Rob Morse Photography Reviews

17 | South Lake Tahoe, CA
See photos, pricing and details

17 Reviews for Rob Morse Photography

Recommended by 67% of couples

3.3 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 3.3
  • Professionalism 3.2
  • Flexibility 3.4
  • Value 3.4
  • Average response time 3.3

Awards

17
Order by:
  • D

    Daniel · Getting married on 12/31/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It wasn't a wedding, but.....

    For my birthday, my SO purchased family photos on Lake Tahoe. My daughter, 2 of her kids, and Julie's daughter had come out to vacation with us so I was "kinda" looking forward to it. Not a big "smile for the camera" kind of guy. But Rob was amazing. Made everyone feel more like a family picnic than a photo shoot.

    The next day he did something really special for my previous partner that passed away last year, before we could get to Tahoe. Something I will never forget. Thank you Rob. You are a one of a kind.

    Sent on 06/29/2016
  • R

    Rose · Married on 08/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rob Morse is a great photographer. He was very responsive. Doing business with him was so easy and he was very personable. He was very friendly and professional. I would definitely recommend him to a friend. His pricing is very reasonable.

    Sent on 09/04/2016
  • C

    Christi · Married on 08/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rob was awesome! He did everything we wanted and worked well with all the guests. We would recommend him for any event!

    Sent on 08/09/2016
  • User6830506 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful time and as everyone knows taking photos can be challenging and uncomfortable yet Rob makes this experience so enjoyable. We laughed more than I have in along time so much so that my cheeks hurt after the shoot and the photos turned out absolutely stunning!

    Sent on 06/13/2016
  • S

    Sheli · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rob was absolutely amazing.
    I was looking for a wedding photographer who was also an artist.
    Rob was everything I could ask for and more.
    He was extremely professional yet personable every step of the way.
    He made everybody feel comfortable and relaxed, keeping people smiling and laughing even during the wedding stress.
    He was sure to get all of those traditional wedding photos, but then so much more. We have photographs that will make you laugh and ones that will make you cry.
    I was hoping for an art worthy
    night time photo. Rob did not disappoint ,we have one of the most spectacular nighttime wedding photos I have ever seen!
    If you are looking for a wedding photographer, look no further.
    I can not thank Rob enough for capturing these special moments.

    Sent on 07/08/2016
  • D

    Dotti · Married on 06/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rob is great! My husband and I did a destination wedding in South Lake Tahoe at Heavenly's Lakeview Lodge, and throughout the planning process I always felt like I could count on Rob. He always answered emails quickly, and our over-the-phone planning session with him was great because it helped me build the whole timeline for the wedding. On the day of, Rob beat us to the venue and took some pictures of family setting things up, which was awesome. He also picked up some duties that he shouldn't have had to, like releasing tables for dinner, and taking over MC duties when our DJ was lacking in that department. He wore many hats that night, but our pictures didn't suffer because of it; they came out amazing!! The only piece of constructive criticism I have would be: for the laid-back couple like we are (with no specific poses in mind), have a list of poses and just run down them - the bride and groom don't want to make any decisions (and don't have any experience with wedding photography), so just tell us where to stand. Once we got that figured out, the pictures went much quicker. Thank you Rob and Dave (his assistant) for capturing that magical day/night. If we need a photographer in South Lake Tahoe again, expect a call!

    Sent on 07/10/2016
  • K

    Kaitlyn · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely incredible. Weather did not hold up but he found a way to make the pictures still incredibly beautiful. It was so great to have him as my photographer, knew how to laugh with us and have fun but also get what we needed and asked for

    Sent on 06/15/2016
  • S

    Megan · Married on 02/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rob used his expertise and passion for photography to set us up with the perfect scenery. He is a very honest and trust worthy man and follows through with his word. Rob went over the top to accommodate our needs and would not settle for anything less than the perfect shot. This man is truly gifted at capturing real emotions in photos and we can not stress enough how satisfied anyone who hires Rob Morse Photography will be with the end results. We would absolutely 100% percent recommend Rob Morse Photography for any occasion.
    Sean & Megan
    Tahoe Engagement Photos

    Sent on 12/16/2015
  • B

    Books · Married on 11/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were looking for a piece of art from our wedding and had an idea of what we wanted but not sure how to accomplish it. To make things even more interesting for a photographer, our wedding was at night. Rob delivered on all accounts. His photos were beyond what we imagined. They were beautiful, unique, and a true reflection of our special day. He was able to understand what we were looking for after only one telephone conversation. He is a talented artist with a very knowledgable understanding of his craft.

    Sent on 12/14/2015
  • T

    Traci · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My favorite thing about Rob Morse was how he was able to get our wedding party and our guests excited about getting their pictures taken... Made it a lot of fun instead of stressful.

    Sent on 10/13/2015
  • M

    Marsha · Married on 06/30/2016

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    My wedding June 30, 2016. Rob was on time, did what he said he would do the day of the wedding. Rob and his assistant even went above and beyond what I would have expected. I received a few very beautiful pictures. Rob captured many great moments.
    The downside is he does not return phone calls, emails or even follow up.
    I paid for a video that I never received and a photo album I also never received. The photos are now gone off of the website. Rob does not call back or even acknowledge my calls or emails.
    One more thing that really bothered me about choosing Rob for our wedding photographer.
    He did not photo shop any photo. Everything was very raw. I guess it is okay. Just a little touchbip would have been nice.
    With the money we spent hiring Rob as our photographer we could have possibly had a better outcome.
    My overall satisfaction is saddened. Especially when you only live this day once. It would have been nice to get what I thought we agreed on.
    Do not hire Rob as your photographer. You may end up disappointed.

