InterContinental The Clement Monterey Reviews

32 | Monterey, CA
See photos, pricing and details

32 Reviews for InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Recommended by 98%

32
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 5.0

12 User photos

InterContinental The Clement Monterey 1
InterContinental The Clement Monterey 2
InterContinental The Clement Monterey 3
InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4
InterContinental The Clement Monterey 5
InterContinental The Clement Monterey 6
InterContinental The Clement Monterey 7
+ 6
Sort by:
  • Alissa

    Alissa · Getting married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue, amazing location, wonderful staff!

    We fell in love with IC Clement as soon as we walked in - I still can't believe we are having our wedding here! Shelly really sealed the deal as far as finalizing our decision - she is incredibly professional and responsive - a dream to work with! We went back for a formal menu tasting and tour of the specific room we will have, and everything was great - I can't wait for our big day!

    Sent on 02/12/2019

    InterContinental The Clement Monterey's reply:

    Thank you Alissa! We appreciate your generous compliments and eagerly anticipate your big day in June. Our team of professionals will ensure a flawless experience!
  • X

    xxx · Married on 10/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shelly (sales manager and onsite coordinator) has been a big help! very responsive to emails, and flexible with our requests. We've been quite lazy, only visited once for menu tasting and still had a beautiful wedding. A few tips:
    1) there was minor mistake for the final payment due to human error, doesn't hurt to double check
    2) on wedding day, on site help was a little bit late as we were trying to set up the arch and chairs before their regular time (noon). stay calm and trust Shelly.
    Overall, we are very happy with our wedding venue choice! Highly recommended!

    Sent on 11/03/2017
    InterContinental The Clement Monterey 8
  • Michelle

    Michelle · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We thoroughly enjoyed working with Cara to plan and execute our reception. We enjoyed the venue so much, we even hosted my bridal shower there. After the wedding and bridal shower, we received very positive feedback from family and friends regarding the food, venue and gorgeous views! We couldn’t be happier with our wedding and loved having it at the Intercontinental!

    Sent on 09/26/2018
  • H

    Hansel · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cara did amazing jobs, She is super friendly and did make sure our wedding went smooth.
    She also really responsive and help us clarify if we have any doubt.
    I'm super lucky to have her help me!

    Sent on 08/06/2018
  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 05/31/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with Shelly and the preferred vendors that we chose. They were amazing, helpful, and our day was absolute perfection. Shelly became like my sister during the planning process. We would not have had a better wedding any place else. Recommended.

    Thank you Shelly and to all of our vendors. Our day was SO magical!

    Sent on 06/03/2018
  • K

    Karen · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a lot of options to review by the time we took an unplanned visit to the Intercontinental. At the time, we were trying to decide between venues in NJ, PA, Carmel, and Laguna Beach. We currently live in PA but had family coming from everywhere but decided to have our wedding here because it fit our lengthly list of wants. Everyone constantly asked if we were stressed with planning from a different coast, but honestly, with Shelly at the Intercon and trustworthy vendors, we had all our questions answered, requests fulfilled, and were able to easily plan a multi-day wedding.
    Location: Mix of outdoor activities (group hike at Point Lobos), proximity to good food/breweries (Carmel, Monterey), airports, family activities (aquarium), etc.
    Service - Impeccable! We were floored by how friendly the staff were since we entered the property for the wedding weekend. Matt and the front desk staff went out of their way to greet our guests with genuine smiles, pass out our goody-bags, accommodate our needs, and help us with random things that came up! We were so sad to leave!
    Planning - Shelly made everything so easy, especially on the day-of! We didn't have to stress about anything - she and the staff at Intercon took care of everything from beginning to end.
    Weather - We were worried, but ended up having perfect weather in the middle of May
    Food - amazing - the food was delicious and we were able to hear from the Chef himself at the tasting! Guests kept complimenting us on the quality of the food (mushroom soup, crab cake, chilean sea bass/filet)
    Lodging - we arranged for a room block (which was stressful to predict at first, but it all ended up working out with Larisa and Arely (wonderful help))
    Value - amazing value! For what we spent on a multi-day "wedding", we would have only been able to host a wedding ceremony/reception in NJ

