Skip to main content
Weddings

Sugar Snap Events Reviews

Sugar Snap Events

Sugar Snap Events

Kill Devil Hills, NC
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 117 Reviews
View more information

117 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 117
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

42 User photos

  • Kellie
    Kellie A. Married on 11/20/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing experience from start to finish

    Shirley was amazing at helping our flowers and decor come alive. Truly the highlight of the wedding. Shirley was very responsive and easy to communicate with. She made our vision come to life. She was very flexible and helped work within our budget. From the beginning she communicated the entire process and the day of the wedding we didn't have to worry about anything. It was nice not to worry about set up or clean up. It was well worth it. She is the absolute best person to deal with decorations and flowers on the outer banks. Look no further than Sugar Snap Events!
  • Karen
    Karen E. Married on 10/28/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exceptional, personal, and so much fun

    We chose to hire Shirley from Sugar Snap Events based on the “preferred vendor” list provided by our venue. From the beginning of the planning process through the end of the wedding itself, Shirley has been a consistently calm, responsive, and enthusiastic character. She knows her community inside and out, from the various venues to the various vendors. Her great relationships with all of them shows and was very important to us while our venue went through some changes in management. The venue did an excellent job with the shifts, but we had no doubt that Shirley was there to fix any hiccups that could have come up during that process. She did so much more than just decorating.

    In addition to her interpersonal skills and expertise, she created magic out of the spaces we used during our events. She transformed a deck overlooking a beach, a stunning-on-its-own fine dining restaurant, and a somewhat basic building with lovely deck and lawn into uniquely lovely spaces, weaving our personal style into each venue without overwhelming their natural beauty. Her eye for the bigger picture as well as the smallest details made for a visual feast. The mix of sculptural, whimsical, and natural she created was everything we had imagined, but better. We feel so lucky to have hired her.
  • Emily
    Emily N. Married on 06/27/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing!!!

    Shirley is the BEST!!! She worked with me through so many covid wedding changes, she was flexible and calm, and most of all, she kept me calm as well!! On our actual covid elopement wedding she graciously let me change into my wedding dress at her house/studio, as we had to travel to get to OBX and I had nowhere to change. That right there was WOW! Not many florists would help out the bride that much, and her kindness does not go unnoticed! Onto the arrangements - they were both stunning! I did some bright flowers for my real wedding and went with a cleaner, crisper look for the second wedding the year after. Both times they were stunning arrangements at great prices and I highly recommend Sugar Snap Events to anyone looking into an OBX wedding - you won’t be disappointed!!
  • Kasey
    Kasey C. Married on 06/26/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Your Dream Wedding Awaits...

    It's hard to put into words just how breathtaking my wedding venue turned out after I put my trust in Shirley from Sugar Snap. All of my guests raved about the decor and our wedding coordinator said we took the venue to the next level! Shirley was a dream to work with. She is incredibly creative, always available to communicate, and, most importantly, listens to your every desire. To top it off, she is so dang sweet! If you don't book Shirley for your Outer Banks wedding, you are missing out.
  • Destany
    Destany Married on 04/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Laura was a life saver!

    I am so happy to have hired Laura as our coordinator for our beach front ceremony. She went above and beyond, checking in on me during planning, easing my worries about the timeline and rehearsal stress, and made the day run so smoothly! I don’t know what we would have done without her! She is such a wonderful person and excellent corrdinator! Thank you Laura!!
  • Debbie
    Debbie Married on 11/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Some Enchanted Evening!!!

    Sugar Snap Events delivered beyond our wildest dreams. As a Wedding Planner I have teamed with Shirley 100’s of times for other couples and so it was a no brainer to choose her and her team to bring the vision for my own wedding to life. She worked tirelessly from concept through execution bringing her A game every step of the way!!! That bouquet though!!!!! Pure Magic!!!!

    Sugar Snap Events's reply:

    Awwww. I'm smiling and tearing up a little right now.
    I heart you woman :) And am so happy for you, Scott, and your new family!!!
  • M
    Meredith N. Married on 10/23/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Flawless florals and a pleasure to work with!

