Skip to main content
Weddings

Northern Lights DJ and Live Music Entertainment Reviews

Northern Lights DJ and Live Music Entertainment

Northern Lights DJ and Live Music Entertainment

San Antonio, TX
4.9 out of 5 rating, 165 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
165 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating
99% Recommended by couples

Awards

165
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

4 User photos

  • Vivian
    Vivian S. Sent on 12/18/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Danced the whole night

    Russell created a seamless blend of music and announcements, keeping the energy high throughout the night. His ability to read the diverse crowd and adapt to the vibe made the wedding unforgettable. Highly recommend!
  • C
    Christina R. Sent on 11/01/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Carter Wedding

    Russell was WONDERFUL to work with, very patient with me, even though it took me a while and last minute to get him my songs, he was kind and understanding throughout all of it. Best DJ I could have ever asked for!! :D
  • B
    Bryce H. Sent on 08/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Northern Lights DJ Services

    Russell with Northern Lights was amazing to have out at our wedding. He was super easy to work with, very professional and organized, helping us navigate events of our ceremony we didn’t even consider. All of our guests came up to us throughout the night to compliment the music selection, and he did an awesome job at matching the vibe of the guests and event as the night progressed. Couldn’t have asked for a better DJ to make our night special, I know we loved having him out, and hearing our families continuously compliment him was constant reassurance that we made the right choice when booking Northern Lights!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Shannon
    Shannon R. Sent on 05/15/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommend

    We utilized Russell for our end of year high school band banquet. Russell was very professional. He took requests from the kids. He played music from set up to clean up. He was very friendly. He worked with our budget. Would HIGHLY RECOMMEND for your next event.
  • J
    John H. Sent on 05/15/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stop Looking! Northern Lights is your DJ!!!

    We booked Northern Lights DJ from a recommendation from a friend and could not have been happier! Super professional, and easy to work with. I have never met a DJ that really got to know his clients in order to prepare a set list! He kept the music going for a banquet of 300 guests, of all ages, and everyone was very happy with the music. He even provided music that kept over 120 high schoolers engaged (took song requests) and dancing for two hours!!! His music library was very extensive!

    Highly recommend!!!
  • S
    Savannah D. Sent on 01/20/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    He was awesome!

    Russell was easy to work with and was quick to respond with any questions I had. Our wedding was an awesome party and the ceremony’s music hit every mark.
  • L
    Lexie G. Sent on 06/15/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best DJ!

    Russell did such an incredible job for our wedding, we very highly recommended him. He was extremely organized so that he knew exactly how we wanted the evening to go/sound. He gave us a call a month or so prior to the wedding to really get us on track and get everything finalized. He was very kind and had great energy the entire wedding. Our guests even would come up to us to compliment how excellent he is. He went above and beyond to make sure the flow of our timeline was going according to plan. He really paid attention to the guests to make sure they were enjoying the music and having a good time. I would hire him again in a heartbeat and we are so happy that we chose him!
  • V
    Veronica G. Sent on 06/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Made our Graduation party a success!

    He really went above and beyond to help with our slideshow presentation!
  • D
    Daniel Sent on 04/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommend

    Russell was great, he was punctual, communicative, and made sure we had the right playlist for our wedding. He filled in any extra space with similar music to our tastes so it worked out wonderful. He also brought us a large projector to show a video on during our wedding which was a huge bonus. Would highly recommend!
  • Dezerae
    Dezerae D. Sent on 11/04/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely perfect!!!

    Northern Lights DJ came recommended by our venue and it was the best decision in hiring them for our wedding! The communication from the initial contact to the days leading up to was prompt and continuous. Russell, the owner had no issues at the last minute, making a couple changes. He was supportive, understanding, and more than accommodating! Our family and friends still talk about the great service and professionalism that Russell provided, especially during the shoe game that he emceed at short notice. During the reception, multiple requests were made and honored without any hesitation, for instance, my uncle requested to sing “Wonderful Tonight” and Russell set it up for him immediately! It was absolutely perfect and we couldn’t have asked for a better vendor! We highly recommend Northern Lights DJ and Live Music Entertainment for you will be guaranteed to get the best of the best in the business! Mr. Russell has the absolute best personality and we all felt like he was a part of the family by the end of the night.
  • T
    Tony S. Sent on 10/29/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent DJ - Professional and Not Hokey

    Very professional and not "silly". Very responsive to guest requests and played our entire playlist we had created. Also, mic'ed up the pastor and provided a wireless mic for the readers during the wedding. Highly recommend.
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer Sent on 09/27/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Northern lights is the best

    What can I say? Russell from Northern Lights was the best DJ we could ask for. He was responsive, helped make sure everything was on time, played great music and was open to last minute requests from my dad and mom.