    Sent on 06/27/2018
  • A

    Audrey · Married on 05/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    (5 nights), Rehearsal and Wedding hosted at the InterContinental Clement. I honestly have nothing but good things to say about our experience and the staff. From the beginning of wedding planning and sussing our venues the Clement was extremely hospitable and professional. I originally had my heart set on another venue but when we saw the facility in person and met the Event Coordinator we decided to keep our options open which lead us to the Clement and meeting Cara. The location, cleanliness of the venue, plenty of available rooms for our guests and luxurious feel made us feel like this was a top contender. My now husband and I both perked up after walking through the doors. Once we met Cara, she put us immediately at ease. She was easy to talk to answered all our questions and was very helpful with our budget concerns. After we decided The Clement was the place for us, we were put in touch with the various departments from Room Coordination to the C Restaurant for our Rehearsal (thank you Thomas and Brett!), both who were incredible! With our guest count constantly changing and folks figuring out what they wanted to do, Arely and Jessika with Room Sales were consistently friendly and patient with my multitude of questions and requests. The C Restaurant was incredibly accommodating. We opted not to host a traditional sit down Rehearsal and did wine/beer and appetizers instead in the Library Room. The staff kept an eye on food and drinks and were good about letting us know when we were close to budget. Leading up to the big day, Cara continued to go above and beyond to help us including what seemed like little things but were big for us as it saved us the 2 hour drive to Monterey which really helped us save time and money. Upon arriving for our big day, the staff was welcoming and ready for our crowd. If you are looking for a wedding or special occasion venue, I would definitely recommend the Clement! The service is excellent and the staff truly goes above and bey

    Sent on 06/22/2018
  • J

    Joane · Married on 04/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding here at Intercontinental The Clement Monterey in April 2018 and I couldn't ask for anything else done differently. I opted to DIY most of our decorations and asked for their staff's help to set it up, and they did really great in executing what I requested for.
    Shelly, our event coordinator, has helped us a lot throughout all our planing and especially on the day itself. She made sure that everything is in order and kept reminding to not worry and everything is in place. She is amazing!
    The food here also was delicious! The team was flexible in ensuring we are satisfied with the menu and everything was great, our guests loved the food. The mushroom soup is to die for!
    Overall, you won't regret choosing this venue, pricing is reasonable, food is great, service is amazing! Definitely recommend!

    Sent on 06/08/2018
    InterContinental The Clement Monterey 9
  • N

    Nagi · Married on 10/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shelly Rodriguez was an ultimate professional and yet became like a member of our family helping us plan and implement our first wedding sangeet celebrations at the Clement. She was just amazing- all around! We loved the clement- service, location, ambiance- our favorite place!

    Sent on 12/09/2017
    InterContinental The Clement Monterey 10
    InterContinental The Clement Monterey 11
    InterContinental The Clement Monterey 12
    InterContinental The Clement Monterey 13
  • I

    Ivy · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shelly Rodriguez was a pleasure to work with. She was always responsive, flexible with our requests, and went above and beyond for us. The venue is in a beautiful location in the heart of Cannery Row with spectacular views of the bay. The food and service was superb too. We highly recommend the InterContinental for your wedding!

    Sent on 10/25/2017
  • K

    Kelli · Married on 09/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shelly was extremely comforting from the initial planning stages; but what struck me most was just how well she managed the day of our wedding. She was incredibly gracious, organized and professional throughout the process and when it came to our Big Day, she was instrumental in making it perfect. I could not imagine our wedding without the tremendous talent and support of Shelly Rodriguez.

    Sent on 10/26/2017
  • Z

    Zachary · Married on 09/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Overall my wife and I were extremely satisfied with the service provided to us by both our wedding coordinator as well as the general staff of the property throughout the entire process. Shelly Rodriguez (wedding coordinator) gave us unparalleled service and from the very beginning, and was very accommodating and caring to our needs and requests. I highly recommend The Intercontinental Clement for any wedding or large group function, as yourself and your party will leave with all smiles. Thank you Shelly!

