Skip to main content
Weddings

The Grand Hotel Cape May Reviews

The Grand Hotel Cape May

The Grand Hotel Cape May

Cape May, NJ
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 91 Reviews
View more information

91 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 91
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

48 User photos

  • Deborah
    Deborah B. Married on 05/14/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    More beautiful than we expected!

    We can't say enough about The Grand Hotel. It was more beautiful and special than we imagined. The food was excellent, the reception room was perfect, the service was on top of every request, the rooms were comfortable and the ceremony was perfect. The most important detail of our wedding was Katlyn Mogavero, the Grand’s Wedding Planner. Katlyn was available for every question along the way, no request was too much for her. We were supposed to have a beach wedding and at the last minute the rain pushed us inside. Katlyn quickly created a beautiful ceremony space inside and I never missed the beach. Our families loved the event from Friday through Sunday. We would recommend the Grand to anyone looking for a beautiful memorable event in Cape May.
  • N
    Nicole R. Married on 05/13/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Best Beach wedding venue

    If you are looking for a beautiful beach venue with amazing food, great location, and outstanding staff.. BOOK HERE NOW. But I have to say the best part about this venue is Katlyn, their wedding coordinator. From the moment you email her she makes you feel like family. She also has the fastest response time I have ever seen. My husband and I could not be happier with how our wedding turned out here. People are still raving about the food and hotel! If I could rate this venue more than 5 stars I would!
  • Kelli
    Kelli M. Married on 04/16/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Just amazing

    We got engaged in 2021 and wanted a special venue. We met with Katlyn Mogavero about 2 months after our engagement and instantly fell in love with the venue and Katlyn just topped the cake lol and made all of our dreams come true. The process was so simple from booking to the day of the wedding. I would email her literally every 2 seconds and would get a text back with a smile. If your thinking about booking don't hesitate just do it. It will be the wedding of your dreams i promise.
  • K
    Kristen L. Married on 04/02/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Bride & Groom

    Katlyn and her team are fantastic. They made our day perfect. We cannot thank them enough for all their help. The venue is amazing from the top floor reception to cocktail hour on the deck. We are thrilled with how everything turns out. We are already talking about renewing our vows in a few years and planning it here!

    Kathlyn we cannot thank you enough. We have not stopped talking about our wedding for a week.

    I would absolutely recommend The Grand Hotel for your wedding, you will not be disappointed.
  • S
    Susie B. Married on 02/26/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Ballroom, Phenomenal Staff

    Katlyn and her team at The Grand Hotel are simply the BEST! From our first meeting to our special day, Katlyn was with us every step of the way to ensure the wedding reception of our dreams. Her quick communication and enthusiasm made planning the reception a joy. We never experienced any stress when it came to The Grand, and it really helped us to keep our "eye on the prize" when wedding stress, in other areas, invariably came along. The staff are fantastic as well. We felt completely spoiled during our tasting, and when the big day came along, the members of the waitstaff were attentive and friendly. Our signature cocktails were delicious and the food was a huge hit with our guests. Management was also kind and solicitous and made us feel so very special. They executed the reception flawlessly, checking in with us throughout the evening and guiding us along. If there were any fires to put out, we were not aware of them! We cannot overstate how wonderful it was to work with Katlyn, and how meaningful it was that every single member of staff showed us sincere warmth. Everyone involved was so very lovely that I feel this review will not fully do them justice and wish I could thank each and every person individually. They made us feel like family. Our hearts are full and we cannot thank everyone at The Grand enough for making our reception more beautiful than we could have ever hoped for. Do not hesitate! Come for the ballroom and ocean views, stay for Katlyn and the phenomenal staff! It will be the easiest decision you make!
  • Erin
    Erin D. Married on 07/24/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The grand >>

    The Grand was the most perfect location for our day. Katlyn is the best person on the planet. She helped us through postponement and made everything EASY. She celebrated us in high times and helped to solve our problems when they arose. She is everything!! I would also have to mention the amazing food, ocean views, and overall experience! Chose the grand!!!
  • K
    Kayla B. Married on 07/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beach Wedding

    We had an amazing experience having our wedding at The Grand Hotel. Katlyn and her team are amazing! We wish we could have the wedding all over again!
  • R
    Rebekah Married on 06/24/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Accommodations for our guests!

