Savory Fare Cafe, Bakery & Catering Reviews

6 | Albuquerque, NM
See photos, pricing and details

6 Reviews for Savory Fare Cafe, Bakery & Catering

Recommended by 89%

6

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.3
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.3
  • Average response time 4.6

2 User photos

Savory Fare Cafe, Bakery & Catering 1
Savory Fare Cafe, Bakery & Catering 2
Sort by:
  • N

    Nathan · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jeff Rubin is the chef and owner of this great spot! We were very happy with our wedding cake! We had a three tiered wedding cake (gorgeous arrangement of flowers) and a grooms cake (he hand decorated a picture perfect OSU (oklahoma) logo (other bakery's suggested using fondant and printing it.. Our wedding cake was beautiful and exactly what we wanted and our grooms cake was also beautiful--BUT most importantly they were delicious!!! We were able to have various flavors and our guests loved it! We highly recommend a chocolate with chopped praline filling! Also, if you are looking for traditional, white with raspberry is also good! His cakes on a bad day will absolutely be better than other cakes on a good day!
    Things I loved about Jeff and his team and the cakes:
    -The cake was delicious! Much better than many other top bakeries that we sampled both in cake flavor and also the fillings. He makes his own buttercream (if you choose that) and refuses to thin it out with shortening (you can taste the difference) to save money. He does not skimp on using the best ingredients.
    -He answers the phone and emails efficiently and is very timely. Easy to work with and will work around your schedule for tastings.
    -He does not charge for tastings!
    -Definitely more reasonably priced than other bakeries...and I would say better quality.
    --He is a trained chef and has had his business for years and went to CIA!

    Photo Credit: Matt Blasing Photography

    Sent on 10/17/2017
    Savory Fare Cafe, Bakery & Catering 3
    Savory Fare Cafe, Bakery & Catering 4
  • L

    Lynn · Married on 06/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jeff was fantastic. Minimal time, absolutely dedicated to his profession. Lots of positive comments about the food. A suggestion for Jeff and something I didn't think about: Many of our guests were vegetarians or had dietary restrictions. I tried to make sure their was something for everyone, but I got tired of answering questions - would've helped to have name tags with markers on them for the guests. (Not only that, I couldn't remember everything either.)

    Sent on 06/23/2013
  • User3781349 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Savory Fare is one of our favorite places to go, and we really love their cake - thus, it was a natural choice for our wedding. Jeff was great to work with, and flexible - he allowed us to provide sugared flowers to decorate one of our cakes. At the event itself the cake seemed a bit dry (probably because the vendor left it in the fridge until right before the cutting), but the next day it tasted wonderful! I really appreciated Jeff and Savory Fare for providing such lovely, tasty and custom-made cakes for our wedding.

    Sent on 05/31/2014
  • M

    Morgan · Married on 03/11/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Savory Fare was a fantastic choice for our wedding. We already loved their food and it was a no brainer when we wanted a caterer. Our venue was at a museum so we went with a more relaxed menu but everything was absolutely delicious. Jeff, the manager, is great with communication and flexible with what you want. He might come across a bit gruff but you can tell you love what he does and it shows in the quality of his product. His staff for our wedding was wonderful too, very kind and attentive the whole time. Truly can't go wrong with this local cafe!

    Sent on 03/23/2017
  • A

    Abigail · Married on 08/20/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Jeff at Savory Fare is an excellent chef. He has an extensive menu that makes selecting dinner simple and easy- everything is customizable. He makes suggestions easily without interfering. The value is unbeatable-his responsiveness, his timeliness in changing the estimate/contract, and his price! The presentation is beautiful, elegant, simple. I suggest using a dessert bar- even though his cakes are delicious, the dessert bar pleases a crowd and provides an incredible variety. He was able to hire an additional server so that we could have a bartender as well.

    Sent on 09/06/2016
  • H

    Heather · event on 07/22/2017

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    On the quality of service and professionalism this place was awesome, but the cake and overall visual appeal was awful. We asked for vanilla and we got lemon and the cake was very dry and not visually appealing. We expected this place to be very good considering the reviews and we were very disappointed.

    Sent on 07/23/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review