InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile Reviews

59 | Chicago, IL
See photos, pricing and details

59 Reviews for InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile

Recommended by 98%

59
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9
59 InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile Reviews
Sort by:
  • B

    B · Married on 08/18/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I searched several venues for our wedding in Chicago and are so happy we found the perfect one at the Intercontinenal Hotel. Our wedding exceeded all our expectations. First and foremost, we need to thank the event coordinator Chris Schmidt. He promptly responded to the nearly 100 e-mails we sent him, as my wife were indecisive in picking a wedding day/ballroom/menu, etc. Despite our indecisiveness, he was always friendly and professional. He made our food tasting a fun experience and offered many helpful tips (like to serve the lobster bisque!) so we could personalize a delicious dinner menu. The food and service are incredible! The lollipop lamb chops and mini beef wellingtons were a hit with everyone. The filet mignon was seasoned and cooked perfectly to the quality of a Chicago steakhouse, not the generic bland piece of beef one usually gets at a banquet. We had our ceremony and reception in the King Arthur ballroom. The room has such beautiful woodwork and decoration and a magnificent stained glass window in front that we needed to do minimal decoration. The hotel has an elegant, historic vibe but has also been tastefully modernized so all our guests loved the stay. The location cannot be beat, as we just needed to walk across the street to take photos along the Chicago river. A final added perk is that the wedding packages include a cake from Cake in Chicago, which hands down made the best tasting cake we’ve ever had. The all-inclusive wedding package takes away a lot of the stress of planning and is really an amazing value. A big thanks to Chris and all the other staff at Intercontinental for making our wedding even better than we could dream it to be.

  • G

    Gabby · Married on 06/09/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having our wedding at Intercontinental was absolutely AMAZING! We worked with Chris from the very beginning and we could not have been happier. He was great to work with. He was always very quick to respond to all of my emails and was very accommodating and made sure all of my requests were fulfilled. I am so happy we got to work with him because he made everything 100x better! He made sure all of our needs were met and that everything ran smoothly. I would absolutely recommend the Intercontinental to someone looking for a wedding venue. Everyone I worked with was absolutely amazing!

  • K

    Kim · Married on 04/21/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough positive things about the InterContinental and the service provided to us. They made our wedding a dream come true! Tara Hubbard made what easily could’ve been a stressful process easy from the start. She was detail oriented, professional, always responded timely to our inquiries, and fun to work with. She listened to our vision and perfected making it a reality. Her experience in the wedding industry was extremely helpful as she provided us with a lot of insight and suggestions. Our other vendors went out of their way to comment on how much they enjoyed working with her as well. Our entire family was very impressed with the service they received from the InterContinental and how beautiful the venue was. I honestly could not have been happier with the InterContinental and would highly recommend hosting a wedding there.

  • S

    Sara · Married on 04/14/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding ceremony and reception were both in the Renaissance Room at the InterContinental Chicago this past April - and it was amazing!! The venue is absolutely beautiful, the food was top notch, and the IC team is wonderful!

    During our venue search, we knew the IC was the one for us as soon as we stepped into the Renaissance Room. Beautiful wood beams, chandeliers, character, and history created this warm feeling that was fit for a wedding. Most of the other hotel ballrooms we visited felt sterile or business-y, whereas this one felt so special and meaningful. We were in love!

    From there, we quickly learned that Tara was an absolute joy to work with. She took the time to get to know us, was always quick & thorough to reply to my (many) email questions throughout the entire planning process, and went above & beyond when it came to our tasting, menu selection, last minute details & changes, and final walk-through. On the wedding weekend itself, Tara was present throughout - from the rehearsal, to helping with our rooms, to the wedding day & evening. She was an incredible partner with our wedding coordinator and vendors, and we were always so reassured knowing that Tara was on our team.

    Next, the food! You always hear about "typical hotel banquet food" but the IC was nothing like that. Everything at the tasting was so delicious that we could barely choose! The presentation was so professional, too. Our guests were raving about the food during the night, and I still have friends telling me how good it was and how FULL they were!

    As for the hotel itself, it really can't be beat! Located in the heart of it all right on Michigan Avenue, it was perfect for our out-of-town guests to get a feel for the city. The hotel is beautiful inside with tons of great spots for photos, MJ's bar downstairs for late night party, etc.

    THANK YOU Tara and the IC team! You made our wedding dreams come true!

  • L

    Liz · Married on 08/12/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The InterContinental is the perfect place to have a wedding. The venue is so so beautiful, and there are so many lovely places to take photos, inside and nearby the hotel. The staff is exquisite. You can tell that everyone there is dedicated to making this event special. Tara was amazing to work with. The food was so delicious, we got so many compliments from our guests.

  • J

    Jeannie · Married on 07/15/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If wedding wire allowed for 6 stars out of 5 I would give it to Chris Schmidt and his incredible team. The venue, the food , the service everything was impeccable. From check in to check out, in my bridal gown or in my pajamas running through the lobby our family and guests were treated like royalty. I can't recommend this place enough if you want a fairy tale wedding that will take your guest's breath away just by entering the ballrooms. Thank you Chris and team for making our wedding the most special day of our lives!

  • S

    Sara · Married on 07/01/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the wedding of our dreams in the Renaissance Ballroom at the Intercontinental Mag Mile on July 1, 2017! After visiting many venues in the city and suburbs, the Intercontinental was the only one that checked all of our boxes and offered a strong value for the cost. The staff simply won us over with their professionalism and approachability. Searching and vetting venues was one of the biggest wedding planning tasks, but once we found the Intercontinental, it was smooth sailing. Chris and his team are so well organized, that you can basically go on auto-pilot and let them guide you through every step along the way. Chris was flexible in making some of our special requests a reality and every single detail was executed flawlessly. Our guests described our reception as "magical" and we received SO many compliments on how kind and helpful all of the staff at the hotel were. From the bell men to the front desk and wedding service staff, everyone was on point and worked seamlessly with all of our wedding vendors. We are so happy we found the Intercontinental and would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a quintissential Chicago wedding venue!

  • L

    Liliana · Married on 06/17/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing wedding at the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile, with superb attention to detail in every aspect! All our guests told us that the organization, meals, drinks, environment and service were top notch and perfectly executed. We are extremely happy with the wedding and very grateful for all the support and hard work of Chris Schmidt and his team! In addition to the wonderful venue the hotel has to offer, we selected the InterContinental Chicago because of Chris Schmidt; he is detail oriented, patient and has vast experience working with couples to create their dream wedding.

  • A

    Arman · Married on 04/15/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best venue and staff. The attention to detail and just the attention is unprecedented. Had a major wedding with my oldest daughter 10 years ago with another venue in Chicago of a high quality which was commensurate with the expectations. The staff and venue at IHG was excessive beyond expectation.

  • D

    Drew · Married on 04/15/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was a dream and everything we imagined it to be! Thank you to the Intercontinental for making this all come true. Our food, beverage, service, and all other details were 100% spot on. We are still getting comments from guests that it was the best wedding they have ever been to and the best wedding food ever! Never expected anything less, if you are a bride and groom that want to relax and enjoy your wedding day... I highly recommend The Intercontinental Chicago!!! Especially Chris Schmidt Director or Catering!!!!!

  • M

    Mitra · Married on 03/25/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our coordinator Steve Sleczka was wonderful. The whole experience will hotel and staff was great for my daughter's wedding. Food and service was amazing.

  • J

    Jeff · Married on 03/04/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris, the coordinator, was fantastic. Very professional and fulfilled ALL our needs.
    Highly recommend this venue for a wedding, the best I've ever been to, glad it was ours!

  • D

    David · Married on 01/15/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue and Steve in catering was a pleasure to work. All of the hotel personnel went out of their way to make our wedding a success. It is very rare to go to an event where people rave about the food, but the food at our event was wonderful.

  • K

    Kathy · Married on 12/17/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue and the person that we worked with, Chris Schmidt, was outstanding! We couldn't have been happier with the way everything turned out; great attention to detail; the room was beautiful; and the food was delicious! Certainly not your ordinary wedding fare! I would recommend this venue to anyone looking for a beautiful and sophisticated room--with highly professional staff and excellent food and beverage services.

  • K

    Katie · Married on 12/10/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The InterContinental helped to create my dream wedding! Everyone person we worked with from the coordinator to the bellhop, was responsive, friendly, and professional! Chris (director of catering) went above and beyond to help us in anyway possible! Guest were also very impressed by the delicious food served at the wedding! I would highly recommend The InterContinental for any event!

