Studio Dan Meiners Reviews

28 | Kansas City, MO
See photos, pricing and details

28 Reviews for Studio Dan Meiners

Recommended by 94%

28
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.6

12 User photos

Studio Dan Meiners 1
Studio Dan Meiners 2
Studio Dan Meiners 3
Studio Dan Meiners 4
Studio Dan Meiners 5
Studio Dan Meiners 6
Studio Dan Meiners 7
+ 6
Sort by:
  • Selena

    Selena · Married on 04/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful flowers and venue

    Our wedding at Pennway Place couldn’t have been more perfect! The layout of the venue made flipping the room between ceremony and reception easy and helped with the flow of the entire night. Our guests mentioned multiple times how cool and unique the venue was. The style of the Pennway Place was a huge part of why me and my husband fell in love with it. When we met with Dan to discuss our vision for the flowers, I really only had an idea of what I wanted for bouquets. He had an idea for the ceremony that I couldn’t quite visualize at the time but I trusted him and I’m sure glad that I did because all of the flowers took my breathe away! I almost cried with joy when we walked in! The staff are super helpful and kind. I emailed Taylor about half a dozen times leading up to the wedding and she was always quick to respond. I couldn’t have asked for a better place to get married and would do everything the same if I could do it over again!

    Sent on 05/08/2019
    Studio Dan Meiners 8
  • M

    Megan · Married on 12/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful event space - blank canvas!

    Megan and team at Studio Dan Meiners were AMAZING to work with for our wedding day. They made the entire process so easy and stress-free. They listened to our wedding vision and really brought it to life. It was beyond anything I could have dreamed up on my own. The logistics were so easy for guests. We had no problems with bar lines, flow from cocktail to reception space, dance floor, etc. We received endless compliments about how beautiful the space looked (decor, flowers, the works!). I would highly recommend this space or team for anyone planning a wedding or event. We were so fortunate to work with them! Thank you!

    Sent on 02/07/2019
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A chic space // the perfect canvas for your vision

    As one who works in the architecture + design industry, the vision I had for our wedding started with the venue. And as soon as my husband and I walked into Studio Dan Meiners (the 13th and final venue we visited!), we KNEW it was the perfect canvas for the experience we wanted to create for our day. THE SPACE. It's chic + elegant without being stuffy; contemporary without being cold. Dan has an impeccable eye for detail and it's evident in every element of the space. While it's large enough to accommodate parties of 400, the team was quick to explain how it could flip from ceremony to reception, and how walls could be moved and the space could be scaled for our 120 guests -- to make our wedding feel intimate with different areas for lounging, food stations / dining, and of course, dancing. :) THE DECOR VISION. Dan channeled my vision brilliantly. Our consult was so inspiring! While he does exquisite floral work (often over the top for budgets that allow it!) I told him I prioritized design and architecture over flowers and wanted an elegant, yet understated look. He was able to translate that into everything -- from the candlelit windows that enclosed our wedding in the round (so intimate and stunning!) to the structural lines in my bouquet -- and the table centerpieces! He created a design and experience unlike anything I've ever seen. And last but note least: MEGAN IS AMAZING!! My husband and I popped into Studio Dan Meiners without an an appointment, and the staff graciously gave us a tour. Event / Sales Manager Megan Rohde is a GEM. Not only is she incredibly personable and detail-oriented, but she's FUN! I brought her on as my day-of coordinator; she not only helped keep the ship on track with both my planning and vendor management--crucial when planning a wedding in KC from LA! -- but helped keep me centered and calm. She was happy to help however she could -- always going above and beyond! I truly cannot imagine any other venue bringing our ceremony and reception to life as perfectly as Dan and his team, and am so grateful for the precious, BEAUTIFUL memories they helped us create.

    Sent on 10/22/2018
    Studio Dan Meiners 9
    Studio Dan Meiners 10
    Studio Dan Meiners 11
    Studio Dan Meiners 12
    Studio Dan Meiners 13
    Studio Dan Meiners 14
    Studio Dan Meiners 15
    Studio Dan Meiners 16
    Studio Dan Meiners 17
    Studio Dan Meiners 18
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue! Dan and his team did an amazing job. Loved it

    Sent on 05/05/2018
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 03/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When shopping for a florist for my wedding, I had to look no further after consulting with Dan. Our design session was magical and he painted the perfect picture of what my wedding could look like. His questionnaire helped him understand who I am, and he even printed out pictures from my Pinterest board!
    After that, the quote came - and it was surprisingly comparable to others I had received before. His assistants were quick to work with me to adjust it in places and always very professional in their communications.
    The day of my event, I was so very happy with my choices! Each bouquet, boutonniere, table centerpiece and especially the ceremony flowers had such a romantic and classy look and feel.
    I am so happy I chose Studio Dan Meiners and highly recommend them for your next event!

    Sent on 05/20/2015
  • A

    Allie · Married on 08/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding reception here on August 9th, 2014. The planner, Megan is INCREDIBLE. She's super easy to get along with, super organized and very professional. I was in constant contact with her and she was always available to answer my MANY questions. The bar staff was GREAT! We met with the bar coordinator, Joel ahead of time and customized our entire bar menu. He's more than willing to work with your budget. Dan is an AMAZING floral designer. We got SO many compliments on how AMAZING the centerpieces looked and how wonderful the wedding party flowers were! Our entire wedding reception was AMAZING. The lighting was PERFECT, the floral was INCREDIBLE and the set up of the space was AWESOME. I can't compliment this place enough. It's well worth ever penny to have a your events here.

    Sent on 09/07/2014
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot speak highly enough of Dan Meiner and his team. They are amazingly talented. They were able to evolve the vision I had for my wedding day (vintage Ralph Lauren) into something more than I had imagined.

    I work with my mom part-time who is a well-known coordinator in the KC area so I hired only the best for my big day. Trust me when I say experienced vendors and a good coordinator will make your day a lot less stressful. One thing that can cause brides/families a lot of stress is lack of communication from their chosen vendors. Sometimes getting a sit-down meeting, getting a return phone call and even getting an invoice can be like pulling teeth... even for those in the industry.

    I never had to worry about that with Dan and his team. They are responsive, flexible and provided updated invoices (when there were changes) almost immediately. They provided us a sample table at our meeting to ensure everything was how we wanted it.

    Just as important, his design work was flawless. My chuppah was drenched in cascading floral that made everyone's mouth drop and created such a special backdrop for our vows. The table centerpieces were amazing ... great quality floral ... again, more than I ever could have expected. My bouquet and my husband’s boutonniere were exquisite. I didn't want to put it down!

    On a final note I will say in the wedding business especially, you pay for what you get. If you're looking for cheap, Studio Dan Meiner's is not your florist/designer; however, his work is undoubtedly the best and he is incredibly fair with his pricing. I couldn't be happier with the gift he gave me on my big day.

    HUGE THANK YOU to Dan and Team! All the best, Jessica & Adam

    Sent on 10/22/2013
  • User2119914 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely amazing place! Pricey but def worth it

    Sent on 06/26/2013
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 07/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    no one is better then dan. he is creative and very professional. Loved his team.

    Sent on 07/23/2012
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 01/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We reserved Pennway Place for our January 2012 wedding. Along with reserving the space, we hired Dan Meiner as our Florist and event space decorator. I live out of town, so I was worried it would be difficult to plan not being in KC. After I met with Dan the first time, I was completely blown away and at ease with our plans. I went in with a few ideas for the decorations and he took my thoughts and created a wonderful vision. When we saw the venue right before our reception started I was speechless! He met and exceeded all of our expectations and within the budget we set. I loved how he took my few ideas and built on them to create such an exciting and romantic environment! The space allows for a unique and personalized event. I couldn't have imagined our reception to look as wonderful and perfect as it did! I knew I wanted the flowers to be simple and involve more twigs and branches to incorporate a winter wedding, but he came up with all of the ideas from there. I received numerous compliments on how lovely the flowers were. The were simple, elegant, understated, and PERFECT!! (Not to mention unique!)

    Aside from Dan, the venue and floral staff was exceptional. They were nice and easy to work with throughout the entire process. They do a great job of helping with the planning process in order to make it as smooth as possible.

    I would strongly recommend Pennway Place and Dan's work for any wedding or event.

    Sent on 01/29/2012
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 06/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hands down, Studio Dan Meiners is THE premier choice for wedding design and flowers in Kansas City. The attention to detail is amazing. No stone is left unturned, they think of things even the most detail oriented bride would overlook. We showed up to the venue after having discussed the general plan for the ceremony and reception and were so impressed by all the additional details that were a surprise and fit so perfectly into the vision we had discussed. The flowers were so amazing... we had peonies and hydrangeas... they were so beautiful that the day after I went back to pick them up and take them home as I couldn't imagine them meeting the trash so soon. 10 days AFTER the wedding I still had several peony bouquets alive and well at my home. 18 days AFTER the wedding I still have several of the cut hydrangeas! Quality, attention to detail and impeccable design is what you get when you go with Studio Dan Meiners.

    Sent on 06/23/2011
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 05/14/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't stress enough how happy I was with everything and how stunning, beautiful, jaw-dropping and completely amazing our wedding ceremony and reception decor was thanks to Studio Dan Meiners. I even got an awesome compliment from our venue's waitstaff saying that they had never seen more beautiful and unique decor!

    Sent on 08/15/2011
  • D

    Dena · Married on 06/05/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dan Meiners is amazing and did such as wonderful job decorating at our wedding! He does not only provide flowers, he also provides the design of the entire room and arranges everything gorgeously. The centerpieces and bouquets were beautiful and he did an awesome job with lighting and fabric to pull everything together. Dan was so easy to work with and had some great ideas. He also listened to everything I wanted and made it all come to life. I received so many compliments on how beautiful the ceremony and reception were and it is mainly due to Dan Meiners and his team. I would highly recommend if you want the best!!

    Sent on 11/19/2010
  • E

    Erica · Married on 07/25/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely LOVED our flowers and centerpieces/decor for the reception. He is extremely creative. I would highly recommend Dan Meiners as a florist for any special occasion!

    Sent on 01/23/2010
  • H

    Helene · Married on 10/13/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Extremely good and got exactly what I wanted in church, reception and bouquets. Quite expensive but well worth the extra money. He will go an extra mile for you to make your day memorable. When I first saw the reception hall I burst out crying as I was so overwhelmed over how beautiful and exatly what I had dreamed of.

    Sent on 10/31/2007
  • J

    Meg · Married on 07/21/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely fantastic service. Dan was able to understand exactly what I wanted (and more importantly what I did NOT want). He, along with my coordinator, brought the ceremony and reception space to life. He is expensive, but worth EVERY PENNY. Of all of my vendors, he was the one I worried the least about since I had such faith in his work.

    Sent on 04/28/2008
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/29/2005

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Studio Dan Meiners was wonderful. The flowers were beautiful. His studio was beautiful. I loved my bouquet. He just gave me what I asked for and gave me advise when I needed. He provided a wonderful service in a very professional, non-pushy manor and he was totally affordable. LOVED his arrangements!

    Sent on 06/03/2008
  • J

    Jennie · Married on 12/03/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pennway Place was one of the best decisions we made during the planning process. Megan was our initial contact until Sophie came on board. Dan, Megan and Sophie went above and beyond to learn about our vision, suggest reputable vendors, answer our questions and translate out vision into reality. Pennway Place is essentially a blank slate that allows you to choose your layout, colors, setup, ambiance, and even where your walls go. This could get overwhelming, but the team was great about sharing what others had done and what worked well. We were confident enough in the team to give them some creative freedom, and I'm so glad we did! The venue was beautiful and beyond what I had imagined! If you have the chance to work with this team, do it! You won't be disappointed!

    Sent on 12/27/2016
  • Roshonda

    Roshonda · Married on 07/04/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is great! Megan, the coordinator is wonderful and is very helpful and responsive. They make sure you see everything before the day of which is great!

    Sent on 05/26/2015
  • User4247942 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outstanding! They are truly creative and have a beautiful product. A+++

    Sent on 07/14/2014
  • S

    Seema · Married on 07/28/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved everything about the decor. It was elegant and lavish just as I wanted it. Working with Dan was nothing but a pleasure, and he gave his honest opinion, which I really appreciated.

    Sent on 08/08/2018
    Studio Dan Meiners 19
  • A

    Angela · Married on 08/02/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Studio Dan Meiners is a one stop shop. Ceremony, reception, flowers, alcohol, decor, and a coordinator, what more could you want from one vendor?!? Dan Meiners staff is incredibly helpful and quick to respond to any questions. Their prices are comparable to others in town and you can be assured that on the day of your wedding you will not have to worry about a thing. I am not very creative but after meeting with Dan I knew he would give us the exact mood we had in mind for our reception. After our wedding we received endless comments about how amazing our venue was. Overall, we could not be happier with our decision to use Dan Meiners!

    Sent on 08/17/2014
  • User4199257 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Overall, great space. I did find the staff extremely helpful. Beautiful flowers!!

    Sent on 06/24/2014
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 09/10/2011

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The Studio was an incredible reception venue that was unique and chic. They were good at listening to what I wanted and giving me beautiful results. Sometimes the staff was a little tricky to get a hold of, or would take a while to get back to you.

    Sent on 09/26/2011
  • Tara

    Tara · Married on 10/27/2018

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Great Venue - Disappointing Florals

    From a venue perspective, we had the best experience! The building was able to accommodate our 200+ guest list with ease. There was enough space for a band (Lost Wax), a photo booth (Icon) and plenty of space for guests to mingle. The bar staff was wonderful and their menu selection was very diverse. Dan and his team absolutely nailed our ceremony and reception vision (floating candles from the ceiling, boho centerpieces and a gorgeous alter).
    However, we were very disappointed with our bouquets and flower crowns. The colors were different from what we originally discussed in our questionnaire, consultation and final contract (requested dark, moody jewel tones and received bright pinks and purples). The Queen Proteas in the bridal bouquet were delivered as completely closed and only opened ever so slightly after the ceremony and after the majority of pictures. There were a handful of flowers and greenery that were not only never discussed but also the wrong color palette compared to the images used in the consultation. The Ice White Proteas in the bridal party's bouquets never opened and were mocked as "fuzzy artichokes". It was strange to have such an incomplete floral order from a team that's so often referred to as the, "best in Kansas City". We did get to see a small reception centerpiece (very small, do not expect to see all centerpieces) preview a month ahead of time - but there was no preview of the bouquets or crowns. Had we had a chance to see the bouquets and crowns with the rest of the preview arrangement, we could have addressed these mistakes and had the right florals for our wedding day. These concerns have been addressed with Megan, Dan and their design team prior to this review. After 4 business days, Megan replied and said she was, "sorry to hear you did not love your bouquets and crowns" and advised, "this is something that rarely happens". While she did offer a $200 credit towards a future floral order from them, the response was, like the bouquets and crowns, disappointing. There was no acknowledgement or ownership in their mistake. While this did not keep us from getting married, it was an awful lot of money on the wrong bouquets and crowns.

    Sent on 12/05/2018

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review