    Thank you so much for an incredible night.
    Thank you for playing amazing music from start to end. I highly recommend Northern Lights!!! Thank you again!
  • Pamela
    Pamela Sent on 12/30/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best DJ & prof musicians for your wedding

    Fran, with Norther Lights, was amazing -
    We enjoyed his DJ skills and the added service of live music during the start of our reception was exceptional. Touch of class & a whole lot of fun!!! Great service & went off without a hitch.
  • B
    Bailey Sent on 02/03/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fran is great!

    Fran from Northern Lights was easy to communicate with, no fuss, and gave us a perfect night. We barely left the dance floor!
  • S
    Stephanie Sent on 01/07/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing DJ

    We met Northern Lights at the Milestone open house and my dad fell in love with them right away because he knew how to play the saxophone. Needless to say we had the saxophone during our cocktail hour and everyone enjoyed it. The music list was perfect, very up to day, and they also knew how to keep the crowd going. Couldn’t have chosen better DJ! Thank y’all so much for helping me celebrate my special day!
  • Teena
    Teena W. Sent on 10/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Set the perfect tempo!

    We LOVE Russell! He kept our wedding reception at the perfect pace of fun! We had a great time! Highly recommend!
  • L
    Logan M. Sent on 09/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Northern Lights DJ

    Pick Northern Lights DJ for your wedding! You will not be disappointed!! Music was the last thing my husband and I picked out for our wedding, and Fran was extremely quick to respond to our questions via email. We gave him our final list less than a week before we were married, and Fran was accommodating to any changes we decided to make. He also has a very classy/professional look that a lot of DJs lack. He kept people dancing all night! We couldn’t be happier with his services!
  • K
    Kassidy S. Sent on 09/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best dj around!

    Northern Lights is by far the best DJ around!! Fran is amazing to work with. Questions were answered immediately and he was always incredibly helpful. My husband and I hired Northern Lights for our wedding and could not have been happier!! The music they played was perfect. We’ve gotten tons of compliments that are music was awesome and our guests loved dancing all night! Northern Lights truly helped make our wedding so special! If we could give them 10 stars, we absolutely would!!
  • L
    Loretta L. Sent on 09/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Professional but tons of fun!

    Best DJ around. Fran listened to what we wanted and followed through exactly as promised. Everyone there commented on how professional and fun they were. Thanks again for a great evening!
  • J
    Jkelley Sent on 07/04/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome experience, very kind! Guests enjoyed the music!

    Awesome experience, very kind! Guests enjoyed the music!
  • T
    Teddy J. Sent on 06/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Renewal

    Went out of his way to use a version of our individual dance song that had the proper speed for our dance ability. His narration throughout the night was simply excellent.
  • T
    Taylor Sent on 09/05/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had the BEST experience working with Fran! I was so worried about picking the right music for my wedding. When I originally sent my requests to Fran, he got back to me very quickly and made sure I had covered all song selections. Nothing was forgotten! And when the big day was upon us, Fran made sure to double check all songs with me - and he had made all the accommodations I had asked for! He played the music perfectly for the ceremony, and at the reception he made sure that the crowd was having a great time!

    Long Story short, Fran is extremely professional and worth every penny (especially considering that he is very reasonably priced!). I cannot recommend him highly enough!
  • M
    Mayson Sent on 07/26/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    He was SUPER helpful & was very flexible with requests or changes in the timeline on the spot! Made our night perfect!
  • B
    Brittany Sent on 06/06/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Fran was fantastic! So professional and easy to work with. He listened to what I wanted, and helped make our wedding a family friendly and elegant atmosphere. :)
  • D
    David Sent on 05/16/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Fran of Northern Lights is a very talented musician! He played a song that we had requested that originates from Peru (btw, my wife is from Peru). All we had prior to his performance was a version of the song played by someone on YouTube and some random sheet music for the song (we weren't even sure if this was the same version as the YouTube video version) and he made it happen! He also ran the music for our entire wedding and narrated some of the events during the reception. Fran was always open to meeting up and talking about our vision of the wedding which was very helpful. We would highly recommend Fran to DJ/Play live music for your event since he keeps it classy and is always on top of things!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours