25 Reviews for New Sunrise Events

5.0
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Day-Of Coord. (1)
Partial Planning (1)
25 New Sunrise Events Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

We worked with Karen as our day-of coordinator for our 9/13/15 Los Altos History Museum wedding and I could not be more pleased with her services. Karen is extremely kind, knowledgeable and meticulous. She was incredibly easy to work with and I always felt confident to be in her hands. Karen also provided us with PERFECT vendor recommendations that fit our style and budget. While planning during the last month before the wedding I was very pleased that she provided knowledgeable feedback by providing alternative suggestions for things I wasn't sure of or needed some reassurance about. She created a detailed timeline which made the day go by seamlessly. On the day of the wedding Karen provided an incredibly calm, confident and sweet presence. She made any stress I may have been feeling disappear because I knew I could rely on her whole heartedly. I would STRONGLY recommend Karen for your big day. She deserves 10 stars! It's been an incredible experience to work with such an amazing woman. :)

Profile Picture Juli, 9/13/15, 7 Reviews
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

Karen was a wonderful choice for a wedding planner. I had met with a couple other wedding planners before I met her - and they all sort of stressed me out. When I met Karen, she was realistic, down-to-earth, and, best of all, relaxing. I felt better about the wedding after meeting her. I bought a partial package with month-to-day-of plus some extra email access and in-person meetings and it worked perfectly for me. Throughout the process she was responsive to my questions, though of things that I wouldn't have but were very important to the process, and helped reassure me. On the day of, I didn't worry at all because I knew everything was taken care of, even things I didn't know about! For example, one of my vendors forgot the guest book. I found out at the end, but Karen had already arranged for us to get a coffee table book made and a partial refund. She really never gave me the chance to be upset about anything because it all went perfectly.

Karen was so instrumental in our wedding, it's a little weird we won't be talking so much anymore! I can't say better things about her - she was the best.

Profile Picture Lindsey, 9/6/15, 4 Reviews
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

Karen is an absolute gem, and it was a joy and a blessing to get to work with her for our June wedding. She came highly recommended by friends, and she proved to be an invaluable resource to us as we planned our big day. We chose Karen's month-to-day-of coordination service, and throughout the time we worked with her (not just in the month before!), she was in constant contact, providing valuable advice and support to us via email. My husband and I planned our Bay Area wedding from Kentucky, but Karen worked with us to ensure that the process was as simple and as convenient as possible. She took all of our disorganization and streamlined everything into a beautiful, stress-free day of celebration for ourselves and our families. She listened carefully to our ideas, kept us on schedule, encouraged us when we were feeling overwhelmed, and thought of and troubleshot every detail in advance. Karen has exceptional taste, incredible knowledge of the industry, and impeccable standards of professionalism. We were blown away by every vendor that she recommended, from our amazing caterer to our wonderful florist to our excellent DJ and our delightful photographer. The weekend of the wedding itself, Karen stage-managed everything seamlessly, quietly making sure that everyone and everything was in place at the right time. She helped us draft a wonderfully detailed itinerary ahead of time, taking care to build in generous buffer times to account for inevitable delays, and during the wedding day itself, she gently guided our families and everyone in the bridal party along. We didn't have to worry about a thing. All day, people kept telling us that we seemed remarkably calm for a bride and groom, and we had to tell them that it really was all thanks to Karen! Karen is kind, thoughtful, resourceful, efficient, and generous with her time, and she has a great gift and a passion for what she does. We loved working with her and would recommend her services in a heartbeat!

Profile Picture Iris, 6/13/15, 8 Reviews
Category: Wedding Planning
Services Used: Day-Of Coord., Partial Planning
5.0

Karen was *THE* best decision we made for our wedding process. Everything and anything would not have mattered or turned out the same if it was not for Karen. (Although I had AWESOME vendors.. haha) I really could not have even imagined what a blessing Karen was in my life during wedding planning. I actually found Karen on yelp, and even after reading the reviews, I was of course impressed- but now re-reading the reviews.... I totally get it. and completely agree. She really is amazing. Karen is very organized, articulate to detail, very patient, a kind and calm person, and she gets things DONE. If you have a life, or a job, and you're going to be planning a wedding, you need AT LEAST a month-to-day planner.

One thing I loved most about Karen was she got alllllll the little missing spots of detail and info with each and every vendor taken care of. As I'd be heading out to work in the morning, Karen would be CC-ing me on e-mails that she'd be sending out to vendors to take care of business. And mind you, some of these details are details that I would be thinking of too, or some would even be things that didn't even dawn on me! I always remember thinking... "Thank God for Karen..."
Another thing I loved was how much she cared about our parents and family. She really makes sure they are happy too. It was so nice to have someone there to make sure your family is happy, its not just about the couple- and it really showed on our wedding day.. we were so happy to see our parents and family happy. =)
With Karen's super duper preparations and organization and her awesome timeline for my wedding, I knew my day was set to be good one. I always thought it was so redundant how people would say "Oh, it was the best day of my life...etc" Well, I'll never think like that again. My wedding day was truly the best day of my life. Thank you, Karen!!!

Profile Picture Anna, 10/11/14, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

We contracted Karen from New Sunrise Events for month-to-day coordination of our wedding in the summer of 2014. Karen made our wedding a success!!! I've recommended her to everyone I know planning a wedding, and I would hire her again in a heartbeat.

1. Karen is the consummate professional. She has great taste, is knowledgeable, well connected to vendors, and has resources at her fingertips. She was very clear from the beginning to the end, and told us exactly what would happen, and in doing so demonstrated she was consistent and reliable. Every step of the way, she instilled confidence that we were in good hands.

2. Karen has a peaceful grace about herself. Wedding planning can be exciting, but also paralyzing, scary, annoying, and stressful. Yet, Karen was always calm, and our anxiety seemed to magically melt away anytime we met her. Her personality is patient and peaceful.

3. Karen will be your best advocate. There are so many opinions leading up to a wedding, sometimes your voice or opinions can get lost. Karen is by your side and will advocate for your interests if you need a champion. We had a few tough situations with vendors or potential vendors, but Karen guided us through difficult situations and helped us to be assertive, while also being extremely respectful.

4. Karen will troubleshoot, and solve the problem like a ninja!

5. Karen treated family and guests fabulously. Something really important to me is how vendors treat our family and guests. Karen and her staff all came dressed professionally, Karen was polite, courteous, and a pleasure to everyone she met. She was very respectful to my older parents, and I trusted her with everything that day.

Of all the vendors involved in our 200+ person wedding, I was most impressed by Karen and New Sunrise Events. She was the best, and I wholeheartedly recommend her.

Profile Picture User4272105, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

From the moment we met Karen, we knew she was the one. Incredibly sweet, nice, detail-oriented, and a real interest in us as a couple! She was always there to offer advice, help with our vendors, and of course, all the planning.
She made sure every little detail was taken care of - from the small things such as color schemes for our table numbers, to the big things like when the caterers would arrive, where they would be set up, and if the contract looked good. Everything was setup in a detailed time line for the day-of so everyone knew where to be and when!

The bottom line is this: If you really want to make sure your wedding goes PERFECTLY, and you want an unbelievable planner who has a genuine love for what she does - look no further than New Sunrise Events. We could not recommend her more highly.

Profile Picture User3500811, 2+ years ago, 5 Reviews
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

Karen and her team provided month-out wedding coordination for our July wedding at Nestldown. From the beginning to the end, Karen was just wonderful. Karen is honestly one of the sweetest and most patient people we met and we can't count the number of times that I said to my husband "I'm so glad that Karen is our wedding coordinator" before and after the wedding.

Initially, I thought we didn't need a coordinator because our venue manager often acted as a wedding coordinator for several couples, and our catering manager also took on several duties of a wedding coordinator. In the end, we absolutely did because Karen thought of details and asked questions that we never would have considered, and she watched out for *us*, while the venue manager's main priority would have been the venue and the caterer's, the food. For month-out coordination, we only had 2 meetings with her in the month before the wedding, but in those two meetings, she was extremely organized and planned out minute by minute of our day ensuring that no detail was forgotten. After our first meeting, she contacted all of our vendors and followed up with us about how our day was going to turn out. Karen provided her expertise when we asked for it, and was very accepting of our ideas; she was not the least bit intrusive with her own opinions.

