Rare Bird Brides Reviews

21 | Carlsbad, CA
See photos, pricing and details

21 Reviews for Rare Bird Brides

Recommended by 100%

21
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
21 Rare Bird Brides Reviews
Sort by:
  • K

    Kristi · Married on 02/25/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful hair and makeup by Kristen! We decided to do hair and makeup for myself, my mom, and my bridesmaids. I did a trial and used that as my engagement photo day. I loved it! When I got home there were a few things I realized and talked it over with Kristen and day of we talked about it again and made the adjustments. I never do makeup so she knew what I was feeling and we went more natural and a little less dramatic but still looked stunning. She wanted me to look camera ready but also feel comfortable for the entire day. The make up stays on but never felt heavy. She is also a genius with hair. Helps her to have an idea but even some of my girls really didn't have any and she just went with what they were thinking and made some beautiful hairstyles. She works fast and stays on a timeline. What a gem to work with. Hair and makeup should be the last thing you should stress about and you won't if you use Rare Bird Bridal and you will look amazing!

  • L

    Liezel · Married on 01/30/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen did an amazing job on my hair and makeup for my 1/30/2016 wedding. She also did hair and makeup for a few bridesmaids and my mom and they were all happy with their looks. Kristen is an absolute professional. She made me feel comfortable at my trial and she nailed the hairstyle I wanted on the first try. She was very responsive through email and phone calls. My mom was very concerned with her short hair and had tons of questions about her look. She called Kristen the week of and thankfully Kristen was able to put my mom at ease. She arrived promptly on the day of and even cut my bangs since I didn't get a chance to get a trim. I appreciate that she would check on how I was feeling and made me feel amazing on my big day. I highly recommend Kristen and her team, thank you so much!

  • T

    Tiffany · Married on 11/28/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Worth every penny!!! I researched many hair and make-up people. Kristen really was one of the only ones that had close-ups photos on make-up and hair. Other people I researched had beautiful model pictures, but no real close-ups. Kristen had wonderful examples on her website. For make-up I was able to see before and after photos. There were close-ups on wedding hair and work I was able to actually see before putting my deposit down.
    I was a little hesitate because I found other make-up artists that were a little cheaper. However, I am soooo glad I didn't. You really do get what you pay for. I paid for excellence, and that's exactly what got!.
    Make-up and hair was perfect. I had compliments ALL night. Kristen you are wonderful! Thank you for making me feel like a beautiful bride.

  • K

    Kristin · Married on 10/17/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen did my hair and makeup for my October 17th wedding. From the very beginning working with her was amazing. She was super responsive, and I felt like she really listened and understood what I wanted to look like on my big day. The trial with Kristen was amazing. I just brought some photos on my phone and she nailed it on the 1st try.

    On my wedding day she made me feel extremely beautiful, and has a calming personality that is so wonderful when there's so much going on around you! The weather on the big day was a bit humid, so we debated doing it up instead of down - but ultimately she said she wanted me to be 100% happy with the look. I decided to keep it down, and though some curls came out, I was amazed how well it held up through the event and dancing!

    I would highly recommend Kristen to any brides-to-be looking for a hair and makeup artist. Her prices are competitive, she's extremely professional, and above all wildly talented.

  • MH + BR

    Megan · Married on 10/04/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen did mine and my mom's hair and makeup for my wedding day. From the start, Kristen was very responsive. She replied to my email inquiry with her rates and availability right away. I had a trial with Kristen and she listened to my vision and made subtle changes until I was totally confident with the look. I told Kristen I wanted a natural look and wanted to feel like myself. She helped me do just that! I love that Kristen does both hair and makeup. On my wedding day, Kristen was prompt, arriving early in fact. Kristen does trials from her home studio in Carlsbad, but travels to you for the day-of. Kristen was professional but friendly and lovely to talk to while she did her work. It was raining and my wedding was outdoors. Kristen was in high spirits and very sweet reassuring me the forecast would clear up for the ceremony. (And it did!) My bridesmaid who was recently married and got ready in my suite while Kristen was at work, regretted not booking Kristen for her wedding! In the end, I loved my wedding day hair and makeup. I felt gorgeous and confident. I have very straight hair and the curls held up through the entire reception (though they did relax some as expected). And the makeup photographed beautifully! I would highly recommend Kristen!

