Skip to main content
Weddings

Murray Hill Reviews

Murray Hill View more information

42 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 93% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 42
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

20 User photos

  • Barb
    Barb H. Married on 09/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Wedding Venue Ever!

    My cousin got married here years ago and we had so much fun we decided to come back and have our wedding here too! The owners are very kind and hospitable and the property is just beautiful! Great place for a scenic ceremony and a fun barn to have your reception in afterwards. Highly recommend!
  • K
    Kelsey W. Married on 06/19/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best Backdrop for Our Memories

    From the moment we pulled up to Murray Hill and saw the stunning view of the Potomac we knew this is where we wanted to have our wedding. The view overlooking the river was perfect and there were SO many different ways to think about orienting our wedding arch for various views. During the wedding it was so nice to look over the river, feel the breeze and just soak in the majesty of their property.

    The Rust's graciously open their home for weddings so I was able to get ready in their front room, take a moment to get pictures on the grounds, and also relax for a moment before heading out for the party. It is stunning, welcoming and comfortable. Peggy always made me feel at home and was so gracious. One of the best things about this venue is that if you book for the weekend you have time the day before and after to set up and tear down which was a lifesaver. Many venues that we visited had weddings back to back for several days straight and had strict load in and load out policies. I really appreciate having the time to add some last minute touches for the wedding and also having the time to make sure we left the space better than we found it. I really recommend this venue.
  • Lindsay
    Lindsay Married on 10/24/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream wedding venue

    Murray Hill was an absolute dream venue for my 10/24/2020 wedding. Getting married in a pandemic is definitely a challenge, but John & Peggy made sure our day was perfect, safe, and unforgettable. Peggy was incredibly accommodating with planning ahead of time, especially with all the changes we needed to make to keep everyone safe. The venue itself is gorgeous and makes for the perfect backdrop for your wedding photos. The views from the Potomac Overlook are unmatched! We had the most amazing time and people could not stop commenting on the beauty of the venue. I would not hesitate to recommend them to any couple trying to have their perfect wedding day!
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • Courtney
    Courtney Married on 10/17/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue

    I am so happy with our decision to switch venues to Murray Hill. We had to postpone our wedding due to COVID and our original venue was the ABSOLUTE worst. We were told about Murray Hill by our wedding planner and as soon as we got there and met Peggy, we were SOLD. Murray Hill is a beautiful location and we had the most perfect day! I loved the three areas where we had our ceremony overlooking the river, cocktail hour by the pool and the reception in the barn. It allowed for everyone to spread out if they wanted to. Everyone told us how beautiful everything was - so many told us it was the prettiest wedding they have ever been to. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND checking out Murray Hill - you wont be sorry!
  • Connie
    Connie Married on 05/31/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Responsive and flexible!

    Unfortunately, we were forced to cancel our May 2020 wedding due to the shelter-in-place order in VA. With my fiance being in the military and the uncertainty of the pandemic, postponement was not an option for us. Despite these unfortunate circumstances, Peggy has been so helpful and incredibly understanding throughout the entire process. She is very active via email and addresses all your concerns in a timely manner.
    I also wanted to mention how stunning the venue/estate is. The ceremony location is so dreamy, overlooking the Potomac River and the Catoctin Mountains and how could I not mention the beautiful barn? The beauty of the venue speaks for itself.
    It has been such a pleasure working with Peggy and although our wedding day never came to full fruition, Peggy made the whole process seamless. We highly recommend this venue.
  • O
    Olivia Married on 10/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beyond Amazing - Including the Rain Plan B

    From the first time we met Peggy and John, to the day after our wedding, every minute of working with the folks at Murray Hill was perfect. The whole team (extra shoutout to Donnie and Susan who were there day of to help with anything) was fabulous and incredibly responsive, and the fact that they only typically do one wedding a weekend meant that we were able to drop off and pick up items stress free which was a major help.

