The Grain Exchange Reviews

25 | Milwaukee, WI
See photos, pricing and details

25 Reviews for The Grain Exchange

Recommended by 97%

25

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

4 User photos

The Grain Exchange 1
The Grain Exchange 2
The Grain Exchange 3
The Grain Exchange 4
Sort by:
  • Amanda

    Amanda · Getting married on 10/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Venue for the Best Day Ever!

    They have been amazing to work with and I can't wait until my October 2019 wedding! Katie has answers for all of my questions and suggestions that I never even thought of. This process has been stress free and amazing!

    Sent on 12/07/2018

    The Grain Exchange's reply:

    Thank you for contracting with the Grain Exchange. We look forward to working with you.
    Maria Bartolotta
  • S

    stacey · Married on 05/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent!

    From the moment we stepped into the BEAUTIFUL Grain Exchange and given the tour by John, we knew this was where we wanted to have our wedding reception. Katie, John, and Maria are knowledgeable, friendly, professional and attentive. Katie was our main contact throughout the planning process and she is quick, efficient, organized, and has excellent communication! We truly enjoyed working with her from beginning to end. Not only are Katie, John, and Maria excellent at what they do, but also their catering/servers, bartenders, and every staff member were so professional & friendly, attentive, and detail-oriented. Chef is PHENOMENAL & the food was amazing from the hors d'oeuvres, salads, entrees, desserts, and late night -- you cannot go wrong with any option. Our guests were raving about the food and how it was the BEST food they've had a wedding! Thank you for making our wedding reception a night to remember for all!

    Sent on 06/04/2019
  • L

    Lisa Schoenwetter · Married on 10/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fabulous venue for wedding reception

    Absolutely stunning, beautiful venue. The food is amazing & the service is outstanding!

    Sent on 10/15/2018
    The Grain Exchange 5
  • Brian & Sara

    Sara · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stunning & Amazing!

    Not only were we impressed with Bartolotta's Catering and The Grain Exchange, but almost 6 months after our wedding we are still hearing from our guests how perfect and over-the-top impressed they were with the entire venue, food and overall experience. Maria, Katie and their entire team were incredible! We were absolutely taken care of from day one, from taste testings to decorating to planning and timelines to the very end of our perfect day with them. We decided to have our wedding ceremony and reception all at The Grain Exchange and we would not change anything at all about that day or partnering with their team. They are top notch, incredibly classy, certainly service minded and all we can simply do is rave over their perfectly designed and delicious food. Without any doubt, one of our best decisions for our special day was The Grain Exchange!

    Sent on 01/10/2019
    The Grain Exchange 6
    The Grain Exchange 7
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Grain Exchange offers an unparalleled experience! The room is breathtaking, and it made my daughter’s dream wedding a reality! The staff is professional, friendly, polite, and did not miss a detail! I had an overwhelming response from the wedding guests that it was the BEST food they’ve ever had at a wedding!

    Sent on 10/25/2017
    The Grain Exchange 8
  • S

    Sharon · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just celebrated our daughter's wedding reception at this unbelievable venue. It is both historic and ornate. Throughout the planning and reception, we felt reassured that everything possible will be done to make things happen as we requested. The entire staff were professional, capable and friendly. Katie was fantastic. Never rattled. Always smiling and calm which continually put us at ease. Mrs Bartollota personally introduced herself and assured us that her staff will take care of everything. Everyone at the reception was highly complimentary about the food and gorgeous room. Everything was handled as we requested and more. We would strongly recommend this venue for a wedding.

    Sent on 10/02/2017
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the moment we stepped into the Grain Exchange we knew it was where we wanted to host our wedding reception. The room is breathtakingly beautiful and the fact that the evening would catered by Bartolotta was an added bonus we could not pass up. From the moment we booked the reception and through the end of our wedding day Katie and the entire Bartolotta staff were a pleasure to work with. Katie was incredibly helpful when it came to coordinating all of the details of the day (linens, tables, chairs etc.) as well as coordinating all of the food and drinks for the evening. We had a lot of fun at our tasting, which we were able to include both of our parents in, and from that moment we all had complete trust in Katie and her team in creating the wedding reception of our dreams. From start to finish the reception was perfect. We continue to receive compliments on not only the quality of the food (which was outstanding!) but also the Bartolotta service. We cannot imagine having our reception anywhere other than the Grain Exchange and we are so thankful for all Katie, John and the entire Bartolotta catering team did to make our wedding day as special as it was!

    Sent on 07/09/2017
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our reception at the Grain Exchange was perfect! Every aspect of our experience was above and beyond our expectation! We loved working with Maria Bartolotta and she made sure every detail was accounted for! The food was amazing and the staff was very professional! Everyone commented how much they loved the space and how it was the best wedding food they have ever had!

    Sent on 12/14/2016
  • User4617123 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From our first planning meeting to the wedding reception, everyone we worked with was responsive to our needs, flexible and wonderful to work with. They were excited about helping us plan the event too! We had a wonderful time at the tasting of the food for the reception and on the evening of the event the food was just as delicious. The wait staff were professional and gracious throughout the evening. The venue is beautiful and provided a magical setting for the wedding reception. Our guests are still commenting on what a lovely evening it was.

    Sent on 12/17/2014
  • C

    Carly · Married on 10/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Maria and her team are professionals that make you feel totally comfortable trusting them with your big day. She made alterations to the menu to cater to our ideas for the dinner, and we had absolutely nothing negative to say about our experience at the Grain Exchange. The venue is breathtaking, and the food, atmosphere, beverages, and total experience was the best. The best venue in Milwaukee!!

    Sent on 11/09/2014
  • I

    ilana · Married on 10/24/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have been happier.

    Sent on 11/16/2010
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 10/02/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely wonderful wedding reception venue! The Grain Exchange Room created the perfect, elegant atmosphere for our wedding. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The food was catered by Bartolotta's, so of course, was delicious! I was recommend this site to anyone!

    Sent on 03/16/2011
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 05/10/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stunning venue! The only drawback is that it is pricey. Now Bartolotta's is the exclusive caterer for the room. FYI: Your $1000 deposit check will be cashed prior to your event!

    Sent on 08/09/2008
  • User4519969 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue, with impeccable service and food. Our reception went perfectly to plan. Maria, Katie and Ann were outstanding to work with. We cannot recommend this vendor enough - worth every penny.

    Sent on 04/19/2016
  • User6046617 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Venue was beautiful for my daughter's (and new son's) reception dinner and the food was outstanding! Had so many compliments from our guests. Bartolotta's managed the entire evening and had no worries.

    Sent on 12/11/2015
  • User2706249 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Grain Exchange is an absolutely beautiful venue and Maria really cares about making your wedding perfect. The room is breathtaking and everyone, and I mean everyone, raved about the food. It really was a great experience.

    Sent on 10/10/2012
  • Kara

    Kara · Married on 12/16/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a great experience working with Maria. While the grain Exchange isn’t necessarily an economic option for a venue, the room is absolutely beautiful and the convenience of having the venue, caterer, bar, linens and rentals all with one point of contact cannot be understated. The Grain Exchange was exactly the kind of look I was going for with our reception and the staff is very knowledgeable and helpful in figuring out all the little details to make sure the wedding goes off without a hitch.

    Sent on 12/30/2017
  • W

    whitney · Married on 10/26/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything about this venue was AMAZING!! We are still receiving many compliments on how fantastic everything was and how delicious the food was. Maria was great to work with and made sure every last detail was covered. I am so grateful for how easy and enjoyable she made everything and how smooth the entire process was. Our wedding night was perfect! My only disappointment was at the lack of flexibility. It seemed like as long as you choose from their options, everything was fine. However, we suggested a few things different and they were completely dismissed. Since my now husband is an avid golfer, it was important to us that we have a "putt for a kiss" in front of the head table instead of the boring clinking of glasses. Since she did not like this idea, it was placed way off to the side of the room and no one even knew about it. We also had A LOT of food stations around the room, including a s'mores bar, and we were disappointed that many people did not know about them since they were not announced. Again, it was an absolutely beautiful and perfect evening and of course I would still recommend The Grain Exchange to anyone!

    Sent on 11/08/2013
  • J

    Jen · Married on 10/04/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Grain Exchange is absolutely gorgeous, and Bartolotta Catering was easy to work with. Our event there was beautiful and everything went really smoothly! It is a bit on the pricey side, but was worth it to have such a beautiful wedding venue!

    Sent on 11/16/2009
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 10/11/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Maria, John and Katie are a fantastic, professional team that will go above and beyond to make someone's wedding a memorable experience. All details were laid out and discussed in advance so that no stones were left unturned. The team also takes the time to get to know the couple and form a relationship. If any mishaps happened during the night, the bride and groom were not aware - everything is taken care of swiftly and thoughtfully. We received SO many compliments from our guests on the beautiful venue and the amazing catering. Knowing that it's part of the Bartolotta family leaves us at ease - everything from the appetizers to the drinks to the entree were superb. I would highly recommend this venue to any and all friends and family. The Grain Exchange made our fairytale wedding come true!!

    Sent on 10/15/2015
  • K

    Katie · Married on 07/11/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The Grain Exchange is a stunning venue and we are so happy to have chosen it as the sight of our wedding reception. The food is absolutely delicious and the wait staff is organized and professional. So many guests have told us what a phenomenal backdrop the venue was to the great party. Maria organizes these big events year round so she knows her stuff.

    Sent on 09/24/2015
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 07/14/2018

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Absolutely stunning. The history, and detail in the room alone make it an incredible venue. Add in the hard-working staff, and amazing food, you can't go wrong!

    Sent on 08/08/2018
  • User3356371 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent service. The hall was spectacular, clean, and ready when we got there. Great attention was paid to detail and everything was exactly as we had indicated that we wanted.

    Sent on 06/27/2013
  • User3424744 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our wedding at the Grain Exchange and we have to say that everything was perfect! The food was excellent - better than I could have imagined. Wine selection - Amazing! Most of all, the grain exchange building... wow! If you want to impress any guest, choose this place as your venue! The staff is great and food excellent. They really do cater to nearly all of your wishes.

    We did wish they were a bit more flexible on other aspects, as they did not accept for example to have bottles of alcohol on the tables, even though we had booked the bar package the entire night. But as every wedding is different, we just highly recommend that you clarify all aspects with the catering company, including linens right in the beginning, so that there are not any last minute sudden surprises.

    One great positive, is that they help you to stay within your budget, which highly contributes to their rating as a great service provider.

    In any case, if we had to do it all over again.... bartolotta's is the way to go!! There really isnt better!

    Sent on 07/28/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review