  • E

    Erin · Married on 10/03/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was referred to Kristen at Rare Bird Brides by my wedding coordinator, and she was great! I did a trial with her prior to booking because I have very curly hair and wanted to make sure she could work with it, and I was not disappointed! She listened to exactly what I wanted and did a great job. She was very flexible around working with my schedule and budget as well. Her pricing was also very reasonable for my bridesmaids as well. On the day of the wedding she had an assistant come with her as well, which was a big help. They also came to my home to get ready there which was much appreciated! We all looked absolutely beautiful that day and I would highly recommend Kristen to anyone!

  • C

    Carina · Married on 09/12/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen did my hair and make-up for my September 12, 2016 wedding, my engagement shoot, and my boudoir shoot. She is so talented and amazing to work with. I had so many compliments on her work. I would definitely work with her in the future and recommend her!

  • M

    Megan · Married on 08/15/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding was 8/15/15 and Kristen of Rare Bird Brides did my hair and make up. I work in the entertainment industry, two of my bridesmaids do as well and my husband works in photography, we are a group with high expectations. Kristen absolutely exceeded our expectations. We had some challenges with other vendors, but never with Kristen, she is prompt, quick to reply, accommodating and friendly. I loved working with her and I absolutely loved the way I looked on my wedding day. It was tremendously hot on the day of our wedding, and all of my guests remarked on how beautiful I looked even through the dance floor sweat. 2am came around and I still looked wedding ready. I would recommend Kristen and Rare Bird Brides to anyone looking for a beauty team. She is outstanding.

  • M

    M · Married on 06/12/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely loved Kristen!
    She helped me feel beautiful for my June Botanic garden wedding in Encinitas. I was definitely not an easy bride to do hair and makeup for, primarily because I never wear makeup and wanted to look as natural as possible on my wedding day. Kristen was incredibly patient with me and even did two trials to make sure we were on the same page for the wedding. She is so calm and sweet and just has a great energy to be around- I felt comfortable immediately with her! It also helped that she plays super chill music and is fun and interesting to chat with. She's just the type of person you immediately want to become friends with, which makes sitting in her chair for a few hours painless!
    On the day of my wedding she nailed the "natural" look. I felt beautiful, and more importantly felt like I looked like myself. She used airbrushing and we decided to go with just a few single lashes to highlight her beautiful eye makeup. Even my mother and now husband who are super-critical of too much makeup were very complimentary of her work! She also did my hair (beachy waves) which was a bit covered by my floral crown, but everything held up for the entire day and night and I was thrilled since my hair is so thin that it usually falls out immediately.
    I would recommend her in a heartbeat. She also did hair and makeup for about 7 women from my bridal party (including my mom and aunt) and they were very pleased and they looked great. Her timing for everything was impeccable on the day of, especially considering she did it all herself and even squeezed in some extra makeup for my aunt!
    Not to mention that her prices are much more approachable than some other vendors in the area and the quality of her work is outstanding.
    Thank you Kristen!

  • User4918097 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I started my search for hair and make-up on Yelp. I found a few places and emailed them for a quote. Kristen got back to me right away and while I waited to hear back from other places, I quickly found out that their prices were much higher, AND she does airbrush make-up which I didn't find at the other places. I looked at the photos on her website and face book and after reading the great reviews on Yelp I decided to go with Rare Bird. I had scheduled my hair and make-up trial and showed her a picture of what I wanted my hair to look like - I have never been to a place that has matched the hair style EXACTLY like the picture- I was blown away. It was stunning. I wanted an updo with curls pinned along the back. Not only did it look amazing but it held all day and into the evening. I tried to put it to the test, running errands, went out to dinner, etc. to see if it would hold up on a busy bride. It finally came down when I took out the bobby pins and washed my hair 9 hours later. My make-up was beautiful. I communicated with her telling her what I liked and didn't like and she made my face look like it was Photoshopped. On my wedding day Kristen arrived on-time (actually a bit early which was nice!) She set up and was so professional and at the same time, fit right in with my family as everyone was running around getting ready. She is so personable and friendly and easy going- it really put me at ease and honestly set the tone for the whole day. Make-up and hair was flawless- and the airbrush make-up, lashes, hair everything stayed until I washed it off 10 hours later. Rare bird was the best decision I made on my wedding day (besides marrying the man of my dreams) Thank you so much for making me feel and look like a beautiful bride!