    We had our wedding at another location, but had our overnight accommodation room block set up at the Grand Hotel and they were wonderful to work with - specifically Katlyn! She was extremely responsive and helpful with both our room block for the wedding weekend and other stays we needed for wedding planning appointments throughout the year. Easily one of the largest hotels in the area with great prices for a great location. You can't beat this at the shore!
  • M
    Matthew B. Married on 05/14/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Wedding Of Our Dreams!

    To say our wedding was perfect is an understatement. We couldn’t have had a more beautiful venue, more accommodating location, or more helpful wedding planner. From the initial consultation all the way to the day of the wedding, we were extremely impressed with all aspects of wedding planning with The Grand Hotel. Katlyn is an invaluable asset and she truly makes wedding planning a breeze. The day of the wedding, Katlyn handled all of the logistics so everything ran smoothly. That freed us, the groom and bride, to focus on our wedding and actually enjoy it too! Although we hope to never plan another wedding, we would go back here in a heartbeat to do it all over again! We had such an amazing time at The Grand Hotel of Cape May!
  • Katelyn
    Katelyn C. Married on 05/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolute DREAM wedding venue

    The Grand Hotel was an absolutely AMAZING wedding venue! Our ceremony was on the beach, which was my lifelong dream come true. Our reception was in the grand ballroom, which was such a great space, and we all had a blast. Everything from the food to the decor to the finer details was exactly what we were hoping for. The best part of the entire planning process was having Katlyn as our wedding planner. She was on top of EVERYTHING and made us feel completely relaxed throughout the entire process. Especially considering the pandemic and all of the associated changes throughout the year, Katlyn was truly a life saver. On the day of the wedding, Katlyn kept us all on schedule and organized, which allowed us (the bride and groom) to really enjoy the entire experience worry-free. I would recommend the Grand Hotel to anyone and everyone looking to get married at the South Jersey shore!
  • Tara
    Tara B. Married on 05/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect Shore Wedding Venue!

    Our wedding day ended up being so much more perfect than we ever imagined it could be! A little over a month later, and our wedding guests are still saying it was one of the best weddings they’ve ever attended. After getting engaged at the Grand, we knew it was one of our first options as a wedding venue, and working with their wedding planner, Katlyn Mogavero, assured us that we made the right decision. Katlyn was always responsive even on her days off from work. She was the voice of calm and reason during a few stressful times due to still planning a wedding during the pandemic. She was always positive and made sure to communicate any updates immediately. Our experience with our food tasting prior to the wedding was so personalized, and on our wedding day, guests raved about the food. They also loved the bartenders who were so friendly the entire evening! Katlyn and her team handled every detail on our wedding day allowing us to relax and take in all of the moments knowing we were in great hands. We would definitely recommend the Grand to anyone looking for a shore wedding. From the ocean views of our cocktail hour on the sundeck and at our reception in the penthouse ballroom, to the hotel accommodations that allowed so many of our guests to make an entire weekend out of the wedding, and the Grand’s staff, especially Katlyn, it truly was the best day ever. We already can’t wait to return to the Grand to relive memories from our wedding day!
  • Becky
    Becky S. Married on 02/26/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect Wedding Venue

    We chose the Grand Hotel for both our ceremony and reception and are so happy we did! Katlyn was the best. She helped every step of the way, made sure all emails and phone calls were answered immediately and was there the day of to make sure everything ran smoothly. The staff working our wedding were attentive and so helpful. All our guests RAVED about the food, the ballroom and hotel itself. We had our ceremony on the outdoor deck and reception on their 5th floor ballroom- if we had to do it all over again, we wouldn't change a thing. The Grand Hotel is the perfect wedding venue!
  • Katherine
    Katherine W. Married on 02/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect doesn’t cut it!

