Kauai Island Weddings Reviews

29 | Kapaa, HI
See photos, pricing and details

29 Reviews for Kauai Island Weddings

Recommended by 86%

29
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

4.3 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.3
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.3
  • Value 4.3
  • Average response time 4.2

14 User photos

Kauai Island Weddings 1
Kauai Island Weddings 2
Kauai Island Weddings 3
Kauai Island Weddings 4
Kauai Island Weddings 5
Kauai Island Weddings 6
Kauai Island Weddings 7
+ 8
Sort by:
  • F

    Feilin Lin Murray · Married on 07/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very professional,

    Our wedding was well planned. And our day was very easy to prepare for. . The ceremony was Beautiful! It was memorable!

    Sent on 07/13/2019
  • S

    Sandra · Married on 02/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hanalei Bay Beach Wedding

    I would highly recommend this company. It was perfect, everything about it was perfect. They are so good to work with our big group (19 total people). They were very helpful in answering all my questions the week before the wedding and the day of the wedding. It could not have been more perfect. We received our photos two days later by email.

    Sent on 02/26/2019
    Kauai Island Weddings 8
    Kauai Island Weddings 9
  • Misty

    Misty Cogdill · Married on 01/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly Special Experience

    I would highly recommend this company. It was perfect, everything about it was perfect. They are so good to work with and will make sure everything is just right. They were very helpful in answering all my questions the week before the wedding and the day of the wedding. It could not have been more perfect. We received our photos that day on a SD card and received the wedding video the next day by email. The extra footage of Kauai they put at the front of the video made it even more special to share with Family and friends. (They actually suggested a more private beach, but we wanted to get married outside our hotel on the beach, so usually there are not as many people around the ceremony.)

    Sent on 01/04/2019
    Kauai Island Weddings 10
    Kauai Island Weddings 11
  • M

    Martin · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very flexible service

    We have booked our wedding package with Kauai Island Weddings via a wedding agency. So for details about the package we had to contact them directly and we always received quick and friendly replies from Hans. It was no problem to change the time of the wedding a few times before actually arriving and when we decided that we wanted to hire an own photographer, we were offered a musician instead of the photography as part of our wedding package.
    A day before the wedding we got to meet Hans while applying for the wedding license and he invited us to his beautiful office to go through the wedding ceremony with us. Since all three of us were German, we also had a lot of chit-chat. Hans is definitely someone, we would like to meet again when we get back to Kauai!
    On our wedding day we met up with our photographer, the musician and our minister at a very rainy Hanalei bay and following the suggestion of the photographer we all moved to Shipwreck's Beach and everybody was cool with that.
    Nobody gave us the feeling that we had any time pressure and everybody was completely relaxed throughout the entire ceremony.
    Cliff was an awesome minister, always being in the mood for a joke and the musician was just the coolest person we have ever met and added incredibly much to the atmosphere!

    Overall the wedding went perfectly and we are entirely satisfied with the service provided!

    Thank you all for making our special day so perfect and unforgettable!

    Sent on 11/06/2018
  • K

    Kaitlyn · Married on 06/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had such a wonderful wedding with Kauai Island Weddings. Everything was beyond our expectations, and our wedding was absolutely beautiful. Mike and Hans were awesome to work with, and Todd was so much fun as our photographer. Our pictures turned out amazing, and we got our photo's within a week. To end our day, Mike drove my husband and I to Smith's Family Luau (which we highly recommend for a reception, as it was perfect) and even bought us coffee along the way. My husband and I would recommend Kauai Island Weddings to anyone who is looking for a stress free destination wedding. Thank you all at Kauai Island Weddings for making out wedding day perfect.

    Sent on 06/24/2018
    Kauai Island Weddings 12
    Kauai Island Weddings 13
    Kauai Island Weddings 14
  • T

    Tecia · Married on 03/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful experience with Kauai Island Weddings and highly recommend them if you're considering a wedding in Hawaii. They really take time to answer all your questions in advance over the phone. The whole staff including the owners are eager to help and so incredibly friendly.
    We were able to easily make changes - and pretty last minute - to our ceremony location and number of guests, no problem.
    The day of the wedding was seamless. Courtney arrived with all our flowers and made me feel comfortable that she was taking care of everything. Our musician, minister and photographers were just the best. Such a beautiful heartfelt ceremony, and the music elevated it to another level. We had such a fun time with the photographers and I'm attaching some of our images as proof. Thank you to everyone at Kauai Island Weddings who made this the best day of our lives.

    Sent on 03/28/2018
    Kauai Island Weddings 15
    Kauai Island Weddings 16
    Kauai Island Weddings 17
    Kauai Island Weddings 18
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 02/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful experience with Kauai Island Weddings. They were perfect for our situation...which was just the two of us on the beach. They were super easy to work with and very responsive and professional. The wedding video and photography was amazing! We had so many beautiful photos to choose from. The Hawaiian style ceremony was well-done and the flowers were beautiful. They have plenty of options to choose from (flowers, packages, photography, beaches) - I loved that we could do an "almost live" video for our families at home to see. Prices were very reasonable too. The whole thing was a dream come true....better than I could have imagined!!

    Sent on 02/26/2018
    Kauai Island Weddings 19
  • L

    Lori · Married on 07/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you'd like a home-style seamless island wedding with a one-stop shop, this is your vendor. Mike and Martina were very responsive and helpful from beginning to end and even afterwards with pictures. We loved that we could stay at their lovely hawaiian decorated quaint bed and breakfast style inn (all rooms are decorated differently and all have their own unique style), breakfast is casual and just enough to get you started on your day. They were very helpful with licensing, minister, location, they provide flowers and leis, and if you need limos and recommended hairdressers/makeup vendors. Our suite had good A/C, a kitchen full-sized fridge, lots of books and videos and comfy bed along with a large lanai. Kalani was the breakfast host and she couldn't have been warmer or more helpful. Hans was also available for services. We mainly did our own thing, and it was nice to have the whole wedding taken care of and planned. We got married on Shipwrecks beach and got photos on the cliffs, highly recommended. Our minister was Hawaiian and we loved the service. Both photographers were excellent. Would we do it again? Yes, in a heartbeat. Call and book early, their rooms book up fast. Thank you, Mike and Martina for a lovely wedding and a wonderful place to hang our hats. Mahalo from Lori and Bob!

    Sent on 02/05/2018
    Kauai Island Weddings 20
  • P

    Paul · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I want to thank Kauai Island Weddings and Courtney McLaughlin in particular for helping to make our 50th anniversary so special. Our vow renewal with our family in attendance was a complete surprise for my wife. The suggestions I received for where to have the ceremony and picking the options were very helpful. Courtney did a great job on getting everyone together and organizing them so my wife wouldn't know who they were until we got close. She then conducted a beautiful ceremony for us. The photographer, Dave, did a great job on capturing the whole event and staging the after-ceremony pictures. The music during the ceremony was soft enough that we could hear it without overpowering our speaking.

    Sent on 06/10/2017
  • H

    Hana · Married on 04/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike and Martina from Kauai Island Weddings are the best choice :-) Easy to communicate with, they explain you everything (even if you asked them several time the same questions because you are so nervous that you are not sure if you already asked or no) We picked Hawaiian ceremony and we were so deeply touched during the ceremony that we were crying like turtles (Czech expression :-)) honestly we were so happy that we are sure we couldn't pick the better company...

    Sent on 05/14/2017
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 04/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing wedding experience with Kauai Island Weddings!! Mike and his staff are very easy to work with and are very helpful. Dave, our photographer and Todd, the reverend were amazing they made us feel really comfortable and relaxed. Mike had everything set up for us all we had to do is show up. We were married at Shipwreck beach located on the south shore Kauai. This location is special to us because this is where we had our first kiss. The beach is beautiful and the weather was fantastic. It's located next to the Hyatt, it was fun to have cocktails and dinner after our wedding. If your thinking about getting married without all the stress this it totally the way to do it. Our pictures are beautiful and came quickly. Thanks again to the staff.