On our wedding day, Karen was there to make sure everything was taken care of. She kept us on track of our extremely tight schedule and made our jobs as the bride and groom effortless. We honestly didn't have to worry about a single detail and were allowed to just enjoy our day. She even took care of little emergencies, like having unexpected guests show up, fixing my husband's suit button on the spot, and so much more.

I have no doubt that because of Karen, we were able to enjoy our wedding day to the fullest. Karen and her team are amazing at what they do. We highly recommend them to anyone needing event/wedding planning services!!

Profile Picture Cyndi, 7/7/12, 7 Reviews
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

Don't even think about having your wedding without at least a month and day-of coordinator. That's advice we're glad to have taken. However, the best decision beyond that was to hire Karen (New Sunrise Events) to take care of it all. She's nice, responsive, and a true pro.

Month/Day of coordinators are hired to make sure all vendor contracts are executed as written, and make sure the day goes according to plan. What they are not required to do is genuinely care about your big day, and that's where the important differentiation starts with Karen. We felt that she was planning to what she knew and thought would be important to us, from a macro and micro level. I'll provide examples of both.

On a high level, she knew the overall cozy, comfortable, and fun atmosphere we wanted, and made sure everything from the layout to the timing would compliment that. Even down to the minute, her plans made sense based on where in the venue certain activities were, and the time spent per activity. The real 5 star service came the day of though, in execution. Sure enough everything turned up where they needed to be, even when the furniture delivery company sent the wrong sofas, when the programs were coming undone, it all seemed to work out, and we know it was because of her. Even during the grand entrance she and Andy were holding curtains back, timing our entrance with parts of the songs. These seem like random details, but it really is what you should be looking for in your search for a coordinator.

Karen is the whole package in terms of seeing and adopting your vision and executing flawlessly. Though we didn't work with her as a full fledged planner, we're confident her sense of style, and planning capabilities would allow her to excel there as well. Highly recommended, you need to hire her!

Profile Picture Chris, 6/30/12, 2 Reviews
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

Karen is a great wedding planner. Her attention to detail and personality make her very enjoyable and great to work with. She is on top of things and I would totally recommend her to anyone who needs a wedding planner. She does her due diligence with the venues and she gives her clients the personal attention they need. We love her!

Profile Picture Alice, 5/13/12, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

New Sunrise Events planned our destination wedding to Hawaii and was absolutely wonderful. Karen was meticulous at making sure every detail was in place for the big day. She knew the style we were going for and made sure everything matched exactly. I highly recommend her for planning destination weddings!

Profile Picture User2501307, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
4.4

I used New Sunrise Events for my April 14th wedding and must congratulate Karen on a job well done. Karen had to execute this wedding with the help of a Bride and Maid of Honor who are Technology project managers which translates into "Two Women That Think They Know Exactly What They Are Doing". Having now gone through this experience once, I can honestly say that Karen was very patient and didn't shove her years of experience onto me and my grand ideas. Instead she patiently listened to all the wonderful plans I had and while she was always willing to do her best to make those ideas come to life, she also did her best to talk me through the pros and cons of my grandiose vision.

Ultimately, through my own learnings and through Karen's patient guidance, I settled on a more traditional wedding approach and Wow, what an outcome.

My husband and I were married at the Mountain Winery in Saratoga, CA and it was an absolute success. Karen's thoughtful and DETAILED approach to every moment of the day ensured the days success. I can honestly say that I didn't have to worry about a single thing the day of my wedding because Karen and Andy took care of everything. And I mean everything... Even down to making our sparkler exit to the town car happen....and corralling 150 drunk adults into a line with sparklers is not an easy thing to do!

Suffice to say, if you want to be creative, but still need someone to think through and then Execute!!! all the details of your crazy and creative ideas, Karen is the person for you.