    WOW! Wedding of our dreams is an understatement!!!

    From the hotel providing anything we could ever ask for, to the BEST BEST BEST wedding coordinator ever! Katlyn could not have been MORE than helpful through our entire wedding planning, despite a pandemic and everything else in between! Katlyn had an answer for everything and a positive outlook for our whole day! From meeting with us to give us some background of The Grand to teaching me how to cut a piece of cake for our first slice as Mr and Mrs, Katlyn was there for it all and I couldn’t have thought of anyone else I wanted to be with me through every tear and exciting moment!! I walked away with not only the best experience, but someone to cheer us on for life!

    As for the hotel itself, we could not have had more of an accommodating situation!! Originally going to the 5th floor penthouse for our reception to the outdoor Sundeck, I couldn’t have asked for more! The Sundeck, covered in twinkle lights for the night time (my dream), could not have made for a better wedding! From the servers to the food, everything was perfection!!

    The hotel rooms were the cleanest rooms I’ve ever stayed in and the front desk was so helpful anytime I called or went to ask a question. COVID or not, our experience was the best we could have possibly asked for! When thinking of somewhere to stay or somewhere to hold the best night of your life, The Grand Hotel will be there for anything!!
  • Melissa
    Melissa Married on 10/11/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Service!

    The moment we toured the Grand Hotel of Cape May we knew it was where we wanted to get married! Katlyn is AMAZING. She helped us plan all the details of our wedding, gave us suggestions, and is just so great at what she does. With our wedding falling in the year of the Pandemic, she kept us so calm throughout the whole process and even when indoor dining was cancelled they had a backup plan. If we didn't have her as a wedding planner the entire process would have been so much more stressful. The food at the hotel is great, and the packages they offer come with everything you can imagine and it is really a great deal. We were so happy with how our day turned out and we owe that to Katlyn for helping put on such a great event!
  • A
    Ayesha S. Married on 08/15/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Mr & Mrs Lee Wedding # ForeverLee

    This absolutely best. My husband and I really enjoyed our special day. Your staff was very pleasant and the atmosphere was warm and inviting.
  • Maria
    Maria A. Married on 11/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Cape May Wedding

    My husband & I got married at the Grand in May. I couldn't ask for a more perfect day and it was mainly because of Katlyn. Katlyn was the biggest help in planning for my wedding. She was always there when I needed her. The Grand Hotel Penthouse Ballroom has the most amazing views of the beach. I would recommend the Grand to anyone who was envisioning their fairy tale wedding.
  • Samantha
    Samantha Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Venue in Every Way

    The Grand Hotel was the first venue we checked out and we instantly knew it was the perfect place to hold our wedding! Katlyn was amazing throughout the entire process. Working with her was great and made everything so much less stressful. She and the entire team went above and beyond and totally exceeded our expectations for our wedding day. The location was great, the views were breathtaking, and the venue itself is gorgeous. I cannot recommend the Grand Hotel and Katlyn enough!
  • T
    Theresa L. Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Grand Hotel - BEST Beach Wedding

    Katlyn Molgavero and crew were AWESOME! Exceeded all my expectations. Daughter and son-in-law had the time of their lives. Guests are still raving about the food and ambiance. The Grand allowed us to create our vision and Katlyn embellished upon it. Katlyn took care of all the tough stuff and made sure the bride and groom shined. BEST experience with an event planner. Thank you, Katlyn
  • A
    Amanda Married on 09/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    September wedding

    My husband and I got married at the grand in September and it was absolutely perfect. It honestly could not have been done without Katlyn who was amazing. Not only is she quick to respond to everything but she truly wants to make your special day as perfect and as easy as possible. Couldn’t be happier with the service and wish I could do it again!
  • Colleen
    Colleen Married on 09/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Katlyn at The Grand Hotel will make your dreams come true

    The Grand Hotel was the perfect setting for our wedding. We looked at several other wedding venues in Cape May before deciding on The Grand in part because of the newly redone facilities and spectacular views but most of all because of their amazing wedding/event coordinator, Katelyn Mogavero. 10 minutes into our conversation and we knew we had found our spot! She took what can certainly be overwhelming and helped us through the entire planning process to ensure our special day was effortless. High winds on the day of our wedding prevented us from having the ceremony on the beach, which could cause last minute panic to a bride and groom, but without hesitation Katelyn had already set up a backup ceremony location in one of The Grand’s newly refurbished ballrooms, transitioned the ceremony inside and everything went off without a hitch!

    The Grand Hotel is the perfect mix of casual beach wedding and elegance. The views, the service, the food, the atmosphere and location all combined to create a magical experience for us and our family and friends. Our guests could not stop commenting on the beauty of the location, how wonderful the ballroom looked and just the overall friendliness of the staff. A DJ at Hemingway’s (downstairs) made it easy to keep the party going after the reception!

    For the year leading up to the big day, Katelyn made herself available to us at any time to provide advice and guidance in making decisions. We cannot be more grateful to have worked with her. Job very well done by The Grand, Katelyn, Danielle and the rest of the staff in making our wedding day the most amazing experience of our lives.
  • Chelsie
    Chelsie H. Married on 07/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful Wedding Day!

    The Grand Hotel is a dream venue for a wedding. The views from the sundeck and ballroom are stunning. The best part of the Grand however is hands down Katlyn and her team. From the moment we toured the Grand from our wedding day she put me at ease and made us feel like family. Katlyn goes above and beyond for her brides (and grooms!) and never failed to answer any of our many questions/address any concerns we had. I don't think a single thing went wrong on our wedding day and we couldn't have done it without her! Our guests were also raving about how delicious all the food was, as well as the decorating skills! From the bottom of our hearts, thank you so much!

    David and Chelsie Houghton
  • T
    Theresa H. Married on 06/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    World's Greatest Wedding Planner

    The Grand has the world's best wedding planner! Katlyn is nothing short of amazing! She is friendly, happy and responds immediately to any questions. Katlyn helped make my daughter's wedding beautiful and flawless.
  • Anna
    Anna M. Married on 05/04/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing!

    We couldn't be happier with the decision to have our wedding reception at The Grand Hotel. It's a beautiful venue, both inside, as well as outside, with the breathtaking views of the Atlantic ocean from the 5th floor ballroom. From the early planning stages through the reception, the staff was so accommodating, friendly, and efficient. Every detail and special request was noted and executed perfectly. The food was fantastic and the presentation was great. Everyone LOVED the cheesesteak station at the afterparty downstairs at Hemingways. Leading up to the wedding day, we had complete trust in Katlyn and her team. They really made sure that the day was exactly how we had imagined. We would definitely recommend The Grand for any couple looking to get married in Cape May.
  • A
    Ashley F. Married on 04/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful View-Inside and Outside

    One of our top priorities for our wedding was to have it in Cape May! But having our wedding at the Grand Hotel made this beautiful beach location even more special than we could have ever imagined. The view of the ocean from the banquet hall is breathtaking, no matter what the weather is. Also Katlyn, the wedding planner, welcomed us with open arms right when we met her! Her support lasted all the way through the big day. All the food was amazing and they really took into account any notes we had from the tasting. I would highly recommend this venue for anyone who wants an outdoor ceremony option, a venue close to the beach, and a trustworthy team behind you! We could not have asked for a more perfect venue.
  • L
    Lola Married on 09/22/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Venue for Wedding

    We had our wedding in September in the Grand Hotel. The ceremony was on the beach, cocktail hour and dinner reception in Grand Hotel 5th floor ballroom. Everything was perfect. Katlyn and Danielle made the day extremely smooth and easy for us. We didn't need to worry about anything. We cannot express our gratitude enough for both of them. Thank you!