Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina Reviews

16 | San Diego, CA
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina

Recommended by 95% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

16

3 User photos

Sort by:
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 03/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Hyatt provided the best bang for our buck! We selected a wedding package that included a cake from Flour Power (they are awesome), upgraded linen & chiavari chairs from Concepts, as well as many other perks! We rented the Regatta pavilion which had beautiful chandeliers The food was excellent and the events manager, Jay Shapiro, was seriously the best! She made everything pleasant and easy for planning my wedding at the Hyatt!!!

    Sent on 03/26/2018
  • S

    Sally · Married on 03/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved everything about this venue and our wedding here. Was super happy with everything from the day we saw it until our wedding day. Highly recommend and we got Great photos at the venue and surrounding areas.

    Sent on 05/31/2018
  • J

    Jeanisa · Married on 01/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the first meeting to the wedding day, Jay was absolutely great to work with, knowledgeable, professional and attention to detail. The food was amazing and all our details where better than we ever imagined. We are truly over the moon on how our wedding day turned out! Now we have a new reason to visit every year!

    Sent on 02/12/2018
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I just got married at the Hyatt Mission Bay on July 9th and we had the most incredible experience! Our ceremony was held at Banyon court and followed by cocktail hour just outside of Mission Ballroom and the reception inside Mission Ballroom. The area is beautiful and the food was truly spectacular. It is not often people rave about the food at a wedding but with such a tasty menu, how could you not?! We received multiple comments from friends and family on the food.

    One reason we chose to get married at the Hyatt is that about 90% of our friends and family were coming in from either Indiana and CT so it was important for us that the resort feel like a true vacation. The multiple water slides, the great bar and pool and all the amenities worked perfectly for this. The rooms were great...especially the bridal suite. I had a hair and make up team come to the suite to get us all ready and it was great to have such a spacious room for that to happen in. And the view of the bay was beautiful.

    While the evening went incredibly well, what truly made the Hyatt worth every penny was our event coordinator. We worked very closely with Christina in the months leading up to the wedding to make sure everything went smoothly. She was so incredibly professional. I always got prompt responses to my many, many emails and questions, she was beyond friendly and we were always greeted by her with a huge smile. We had a very short engagement (5 months) and I was never the little girl who planned her dream wedding so to say my husband and I were going in blind on this is an understatement but Christina was always patient and helpful during the planning process and made for an actually enjoyable experience!!

    Sent on 07/18/2016
  • User2926266 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful location that was very helpful throughout our entire reception planning process. Everything they said they would do they did, not just empty promises. The food was wonderful and everyone was satisfied. Our only issue was a few days before the wedding they told us another event was booked in our hall and ended only an hour before ours started so it gave a lot of our vendors little time to flip the room. In the end it all worked out fine and nobody new the difference. We had a great time and Hyatt took great care of us during our honeymoon as well.

    Sent on 09/08/2014
  • User3744422 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I think we really got the biggest bang for our buck. The Hyatt was always very responsive and the final product was lovely. Check them out!

    Sent on 07/19/2014
  • User3384806 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Hyatt was FANTASTIC! They were so accommodating, the food was fantastic, and Hilary was so responsive throughout the entire process. They made everything EASY! I would have my wedding here over and over again!

    Sent on 06/05/2014
  • F

    Francine · Married on 11/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The experience I had with the Hyatt Regency Mission Bay was absolutely fabulous! We utilized the Cabana Lawn for the ceremony and the Pavilion tent (seasonal) for cocktail hour and reception in addition to room blocking approximately 25 guest rooms. The staff was so helpful and accommodating. They placed directional signage the day of the wedding and also had staff directing guests to the locations.

    Hillary, the Catering Manager, was always quick to respond to all of my detailed questions and concerns, which I appreciate so much! She also was very helpful in making recommendations for the overall event.

    The Pavilion tent was absolutely stunning and the sunsetting during the reception was perfect. The chandeliers and the draping of the fabric really created the romance I was looking for that I could not get with a traditional ballroom. Sidenote: The banquet chairs they had were very nice, modern, grey fabric.

    The food was wonderful! The best decision we made with food was to do the Risotto Station with a chef. The presentation stations were a great value and with the risotto station and the tri-tip station, we had plenty of food and sufficient options. We also had a birthday cake brought out by the staff to my grandmother, and they were ready and waiting to bring the surprise cake out.

    Overall, I was extremely happy with the service, staff, hotel grounds and accommodations.

    Sent on 12/28/2013
  • A

    Amy · Married on 04/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hillary and her team were responsive, easy to work with and all around made the day amazing!!

    Sent on 04/29/2013
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I want to thank Brigid, the catering manager, and the Hyatt for making my reception amazing!