Profile Picture Renee, 4/14/12, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

My husband and I are very glad that we hired Karen as our wedding planner. We were constantly impressed by her professionalism, execution skills and wonderful personality. Originally, we were looking for a coordinator just for the day of the wedding but after only a few meetings with Karen we decided to hire her as our wedding planner. Throughout the entire process, Karen has not only played an instrumental role in our wedding planning but also became a great friend. We benefited tremendously from her profound experience in event planning and found the process very enjoyable through numerous vendor visits and planning meetings with Karen. What also made Karen a great wedding planner is how she put in a lot of effort in getting to know us as a couple and hearing about our stories. During the 8 months that we worked with her, we feel that she really got to know us and was able to plan such a personable and endearing wedding. Additionally, Karen introduced us to the what we consider the best vendors in the Bay Area and did a great job collaborating with them to create the perfect wedding day for us! We also had the pleasure of meeting Karen's husband Andy on our wedding day and are very thankful for everything that Karen and Andy have done to make our wedding the perfect experience!

Profile Picture Ying, 12/11/11, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

Karen is absolutely fantastic to work with. I cannot recommend her more highly! My fiance and I were looking for a Day of Coordinator for our wedding at the Rengstorff House on 9/24/11 and our photographer (Erica B Photography) recommended Karen to us. I was completely sold after our initial consultation with Karen. At our first meeting, she was extremely organized, very thorough in asking questions to fully understand our wedding and she had a calming presence about her that I knew would serve well in the midst of stressful wedding planning. She is exactly who you want to be in charge on this important day of your life.

While we hired Karen as our "Day of Coordinator", her services actually started one month out from the wedding. She met with us multiple times at our venue, worked with us to create a wedding day timeline and communicated endlessly with all of our separate vendors (caterer, DJ, florist, photographer, etc.) in order to make our wedding day run seamlessly. Karen thinks of everything and comes up with great solutions to any possible problems. The week before our wedding I had multiple people telling me I seemed strangely calm considering how soon the wedding was and my response to all of them was, "I have a fantastic wedding coordinator!" There was absolutely nothing to worry about because I knew Karen was taking care of all of the details and making sure our wedding was everything we wanted it to be.

The day of our wedding Karen and her husband/assistant Andy set up all of our decorations and made everything look perfect (we gave them a lot so this was a big job). Andy is just as nice and professional as Karen. He brought over plates of appetizers to my husband and I while we were taking pictures during the cocktail hour to make sure we got to eat and enjoy the food we selected. I've heard over and over from brides and grooms that they didn't get to eat at their wedding - with New Sunrise Events you will!

I could go on and on, but suffice it to say Karen is great at what she does and you will not regret hiring her for your next event!

Profile Picture Courtney, 9/24/11, 3 Reviews
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

If I could give her ten stars, I would.

My husband and I got married over a month ago and it's taken me a while to figure out what to write in my review because I really want to do her justice.

My husband and I are in love with Karen Pan. Like, LOVE love.

Seriously, she is awesome. We hired her as our day of wedding coordinator and she had a lot on her plate because our wedding was a bit complicated. We had the ceremony in the city, the reception in Napa, and rather than dancing at the reception we had a program that needed to finish by a certain time. The whole day depended on perfect timing.

Plus we worried about the weather since the reception was outdoors, and it was, IMO, the coldest summer we ever had.

But everything was ABSOLUTELY. PERFECT. She was so organized and on top of it, that nothing went wrong. Nothing at all. AND the weather was perfect. I'm pretty sure she had something to do with that too. She is THAT awesome.

She was a really wonderful wedding coordinator and really great person, and we really credit her for making our wedding day so memorable.

Profile Picture Stefanie, 9/10/11, 2 Reviews
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

Dear Karen,

I had a feeling that our wedding reception was going to be beautiful just by looking at your online portfolio. But you exceeded my expectations with your wonderful, elegant taste. I couldn't have asked for a more perfect setting.

Thank you for working within our budget so beautifully. Thank you for the obvious diligence and dazzling decorations. We will always remember the beauty of our wedding reception.

Much Love,

Andrea T.

Profile Picture Andrea , 11/19/10, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

We hesitated on whether or not to hire a wedding coordinator for our wedding. But as the BIG day neared; I started to get a bit stressed thinking of all the coordination involved in getting all the vendors (and I had many!) coming on time; doing what I need them to do, etc. Hiring Karen alleviated all that stress almost immediately.

It became so evident on our wedding day that I didn't have a single worry in the world other than to enjoy our day, and have fun, and to be with people we love. We enjoyed our day SO much; and never once felt stressed. But I know that we felt this way because Karen and Andy meticulously took care of all the details and fielded all the questions.

Hiring Karen as our wedding coordinator was the best investment.... after all, you spent so much on your wedding. You better enjoy it to the fullest without any stress. :)

Profile Picture Karen, 11/13/10, 2 Reviews
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

We were so lucky and blessed to have Karen as our wedding coordinator! From the very beginning, Karen was highly organized, prompt on all emails and phone calls, and even visited our reception hall several times with us just to make sure everything was in place.

Karen is very approachable, easy-going, and listens well. Our wedding ran smoothly because of her. She exceeded our expectations and our wedding was just one of the best days of our lives! If we could, we would do our special day again, and definitely have Karen as our wedding coordinator!

Profile Picture Emily, 10/9/10, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

Karen is absolutely fantastic to work with. I cannot recommend her more highly! My fiance and I were looking for a Day of Coordinator for our wedding at the Rengstorff House on 9/24/11 and our photographer (Erica B Photography) recommended Karen to us. I was completely sold after our initial consultation with Karen. At our first meeting, she was extremely organized, very thorough in asking questions to fully understand our wedding and she had a calming presence about her that I knew would serve well in the midst of stressful wedding planning. She is exactly who you want to be in charge on this important day of your life.

While we hired Karen as our "Day of Coordinator", her services actually started one month out from the wedding. She met with us multiple times at our venue, worked with us to create a wedding day timeline and communicated endlessly with all of our separate vendors (caterer, DJ, florist, photographer, etc.) in order to make our wedding day run seamlessly. Karen thinks of everything and comes up with great solutions to any possible problems. The week before our wedding I had multiple people telling me I seemed strangely calm considering how soon the wedding was and my response to all of them was, "I have a fantastic wedding coordinator!" There was absolutely nothing to worry about because I knew Karen was taking care of all of the details and making sure our wedding was everything we wanted it to be.

The day of our wedding Karen and her husband/assistant Andy set up all of our decorations and made everything look perfect (we gave them a lot so this was a big job). Andy is just as nice and professional as Karen. He brought over plates of appetizers to my husband and I while we were taking pictures during the cocktail hour to make sure we got to eat and enjoy the food we selected. I've heard over and over from brides and grooms that they didn't get to eat at their wedding - with New Sunrise Events you will!

I could go on and on, but suffice it to say Karen is great at what she does and you will not regret hiring her for your next event!

Profile Picture Courtney, 9/24/10, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

Karen is awesome! What more can I say? She coordinated our wedding the day of the event, but she also handled our rehearsal, planned a timeline for the day and worked with all the vendors starting a month prior to the wedding, and helped keep us on track during the planning process with vendor recommendations. She even prepared a little snack pack to take with us after the wedding was over.

We had a beautiful & fun wedding. I don't think we would've been able to pull it all off without her. Thanks Karen!!!

Profile Picture User945556, 2+ years ago, 5 Reviews
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

Karen helped me with my wedding this past May (2010). Not only was she super sweet, but she was very thorough and detail oriented with everything; a definite must for a wedding planner. She offered a lot of great suggestions, tips and advice. It's always nice to have someone onboard who has experience and has done weddings before. There are so many little details that it can easily become overwhelming. Karen definitely helped me stay on top of everything. I'd absolutely recommend her! :)

Profile Picture Julia, 5/15/10, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

Hiring Karen at New Sunrise Events was the first thing that my fiancé (now husband) and I did when we started planning our January 2010 wedding.

We met with Karen to give her an idea of what we had in mind for our wedding. Our main hope was to have a relatively stress-free engagement period and wedding day so that we could focus on our vows and enjoy the time we had with our guests.

