So Smitten Special Events Reviews

21 | Lakewood, CA
See photos, pricing and details

21 Reviews for So Smitten Special Events

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

21
Order by:
  • David

    David Nash · Married on 04/03/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They handled everything!

    Groom review: I wasn't involved when selecting So Smitten, and honestly wasn't sure what to expect throughout the process. In meeting with Marni to go over the details of the day, I was blown away by how organized she was. She had the wedding day planned to the minute and knew all the right questions to ask when speaking with the person managing the venue. On our wedding day, Marni and her team of coordinators made sure everything was perfect! We didn't have to worry about anything. They were so communicative to the wedding party that none of our friends and family had any excuse not to know where they should be and when. There were only a few minor hiccups and So Smitten handled them flawlessly. For instance, our venue made sure we picked how our napkins should be folded. We wouldn't have cared but after they made us choose, we designed an insert specific to the napkins describing the meal and with the names of the wedding party, etc. Unfortunately, all the napkins were wrong when we first looked at the room. We wouldn't have cared but they made a big deal of having us select a style. We mentioned it to Marni and she took care of the whole situation. They started to say that this is what we choose and Marni knew exactly where in the contract it listed the napkin fold and showed it to them. Marni and the team's attention to detail was fantastic. They were making sure my bride and I were happy the whole day and had to worry about as little as possible. I can't recommend them enough!!!

    Sent on 05/11/2019
  • S

    Shanan Goldsmith · Married on 09/23/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Do your self a favor and book right away!!

    We are so thankful for Marni and Sabrina!! Our wedding day, pre wedding, planning and just a helpful group when we had questions. We kept saying “we just don’t know what we don’t know” and both Marni and Sabrina are beyond helpful, quick to respond and super knowledgeable. We are so thankful we had Sabrina at our wedding and know we wouldn’t of been able to pull off our dream wedding with out her.

    For real, if you’re on the fence - make the leap. Every penny is well worth it. Hands down the BEST and our wedding was magical because of So Smitten!!

    Sent on 10/03/2019
  • E

    Emily Nadal · Married on 09/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Best! Seriously!

    So Smitten is seriously amazing! I worked with Marni and Sabrina. They were both wonderful and so helpful throughout the wedding planning process and in the months leading up to the wedding. They are professional, friendly, and organized. They are simply amazing at what they do. Our wedding day went so smooth and on time! I cannot recommend enough.

    Sent on 11/15/2019
  • A

    Arie · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Best There Is!

    We couldn't be more pleased with our experience! Marni is not only a consummate professional, but a fantastic person, to boot. For every question or problem we ran into throughout our planning process, she had a solution. She knows her business so well, and has excellent relationships with all of the best vendors in the area. Everyone loves Marni, and it shows!

    On the day of our ceremony, she and her team were invaluable. Everything went so smoothly for us; we were able to relax and enjoy our reception knowing that everything was in Marni's capable hands. She is, simply put, the best at what she does.

    Sent on 11/10/2018
  • Trevor

    Trevor · Married on 10/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marni is a miracle worker! We interviewed several Wedding Planners to serve as Day of Coordinators but she was the only one that we instantly knew would be able to handle everything we needed. We had a ton of props and a very specific vision for our wedding and she and her staff exceeded all expectations in helping us achieve a flawless wedding! She even managed to wrangle and manage our infuriatingly less-than-organized venue staff leading up to and day of the wedding. Day of, everything was impeccable and she checked on us regularly to make sure we were happy and if we needed anything! Hire her!!!

    Sent on 10/10/2018
  • L

    Lizette · Married on 07/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring So Smitten for the day-of-coordination at my wedding was the best thing I did and the best money I spent! I cannot say that enough! We had the honor of having Shaunte as our lead coordinator, and she was a pleasure to work with. As a hands-on bride I thought I had everything covered, but when I spoke with Shaunte, I realized what value she could add, as she is truly an expert at what she does. I do not know what I would've done without So Smitten at my wedding. It is worth noting, that unlike many other day-of-coordinator companies, you are allowed to have unlimited communication with their coordinators (other companies say 2 emails per month, which is bizarre to me). Shaunte was on top of things and had things I couldn't even think of covered. They did such a great job at my wedding that a friend of mine who was in attendance hired So Smitten for her upcoming wedding. If you're debating hiring a day-of-coordinator, don't think twice and hire So Smitten, you won't regret it!