    Part of the reason why I originally decided to go with the Hyatt for my reception was Brigid. Not only did I get along with her, she made me feel like they wanted and valued my business. After my initial walk through, she prepared countless cost estimates to help me fit in the ballroom I wanted at a price I could afford. When I was taking some time to decide between venues, she treated me to lunch, since she knew food was a priority to me.

    The food was great! I received many compliments from my guests on that. Beyond that the service I received was above and beyond. Any issues I had, which were few and far between, were resolved quickly. I also appreciated how flexible up to the final guarantee they were. I changed my mind several times and each time received a "no problem, we can do that." I love a place that works hard to make sure everything was right.

    I really feel that going with the Hyatt provided an essential element to having a great wedding!

    Sent on 06/27/2012
  • A

    Anabel · Married on 04/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful reception & ceremony sites, AMAZING customer service. The catering manager there was on it!!!!

    Sent on 04/27/2012
  • blushingbride

    Lindsey · Married on 04/23/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this place. I worked with Hilary and she did everything in her power to help make this day so wonderful and beautiful. I dont know how many time i emailed, called and met with hilary to plan my wedding. and she helped me without any hesitation. My family loved the hotel grounds and it was the perfect place to spend the weekend. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone getting married.

    Sent on 05/20/2010
  • N

    Michelle · Married on 08/30/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The service level was beyond our expectations. The catering manager answered all of our questions on the spot, or excused herself momentarily to find us answers. She was always professional and just fabulous! She and her staff set the room beautifully with the linens, favors and place cards. She acted as my day of planner and took care of everything. The wait and bar staff were polished and quick to serve our guests. We even had to send one bartender home early because they were so efficient! Many of our guests stayed at the hotel and I had rented a cabana the following afternoon. It was so much fun to have all of our friends and family hanging out at the pool (with drinks of course)- we kept the party going an extra day before going to Tahiti. I highly recommend this venue - they helped ensure our "wedding weekend" was perfect!!

    Sent on 10/09/2008
  • N

    Nicci · Married on 06/04/2016

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I have mixed feelings about the Hyatt. I have to say, our wedding turn out absolutely beautiful and perfectly, however the amount of stress and hoops that I had to jump through to get there was insane. I went through 3 different coordinators through our engagement. We did book the place fairly early, a little over a year before our date. The first issue that we had was the room block. I've never been married before or booked a room block and it was just not explained to my parents and me properly. I made it very clear several times that we didn't fully understand but no one actually helped us. Once we finally got Hillary as our coordinator, she took the reigns and helped us. The only thing that I disliked was the fact that very few that had booked through the block got to stay in the tower near us. We had to shuffle around a couple of times because there was a terrible smell in some of our guests' rooms (which is pretty embarrassing). Hillary was great though and pretty much made all of our problems go away! When we did a walk through of the property about 6 mos after booking, I noticed that several of the chandeliers (we had the reception in the pavilion, which has 6 chandeliers) were broken and had been duct taped back together. I freaked out. I spoke with Hillary and she promised me she would take care it and she had them replaced and got us 6 of the most beautiful crystal chandeliers. They made the room! The food was great and the service was great. If Hillary had been my point of contact from the beginning, I'm pretty sure that I would be giving the Hyatt 5 stars. Moral of the story is-- ask for Hillary to be your coordinator!!!

    Sent on 06/23/2016
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 04/15/2018

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Beautiful venue & very friendly staff. Just get everything in writing when it comes to things that pertain to any contracts & make sure you have a great planner to make sure that everything happens the way you want the day of.

    Sent on 04/29/2018
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 10/05/2013

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Beautiful location. We couldn't be happier with the Banyan Tree Court and Lawn area for our wedding and would recommend it before any other area at the Hyatt. It was beautiful and guests loved it. The layout is perfect. The cocktail hour was in the cabana area and it was just as perfect. Our ceremony and reception were in the best location we have seen for weddings yet! The food at the Hyatt Mission Bay is of the best quality catering we had tried. Do not assume because you are at a hotel it will be lacking. All of our guests loved everything. From the appetizers to the salads to the dinner!

    Two issues:
    We had issues with room booking and weren't happy with the Hyatt's planning on that part. They showed us only the beautiful suites. We were sold! Then when we booked our room block it was for the cheap musty rooms we had never seen. When we called them on this AFTER WE SIGNED OUR CONTRACT they just said: you signed up for double and single occupancy rooms. Why would you show people beautiful suites in the tower and then give them different rooms for their block? Please plan ahead and ask them to see ALL rooms, especially the ones that end up as your block.

    Second issue:
    We brought in our own wine to save on alcohol costs but they only served our wine at dinner. Which means we paid for THEIR wine during the reception and we took home 16 bottles of our own wine. That is totally unacceptable. They were suppose to use our wine the entire time and then switch to their wine when ours was used up. This caused us to pay double for wine.

    So as a bride or groom make sure you check EVERYTHING. Don't assume anything!

    Sent on 11/10/2013