceremony in the Adler Ballroom and reception in Baleo restaurant at the Kimpton Gray. Most of our guests were out of towners and all stayed at the hotel. The staff (from planning to the day of), venue, decor, etc. etc. etc. were perfection. We could not have asked for better people to work with or a better place in Chicago to have our wedding. I cannot recommend the Kimpton Gray highly enough.

    Sent on 11/03/2016
  • Jeremy

    Jeremy A. · Married on 10/16/2019

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Huge Disappointment

    My daughter was married on Sept 12 at the Kimpton Gray. Despite a full year of planning and a $300/person cost) the Kimpton "in their own words, "fell short". The understatement of the year.
    Let me be brief but specific:
    We were promised food of restaurant quality.
    • The salad at our tasting was delicious and comprised of arugula, goat cheese, strawberries and pistachios. By their own admission, they "forgot " the strawberries and pistachios, there was a dot of goat cheese and the arugula was barely moistened
    • The agreement was to serve the Grilled Marinated NY Strip Steak medium rare. The steak was served well done, dry and flavorless. (The ceremony and dinner started on time so their excuse that it sat in the warmer too long was unacceptable)
    • The Soy Glazed Atlantic Salmon was delicious at the tasting, but they neglected to put more than a dot of glaze on each piece of fish. (At the tasting the fish was coated with the glaze) Our guests had flavorless fish.
    • We opted for a cheese wheel cake rather than a traditional cake. We were told we could not bring it from the outside , but not to worry, they would make a beautiful one. We supplied many photos from pinterest . Their final version was comprised of 3 small wheels of cheese precariously balanced and with no decoration to speak of. For this embarrassment they charged us $600. (They did remove the charge when we complained but it doesn't change the experience.
    • The desserts (supplied by West Town Bakery) were I assume delicious, but they were cleared away so quickly that most guests (who were dancing) did not get any.
    • The "Boozy Milk Shakes" that were to be passed on the dance floor were placed on a table where they melted. No one saw them or had them.
    • We ordered 7 varieties of late night bites that were to be passed all around the venue. They were only passed in one small area, most guests never saw them, and they went back to the kitchen uneaten.
    I could go on- but you get the idea.
    Equally egregious to the problems was their response. While they admitted to some of the problems, Susan White, the director of catering made excuse after excuse to justify .
    On the happy side- the room looked amazing! (Thank you Revel!)

    Sent on 01/19/2020