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 10/18/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Okay, so you're looking for someone to do your hair and make up for your big day. Are you still on the fence wondering if you should spend the extra money to have someone do your hair and make up? I get it. I was the same way. But watching the extra YouTube make up tutorials will not do you justice, let's be honest with ourselves. Do you want to wake up on the day of your wedding worried about someone who does not know what they are doing? No.

    The questions and hesitation stops here. Kristen at Rare Bird Brides is your answer and solution.

    I CANNOT praise Kristen enough. I asked Kristen if she would provide services to myself, sister, mother, and bridesmaid. She promptly sent me a quote and answered my nervous bride questions every time I sent her an inquiry. I was astounded by the beauty of her work in her portfolio. She was there every step of the way before my wedding day!

    My wedding was at 11am and I had to be done at 9:30am. Kristen showed up to my hotel at 4:45am to set up and started at 5:00am. That is some dedication right there! Kristen could not have been more professional, friendly, and talented. She listened to each individual person about how they wanted to look and went right into it. Everyone looked flawless. Then when she did my hair and make up she listened to every request I had and delivered!!

    Kristen also uses airbrush make up which I HIGHLY recommend. Ladies, it stuck on my face like it was no ones business. It stayed through out the whole day. I did not have to worry about if I was sweating, make up was smearing, etc. I felt like a Disney princess, okay? Who doesn't want that?!

    Bottom line, email Kristen and feel like a million dollars. She is the best. So worth it. Thank you Kristen!!

    Jennifer

  • Q

    Quynh-An · Married on 08/16/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding was on Saturday and Kristen was so amazing that this is one of the first things I've done with my free time. I need to start by saying that I NEVER wear make up. My idea of putting make up on is slapping some lip gloss and walking out the door...and I only do that for special occasions. I'm actually a little intimidated by makeup and have avoided it completely. My only condition to wearing makeup was that I wanted it to look natural and I wanted people to recognize me. Kristen went above and beyond and made me look like a more put together self. I told my husband (I can say that now!) that I felt glamorous but I also still felt like myself and he loved what she did too.

    I had a traditional Vietnamese wedding ceremony in the morning that started at 11 am and a reception that began at 5pm so I needed makeup and hair that would last all day! Add the fact that I needed to fit a traditional vietnamese khan dong and switch it later with a feather fascinator I made AND 90 degrees weather. I was a little worried but Kristen reassured me that it would be perfect. At 2 am when I rolled to my hotel room finally after an epic hot day, multiple outfit changes, lots of dancing...my face was still impeccable and looked almost exactly like it did when Kristen walked out of my house at 1030 am. Thank you, thank you, thank you for putting me at ease and making me look like a more fabulous version of myself!

  • C

    candy · Married on 08/07/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't think a review is going to do Kristen justice!!

    First of all, she is probably one of the only vendors that we could find that could/would come to us to do hair and makeup! She was incredible! She showed up on time and went right to work setting up. When she first got started it was just my MOH and myself, she worked quickly yet still took her time to make sure my MOH looked perfect while she explained how everything worked and just had small talk with her!!

    When it was my turn to start, my entire family came in the house and it was loud and rambunctious but she kept working and talking to the entire family like we have been friends forever! Once she finished with my makeup, she started on my hair. All I had was a pinterest picture for my hair, she looked it over and got to work! The outcome was WAY MORE then I was expecting!!

    I wish I could just post the pictures so everyone could see how amazing it looked along with my makeup, I don't mean to brag but I looked Beautiful!!!!!! If I lived in California, I would call Kristen for any and every special occasion that I went to!!

    If you are a bride and are looking for a very professional and caring Hair and Makeup artist, I HIGHLY recommend Kristen from Rare Bird Brides. She was incredible!!!

    Thank you again Kristen!!!

  • User4294951 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen is amazing! I had a hiccup with the original person who was supposed to do my hair and had to scramble a bit last minute - Kristen graciously accommodated and worked with me to make my day work though she was already booked for later in the day. I appreciated her flexibility and her ease to work with - I struggled to describe what I wanted for my hair and she took my vague statements and turned it into something I loved!