  • Nikole

    Nikole · Married on 10/08/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best experience I could have asked for. The venue, staff, and atmosphere where absolutely perfect. Fairy tale wedding to say the least. Steve, the coordinator, was fantastic. Our guests loved the food and cake, we received tons of compliments on them. No regrets whatsoever, wish I could do it all over again.

  • F

    fanchon · Married on 09/21/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Hotel Coordinator< Chris Schmidt, was the best> Tell him whats important to you and he listens attentively
    He was always there for us, responding ASAP to any question we had
    The food was outstanding and the service impeccable The party was filled with guests who have been to numerous
    weddings, and they all complimented the food and the service. Tara, in guest services did a great job in coordination rooms with all our out of town guests.
    And our Brunch was perfect because of Chris and his food selections and his suggestions,
    Our wedding www in the Renaissance Room which is gorgeous and well cared for!!

  • E

    Erin · Married on 09/10/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Renaissance Room at the Intercontinental was the absolute perfect location for our wedding reception! Countless guests commented on how our wedding was one of the best they've ever attended - that's all thanks to Chris Schmidt and his fantastic team. Everyone at the Intercontinental - from the Catering department to Tara who handled our room bookings to the bellmen - could not have done a better, classier job handling our every need and making us feel so welcome, respected and prioritized. Chris was quick to respond to any and all questions throughout our wedding planning process, provided honest suggestions and advice, was extremely organized and worked very well with our month-of-wedding planner. The food was absolutely delicious, the service was first-class and the room looked truly magical. The InterContinental exceeded our expectations in every way and we couldn't recommend it more!

  • User6095558 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our day was perfect! I could not have asked for a better team at the InterContinental. Chris really paid attention to the details. Everything ran so smoothly. We received so many compliments on the food and how quickly it came out.

  • D

    Dennis · Married on 08/06/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was 4 weeks ago and we are still getting compliments from guests that it was the best reception they have ever been to. The top 3 reasons we’ve heard: the food was the best wedding dinner they’ve ever had (the beef short rib option was ridiculously good), the ballroom was gorgeous (the photo’s prove it with every angle from the balcony surrounding the room), and the cocktail hour hors d’oeuvres were awesome (they were, so were the drinks!). Chris Schmidt was our contact and was absolutely amazing to work with, he helped us every step of the way. The InterContinental and their catering and serving staff exceeded all our expectations, and obviously our guest’s too. We could not imagine a better venue for a wedding reception than the InterContinental’s Grand Ballroom.

  • E

    EMily · Married on 07/16/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris and his team were absolutely incredible to work with. They helped up have the wedding of our dreams. We worked together for over a year and he was always very quick to get back to me. He was easy to work with and full suggestions or helpful advice when I needed it. The day of our wedding was beautiful! His team made the Grand Ballroom look amazing. They were ready to greet our guests 10 min before our cocktail hour started with sparkling wine and water. They were constantly floating around with appetizers and our personalized napkins. Once we entered the reception, all the guests were stunned by the beauty of the room and set-up as well. The food was divine. It was served to everyone at the same time (or pretty close to it) and we had 246 guests! Their staff is incredibly kind and accommodating and Chris made sure that my husband and I ate dinner, as this is something I was worried we wouldn't have time to do- and boy was I happy we did! The food was DELISH! Chris is a dream to work with! Look no further but the Intercon for your next event!

  • User6919332 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hosting my wedding at the Intercontinential Magnificent Mile was an excellent choice! Working with the Director of Catering Chris S was a fabulous experience and he really helped me navigate the decisions and timeline of the wedding. I had an excellent wedding planner who worked seamlessly with Chris and his IHG staff. The venue is beautiful, classic, and excellent. The guest rooms were large and the room block was a great value for our guests as all but a few were traveling from across the US and various countries. We also received IHG points!!! My guests raved about the food and how well/smoothly the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception were delivered ALL at the hotel!!!

  • L

    linda · Married on 09/26/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris Schmidt was so helpful and accommodating! We looked at other venues and were impressed by his knowledge and ideas. He was there in every stage of planning and was there on my daughter's wedding day supervising.

  • User4170614 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Intercontinental was just perfect! Chris Schmidt, Director of Catering, is the BEST. He was very responsive and worked with us with every step. The food was outstanding and the service was perfect.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review