    Sent on 10/19/2017
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 08/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the second my then fiancè and I walked into the hotel and saw the courtyard patio, we knew we wanted to be married here! From our first meeting with Shelly, she outlined our options and guided us through every step of the weddding planning process. No question was too silly, and for a new bride that helped ease the stress a great deal. Shelly held our hands the entire way, from menu tasting, the rehearsal dinner all the way to our big day! The entire hotel staff were not only professional but kind and friendly too. Our guests thoroughly enjoyed their experience, and continue to tell us to this day how great our wedding was. My husband and I cannot thank the staff of The Clement enough for all their hard work, their attention to detail and their kindness. As for catering manager Shelly Rodriguez, words will never be enough to convey just how amazing and special she was to us. We've gained a friend for life.

    Sent on 11/11/2017
    InterContinental The Clement Monterey 14
    InterContinental The Clement Monterey 15
    InterContinental The Clement Monterey 16
  • Y

    Yun · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Me and my husband truly enjoyed our wedding experience at Intercontinental The Clement Monterey! Shelly, our wedding coordinator was exceptionally wonderful and professional. I highly recommend everyone who wants to get hitched to go there.

    Sent on 09/20/2017
  • R

    Ruby · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got engaged during our stay at this hotel and for me there was never any doubt that it would be a great venue for our wedding as well. Our wedding was amazing not just because of the wonderful venue but the staff as well and my catering manager aka fairy godmother Shelly. She made sure that everything was well taken care of and that my husband and I are stress free at the wedding, I couldn't ask for anything more. Everyone's complementing how beautiful our wedding was.

    Sent on 09/19/2017
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 10/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When looking at venues, I spent a lot of time searching the Monterey Peninsula. We were leaning between The Clement and the Plaza. Although the Plaza had the 180 degree view of the ocean, The Clement had so much more. I have never been into a venue that was so professional, and inviting. Betty Ellen made me feel as if I was the most important person in the world. She was accommodating as my husband to be was stationed over seas and was unable to see the venue before hand. She answered all of our e-mails and phone questions and made several suggestions for us. We appreciated the privacy they provided and allowing our wedding to be intimate and secluded with security guards to stop the pedestrian traffic from walking the board walk around our ceremony. I was worried about this at the plaza. The day of the ceremony, Betty Ellen made sure we had a room to get ready in. Although our room for the night was not ready until very late in the day (it was supposed to be ready around 10am for the guys to get ready in but was not ready until 3pm although we had early check in), this was the only set back. The day of the wedding the weather turned into pouring rain and Betty Ellen gave us the option to move the wedding inside. We opted to stay outside and she was on her hands and knees in the rain pinning down the aisle runner. (Seriously though, who does this)? She had towels for us to dry off with after the ceremony and made sure we were taken care of. I felt so comfortable with Betty Ellen throughout the entire process. Although the venue is a more costly than others on the peninsula, it was well worth it. You are paying for an amazing venue with unbeatable views, customer service which is second to none, and a wedding coordinator who goes above and beyond what is expected to make sure the day is as perfect as possible.

    Sent on 12/17/2016
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 11/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow, what a venue! Everything during the wedding planning process was a breeze, Betty Ellen is amazing! My wedding day went off without a hitch, they were able to execute my vision flawlessly. I would recommend the Intercontinental to anyone!!

    Sent on 02/24/2016
  • S

    Sara · Married on 11/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Betty Ellen helped may our day run smooth and stress-free! From the moment we met her and checked out the options at the InterContinental we knew we were in good hands. Her relaxed approach helped us to make the best decisions without feeling pressured into anything. We loved working with her on all the details; from the layout of the room, to figuring out the food, and all the other communication in between. Our decision to have our wedding reception at InterContinental The Clement Monterey had a lot to do with Betty Ellen and her exceptional service!

    Sent on 07/02/2016
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 01/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used The Clement for both our ceremony and reception, and everything from start to finish was nothing less than fabulous! From the start getting set up with Betty Ellen Salazar as our catering manager was wonderful. She is the most responsive, professional, and organized Catering Manager I could have ever have hoped to work with. She was able to work with us on our special requests and ensuing that everything came together as we requested. The venue itself is spectacular right on the Monterey Peninsula! The food that was served was fabulous, and everyone really enjoyed everything that they ate. But most importantly, they made us feel special, important, and like a part of the family. I feel so lucky we got to work with such an amazing team who really helped turn our day into something amazing and unforgettable for all who attended. Thank you!!!