    Most importantly, the forecast was not in our favor and yet the wedding still worked out 100% perfectly. Peggy and Donnie worked with us to get a tent delivered last minute for cocktail hour (and Donnie even supervised the setup with his strict attention to detail). We moved the ceremony into the barn and while I had initially been disappointed, I would not have wanted it any other way. The barn is a stunning place for a ceremony, and we just used the tent for cocktail hour to help enable the caterer to flip the space for the reception.

    The rest of the venue is obviously gorgeous. We used the house for getting ready, the screened in porch for pictures during the rain, and the dining room for a ketubah signing - it was great to be able to have everyone together for an intimate moment before the bigger ceremony. We also took pictures in multiple outdoor spots once the rain cleared. These pictures look authentically natural and rustic rather than staged - the benefit of Murray Hill being such a large property rather than a kind of manufactured venue. Overall, the experience was above and beyond, and we highly recommend Murray Hill.
  • Lauren
    Lauren Married on 10/05/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream venue

    Murray Hill and it’s owners far surpassed our dreams and expectations for a wedding venue! Everyone complimented us on the venue because the estate itself is so gorgeous and well kept. Peggy was extremely helpful and accommodating throughout the entire process and always responded immediately to our questions and requests. Susan was incredibly helpful the days of our wedding and rehearsal dinner and truly made our events perfect. They felt like family and I couldn’t have imagined a better venue or experience!
  • User2310828 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We held our wedding ceremony and reception at Murray Hill and it was just amazing! Peggy and her husband were very accommodating and wonderful to work with. The venue is just breathtaking and all the guests were in awe of how gorgeous everything turned out. We even got to see a bald eagle flying around just before the ceremony. The views are spectacular. Highly recommend!
  • C
    Cate Married on 06/06/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had my wedding at Murray Hill on June 6. Every single aspect of Murray Hill was amazing.

    Start with an unbelievably beautiful location with multiple areas to hold parts of the event. Want to exchange your vows on a cliff overlooking the Potomac River? No problem! Cocktails in the garden or by the pool? Why not? Dinner and dancing under twinkly lights in a beautifully restored barn. Go for it!

    Then add in how flexible and accommodating the owners, Peggy and John Rust, are. Although Murray Hill is their private home, we were able to come to Murray Hill countless times in the year leading up to the wedding. The Rusts also let you bring supplies/decorations and set up days before the wedding and break down the
  • A
    Amy Married on 04/25/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We feel so incredibly lucky to have found Murray Hill. The property is gorgeous and it is a home, not a wedding mill. Peggy and John were very helpful --- they allowed us to show up (to their home) repeatedly leading up to the wedding and start decorating days before the wedding. They even helped us find a last-minute vendor. The day-of, their property was immaculate for our guests. Peggy even carried my train as I left the house to walk down the aisle. I can't imagine a better venue.
  • K
    Katherine Married on 11/01/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Murray Hill is a lovely, lovely venue! I can't say enough about how beautiful it is. My husband and I married there this fall and the leaves were bursting with color. If you are looking for a beautiful venue that you can make your own, this is your place. John and Peggy, the owners of the property were absolutely lovely! We can't recommended this property and working with John and Peggy enough!
  • K
    Kyle Married on 09/13/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The place was beautiful and Peggy was a delight to work with. All our guests raved about the venue's charm! We couldn't have selected a better place to get married.
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 10/13/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Peggy was amazing and the site is beautiful! This wonderful long driveway up to a beautiful stone mansion! I got married and had my reception in the barn and the amount of work Peggy and her team put in was amazing. It rained for an entire week before wedding day and everything was very muddy but they put down stuff to soak up the water so cars could get in and maintained it. I am so thankful to you Peggy and your husband for all the hard work you guys did to make my big day special! Thank you!!!
  • User1380152 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Murray Hill was phenomenal. All my guests were so impressed with the venue! And Peggy and John Rust are wonderful to work with!
  • M
    Maddison Married on 05/18/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Murray Hill provided the perfect backdrop for the wedding we envisioned: a big Italian dinner party in the Virginia countryside. Not only are the views over the Potomac just gorgeous, but so is the house, the barn, the gardens, the pool, the flowers....The Rusts have done an immaculate job at making their estate one of the most beautiful wedding venues around. Not only was Murray Hill the perfect venue to have our wedding, but the Rusts were really great to work with and made sure that we had no unanswered questions or concerns during the planning process. We chose to have our wedding ceremony on the lawn outside the house, a cocktail hour in the gardens near the pool and then parade to the barn for dinner and dancing. Our guests just loved the progression place to place and enjoyed seeing all of Murray Hill's wonderful property. Really, Murray Hill is the perfect place to have an elegant outdoor wedding with lots of charm. Thank you Rust family for providing such a lovely place for us to host our wedding!
  • E
    Eleanor Married on 05/04/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This is a private estate which is open for weddings on the weekend. It was honestly a pleasure to work with the owners. They were excited about the wedding and wanted to make sure their house and property worked for the event. The were flexible and very accommodating. They even moved horses into a nearby field because I wanted there to be some pictures of them. They were there whenever we went buy to view the estate prior to the wedding and they were very helpful. They also provided recommendations based off of past experiences with all their numerous weddings. All of my vendors also loved working with them because they are so flexible and helpful. I am really glad that we found this gem. Their website does not give them justice. I would see the place in person.
  • M
    Margaret Married on 09/08/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This is an unbelievably beautiful venue. My daughter wanted to have a barn wedding and this was the perfect choice. I cannot recommend it enough. The owners were delightful and very easy to work with, jumping in to help wherever they thought it was needed. Between the backyard overlooking the Potomac River, the barn, the pool and the rest of the beautiful property you will not find a better place. I can hardly wait to see the pictures taken at this lovely spot.
  • V
    Sofia Married on 05/05/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding reception was the first event in Murray Hill's barn and it was BEAUTIFUL. Our guests are still talking about how lovely the setting was. We only had 40 people (you could easily fit more) but the space felt like just the right size -- a testament to Peggy's decorating expertise. And, the fenced field next to the barn's open wall was perfect for the kids to run around in. Peggy also is extremely pleasant to work with. We appreciate all that she did and I would not hesitate to recommend her -- and Murray Hill -- to any bride.
  • J
    Jessica Married on 10/02/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The venue was absolutely beautiful and full of charm! It was a pleasure working with Peggy. She was very helpful and accommodating. We couldn't have selected a better place to get married!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 10/03/2015
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Having grown up in Leesburg, Va., I had never heard of Murray Hill until I began planning for my 10/3/15 wedding. And I am so unbelievably happy that we found it! It is a private residence, owned by Peggy and John Rust, and I’m still floored by how welcoming they were to have our families and guests at their home. Murray Hill is everything you’d ever imagine for a romantic, historic, natural Virginia wedding. Though we had planned to have the ceremony outdoors overlooking the Potomac River (terrible rain forced the ceremony to be held where our reception was), the barn turned out to be the perfect back up plan. The atmosphere was intimate and cozy and, as one of my guests said, “the envy of any girl on Pinterest”! The real test was the weather! Even with all of the rain leading up to our wedding, we had no problems. The barn proved to stay completely weather proof and our 90 guests were dry and happy! I definitely recommend Murray Hill for a wedding venue, working with Peggy and John was easy and enjoyable, and Murray Hill’s beautiful setting is absolutely unforgettable!
  • User2220818 2+ years ago
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Murray Hill is a beautiful venue and I am so glad that we selected it for my daughter's May 2015 wedding. The owners are truly gracious people; it is their home and I believe they take such satisfaction from all the happy events that happen there. Things that are truly great and unique about this venue - A ceremony site on a bluff overlooking the Potomac River, in the shade of towering oaks (there are other good sites, too - but the bluff...so dramatic and beautiful). A roomy converted llama barn, open to an expansive lawn, allowing for the perfect blend of dancing formality, and backyard casual for the reception (think father-daughter dance with a backdrop of corn hole and giant jenga). So many sites on the property for beautiful photographs - gardens, the bluff, the historic home, a pool. My daughter's wedding was absolutely a dream there. There are only a couple cautions I'd have - the property is relatively 'undeveloped' - it's beautiful and natural, but your guests will need to walk unpaved pathways or you will need to arrange to shuttle them between ceremony and reception barn, and the barn is not climate-controlled - so if it's hot outside...you'll have a warm reception! Finally - you'll need to coordinate to rent all the furnishings (tables, chairs), etc. as this venue does not have them. This is also a plus though - you can choose any kind of chairs and tables you want! Get a really good coordinator to handle the details, and enjoy your dream wedding at this beautiful, unique, treasure of a place. Also - wanted to make sure that folks know there are now bathrooms in the barn! (an earlier reviewer had commented that there weren't, but the bathrooms were installed in the spring 2015!)
  • T
    Taylor Married on 09/14/2013
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We loved Murray Hill. We were married on the bluff next to the beautiful stone house on the Potomac. We had cocktail hour in the gorgeous, understated gardens before heading to the barn for the reception. We have had so many people tell us that the venue was "amazing," "stunning," "a vision," and "perfect." Everyone loved the view of the Potomac, the gorgeous pool in the garden, and the open barn. We loved that we were able to incorporate three diverse locations into one great evening.