    Sent on 04/29/2017
  • B

    Bob Dylan · Married on 10/16/2018

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    horrible, worse than you could ever expect no call no show

    never received any photos from wedding

    Sent on 10/16/2018
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 01/15/2017

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    My advice for others would be to choose a different photographer. After paying Rob in full for my wedding in advance (which in talking to other photogs is a huge red flag) he fell off the face of the earth. I couldn't reach him by phone or email despite several attempts. Finally I had to file a claim with my bank and PayPal to get my money back because it was less than 3 weeks until my wedding and I had still not heard from him. We had still not even discussed which shots were most important to me or what his plan was for the day. Luckily PayPal and my bank came through and I was given a full refund so I could acquire another photographer. Of course, when PayPal froze his account, Rob was suddenly very available. He called and attempted to have me retract the claim I filed against him and move forward with him as my photographer. I'm sorry, but if having someone reliable and trustworthy to photograph your special day is important, you need to keep looking. Don't make the same mistake I did. Luckily, this was the only hiccup during the whole process and I was able to find an amazing photographer who truly captured the magic of our day.

    Sent on 06/27/2017
  • D

    Debbie · Married on 08/13/2016

    0.6
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    In January 2016 I used Thumbtack to find this photographer. We set up our engagement pictures in March 2016 and really liked him- he was down to earth, patient and easy to work with. So, we decided to use him as our wedding photographer. Our wedding was in August 2016. We went away on our honeymoon we got back and I attempted to contacted him in September 2016 to ask how he would like me to let him know how he would like me to give him my shots I wanted in our wedding album & if there were other shots that I requested however I NEVER heard from him. So then in November 2016 we provided him with our final order via screen shots of the ones we wanted based on the digital ones he provided to receive our photo book and USB containing all of the photos he took. Since the list of shots I requested were never taken according to the digital shots he provided! In October 2016 we spoke to Rob who stated he would have them to us however he had been sick and that's why he never got back to us. Time went by and we attempted to contacted him via phone calls, text messages as well as email without further communication regarding the status. We understand sickness happens, and we have been more than patient. We have not heard back from him nor have we received the remainder of our order. This is VERY disappointing!

    We never receive our order during this time and are in the process of taking it to small claims court. We regret that it has come to this point as he showed up and we enjoyed working with him, however this is not professional and he did not hold to our contracted agreement. I HIGHLY suggest you do NOT hire him!! All our digital memories are lost and minimal captured pictures of our special day will be looked in our future!

    Sent on 02/20/2017
  • M

    Molly · Married on 09/08/2017

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    DO NOT USE THIS MAN! At first glance everything was great, but then..
    We were planning to use Rob when we got married in South Lake Tahoe September of 2017 the initial meeting was good, and I really liked him. As time went on the responsiveness faded after I paid him $600 dollars initially, then once I made my second payment of $600 and fully secured him for our wedding communication basically just stopped. Thankfully I was reimbursed by PayPal for one of my payments, and he only got away with $600 of my money. I know there are others who he has done the same, or worse, to. I strongly recommend NOT using him.
    The worst part is that I truly felt for the guy and his story, when I chose him as a photographer his ratings were amazing, then around the same time communication stopped his rating began dropping and it seemed a lot of people were complaining about the same thing. You don’t just cease communication with clients. You stay in contact with them even if times are tough for you. I’m so glad I caught on before I didn’t have a photographer for my wedding!!

    There is a spot where you can add photos to share, I would.. but I have no photos to share. This man is a scam artist and shouldn’t even be allowed to have his services posted here any longer.

    Sent on 12/08/2017
  • K

    Krystal · Married on 04/07/2017

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    I booked this Vendor 6 months prior to the wedding. Everything seemed fine. I paid half up front and the other half a couple weeks prior to the wedding. My husband and I do not have much money, but I was so thrilled to have a professional photographer because we understand that having a good photographer on this day is invaluable. Even though we felt like we got a good deal, we spent a lot of money on this guy, but figured it was worth it. These memories are supposed to be with you the rest of your life. A couple days prior to the wedding I did a real quick final confirmation and we were good. The day of my wedding arrived and I was so excited. Everything was on schedule until about 20 minutes before Rob was supposed to arrive. That was when I received a text from Rob saying that he has been in an accident and wasn't coming. We tried contacting him, but he miraculously became unreachable. He wouldn't answer the phone, no texts back nothing. We tried to see if maybe he was sending a back up but apparently, that wasn't the case. He was apparently okay enough to say I am not coming, but not enough to communicate anything else. Needless to say I was devastated. My friends took some pics on their phones and people tried to use what cameras they could scrounge up, but no professional photographs for our special day. My husband and I will never be able to get that back. I wanted to be able to look through our wedding album on or anniversaries, but that will never happen now and I cannot begin to describe the loss we feel because of it. We know nothing will make this right so all we can do is hope he will return our money without having to go to court. It has been several days now and we have not received any further contact regarding whether he will refund the money we paid or what so we will see. Needless to say I will never refer this vendor. He ruined our special event and it is something we will just have to live with for the rest of our lives. :(

    Sent on 04/10/2017
  • J

    Julie · Married on 05/21/2016

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    I would not hire this guy!! My daughters wedding was 05/21/2016 and as of today Rob has avoided my emails, texts and phone calls. I have not received ANY PHOTOS from the wedding in any form. We were supposed to get 100 photos in an album and we selected them on facebook as he suggested and then never again heard from him... All the memories we will never have and this is so upsetting. He last replied by text on 12/7/2016 stated he would check the next day how many photos we selected for the album (to be sure we reached the 100) as he was done for the night. I since sent a text on 1/2/17, 1/24/17, and 2/7/17 along with many emails and calls that go unanswered. If you want to get your photos do not hire this guy..
    The worst part about this is he was a great guy and took amazing photos

    Sent on 02/22/2017