  • User3585706 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen is amazing! I had my trial with her first and was so pleased with the make-up and up-do she did for me, I booked her on the spot, without having trials with any other make-up artists/stylists. She was very professional and very organized the day of my wedding. She and her assistant did hair and makeup for me, my 5 bridesmaids, mother, and mother-in-law. Everyone looked great from the ceremony through the reception. Kristen was also very flexible. When I told her that we had to be out of our hotel room earlier than anticipated, she wasn't phased at all, and finished right on time. I'm going to recommend her to any future brides I know who are getting married in the San Diego area.

  • K

    Kelly · Married on 05/03/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen and her assistant were amazing! Everyone looked wonderful for the big day. Kristen was professional, reliable and easy to work with. Her laid back personality made her the perfect fit for our group of girls. I would highly recommend her!

  • L

    Allyson · Married on 03/30/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was very nervous about selecting someone for my hair and makeup because the last thing I wanted was to look back on my wedding photos and think, "Ugh!" Fortunately, I chose Rare Bird Brides, and I will always look fondly on my wedding photos.

    Kristen did my hair and makeup, and I was extremely pleased with the results. In fact, on my wedding day, I felt she did everything even better than at my trial.

    Kristen also assured me that my hair and makeup would hold up all day. She was 100% right. She had completed my hair and makeup about an hour earlier than normal to stay within my photographer's timeline, and by the end of the night, my hair was still curled and my make up didn't need any touch-ups.

    All I can say is you can't go wrong with Kristen of Rare Bird Brides. Let her work her magic for you on your special day!

  • User4030976 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen is the best! She and an assistant did my hair and makeup for my wedding on March 22nd, along with 6 bridesmaids, a junior bridesmaid, and two mothers. She was right on time, and finished us all with plenty of time to spare! She is super flexible, even agreeing to do my mother's hair despite it not being part of the timeline initially (my mother decided to use her at the last minute after seeing how amazing everyone else looked thanks to Kristen!!). We all looked amazing and were beyond happy. Kristen was easy to work with from the beginning. She is patient and accomodating, willing to work with me in my annoying bridal indeciseness (we had two hair trials!). She even made me a custom piece for my hair using lace from my wedding dress (she is super talented at that, too!). It was beyond gorgeous and will be a cherished momento for the rest of my life. In the end, I couldn't have asked for a better person to help me look naturally gorgeous on my wedding day. I have received so many compliments on my hair and makeup and it meant so much to feel so beautiful on that day. By far the best day of my life, and Kristen helped make that happen. I highly recommend using her!

  • E

    Erin · Married on 09/14/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen was amazing! She took me from indecisive, insecure (and somewhat neurotic) to happy, confident, and totally satisfied with my hair and airbrush makeup! She also did an amazing job on my 4 bridesmaids as well as my mother. One of my bridesmaids has very long, thick hair and said that my wedding was the first time she has had her hair styled in an up do that didn't result in a horrible headache (and she's been a bridesmaid several times). Kristen was patient with me through my trial and even made day of adjustments to make me feel confident and beautiful. I'm a makeup novice and Kristen helped me go out of my comfort zone to make my makeup look amazing for my pictures without making me look too made up. I will definitely be recommending Kristen and Rare Bird Brides to everyone I know!

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 08/26/2012

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "I contacted Kristen a week before my wedding. I had spent
    several months and several hundred dollars doing hair trials with
    three different stylists. None of them looked good. Some looked awful.
    Kristen was so kind and helpful over the phone and I could tell she
    really wanted me to be happy on my wedding day. She arranged her
    schedule at the last minute to fit me in for a trial. I was having a
    hard time explaining what I wanted, not sure that I even knew, but she
    immediately suggested a couple of styles that looked great. They were
    elegant and classic, yet fun and whimsical. I immediately booked her.
    (Her fees are also very reasonable.) Then, the day of the wedding she
    made a few minor adjustments to the back and I loved it even more. I
    was happy and confident and received so many compliments. I would
    recommend Kristen to any bride to be or anyone looking for a new look!
    "
    Rachel
    San Diego

  • S

    Sari · Married on 06/07/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen was sooo great! I had a hair/makeup trial and it came out great! She was so organized on the wedding day. Arriving early to my hotel room she got started right away. She was very flexible when we had to add a last minute service on to the timeline. All of us loved our hair and makeup and having Kristen come to us! Thank you Kristen for an awesome job!!!

    Sari Eriksen

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review