    Sent on 05/21/2017
  • K

    Katie · Married on 04/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a great wedding with KIW at Tunnels beach with Todd and Dave. They were awesome! Dave has an incredible talent for making the bride feel at ease in the moments before. He managed to calm me down and wrangle our family members at the same time who were bombarding me and about to stress me out with their pictures and last minute questions. Which might sound like a small task being only 4 adults, but our families have big personalities and all had different ideas about what should and shouldn't be happening in those minutes on the beach. He was able to politely encourage them to to stop and stand in their spots while Todd kept the groom company. I can't say how much I appreciate that! Dave and Todd truly went above and beyond to make the ceremony as easy for the bride and groom as possible. They were also extremely fun to work with during the photography! Hans and Courtney were also great to work with on the phone! I was really worried about rain during the ceremony and Courtney did a great job easing my fears. I've had an amazing experience with all the staff. My one recommendation is to get a final cost estimate before you leave on your trip. That way if there is anything unexpected, you can have it worked out before your trip and wedding celebrations begin. You will receive an invoice right after you sign your marriage certificate after the ceremony and pictures. You don't want this to be the first time seeing the invoice, to avoid surprises on your wedding day! We have not yet received our wedding photos, so I cannot speak to the quality of the images, however I know we had fun taking them! Overall, it was a great experience and I would use them again if we plan a vow renewal one day!

    Sent on 04/28/2017
  • T

    Thomas · Married on 02/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We made a cold call to Kauai Weddings and spoke with Courtney (Mike was on vacation). She was so warm and real that we decided then that they would be the one to handle our wedding! We were on the Pride of America and would be in Kauai for an overnight so that was to be our wedding day! Mike and Courtney handled EVERYTHING, the limo, the complimentary Luau and the transportation back to the ship! WOW - what a day!!!!! Mike had his fingers on the pulse of every minute of that day! Even when Trump decided to change port rules at the last minute, Mike contacted me on the ship to inform me of what is now needed before the limo can come into port to pick us up!!!! He sent me the manifest list and I sent him back the info! Once again, Mike had it covered!!!!!!! The wedding - OMG!! The staff was exceptional!!!! Everything went without a hitch! The weather was 100% beautiful- ALL DAY! We chose the Fern Grotto after talking w/ Courtney as the best venue for my elderly father in-law. We included a boat big enough for the entire wedding party and Mike had a ukulele player and a tahitian dancer there to entertain all. The Luau was the icing on the cake! FABULOUS!!!!!!!!

    ONE NOTE: The wedding video was PERFECT! It took a couple of months, but you could tell they put in a lot of time on this project!!!!! That’s what makes it the best part of the wedding package. We just got the video a few days ago, the day after my new father in-law passed away! Portions of the video that included my FATHER were played at is funeral. The music paired with the video showed the wonderful time that we had on that day!!! Thank you Mike and Crew!!!! I highly recommend their wedding service to all who want to make the best of their wedding day and remember it for years to come!
    Tom & Timiko
    2/23/17

    Sent on 05/22/2017
  • G

    Gary · Married on 11/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were married here in November the planning happened 100% with email and phone calls. The Kauai Country Inn: Spectacular place and we used the bulk of the services provided. The room we had was the Green Rose Suite which was HUGE! It was a great place to gather and entertain our guests, we even had a barbeque. The location is very convenient got everywhere quickly. Hans was amazing and made sure that we didn’t ever need a thing. He helped with planning anything that we wanted to do. The daily breakfast was perfect and we were even able to blend in some of the fruits from the trees on the property. Be sure to explore the wide variety of good eats the trees provide they work well with adult beverages too!!!