    Sent on 08/09/2018
  • N

    Nestor · Married on 06/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    How can I begin to describe how great Marni and her team are? My husband and I still remember researching many wedding planners because we wanted to find the perfect one. As soon as we had our first conversation with Marni, we knew she was the one we wanted to work with because of her positive, fun, caring personality. From beginning to end, Marni was always organized, detailed, fun, and just happy. You would think you would feel overwhelmed after seeing a huge list of to do items but that wasn’t the case here. Marni constantly seemed prepared and worriless, which made us feel the same. She actually made the wedding planning process really fun and we would look forward to our meetings. We found it amazing how she was so organized, prepared, and detailed, yet she was happily open to any change no matter how last minute it was. It sure seems like being a wedding planner is stressful but nothing ever seemed to stress her out. She answered everything so happily and would get back to us in such a quick manner. Thanks to Mani and her team, we had the wedding of a lifetime. My husband and I did not have to worry about anything the day of. Everything turned out perfectly and honestly we know it would not have happened without Marni. Our family and friends had the best time and we’ve heard nothing but positive feedback about the wedding. We’re so happy that we can look back at our wedding and remember it as the best day of our lives. If you wish to have a stress free and extremely fun wedding, look no further than So Smitten. She’s everything you could dream of in a planner and more! She was not only our dream wedding planner but she also became a good friend that we will always be grateful for.

    Sent on 07/02/2018
  • K

    Kristie · Married on 05/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough great things about Marni. We hired her for our day of consultant but she went above and beyond that role by answering various questions I had throughout my planning process and providing such valuable information. Her and her staff took all the decorations we made and decorated the venue even better than I had pictured it. She also handled everything the day of so I could just enjoy my wedding.

    Sent on 07/26/2018
  • A

    Audrey · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marni was absolutely amazing. She made the whole process as easy and stress-free as possible. I am not someone who easily lets go (I can be a bit of a control freak), but I had no trouble trusting Marni-- I knew I was in good hands.

    From start to finish it was an amazing experience working with her. She was so organized and so detailed I knew that every little thing was taken care of. I also appreciated all her help with vendor recommendations and guidance. I never really felt overwhelmed with all of the things that needed to be done because Marni really helped to manage the chaos/

    I was so glad to have her with me on my big day and to help guide me through the sometimes crazy process of planning a wedding. I received so many compliments from our friends and family and I really cannot recommend her enough.

    Sent on 10/16/2017
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marni is the absolute best! My wife and I had our wedding on June 10th of this year and it would not have happened as smoothly nor been as wonderful as it was if not for Marni.

    My wife and I went into the whole process of planning our wedding with only the vaguest of ideas of what we wanted. We had a rough budget, we knew we wanted good food, we wanted to be in Los Angeles, and we wanted cake. That's pretty much it. For over a year, Marni was with us for each step of the way, gently prodding us along and giving suggestions and recommendations to help point us towards shaping our dream wedding. And since we are currently in St. Louis, she would organize things to cram as many meetings as possible for the weekends we went out there to visit and acted as our representative for times we couldn't go out there. She kept us organized and always let us know what we had to do and when we had to do it. I'm not quite sure how I'll live without that much structure in my life anymore, honestly!

    Plus, Marni is a fabulous person to work with. She always listened to what we wanted, gave us ideas when we weren't so sure, and in general was a great person to talk to and plan with. She's exactly the sort of person you want by your side during the long wedding planning process.

    Basically, Marni is the best. If you want to not stress too much (you'll always stress a little bit) you should definitely call on her for any big event you have. She is magic and my wife and I are both so incredibly grateful to

    Sent on 06/17/2017
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So Smitten = a must have for your wedding!

    As someone with event experience, I knew exactly how complex it would be to manage a wedding. That's why I called upon So Smitten to help with day of coordination. They paired me with Jill, and we made an awesome team.

    Jill created a super detailed timeline and even identified some things my husband and I hadn't thought of. Leading up to the big day, she served as the point person for all of my vendors and did a ton of work behind the scenes. I was seriously impressed with her organization and responsiveness (especially via text).

    During the wedding, Jill and her team had a calm, positive demeanor and handled everything that came their way with grace and professionalism. I must add that they did a stellar job cleaning up the bridal suites and packing up our items. My favorite memory: Jill running to me and husband with a plate of appetizers in one hand and drinks in the other, so we could fuel up before family photos. She's the best!

    I was really able to enjoy my big day knowing that So Smitten was taking care of everything else. *Big hugs!*

    Sent on 06/23/2017
  • User6464170 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marni and Shaunte were our month-of coordination team, and what a team they were! They handled EVERYTHING on the day of our wedding, so we could be relaxed and completely in the moment together. We couldn't have asked for more organized, responsible, and pleasant people to work with. They handled a wedding crasher with grace and ease, and didn't allow it to stress us out at all. I cannot recommend them more highly, they made our wedding day perfect. When we sat back on our honeymoon and reflected, my husband noted that So Smitten was our most important vendor of the day - without them, we can't imagine the wedding happening as smoothly or as beautifully as it did. We also rented items from So Smitten, and they were beautiful, we would highly recommend that as well!