    Sent on 01/26/2015
  • User2130754 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful ceremony site with a great view overlooking the ocean without having to worry about my heels sinking into the grass or sand. The ballrooms were so nice and can see the ocean as well. Nicole and Betty Ellen were such a pleasure to work with and so great with all the details. April and the wait staff took such good care of us during the reception. Our guests loved the food and we got so many compliments how delicious it was.

    They had a room that was great for me and my bridesmaids to get ready in. It had couches, mirrors, and a murphy bed that can be folded up so we had space for all of our stuff and people. We got a suite and it was another great place to get ready in, hang out, relax, and enjoy the view from the balcony. The bed was so comfortable that we wished we stayed more nights there. We got so many gorgeous wedding pictures because there are so many beautiful places in and around the hotel.

    The hotel staff was absolutely wonderful and took such great care of us! Thank you to the staff at Intercontinental The Clement Monterey for such an awesome wedding!

    Sent on 08/25/2012
  • I

    Iris · Married on 03/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Level of service was TOP-NOTCH, ATTENTIVE, and PROFESSIONAL. My husband and I could not have been happier. I was sooo very glad and happy that we had our wedding reception at the Clement Monterey. The catering manager, Nicole Lisanne, and her team were AWESOME. She was very detail-oriented and paid very close attention to my every need, and as a bride, we all know how important that is! Every time we met with Nicole, she had all of her questions and suggestions ready. She was always prepared. And every time we emailed her with questions, she always responded promptly.

    In the middle of 2011, Jerome and I fell in love with the scenery and the ambiance of the Clement hotel. But of course, it was veryyyyy expensive. So we had decided to look elsewhere. Almost a year later, my husband gets an email from Nicole Lisanne, inquiring about our wedding plans. He had written to her that we could not afford such a place. But she really worked with our budget and gave us different options. She even sent us a whole timeline in the email that she wrote back to us.

    Because of our tight budget, we ended up with chicken/vegetarian for 170 guests. Surprisingly, the food was GREAT. A lot of our guests raved about how it was the best wedding food that they had.

    As you know, there are a lot of LITTLE things in a wedding such as setting up party favors, menus, engagement photos for display, etc. Because I was walking down the aisle elsewhere, I was not able to set up my own tables. While I was stressing out, trying to figure out a solution, Nicole was kind enough to take over and set up the tables for me. When we came back to the hotel for the reception, I was worried as to what the tables, decor, room, i.e. would look like. But mannnn... when I stepped into the ballroom, I was totally WOW'ed. Everything was perfect. Nicole and her staff are very dependable. They really made sure that all vendors (cupcake lady, florist, and DJ) set up in time.

    They just took real good care of us. I had to go back and forth between the hotel (Monterey) and Salinas, which was where I had to get my hair done. Every time I approached the valet personnel and mentioned that I was the bride, they quickly brought out the car and took real care. They were always smiling and saying things like "congratulations," "have a great day," or "hope you enjoy the Clement." The staff being so nice and attentive really made a bride feel like a "bride." It was definitely a special day.

    I can go on and on about how great the Clement is. I really recommend the Clement as a wedding venue. It really is a special place for a special event.

    Sent on 04/17/2012
  • K

    Kristina · Married on 09/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The hotel was beautiful, so we didn't have to do any decorating. Their staff was so organized that all the planning was easy and the wedding day went off without a hitch. The food was also delicious and filling. All of our guests were extremely happy with the food. It was such a pleasure to work with them

    Sent on 10/03/2011
  • A

    Amber · Married on 06/02/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having our wedding at the Intercontinental The Clement Monterey! It was a beautiful venue, and everything we hoped for! The Intercontinental was flexible and allowed us to make some last minute changes which we truly appreciated. Shelly was a pleasure to work with and we felt confident and relaxed with her in charge. We would highly recommend the Intercontinental to other couples and can't wait to come back and celebrate our 1 year anniversary!

    Sent on 10/22/2017
  • R

    ron · Married on 05/12/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Shelly the wedding co-ordinator was very helpful in the entire process. It was smooth and we loved how Shelly managed everything. Shelly has amazing managing skills. The venue was lovely and all my guests loved it.
    But we were little disappointed with lot of tourists coming in from the sides and asking to take pictures and also appeared in some of our photographs in the background. I was told there wont be any outsider during the wedding ceremony in the morning, but still there were a number of people in the background walking, skateboarding, taking photographs .

    Sent on 06/20/2018

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review