    Kauai Island Weddings: WOW! We couldn’t have had a better team to handle our wedding. Todd was our Officiant, Mike and Courtney was behind the bulk of the wedding planning. Todd did a great job of what we went there to do: get married! We chose traditional Hawaiian vows and truth be told it was different yet beautiful. So, we are married and even with a little sprinkle of rain it was absolutely beautiful. Mike and Courtney were very responsive to the many emails and handful of calls from my lovely Bride and at all turns they provided the answers she needed in order for us to make all of our decisions for our special day. They offer a huge amount of options for flowers, leis and bridal bouquets. Our flower choices were spot on for the color choices we had made. The flowers actually lasted across several days and multiple photo shoots.

    Photography: Todd, Hans and Dave the drone operator handled our multiple photo shoots and Mike did the editing. These guys just killed it! Our wedding photos in the Fern Grotto, river and the beach were amazing and the drone footage of our beach shoot was out of this world. Worth every penny and the video that they shot using the drone was just unbelievable. Mike and team, we cannot thank you enough for all you did for us.

    Sent on 02/07/2017
  • C

    Chandra · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All we have to say is that Kauai Island Weddings and their staff made everything possible to have the most beautiful day of our lives. The pictures that were taken are absolutely GORGEOUS! The planning was smooth, and our coordinator, Courtney, was beautiful and amazing in more ways than one. The flower bouquet was absolutely gorgeous. The transportation was right on time and was perfect. Our location and time of the day was on point as well. The whole experience was everything you would hope for when planning such a big day and a destination wedding. This team went above and beyond and we couldn't be happier!!!

    Sent on 09/02/2016
  • M

    Martin · Married on 07/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got merried on Shipwrecks Beach on July 7th and it was absolutely wonderful! The ceremony was perfectly organised and executed with so much heart and "aloha-spirit". The flowers were absolutely beautiful, the beach-site was gorgeous and our fotos came out fantastic! Even from distant Europe it was easily planned. Mike, Martina and their staff did a wonderful job and our minister Hans made this day unforgettable for both of us. I can absolutely recommend Mike and his team to anyone planning on getting married in paradise!

    Sent on 08/25/2016
  • H

    Hans · Married on 06/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Book your date immediately. They went above and beyond what we were promised. The photos are unique and we are captured so beautifully not only in the traditional wedding photos but also during fun moments like trying to outrun a wave during a beach walk. I can't thank Mike and Martina enough for all the memories they preserved for us. Even my most critical friends have nothing but good things to say about the pictures we posted on Facebook. We are very happy:-)

    Sent on 07/12/2016
  • A

    Aya · Married on 06/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married on June 12th, 2016 (By the way, this day happened to be the Valentine’s day in Brazil). We had to most memorable and beautiful wedding at the Shipwrack Beach. Photos taken of us are amazingly beautiful and very creative, professionally taken by Kauai Island Weddings. I would like to thank Mike and Martina for giving us such an amazing memory of our wedding. I am very thankful!

    Sent on 07/12/2016
  • A

    Anna · Married on 05/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can I say, we had an overall great experience with Kauai Island Weddings. We had their Bali Hai Spectacular Package and it had everything we could have wished for. The transportation to the beach was a great plus as it made our wedding day totally stress free having been picked up at our hotel and not having to worry finding the minister & photographer on the long stretch of beach. Our flowers were beautiful! Minister & photographer were very friendly and professional and made us feel at ease. The whole process of getting married as easy and having Kauai Island Weddings take care of all the details made the whole thing effortless. We went to dinner at Hukilau Lanai and had a great time. Our wedding photos are wonderful we love them, great memories for years to come. We can highly recommend Kauai Island Weddings. Book with Mike or Courtney, you won't regret it!

    Sent on 07/23/2016
  • S

    Sharon · Married on 02/19/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike, Martina and Johannes Hough provided such an amazing wedding experience for us. My husband and I did not have to worry about a thing, they took care of everything. We chose what we wanted and the Hough's made sure everything was just perfect for us. The best part, everything (wedding ceremony, venue, photography, flowers, and even lodging!) is in a bundle package so you don't have to worry about forgetting anything!

