The Hay-Adams Reviews

43 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

43 Reviews for The Hay-Adams

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

43

11 User photos

The Hay-Adams 1
The Hay-Adams 2
The Hay-Adams 3
The Hay-Adams 4
The Hay-Adams 5
+ 7
Order by:
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 12/31/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was torn between the Hay Adams and the Newseum for my wedding venue for the views of DC, and now that the day has come and passed I could not be happier with my decision to go with the Hay Adams. In addition to the absolutely spectacular location and view from the Top of the Hay, the service was impeccable. When I asked if my guests could be greeted with champagne as they arrived for the ceremony and was told "we don't like saying no here!" I was a bit worried at first, as in the year of planning the wedding the Hay Adams went through 3 different catering managers, but in the end my worries were unwarranted. They made sure everything went off without a hitch and while I didn't grow up imagining it, it truly was a dream wedding. It didn't hurt that the food was absolutely phenomenal and they were able to cater to my gluten-intolerance!

    Sent on 01/27/2018
  • Kate

    Kate · Married on 11/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Hay-Adams is the ultimate Washington wedding experience. We knew we wanted to host at a DC hotel and looked at them all. Upon entering Top of the Hay, we knew this location would not only make our day super memorable for us but also for our guests. The event from planning through execution (with Kathryn) was top notch with incredible service, exceptional hospitality and friendly encounters. Not to mention 100% the best view of Washington.

    A family of foodies, the food was one of the most important pieces of the venue for us and the chefs at the Hay pulled out all of the stops to present a creative menu for our brunch wedding. For example, the specialty bar was make your own bloody marys and mimosas, the bread baskets were fresh brunch pastry boards and the entree was the fanciest filet and eggs I had ever enjoyed.

    The service was amazing. During hair and makeup in the suite that morning, all of the hairdryers blew a fuse. The building engineer was in our room within 3 minutes to correct the issue (this happened at 6am, no less!). The suite the wedding party got ready in was spacious, gorgeous for photos and very comfortable. There were moments of incredible surprise and delight including upgrades, amenities sent to our room and even special service to our 5 year old flower girl the next morning at brunch.

    The Hay-Adams is iconic for many but will always hold a very special place in our hearts and memories! I recommend them without hesitation!

    The Hay-Adams 6
    The Hay-Adams 7
    The Hay-Adams 8
    The Hay-Adams 9
    The Hay-Adams 10
    The Hay-Adams 11
    The Hay-Adams 12
    The Hay-Adams 13
    The Hay-Adams 14
    The Hay-Adams 15
    Sent on 02/04/2018
  • R

    Ryan · Married on 09/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were fortunate enough to have our wedding at the Top of the Hay at the Hay-Adams hotel. The view completely speaks for itself and you’d be hard pressed to find a better wedding venue in DC. But the true quality of the Hay-Adams extends well beyond the view. The staff is knowledgeable and communicative and are more than happy to tailor to all of your specific needs, as a bride planning her wedding from abroad I couldn’t have asked for a better team. There was a wide variety of meals options to choose from and was perfectly prepared.

    The Hay-Adams 16
    Sent on 11/04/2017
  • C

    Cate · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I got married at the Hay on Saturday and everything was perfect!! Both the service and the venue were 1st class all the way. I did not have to lift a finger all night long. The staff was so welcoming and sweet and really went above and beyond to make my day perfect. The wedding coordinator Erin was FANTASTIC! I had the best experience and I highly recommend to anyone looking for a top notch wedding.

    Sent on 11/11/2016
  • Fabrizia

    Fabrizia · Married on 05/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Hay-Adams was the perfect venue for our DC wedding. From the beginning, Erin (our hotel contact) was incredibly responsive to our emails and patient with us as we made decisions. The hotel staff was really top notch and
    so attentive to my family's needs throughout the weekend. It rained on the day of our wedding, but I wasn't even worried about the weather, knowing that the view from the Top of the Hay is gorgeous rain or shine!

    Sent on 07/16/2016
  • User6504996 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you're looking to give wedding guests the quintessential Washington, DC experience, look no further than the Hay-Adams! The "Top of the Hay" gives an unobstructed view of the White House, Washington Monument, and other local sights. We had a brunch reception, and the floor-to-ceiling windows filled the room with light, while exposing the beautiful view the entire time. Our guests are still raving about the venue, the food, and the service! The Hay-Adams provides catering, tables, chairs, linens, and flatware, unless you opt to rent them from an outside vendor, but there's no need! Also, the hotel works with Kendall's Cakes for the wedding cake, and ours was delicious! Additionally, the concierge coordinated our transportation to and from the ceremony. Overall, we had a classy, fun, memorable reception thanks to the Hay-Adams and Jenny Niesen, our coordinator at the hotel. The staff also made my groom and me, and my family, feel incredibly special during our stay at the hotel. Our guests who stayed there as well were gushing over the rooms and service. I could go on and on ... the Hay-Adams is perfection!

    Sent on 03/27/2016
  • User5341496 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't imagine a more perfect venue for a wedding. The wood-paneled, votive-lit Hay-Adams room was beautiful for our ceremony, and the magnificent Lafayette Room, where we had the reception and dancing, was beyond elegant. Our guests raved about the incredible appetizers during our cocktail hour and the superb dinner that followed. And one of the best things of all was Rebecca. Her title may be senior catering manager, but it should be wedding planner extraordinaire. From the moment I first met with her to view the Hay-Adams as a potential wedding site until the last guest left the wedding, she guided us through every step. The fact is, the entire staff went above and beyond, resulting in a truly magical wedding that exceeded every expectation.

    Upon returning to our lovely suite at the end of the evening, we were greeted by chilled prosecco and chocolate-covered strawberries. When we finally left The Hay-Adams, we didn't walk out the door. We floated.


    Sent on 09/28/2015
  • User5374980 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Hay Adams venue and team are all amazing! Everything is at your fingertips! I had always dreamed of having a fairytale wedding.... and I got it! THANKS TO EVERYONE AT THE HAY!

    Sent on 08/24/2015
  • C

    Carole · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply perfect. No other venue in D.C. comes close to a wedding reception at The Hay-Adams. The views, service, and amenities are well beyond a 5 star rating. Rebecca Ventura is outstanding with responsiveness, organization, and overall constant upbeat demeanor. Our reception at the Top of the Hay was breathtaking and our guests are still raving about the impeccable white glove service. The staff was so friendly and went above and beyond in every aspect. Kendall's cakes was a treat to work with as well. They delivered an exquisite 4 tier cake and even white house cookies as favors for our guests. We will be forever grateful for our beautiful reception at The Hay-Adams.

    Sent on 06/03/2015
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 05/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It simply doesn't get better than the Hay-Adams. Rebecca was FANTASTIC to work with, as was the whole team. For my enitre 2 year engagement, they responded to all my questions, and made sure my wedding was perfect. They provided me with amazing references for florists, photographers, and a day-of wedding coordinator, and really helped the wedding come together. My wedding was beautiful and stress-free thanks to Rebecca and the Hay-Adams. Oh - and THAT VIEW!!!!!!!!! You just can't beat it!

    Sent on 05/19/2015
  • User4110063 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at the Hay-Adams was a truly unforgettable experience. A beautiful setting with amazing views and an outstanding location which we, and all of our guests loved. We can’t say enough about all of the staff at The Hay-Adams (especially Rebecca) every need and detail was handled with grace and ease – nothing to small or too large. The food was outstanding and the dinners and desserts were first rate. We have so many great memories there now, and plan to return any time we are in town.

    Sent on 03/15/2015
  • K

    Kim · Married on 08/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at the Hay-Adams was incredible! From booking to leaving for our honeymoon, Rebecca and her team were better than we could have ever hoped! Not only is the view from the Top of the Hay beautiful, but the food and service matched the beauty. There was never a moment of concern or stress throughout the planning process or the day of the event. We cannot thank the team enough for everything they have done! I cannot imagine a better venue or staff for a wedding in DC. You cannot go wrong with the Hay-Adams!

    Sent on 09/12/2014
  • User4284647 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding dinner reception at Top of the Hay, with our Cocktail Reception at the Hay Adams room prior. The view from Top of the Hay is breathtaking - especially from the balcony, which was perfect for our summer reception. The space is in a "L" shape, so guests have a panoramic view of St. John, Lafayette park and the White House/Washington Monument. The only drawback to this layout was that we had to seat half of our guests on one side of the "L" and half on the other. We worked with the lovely Whitney, who made sure our planning process was special and as stress-free as possible. Our menu was incredible - everything from the hor doeuvres to the dessert display was impeccably prepared and beautifully displayed. Kendall's Cake created a gorgeous cake and macaron towers for us. The service at the hotel and overall experience was perfect!

    Sent on 07/29/2014
  • A

    Anna · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at the Hay Adams and could not be more pleased with every single aspect of the wedding. From planning to the day after, the level of service we received was spectacular and more than we could have imagined. Rebecca at the Hay was fabulous. Her attention to detail, personality and overall service was such a pleasure to work with. She made she our day everything we wanted for and more. The other service members also made sure we were always happy whether it was ensuring we had transportation lined up and refreshments on the bus (huge thank you to Eric the concierge for this) or the valet team letting us bring boat loads of stuff in, to the wait staff at the Top of the Hay for our wedding itself - it was all superb. Our guests commented so highly on all aspects of the Hay. Several of our guests had food allergies and said the wait staff treated them so well and knew everything perfectly as to what they can and cannot eat. This brings me to the food - hands down best wedding food ever, this came from many guests as well. I haven't even mentioned the VIEW - the view is also so amazing and makes for a beautiful venue. Pictures are to die for and the doors allow you to leave them open throughout the night making the ambience fantastic. Guests rooms are amazing as well and so comfortable. I could go on and on...the Hay Adams is amazing.

    Sent on 07/14/2014
  • R

    Ranjit · Married on 05/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Two words: "ALISON OKOBI."

    The Hay-Adams has long been our dream location for a wedding, and we couldn't have asked for anything more. The rooftop location was everything it was promised to be, the weather was terrific, and the staff was courteous, friendly, and professional.

    Alison went out of her way to make sure that we were always comfortable, answered every one of our questions, and made the entire process a terrific experience for everyone involved. She was very flexible with our needs (accommodating special vendors, requests, etc.) and offered her expertise in decision-making and navigating the market of other DC wedding vendors.

    Bottom line: we didn't feel we needed a wedding coordinator because Alison and her team were so helpful!

    What's more, the food was fantastic (we received many compliments from guests saying it was the best wedding meal they ever had!) and the Hay-Adams did a great job of making it feel unique and special, incorporating various custom requests (e.g., custom cocktails, food items, and dietary restrictions), and really going above and beyond to make sure the event was a success.

    To top it off, you really can't beat that view. ;-)

    Sent on 09/07/2014
  • E

    Erin · Married on 12/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I feel like the luckiest girl in the world to have had my wedding reception at The Hay Adams. My engagement was 14 months and they made the whole time an amazing experience. Alison and Courtney were extremely attentive and wonderful to work with. I truly had so much fun planning my wedding with them. The weekend of the wedding was flawless. My guests and I still can't believe the service we received all weekend. I am still hearing stories of how great the staff was to my guests (everyone came from out of town). From shining shoes everyday to sewing a button. Alison made sure I had nothing to worry about the day of the wedding and I didn't. Every single detail was taken care of and every part of the day ran very smoothly. I can't say enough about my experience with The Hay Adams. It was truly a treat to have my wedding there and we will never forget how amazing our weekend was because of The Hay Adams!!!

    Sent on 12/30/2013
  • K

    Kate · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our wedding here on October 19th and it was absolutely fabulous. The venue is a bit more expensive than some other hotel options because of the room fee, but it is absolutely worth it. The views from the Top of the Hay are magnificent. We had the reception in that room and cocktails and the afterparty in the Hay-Adams room downstairs. The food was out of this world - both the appetizers and the dinner. We received so many compliments from our friends. I am a little biased, but I have never had such delicious food at a wedding, which was on par with any top restaurant. The service during dinner was impeccable - there was never an empty glass and the food was served very quickly (but not rushed).


    We also had an after-party in the Hay-Adams room with a dj, snacks and a bar. Haydee and her team were very flexible with this part, as everything is based on consumption, but she was able to adjust the price after the fact based on actual numbers since we really had no idea how many people would stay up for that. Haydee was also able to extend the cocktail hour a little bit, so that the wedding party could go take pictures in Lafayette Park without missing the whole thing - all on the spot. The hotel itself is so beautiful and it doesn't feel like a typical, cookie-cutter hotel wedding. They usually only do one wedding per day here, so you basically have the whole place to yourself. The service throughout the hotel was also great.The ONLY small issue we ran into (which we were told about beforehand) was that the bar downstairs, Off the Record, closes at 1 with last call at 12/1230. For a lot of people that is not a problem but we were a big partying bunch - that said, my husband spoke to the manager each night and they kept it open later without a problem - Thursday, Friday and Saturday which was very nice of them.

    Overall, perfection! It is definitely worth the price!

    Sent on 10/25/2013
  • D

    Deborah · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Hay-Adams was an amazing place to have our wedding reception and I couldn't have asked for better service and accommodation. We chose the Hay because we wanted a room with a view, and what a view it was. Despite everything being shut down thanks to Congress, our guests still were able to have a true D.C. experience. Haydee and her team were fabulous to work with and truly made everything a success. Several of my guests, including a few who are professional chefs told me it was the best wedding food they had ever had.

    The one warning I have is if you do the Hora and are lifted in chairs, know the Hay has low ceilings in places (my Husband hit his head unfortunately).

    Sent on 10/10/2013
  • User3992286 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What sets the Hay Adams apart from other hotel venues in DC is the service. Our guests were taken care of from the moment they walked into our cocktail hour, until the moment they stepped back out onto the street. Of course, the Top of the Hay is a stunning venue, the views are unparalleled--many of our guests who came from out of town were thankful for the opportunity to enjoy the view. But the thing that most of our guests were so thrilled about was the service--which lives up to its reputation.

    The event planners ( we worked with Allison) are attentive, supportive, and helpful. The waitstaff and bartenders were outstanding. At one point during the reception, my mother--always a crier--got teary. Not more than a minute after her first sniffle, a waiter walked by and discreetly tucked a pair of tissues into her palm. I mean....

    The venue is expensive, there are no two ways about it. But the price buys you confidence; confidence that your event will go smoothly, the food and drinks will be ample and exceptional, and the staff will treat your guests like royalty. If you want your guests to know how much you appreciate their love and support on your wedding day--this is your venue.

    Sent on 03/25/2014
  • User3487170 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Hay Adams is absolutely first rate - and a magical place to hold a wedding, especially at The Top of the Hay. The hotel itself is comfy elegance, a very understated Boutique hotel. We stayed in the Bridal Suite - friends stayed in rooms throughout the hotel and ALL were gorgeous. The staff was hugely wonderful - well trained, attentive, warm and friendly. There wasn't one member of the staff who didn't know who we were and why we were there and what event we were hosting at their hotel! Our wedding caterer was just terrific - Jenny is a jewel who deserves all the credit for ensuring our wedding was perfect. Which it was. We had a magical wedding - the best view in town at the best hotel in Washington, DC with the best service! Thank you so much Hay-Adams!

    Sent on 08/24/2013
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 08/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After having read the most recent wedding reviews of The Hay, I can see they haven't lost their touch! My wedding was perfect in every way as well! Just as wonderful, too, is the service and warm hospitality of The Hay in the years following our wedding! Definitely worth a note to Wedding Wire! Every year on our anniversary, my husband and I stay at The Hay for the weekend. And, every year The Hay treats us so warmly, like family and a graciousness that's hard to describe. They remember us; they know they hosted our wedding with them and treat us accordingly. This last stay was just incredible. My husband called the concierge in advance looking for something that he could gift me with that commemorated The Hay. They don't really have anything like that, but that Concierge sure remembered the request. The night we stayed, after our return from dinner, there were two embroidered pillows with our initials on the turned down bed to greet us! I was SPEECHLESS! I thought my husband had arranged for those very customized pillows - but he hadn't. It was ALL The Hay Adams' wonderful staff and probably that very special concierge. You can bet my husband and I will continue to celebrate our anniversary at The Hay Adams, a very special hotel with a very special staff - to celebrate our very special anniversary weekend!

    Sent on 11/24/2015
  • M

    Megan · Married on 08/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I literally could not have dreamed of anything better. From being there for every minute question during the planning stages to the most well orchestrated day-of, The Hay-Adams was amazing. Their slogan...where nothing is overlooked but the White House is absolutely true. Every person on the service team was friendly and helpful, the food was AMAZING, and the location couldn't be better.

    Sent on 08/31/2013
  • J

    Jovana · Married on 06/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding reception, our post wedding brunch take place at the Top of the Hay and our cocktail hour at the Lafayette Restaurant. From beginning to the end, literally from the moment we booked this venue, the Hay Adams staff was incredible with us. One person in particular stood out in the process, Haydee Gamez who was our Catering Manager, was simply amazing. The staff was attentive, polite, sweet and very flexible. The food was delicious and well prepared, presentation was rocking.They did an amazing job, every bit of our reception was the way we wanted and it was 1st class with no exceptions. We also had most of our family stay in the hotel for the weekend and they have received amazing service throughout their stay. The Hay Adams is expensive but with all the rights to be so. Breath taking views from the Top of the Hay. :) Thanks Hay Adams!

    Sent on 07/02/2013
  • User3207947 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly beyond my expectations. The Top of the Hay is magical and provides the most stunning setting for your wedding! My guests were amazed with the view and it made a lasting impression on us, our family, and friends. The staff made everyone at the wedding feel like stars and the food was top-notch restaurant quality.

    Sent on 04/19/2013
  • M

    Menstal · Married on 02/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Hay-Adams was the perfect venue for our small, traditional wedding. All of our guests were from out-of-town so we wanted to treat them to the best DC had to offer and The Hay-Adams delivered. Erin was a dream to work with from beginning to end. She was extremely responsive to emails and phone calls and was there the day of to make sure everything went smoothly. She helped us plan the reception down to the minute and our guests kept complimenting us on how organized our wedding was. And of course, the view is undeniable spectacular, the room is beautiful, and the service was impeccable. The entire team was highly experienced and really guided us through the day. We also spent our wedding night at the hotel and the guestroom was incredible! We had an amazing time working with and hosting our wedding at The Hay-Adams and would recommend them to anyone planning a DC event.

    Sent on 10/03/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review