With Karen as our planner, this goal was met.

The planning:
Karen helped us find our church and reception site by contacting each site and arranging visits. As we found our other vendors, we emailed Karen often to ask questions. Karen also acted as the liaison between us and some of our vendors. Whenever we had a question for one of the vendors, Karen contacted them and quickly got back to us with an answer. Some of our friends helped out with the cake, centerpieces, and flowers and Karen worked well with them all.

Karen responded to all emails very promptly. (She is also available by phone.) We were in contact with her constantly throughout our 9-month engagement. She kept us on track with what we needed to be working on. She is attentive, professional, open to feedback, and easy to work with.

A month before the wedding, we handed all vendor contact information over to Karen and she took it from there. She confirmed with them all and made sure that all details were taken care of. We didn’t have to worry about the vendors from then on.

We thought that we would be really busy the week before the wedding, but since Karen was taking care of all of the details, we didn’t have anything else to do besides enjoy time with our guests who were arriving from out-of-town.

The day of the wedding:
Karen created a Timeline for the day of the wedding. I had a copy of the Timeline, but didn’t look at it at all. Karen and her team took care of all of the logistics, everything ran smoothly, and I was able to enjoy the day without thinking about vendors, details, or timing. I was able to focus on my vows and enjoy the company of my friends and family.

Overall, without Karen, our wedding planning process and wedding day would have been very different and, I imagine, much more stressful. Hiring Karen so early in the process was the best decision we made and the best money we spent.

Profile Picture Elaine, 1/23/10, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

Quality of Service: We hired Karen to be our "Day of" wedding coordinator. Not only did she do an excellent job the day of the wedding, but she was also a great source of information and assistance in the days and weeks leading up to the wedding. She had answers for all of our concerns and provided helpful and insightful suggestions with all phases of the planning. She recommended and introduced us to a DJ, whom we hired and was absolutely wonderful. She helped set up the ceremony room, reception room, and banquet room on the day of the wedding (hanging lanterns, moving furniture, etc). For the banquet, instead of using numbers to assign to each table, we wanted to use table cards with our picture on them with the name of a city we travelled to. However, we didn't have the time to make them as the day of the wedding approached. Karen wanted to make sure our day was perfect, so she went ahead and designed and created these beautiful table cards for us (she's quite artistic too!). There are too many other examples of how helpful and great she was that just can't be listed here.

Responsiveness: We usually got a response to our emails and phone calls within a day.

Professionalism: She has always maintained the highest level of professionalism, from our first meeting to the end of the wedding day. She is courteous, polite, respectful, and honest.

Value for Cost: Our wedding was a great success. Our guests had a great time. We had so much fun! We were very happy with how everything turned out. We couldn't have achieved that level of success without her.

Flexibility: Not once did we have an issue here.

It was an absolute pleasure working with Karen. From the very beginning we had a great feeling about her. She is warm, friendly, and easy to get along with. Of all the decisions we made throughout the entire planning of our wedding, hiring her was the best decision. We would recommend her to anyone (in fact I already have).

Profile Picture Jackson, 11/21/09, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

Karen is an amazing wedding planner. She is super organized and pays attention to every small detail. Her creativity is classic yet unique. When I worked with her, I knew I was working with someone committed to the job and interested in my opinions. I would totally recommend her to any of my friends and family as their coordinator.

Profile Picture Katie, 11/9/09, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

As a makeup artist, Karen is a pleasure to work with. What impresses me the most is her work ethics, quality work and her punctuality. Her attention to detail is impeccable and she's a great listener. I highly recommend Karen as a wedding coordinator. She's worth every penny. I look forward in collaborating with her more in the future.
Warmly, Charlene Wong - Makeup artist for "Hello Pretty Me".

Profile Picture Charlene , 2/28/09, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

Karen is a very professional and caring person. She has a great creative eye and pays great attention to detail. Not only did she participate at my wedding, but she also coordinated a wedding of one of my friends which was lovely, intimate, and very polished.

Profile Picture Angela, 11/1/08, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue