The College of Physicians of Philadelphia Reviews

44 | Philadelphia, PA
See photos, pricing and details

44 Reviews for The College of Physicians of Philadelphia

Recommended by 99%

44
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

11 User photos

The College of Physicians of Philadelphia 1
The College of Physicians of Philadelphia 2
The College of Physicians of Philadelphia 3
The College of Physicians of Philadelphia 4
The College of Physicians of Philadelphia 5
The College of Physicians of Philadelphia 6
The College of Physicians of Philadelphia 7
+ 5
Sort by:
  • T

    Tracey and Tim · Married on 07/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outstanding Experience/Perfect Wedding Evening

    We have an outstanding experience with College of Physicians and their in-house catering organization for our wedding. We attribute how wonderful our evening was to them! The Wedding Specialist was super organized from at every point in the planning process through the event itself. We felt so relaxed! The attention to details was phenomenal, and everyone was kind and gracious to us and our guests. Even our guests commented on the kind, professional and gracious staff.

    The food was delicious! Once again -our guests commented on this! The servers synchronized serving our guests so all at the table received their meals at the same time. Outstanding! Just a class act!

    The space is beautiful - the various halls, the garden, etc.

    It was a beautiful event! Thank you, College of Physicians and particularly Kristin Medici.

    Sent on 08/07/2019
    The College of Physicians of Philadelphia 8
    The College of Physicians of Philadelphia 9
    The College of Physicians of Philadelphia 10
  • P

    P Jones · Married on 05/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent experience all around!

    Kristen Medici and the staff at CBD and CoP did a fabulous job from start to finish. They were responsive, accommodating, flexible about our wishes, and most importantly, made the process personal. Warm and easy to work with, they made an effort to get to know us and our families so the final outcome would be just what we wanted. The venue (especially the garden!) was gorgeous, the food delicious, and the logistics seamless. We highly recommend them without reservation!

    Sent on 05/27/2019
  • C

    Caroline · Married on 03/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic wedding at College of Physicians!!

    From this start, this venue was the one place we could picture ourselves getting married and it exceeded expectations! The ceremony was gorgeous with such historic touches and dark mahogany wood. The cocktail hour was bright and festive, and the reception room was perfect for a large band and 140 guests. Can't rave about this venue enough - you won't be disappointed!

    Sent on 03/19/2019
  • Elyse

    Elyse Tierney · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Two brides - two thumbs up!

    The College of Physicians made our wedding a 100% positive experience and did so flawlessly. Liz was on top of the planning months in advance, always helping us stay on track with flowers, catering, and day-of-details.

    As two women getting married, it was extremely important that we find a venue was prepared to make us feel safe, comfortable, and as full of love as we deserved to feel on our wedding day. We can say with confidence that the College of Physicians made that happen. Liz displayed clear experience working with same-sex couples and provided multiple"non-traditional" options for our ceremony processional. My wife and I also found that, throughout the night, not only did our family and friends come up and congratulate us, many of the College of Physicians staff came to congratulate us as well, and told how much it meant to them to see us married. These were small, incredible moments that we did not expect but experienced with joy.

    We cannot do anything but recommend the College of Physicians. Yes, the venue was organized and helpful. Yes, the ceremony and reception were beautiful. But most importantly, every person involved at every step in the process was supportive, interested, and excited for us to get married. We had the best experience we could have dreamed of.

    Sent on 12/20/2018
    The College of Physicians of Philadelphia 11
  • S

    Samy · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The College of Physicians is stunning! We looked at 8 other venues in Philadelphia Center City area before seeing this building. As soon as we toured it and met with the events manager, Liz, we instantly knew this was the place for us.

    We held our ceremony upstairs in Ashhurst Hall, the cocktail hour downstairs in Thomson Gallery which flowed into the Veranda & Medicinal Garden, and the reception upstairs in Mitchell Hall. The whole building has a magnificence to it. It’s not pretentious though, just dignified and beautiful.

    It’s a truly unique space that you and your guests won’t forget!

    -Sam

    Sent on 06/07/2018
  • A

    Ayla · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot recommend this venue enough. If you want a fairy tale wedding, this place will make your dream a reality. Whether you want a classic, traditional ceremony/reception or an enchanting Victorian wedding with vegan catering on a budget, look no further.

    Sent on 11/03/2017
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm nearly three weeks out from my wedding at the College of Physicians through Catering By Design, and I still can't believe how amazing it was. The staff that helped us prepare for the big day were amazing, as were the staff on hand the day-of. Liz was our go-to contact person at the College after Diana got us set up. Liz was amazing--I am a nervous and meticulous planner that obsesses over minute details. Liz was there to answer every question and concern I had promptly, while also giving her advice and suggestions along the way. This was especially important for my wife and I as we planned the entire wedding while living in a completely different part of the country. In the end, this meant that during the wedding itself, my wife and I were care-free as everything went perfectly as planned. Catering By Design at the College is a well oiled machine--everything was taken care of and we enjoyed the day immensely.

    The venue at the College was everything we had hoped for. Luckily the weather was perfect so we had our ceremony outdoors. Yet we would not have been worried if it was too hot or if it was raining, as one of the reasons why we chose the College in the first place was because their indoor ceremony space is just as beautiful as their outdoor garden. The ballroom for the reception was grand and made for the perfect setting for our party.

    As for the food? Amazing. The cocktail hour food was delicious (CBD delivered our food to the bridal suite while our guests enjoyed downstairs). For dinner, we went with three stations: Mashed potato bar, tuscan grille, and a Taco Bar. We were not surprised by how great the food was, as we had gone to a tasting 8 months before the actual wedding date. The cake was super yummy too.

    Overall, having our wedding at the College with CBD was a great experience, and we are so happy we trusted the staff at the College and at Catering by Design with producing one of the most important event of our lives.

    Sent on 08/23/2017
  • E

    Ella · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We both want to give a big THANKS! for all the amazing work you and your excellent staff did for Rachel’s Bat Mitzvah. From working with us on the menu to coordinating the various rentals, you were always a pleasure to work with. To top it all off, the food was absolutely amazing! All our guests are still raving about the food and quality of the service.

    Sent on 07/10/2017
  • R

    REBECCA · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful experience! Highly recommend! This historic and regal venue includes the full 2 story building and a private garden! This was perfect because rain or shine for our May wedding, we knew we would be married in a beautiful space. We worked with Diana Airoldi from Catering by Design throughout the planning process and she was there on the big day to ensure everything went smoothly. Diana was wonderful to with - always pleasant, professional, and organized. It's important to note that we don't live in Philly and planned most of the wedding remotely (via email and over the phone) and it worked out great! During the wedding, my bridal attendant Tracy was fabulous! I dubbed Tracy and Diana the "Ninjas" because any time I needed them during the event for anything at all, there they were, ready to help and anticipating my every need. Our guests raved about the delicious food, craft old-timey cocktails, and quality service. 5 stars! Catering by Design knows how to throw a fabulous party!!

    Sent on 06/09/2017
  • L

    Linda · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diana and staff are wonderful assisting in planning event which for me was my daughter's wedding. The evening could not have been more perfect! The room was elegant, the flowers gorgeous, the food excellent and the staff most attentive and gracious.

    Sent on 05/30/2017
  • L

    Liz · Married on 03/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diana is wonderful. Everything went smoothly and she helped us think of all the little things. She is flexible and willing to work with you to make your event the best it can be. All staff were pleasant and helpful on the day of.

    Sent on 04/06/2017
  • L

    Lydia · Married on 12/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The College of Physicians was a great place to have our wedding. It is a very unique space and your guests will be sure to have a good time. Diana was very responsive to all of my emails and answered all of my questions quickly. They were very flexible when I wanted to change the whole seating plan at the last minute. They are very accommodating and professional and I trusted that everything was going to go smoothly, which it did, thanks to Diana and everyone at the College of Physicians and Catering by Design. They also worked seamlessly with our DJ and Photographer to make sure everything went off without a hitch.

    Sent on 12/14/2016
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had such an amazing experience with the College! They helped everything fall into place perfectly! They were helpful, considerate and flexible and I would highly recommend them. The food provided by Catering By Design (their caterer) was inventive and delicious. Diana, our liaison, was a joy to work with and helped organize everything. Highly recommend.

    Sent on 11/17/2016
  • T

    Tara Katherine · Married on 10/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was wonderful!!!

    Venue - 5 Stars
    The beauty and history of the building combined to create the perfect venue that Tara wanted.
    It shined in its own natural beauty.

    Each space held a new adventure for our guests and they loved it!

    Staff - 5 Stars
    They were attentive, helpful and kind.
    I received several compliments regarding the bartender upstairs at the Reception. She remembered guests drink order and had it ready as they reached her! She was excellent!

    Food - 5 Stars
    Our guests enjoyed having several options and most tried every station!
    No complaints, only compliments from our guests.

    Reception - 5 Stars
    The open seating and food stations were a hit!

    Centerpieces - assembled perfectly!

    The table linens were beautiful in the space. The pin-tucked gray added just enough shine to compliment the fairy lights.

    Last but not least, Diana of CBD Events was magnificent! She was a pleasure to work with from beginning to end.

    Our wedding truly was perfect!

    Sent on 11/28/2016
  • E

    Elisabeth · Married on 10/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful staff who will work to respond to your requests. Good communication. Very professional and responsible. Our guests loved the food, the decor and the overall experience. If given very clear requests and pictures of what is wanted, their team can create lovely specialized spaces. Very accommodating of dietary issues for guests - really went above and beyond the usual places in this area and made the event safe for guests with allergies/ dietary needs and welcoming. I have had poor experiences with fancy hotels with catering services who just could not do what Catering by Design does at the college in the food department for upscale food more in line with Philadelphia's current food climate. Does not feel corporate- in that bad way- but feels like a good restaurant you hired to do your event. Good for foodies.
    Florist team at Garnish works hard and is very responsive to requests - pictures are good and trials of flowers and table looks are good.
    Diana Airoldi, the coordinator working with Catering by Design inside the College is fabulous. Highly professional, does not get flustered and takes care of details and is very responsive. It was a pleasure to work with her.
    The College of Physicians setting itself is special and unique. It has an elegance of the by gone victorian era which can be played up either to the elegant victorian side or towards an off beat retro victorian vibe so popular now in many style genres. Having the Mutter museum gallery open to the guests for a time during the event added another dimension to the event for guests and they thoroughly enjoyed it. We had glowing comments from our guests for weeks after our daughter's wedding at the college. Hers was off-beat but elegant, done very well and the staff helped to make a wedding that will be positively remembered for a long time.
    The price point for what you get is excellent. Not a cookie cutting place.We would definitely do it all over again if we had a chance to go back in time.

    Sent on 11/21/2016
  • A

    Andrew · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Mutter Museum was the perfect venue for our wedding. The physical space was amazing and the upstairs library and great room are amazing. This space is one of Philadelphia's best kept secrets. Catering By Design is the in-house event team for catering, and they are amazing to work with. If you book through the College of Physicians, you'll rent the space and also pay for alcohol through the College and then all of the catering services are through Catering By Design.

    Sent on 11/22/2016
  • J

    Jacqui · Married on 10/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you have the opportunity to have your wedding at the College of Physicians--do it. Not only do you get your choice of several great ceremony locations within one building, your guests can enjoy the Mütter Museum during cocktail hour. The CPP is an incredible historic venue, and is an architectural gem. Every space is a place for an incredible photograph.

    Sent on 10/22/2016
  • M

    Mary Jo · Married on 08/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diana, Dan, Liz and their entire team were incredible to work with. We had a non-traditional wedding and they helped make all of our visions come to life. They were laid back but helped us to reign in our ideas and helped us to keep our focus where we wanted it to be- us, our family and friends under one roof celebrating this happy occasion!
    They also let us have our dog in our ceremony which was so precious and meaningful to us (especially my husband who has had him for 8 years!). Another HUGE compliment to their entire staff was how they took care of our 90+ year old Great Aunt. She said she was taken care of like a queen and we couldn’t be more grateful for that! Can't say enough good about this group of individuals, they made our dream wedding come to life!

    Sent on 01/11/2017
  • M

    Maura · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The College of Physicians is definitely worth considering! Diana and the rest of the staff were incredible and made our big day absolutely amazing. Our wedding turned out to be on what I think was the hottest weekend of the year (heat index over 100 degrees in the evening) so we moved our ceremony from the garden to the upstairs hall and Diana and the florists at Catering by Design (the in house catering/decor group) made it absolutely stunning - and all at the last minute. We hadn't planned for flowers for the ceremony while it was in the garden but after changing plans less than 24 hours until the beginning of everything, CBD put together a truly beautiful ceremony for us for an extremely reasonable price.

    The reception hall was gorgeous, the food honestly the best I've ever had at a wedding, and the staff was amazing. I can't say enough how beautiful everything was and how perfectly the decor and cake matched my husband and my tastes, even though we were pretty bad at articulating what we were looking for. And seriously, Diana was an incredible coordinator - everything went off without a hitch, and when our photographer was taking forever with family photos after the ceremony, Diana casually swooped in to ask us if we wanted dinner pushed back slightly to give us time to mingle at the cocktail hour. When we accidentally forgot name cards for 6 guests, Diana had it all taken care of before we even noticed we made the mistake. Everything Diana and the staff could do to accommodate us was suggested and done with such friendliness and professionalism. There isn't a thing they could have done better - just perfect.

    Sent on 11/29/2016
  • G

    Geoffrey · Married on 07/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There aren't enough superlatives to describe our wedding at the College of Physicians. We're not currently living in Philadelphia and had some anxiety about planning a wedding from out of town, but Diana Airoldi and Dan Love at Catering by Design assuaged our fears and then some. Every last detail was taken care of. When we gave them a vague idea of the vibe we were going for, they read our minds and decorated the space perfectly. When we told them we wanted fun, unconventional wedding food, they put together a menu that had all of our guests raving (complete with chicken and waffles!). In everything they did, they were thorough, attentive, and helpful. Though they were likely working with dozens of couples on any given day, we always felt like we were their most important clients.

    We *highly* recommend getting married at the College of Physicians, especially if you're as hands-off and stressed about the wedding planning process as we were. Our wedding day was perfect, largely thanks to the efforts of Diana and Dan.

    Sent on 07/30/2016
  • C

    constance · Married on 05/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough great things about The College of Physicians of Philadelphia and Catering By Design. The venue was just gorgeous. We had our ceremony outside in the garden, cocktail hour on the first floor both inside and out, and then our reception was upstairs in the grand Mitchell Hall. From the moment we saw the space we just knew that it was perfect. You get the entire building to yourselves, so sharing a space with other weddings like at other venues. The Mutter Museum was open during cocktail hour at no additional cost. We are still hearing such great things and how everyone just loved having that as part of the day.

    Catering by Design is the exclusive caterer for the site and it really was a fantastic experience. Dan Love was just the BEST. He really made us feel special. We were able to have any and everything that we wanted, and with his guidance it went just wonderfully. The food was exceptional and was one of the highlights of the night. One doesn't usually have a high expectation for wedding food, but all of the meals got rave reviews.

    Dan also has another company GARNISH, that we used for all of the design aspects. Flowers, Candles, Linens etc. Working with Dan and Diana was just flawless. I totally credit the ability to have all of these services provided by one vendor, for the reason we honestly felt very little stress throughout the entire process. They were always available to talk to meet to discuss details.

    They gave us the wedding of our dreams and I really cannot recommend all of them enough.

    Sent on 07/01/2016
  • A

    Alison · Married on 04/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have had a more beautiful venue for our wedding. The groom is a writer, so we were able to have our ceremony in the library upstairs followed by cocktails on outside in the garden and our reception in the ballroom upstairs. The evening flowed seamlessly throughout the building. The staff went above and beyond for our wedding. As the bride, I didn't have to worry about a thing-- everything was taken care of and more. Absolutely stunning venue with outstanding staff-- I would HIGHLY recommend!

    Sent on 12/07/2016
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue was absolutely beautiful, and the staff was excellent. The College of Physicians works only with one catering company, Catering by Design, and the person we worked with to plan the wedding and coordinate with the venue was Dan Love. He was accessible whenever we had questions, and helped coordinate the day of the wedding to make it as stress-free as possible. The venue itself is absolutely beautiful with many possibilities since there are different spaces in which different parts of the wedding and reception can be held. Furthermore, you can even have the Mutter Museum be open during cocktail hour (as long as there is no food or drink in the museum), which our guests enjoyed (though some lost their appetites!). I would highly recommend this venue.

    Sent on 07/26/2015
  • J

    Ann Marie · Married on 05/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dan has been wonderful to work with! He was very flexible with the menu, has provided useful suggestions, and is incredibly easy to work with.

    Sent on 01/31/2015
  • K

    Kris · Married on 02/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is a unique venue that your guests won't stop talking about! It's right above the Mutter Museum (which you can leave open during cocktail hour). The space is beautiful, and the caterer (Catering By Design) is incredible. You really can't go wrong.

    Sent on 02/22/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review