    Peggy and John were incredibly accommodating. The wedding planning experience was pretty hectic, and it made such a difference that we were able to come out to the site a few times to plan, come out early to decorate, come back the next day to clean up, etc. All of the other venues we considered wouldn't allow us to start decorating until the morning of, and we would have had to tear down immediately afterward. My parents, husband, and I really appreciated the opportunity to fully enjoy the day!

    It was a wonderful wedding at a stunning venue!
  • M
    Monique Married on 06/08/2013
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Murray Hill is a beautiful site for a wedding or any event overlooking the Potomac River. Working with Peggy and John at Murray Hill was wonderful. They were very responsive to questions and willing to work with us. The site has many options for the wedding and reception. We had the ceremony overlooking the river next to the house and the reception in the barn. The site is so beautiful that we did not need decorations for the ceremony site only chairs for guests to sit. Similar the barn setting was very natural and required few decorations. I would highly recommend Murray Hill and Peggy for a perfect wedding location.
  • K
    Kathlyn E. Married on 05/23/2020
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Owners, Incredible Property

    Peggy is so great to work with! The venue is gorgeous and makes you feel like you are in the woods while still being nearby some great hotels, Dulles airport, and even close to DC. Peggy is super helpful while still managing to be hands off and letting you create your dream wedding. When we had to postpone our date to the coronavirus, she immediately found us a new date and just transferred our contract over without any drama or hesitation. She was a such a pleasure to work with and we are so lucky to have found her!! Highly recommend to anybody looking for a venue in the Leesburg area.
  • User1900502 2+ years ago
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I highly recommend Murray Hill, particularly for a bride that wants a beautiful, unique outdoor wedding with a rustic theme. Peggy the owner was very easy to work with, responsive and offered a lot of great advice for recommended vendors. She offers an elegent bridal room to get ready in which provides a lot of nice "getting ready" pictures. Her husband was also very nice and drove us away in their vintage car after the reception which made for a great send off moment. The barn is great for the reception and is very spacious, which is great for mingling and dancing. One area for improvement would be the bathroom situation; there is no bathroom at the barn; however Peggy worked with us and other brides for the season to work out an arrangement with a trailer restroom service where we split the cost. I would just say it would be nice to include this price in the venue as I think a venue should offer bathrooms included, but that's just my take on it.
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message