Porto Vista Hotel Reviews

4 | San Diego, CA
See photos, pricing and details

4 Reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Recommended by 74%

4

3.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 3.4
  • Professionalism 3.6
  • Flexibility 4.1
  • Value 4.0
  • Average response time 3.3
Sort by:
  • L

    Lina · Married on 09/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We knew we wanted this place the first time we went there. We were able to have our ceremony and reception there and have a place for our guests to stay afterwards. John was great to work with! Staff was wonderful and they did a very good job. Awesome customer service. Very happy we chose this place!

    Sent on 11/17/2012
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 01/25/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We held our ceremony and reception on the roof deck of the Porto Vista hotel on 1/25/14. Because of some staff turnover, we had some issues and miscommunications during the planning process. But, John took care of us and in the end we were very happy with our choice of venue.

    Our guests loved the location of the hotel and all that the neighborhood had to offer. The Glassdoor restaurant was very accommodating to my large family, and everyone was happy with their rooms.

    We didn't use a wedding coordinator, and the hotel was very accommodation about giving us ample time to set up, and Les was a big help in the set up process. The space is very customizable to colors/styles and can accommodate a large crowd easily.

    The food came out amazing, and our guests raved about it all. The chef took care of us, and even did a second tasting with us to ensure we got exactly what we wanted.

    The weather was amazing, and being able to have an outdoor wedding in January was a treat. Overall, we loved our wedding and are happy with our choice. We felt it was a great value, particularly for the San Diego area.

    Sent on 02/04/2014
  • P

    Private · Married on 10/01/2011

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Our wedding turned out beautiful. There were a few hiccups throughout the planning process and the actual day of. My main complaint was there seemed to be a lack of organization on the behalf of the wedding coordinator at the hotel.

    Sent on 04/09/2012
  • C

    Ceci · Married on 04/05/2014

    1.2
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Careful when booking!
    My Fiance and I hosted our engagement party at this venue. We we're very excited and reserved half of the venue for 3 hours of drinks and appetizers for family and friends.
    We are very disappointed with the service that we got from the event coordinator. During the booking process and contract stage she messed up sending me the wrong party information (BEO) and date several times. The night started and there was a miscommunication with the coordinator and the bar staff. For half the event our guests we told they could not order certain drinks from the bar that we had paid for! This was very embarrassing to us knowing that our 60+ guests we're told they could only order bud and bud lt when we had specifically talked about offering all draft beer + bud and bud lt.
    Secondly we were told we would have our own bartender to take care of our group seeing as there were 60 people at the event. We only saw 2 bartenders behind the bar 3 times that night. Most of the time there was only 1 bartender for the whole bar and had several people mention how long it took to get a drink.

    Long story short it is a pretty venue but you do not want to host an event here. The service is absolutely horrible. Even after the event when I brought up the issues I figured they would help us out with a discount or gift card and all they offered us was a buy 1 get 1 free coupon to brunch!

    Sent on 05/21/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review