    Sent on 03/11/2017
  • K

    karla · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    People say that a day of wedding planner to handle A to Z is a luxury, but for the sake of the bride and those in the bridal party, it's a must!! Marni and her team didn't just provide us with day of service. They went above and beyond long before the wedding to make sure things were done in a timely manner and that we didn't miss any details. The cost was WAY below the value for their day of service and I only wish I could have afforded to have them do it all. They have an amazing eye/style and knowledge on bringing things together. Everything they did for us was so tasteful, gorgeous, and professional. I know that if I had tried to do things on my own, I wouldn't have been able to do a quarter of the amazing job they did. Even though our budget couldn't afford their full service planning, they took ownership in my vendor choices making it all work and come together beautifully. They kept me relaxed all day, spoiling us by making sure we had drinks and food, felt good, and if anything went wrong we didn't know about it! Marni and Jill are superwomen and I can't wait to need their service for our next party. It's been a week since my wedding and I've already said this many times... So Smitten Events was the best investment in making my wedding day beyond anything I could have dreamed, not only for me, but everyone in my bridal party that would have been responsible for helping me do what they did for us on that day.

    Sent on 05/28/2016
  • K

    Katie · Married on 04/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marni was amazing. I hired So Smitten for the D.I.Y Day-of service, and I have no idea how my wedding would have run without having her and her team. I was happy putting together the wedding myself, but she was always there to answer questions, give recommendations, and guide me along the way since I had no experience with weddings. The week of the wedding she took over everything so that I was able to enjoy my time with friends and family. Everything ran so smoothly!! There is NO WAY my wedding day would have been so perfect without Marni's help. I'm actually still not sure if everything went perfectly or if things went wrong and she just fixed them before I ever noticed!! Either way, that's exactly what you want on your day! I was originally debating if I needed a coordinator or if I could do it all myself- but this was the smartest money I spent. I could NOT have done it all myself, and if I did there is no way I could have relaxed and fully enjoyed my wedding day. On top of all of this, Marni is a complete sweetheart. I couldn't have been happier with So Smitten. Thank you Marni!!!!! xoxo

    Sent on 04/20/2016
  • E

    Ekta · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Megan and Marni were our dream coordinators and we couldn't have been happier with their services! I knew from the moment I met Marni that she was "the one" and when I met Megan for the first time I knew my wedding events were in great hands and I didn't have to worry about anything, and I was right! Marni and Megan totally knocked it out of the park for us and we couldn't be happier that they made our day everything we wanted it to be and more.

    Marni and Megan brought my vision to life and I felt like a princess on my wedding day all thanks to them! It was the first time they did a full blown Indian Wedding and they never skipped a beat. Their execution was always on point and they were so fun to be around! I especially appreciated their attention to detail which gave me the assurance I needed to know that my wedding would be exactly the way I envisioned it. Marni and Megan are also very artistic so the little touches that were added by them definitely gave my wedding that little extra wow factor. All my guests had an amazing experience and I owe that all to the fabulous team of So Smitten Special Events.

    I would definitely recommend So Smitten and will use them again for any future celebrations that we have. They are worth every penny! I actually had a coordinator before I met Marni, but once I met her, I just knew I had to have her be a part of my wedding and it was the best decision I made!

    Thank you so much Marni and Megan! We love you guys!

    Sent on 10/06/2015
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 03/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After So Smitten special events assisted with our engagement shoot, save the dates, first dance choreography, wedding, and thank you cards I truly think that anyone who doesn't hire So Smitten is missing out!

    The little things and personal details that make all the difference with any special event or moment in life is exactly what So Smitten does flawlessly..but they don't stop there. They can do whatever you want and whatever you need.
    No request or idea is too small or too grand for So Smitten events to coordinate seamlessly and beautifully.

    Marni has a gift of balancing her creativity and thoughtfulness with her client's desires and delivers more than you could ever dream.

    So Smitten special events is a company that you can trust whole heartedly and feel confident and comfortable with handling the most important times of your life. I know this from personal experience!

    Sent on 01/15/2015
  • User3695979 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had such a wonderful experience with Marni and Megan! I love them!! Wedding planning can be SO overwhelming and stressful but having Marni and Megan with So Smitten there to help us along the way, was truly amazing and just made everything go so smoothly and stress-free. We planned our wedding in 8 months, which a lot of people will say isn't enough time, but So Smitten made it possible. I honestly didn't worry about anything!

    They listened to what we wanted to create for our wedding and put so much thought and detail into everything! They came up with such awesome ideas that we would have never been able to do on our own. Not only did they help us with finding all our vendors for our wedding, they also designed our save-the-date cards, wedding invitations, put together personal gift bags for all of our out of town guests and Marni choreographed our first dance for us! They also styled our engagement shoot and created beautiful personal touches all around our ceremony and reception site. --They seriously can do it all!

    My husband and I were very impressed with their professionalism and fun attitude. They were always there for us whenever we had questions or needed advice during the wedding planning process and they always got back to us in a very timely manner which is extremely important when you have so much going on with wedding stuff! I just had such a lovely time with the both of them and they made the experience of planning a wedding so enjoyable and exciting.

    It's been over a year since our wedding and friends and family still tell us all the time how much they loved all the special details from our wedding that So Smitten created for us.

    Sent on 01/13/2015
  • B

    Brandon · Married on 04/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So Smitten Special Events created incredible invitations for which we receive numerous compliments. They also created an amazing website that my wife and I absolutely adore. Everything matched perfectly with our color and theme. Her passion is obvious for what she does, and she was able to provide a fun and exciting environment in what can easily be a stressful time. Thank you!!

    Sent on 01/12/2015
  • A

    alicia · Married on 04/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a blast working with So Smitten! My entire bachelorette party for a weekend of wine tasting in Napa was completely planned for me, leaving a stress free weekend of fun with my girls. So Smitten even thought of adorable party favors and gifts for each of the attendees, adding that perfect special touch.

    Our wedding website and invitations were very important to me; I wanted it to set the tone for our wedding and get our guests excited. So Smitten did just that and more! The invitation packets had so much thought and detail put into every aspect-colors, accents, paper texture, it was really more than I could have imagined. Our guests loved the excitement and fun that was so present in our website, I didn't have to worry about these aspects at all. It was a huge relief!

    Then to top it all off they were secretly working with my brother to plan an amazing wedding surprise for the reception. Knowing how much I love dancing-they planned an orchestrated flash mob of the local high school band performing, "All You Need is Love". This thoughtful gesture is just another example of how great this duo is to work with! They really paid attention to what was important to us and took our requests to the next level of creativity and fun! I would recommend them to anyone looking for a memorable event.

    Sent on 01/13/2015
  • Angela-Paul

    Angela-Paul Yu-Cheng · Married on 06/15/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Effective wedding planner and onsite coordinator

    We got married in mid-June at a venue in the Los Angeles area and Marni and team provided wedding planner and same-day, onsite coordination.

    She's part of a coop and we ended up booking the photographer (her husband), the florist, and DJ through her. Overall, everything worked out well. Even though Marni herself was already booked on the Saturday we got married, we decided to hire her anyway as she has a team of associates who assist her, and one of her assistants was our same day coordinator.

    Prior to hiring her, we had a phone consultation with her to decide whether we would hire her or someone else. We looked at about 5 different planners before settling on her. One thing I appreciated is that she didn't push any particular agenda or vendors on us. Though we selected her coop, we made our own decision b/c that made our life easier and there was favorable pricing if we hired the coop. It was a good decision because they know and have worked with each other, which made coordination so much easier.

    Shortly after hiring her, we met her in person as we were finalizing our venue decisions and wanted her input. Once we got a venue and signed our contract, Marnie provided a lot of spreadsheets to help us stay organized. That was very helpful and helped us stay on track.

    She also provided a lot of assistance in dress selection, color/design coordination. We flew down to L.A. from NorCal a few other times to coordinate different facets of the wedding, and she accompanied us on a number of them.

    I thought the same-day coordinator provided by Shaunte (and her helper) was excellent. She did a great job. Actually, she was present the day before for the rehearsal as well. She kept everything moving and our guests said it was one of the most organized and drama-free weddings they had attended in awhile.

    As you can imagine, with so many things going on on wedding day, a lot of things can go wrong. For us, almost everything (99.9%) went exactly the way we wanted. There was only 1-2 things that could have gone better, but in retrospect, we can have provided more explicit directions. But overall, it was minor stuff that went unnoticed and not a big deal.

    I would recommend Marni for wedding planning services. She and her team made life so much easier for us.

    Sent on 08/24/2019
  • User4707537 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot thank So Smitten Special Events enough for making my wedding day the best day of my life. I could not have done it with out Marni. She took care of every aspect of decorations. So Smitten Special Events helped me find all kinds of decoration ideas for the wedding based on our beach theme and budget. Marni found all the best prices and companies to work with. She designed our Mason Jar gift based on a photo of our dogs and it was adorable. She was sooo professional and sweet. I felt like I was working with a friend. The day could have been so stressful but she made it go so smoothly and was a blast. I would recommend So Smitten Special Events to do any wedding. Trust me you will be happy you did!

    Sent on 01/17/2015