    Mike performed that actual ceremony and it was just wonderful. We got married on Shipwreck's Beach around 4 pm on a gorgeous sunny day. It was pretty hot outside but Mike and Johannes brought water and made sure all of us were comfortable.

    One of the best parts! They do the photography too! While Mike is performing the ceremony, Johannes is taking photos. Then they both take the photos! Our package only called for about 300 photos but we got over 900 at no extra cost!

    Lastly, we hired a ukelele player, Keola, he was absolutely amazing!

    Sent on 04/19/2010
  • M

    Monika · Married on 02/24/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike and Martina, owners of Kauai Island Weddings were spectacular! Our wedding was everything we could have wanted. I would absolutely recommend their services.

    Sent on 03/18/2011
  • G

    Gab's · Married on 03/16/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Unforgettable wedding day in Kauai

    Great organisation including last minute changes for the flowers.

    The team did an awesome job to make our day very special. Everything was perfect!

    Sent on 03/21/2019

    Kauai Island Weddings's reply:

    Aloha Gaby,

    Thank you for your kind words, having couples like you and Eamon, made it a wonderful day for us as well.

    Congratulations on your Wedding.

    Mike Hough CEO.
  • S

    Sheri · Married on 07/19/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experience with Kauai Island Wedding on
    7-19-17 was absolutely amazingly spectacular! I can't thank them enough, as our day was perfect at Shipswreck Beach! All the staff that I have worked with from literally day one, up until the actual day were all super great, very patient and so informative! So again Thank you much!

    Sheri & Hiram Reyla
    7-19-17

    Sent on 08/11/2017
  • K

    Kaevon · Married on 05/17/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    It has been one month, and we are still raving about our beautiful wedding! The setting, Rev. Todd, the musician, and even the photographer all came together to make for a beautiful and spiritual experience. Our leis and my bouquet were stunning; better than I imagined when I picked them out. Unfortunately I was unable to preserve them but their beauty is forever ingrained in my memory. Our photos were spectacular. I made a slideshow for our friends and family and everyone was floored! Our stay at the Inn was also great. I want to thank the KIW staff for their help and patience with me. There were some things I expected to be different, but what we had was truly wonderful and I would happily do everything all over again!

    Mahalo, Charles and Kaevon Stewart

    Sent on 06/21/2017
  • User4514022 · 2+ years ago

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    We never met our wedding planner and we had to contact him. He only called once when I first put in a request on his website. We were told that a 3 pm wedding would be great for sunset pictures, but the sun didn't start setting until about 6 pm.

    The photographers seemed more excited about the high surf than our wedding. Check out their smugmug pictures because that is exactly what you are going to get. Don't expect anything unique unless you come up with the idea. Feel free to be pushy and tell them what you want. I didn't get a picture of just me or just my groom. If you don't want to be in direct sunlight tell them. If you have a beach you really like, be stubborn and tell them that's the one you want. If you want mostly pictures I would recommend hiring someone to marry you and a professional photographer. My appeal with Kauai Island Weddings was the shared copyright.

    Do not expect your online photo gallery to be posted quickly at all. Ours was finally posted to their smugmug account after we had been married over a month and I had complained.

    I didn't buy my bouquet through Kauai Island Weddings and it was gorgeous. I
    preferred it to the options that were on Kauai Island Wedding's website. Don't feel obligated to buy one of theirs.

    Most licensing agents do not work Saturdays. Please keep this in mind when booking your wedding day. We flew in Friday night and were married on Sunday. Even though I tried booking weeks in advance we had a difficult time trying to find an agent willing to work. When we asked Mike about it he suggested we move our wedding day to Monday. We found one that was willing to meet us Sunday morning. On this note I would recommend not getting married on a weekend. Still as many tourists but less locals so there should be less people. It wasn't too busy for us, but with a high tide there were quite a few surfers around.

    Sent on 10/30/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review