    I cannot say enough wonderful things about Shirley and her team! After postponing our larger reception in California, my fiancé and I decided to hold a 14-guest ceremony on my parent's deck in Southern Shores on our original wedding date. The intention was to keep it simple, casual and intimate. My parent's house is a 'happy place' of mine, so I truly didn't think the space needed much to feel special. But WOW-- Shirley exceeded every expectation I had. She was able to take my very simple "I like this picture"/ "I don't like that picture", and create a wedding ceremony I never could have dreamed up myself. All of my vendors were wonderful, but Shirley's work with the florals and accessories really created the overall vibe of the day and brought everything together. And, added bonus, she stayed right on budget and right on schedule through the whole thing! I wish I had 10 more wedding to plan so I could hire Shirley over and over again! : )
  • Tracie
    Tracie R. Married on 06/25/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding day arrangement

    We had to change our wedding venue, but on the day we would have been married, we received a beautiful arrangement from Sugar Snap. It was gorgeous!
  • Arianna
    Arianna M. Married on 10/03/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Flowers and Decor

    The flowers and decor were picture perfect! Shirley took the ideas and pictures I sent her and put it all together for our beach wedding. We were planning long distance but she made sure to describe exactly what everything would look like and sent pictures of the flowers that were in the bouquets. She made sure my "something blue" fit right into my bouquet. Even with a last minute change in the reception layout, Shirley made sure the lighting and decor were perfect.
  • Megan
    Megan S. Married on 09/22/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfection

    Shirley was amazing! The first time we met up for coffee to discuss my "vision" for the wedding I knew she was the person to pull this together. I didn't have an exact idea in mind about flowers, Shirley walked me through some cards to understand what I liked and what I didn't. We also just talked about my and my fiance's interests which helped to design some of the more personalized features. Shirley also worked with us when we wanted to cut back a bit and find some ways to save. The day of the wedding was PERFECT, all my guest commented about how beautiful the decorations were and how the signs made were so "us." I can't say enough about working with Shirley - thanks for helping to make the perfect day!
  • H
    Hannah D. Married on 08/24/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Made my wedding dreams come true :)

    I can’t recommend Shirley from Sugar Snap enough. I did not have a specific vision for what I wanted my wedding venue to look like, just an idea of the feeling I wanted to create. I think my exact words to Shirley were something along the lines of “I don’t know, I like the color blue?” Somehow, she took my vague descriptions of what I was picturing in my mind and turned it into reality. The first time I cried on my wedding day was when I walked into the venue because it was surreal to see my half-formed ideas turned into an absolutely stunning reality. Shirley was always responsive to emails and available to speak on the phone when needed. She welcomed feedback and adjusted the design plan multiple times. She helped me prioritize when we needed to cut down for budget reasons. I felt very supported by her and her design was flawless. I would not want anyone else to have designed my wedding, and I highly suggest hiring her and her wonderful team!

    **All photos by Matt Lusk photography
  • M &
    M & Married on 07/30/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    100 stars!!

    Our wedding was a destination wedding at the Outer Banks. Shirley put me at ease the first time I talk to her, we knew that she was a truly professional. We have to thank her for the magnificent job she and her crew did with the flowers for our wedding. You are a true artist! The venue was beautiful, you brought to the wedding the class and elegance we had hoped for. Everything, including my bouquet, the ceremony altar and the reception was absolutely perfect. We had a vision for what we wanted, but you far exceeded our expectations. We will forever grateful for your services.
  • Kelsey
    Kelsey Married on 06/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dream Wedding Designer!!

    Where to begin?! Shirley turned my dream wedding pinterest board into a reality! She took a general theme I had and brought it to life. She perfected every detail and truly made our wedding look like a fairy tale. I cannot recommend Shirley and her staff enough!
  • B
    Barrie Married on 10/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The words beautiful, gorgeous, and perfect are not enough to describe the flowers and decor that Shirley and her team put together for my daughter's wedding. From the moment we met with Shirley and explained our vision, we knew it was going to be spectacular, but everything turned out beyond our wildest dreams. She was so easy to work with, very thorough and flexible. Her emails were prompt and informative. Shirley and her team worked all day to make sure everything was perfect and we could not have been happier with the results. I highly recommend Shirley and Sugar Snap for any event.
  • B
    Blaire Married on 09/24/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Shirley and her team are AMAZING! They created a picture perfect scene for our destination elopement in the Outer Banks that far surpassed our expectations. About two hours before the ceremony, I made an impromptu decision to wear my floral crown backwards. Carrie (Shirley's right-hand) stopped what she was doing and ran across the resort to rework the floral crown in my hotel room. It was truly above and beyond the call of duty!
  • R
    Rossana Married on 08/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I hired Laura and Shirley from SSE as my wedding coordinator and florist. I was blown away at how amazing they are!! Shirley did a PHENOMENAL job with all my wedding decor. We spoke once over the phone about my vision for the wedding and she captured it all in the most perfect/beautiful way.
    Laura did an AMAZING job with coordination. I have no idea how we would've gotten through the ceremony/reception without her!! She knew exactly what to do, when to do it and made sure everything and everyone knew what they were supposed to do, including my husband and I. Thanks SSE for the wonderful service!! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY!!
  • M
    Michele Married on 06/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    You're in good hands if you decide to hire Shirley & her team for your florals and decor. Shirley is so laid back, but full of creative suggestions and ideas. Our initial consultation was super informative, and she was responsive and open to changes and additions as the planning progressed. I actually shed tears when I saw the ceremony site - my expectations were exceeded in every way. She did a stunning fabric and lighting installation over our dance floor, built a really cool framework over our head table with hanging candles and greenery, and made custom arrangements on the handlebars of two vintage motorcycles that we had displayed to honor my late father. She put SO much work into making the day unique and beautiful, and it's clear that she crafts everything with love and care. Thank you Shirley!!
  • K
    Kayleigh Married on 05/27/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used Shirley for our flowers, reception decor and cafe string lighting at our small wedding at the Sanderling Resort. She is so easy to work with and was able to give me exactly what I wanted. She does beautiful work and you cannot go wrong!
  • K
    Katie Married on 05/25/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I planned my Outer Banks wedding at the Mark Twain House from my home in Connecticut. I did a lot of research before going with Sugar Snap Events and I am so glad I did. Shirley was incredibly responsive & able to answer ALL of my questions (there were a lot) about the flowers for our wedding. I had an idea in my head of what I wanted, but didn’t want to spend an arm & a leg. Shirley made my vision a reality. Our flowers were beautiful! I highly recommend using Sugar Snap Events!
  • C
    Chelsea Married on 05/25/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I had the opportunity to work with Sugar Snap Events for Katie & Mark's wedding. I was the wedding day coordinator and I picked up the flowers the day before the wedding. This team was amazing. They had everything ready, I walked through a check list to make sure we had everything and they helped me carry everything to the car! Not to mention, the flowers were everything the bride had wanted. They were perfect. I would highly recommend this vendor to future Outer Banks couples!
  • plangalCG
    C Married on 05/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sugarsnap was chosen for me as a part of a venue package, but I could not imagine a better person to work with than Shirley. She was very responsive to my questions and feedback, even when I was not always as responsive! She worked with me to stay within my budget, and gave me her opinions on what would look best. And, on the wedding day, when things needed to be adjusted due to weather, she made the decorations indoors just as lovely as they would have been outdoors. My bouquet and bridal party/family flowers were gorgeous. My only regret is that I couldn't afford to go hogwild! My advice to all brides is to let the pros do what they do--they know how to execute the best ever wedding for you! I was nothing but happy with our floral and decor, thanks to Sugarsnap!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 12/02/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Shirley is the BEST! Without her creativity I couldn't have had my dream wedding. She is super quick to respond and will work with you until it is exactly what you want. After reviewing everything with her and letting her know exactly what I wanted, I never worried again about decorations or flowers. I trusted her 100% and can't say enough great things! She is AMAZING!
  • C
    Christie Married on 10/21/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    SugarSnap Events and Shirley were fantastic to work with. Shirley met with me several times to make sure I was getting what I wanted out of my flowers and other details. When I told her I wanted to use pumpkins and have them painted with nautical themes, she jumped on the idea. She even sent me an email to let me know when the Styrofoam pumpkins were on sale at Michael's. Everything she did for our wedding was absolutely phenomenal. If you are still looking for someone to help make your wedding beautiful, look no further, this is the place to choose!!!
  • B
    Betty Married on 09/23/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Working with Shirley Cook at Sugar Snap was a delight. She was professional, positive, accommodating and creative. Her advice was excellent. Our wedding was a destination wedding and we planned everything via email and phone. She created exactly what we wanted and I would work with her again in a heartbeat.
  • L
    Lee A. Married on 09/14/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Laura was excellent as our wedding planner! She was extremely organized, provided great recommendations, and made sure our special day was absolutely perfect! She took all the stress out of our day, and made sure we were taken care of!

    Shirley was our florist and she was absolute magic! We didn't really know what we wanted, but knew what we liked, and after a few conversations she put it all together perfectly. She was a pleasure to work with and her designs are absolutely beautiful!