Goen South Reviews

22 | San Antonio, TX
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for Goen South

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

22
Order by:
  • User4390873 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    2 weeks away from my wedding day and I didn't have a florist. But one phone call to Morris was all it took. There was no hassle, no back and fourth of what I wanted, all I did was show them a few pictures and they did the rest. The centerpieces and bouquets came put more BEAUTIFUL than I could imagine. Thank you!

    Sent on 01/06/2015
  • L

    Laura · Married on 11/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Goen South and April did a FABULOUS job at making our big day perfect. They decorated the ceremony and reception and picked the most beautiful floral arrangements I had ever seen!! April also helped me the week of the wedding to organize every little detail that I didn't even realize I needed to know! She was amazing...she's a wonderful woman!! Goen South is worth every penny!

    Sent on 11/28/2014
  • H

    Heather · Married on 05/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Goen South provided our lighting, dance floor, a week of coordinator & most importantly our flowers. They were very flexible in what our needs were as they were constantly changing. Their coordinator even went out of her way to meet the bridal couple prior the the ceremony on a Sunday as that was the only time available. She did a wonderful job of making sure everything went according to plans. Even after the ceremony she volunteered to place some flowers in a nursing home close to her home as I was not able to do anything with the flowers. She was also very knowledgable and professional. The flowers were absolutely what we asked for. I would highly recommend them for another event.

    Sent on 05/19/2014
  • J

    Janice · Married on 09/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is our second adventure of a daughter getting married and Goen
    South providing photography. The artistry is unmatched. Awesome
    photos of 1st daughter and this last wedding on Sept 15 was also
    amazing. Such time was taken with the Bridal Portrait. Laurie captured
    the essence of my daughter and the joyful scooping up of her veil made
    an exquisite bridal portrait. Got tons of compliments about it being so
    real, different and beautiful! My daughter was not tense for her photos
    but rather, had fun! Newspaper loved the photo for them, as well!

    Sent on 09/24/2013
  • User3354078 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best! You need not worry about anything! They were very helpful and on time.

    Sent on 06/26/2013
  • A

    Abby · Married on 04/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Goen South for all of our flowers, linens, centerpieces and other decorations needed. I had a specific look I wanted and had met with other companies but then I saw Goen South's booth at a bridal expo and felt like I was walking into my own wedding reception. Morris just understood the overall look I was going for and did an AMAZING job executing it. What I also liked was that I gave him a budget, mentioned everything I wanted and then he did his magic from there. It was nice to be able to trust someone and not feel like all they were seeing was dollar signs and try to up-sell you on everything. I remember walking into our reception ballroom before the guests had entered and being amazed at how great it all looked. It was also very nice to have 1 company handling all of those things. That way you don't have to worry about who is delivering flowers, linens and so on...it was just one company doing it all.

    I would definitely recommend and use Goen South again! :)

    Sent on 06/26/2013
  • User3456139 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0




    Hi Christen,

    I just wanted to Thank You, and Morris for creating a gorgeous wedding! It was unbelievable! So many people wanted to know who did the work, and I gladly gave you a glowing referral. We had many people tell us that it was the most beautiful wedding! Not only did you do a wonderful job with the decor, I never had to worry about depending on you. Your competence, opinion,and promptness was so very appreciated, you went we'll above expectations! Thanks Again!

    Sent on 08/10/2013
  • R

    Rachael · Married on 03/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow, what an awesome photographer! Morris came to our rescue after our original photographer canceled the day of our engagement shoot. We met with Morris, who came highly recommended from our wedding location (Lambermont Events), and immediately felt at ease with him. To say he is a great photographer isn't enough praise-he took plenty of candid photos that captured the emotions and beauty of the day in combination with the posed shots of the bridal party, etc. He gave our wedding photos a very artistic touch, and they felt like us-I am a professional artist and my husband is also a very creative photographer in his spare time. Morris was able to work around our tight schedule for the engagement shoot (thank you thank you!) and delivered the cd of images quickly so we could send out our save the dates. On the day of our wedding, he arrived to take photograph the bridal party getting ready, and he took lots of detail shots of our decor and setting. All of our pictures came out beautifully, and were expertly composed by Goen South. Our album is in an online gallery so guests can look through them, and we were given a disc of images from Goen South. The prints included in our package are also very high quality. So awesome.

    Sent on 06/24/2013
  • User2211547 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This vendor was really helpful and so understanding of all my needs and wants. They were very kind and were with me every step of the way! Loved them!

    Sent on 02/14/2013
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 05/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Morris was an amazing person to work with. His vision was more creative and beautiful than we had ever imagined. He made all of us feel extremely special. It helped tremendously to have him in charge of flowers, photography, and videography, as well as table and chair rental, linens, and incredible lighting. It is well worth putting all your faith in Morris. We would highly recommend using Goen South when planning your next event.

    Sent on 05/16/2012
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 05/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Morris Goen and his team were the most amazing people to work with for the most important day of my life! I felt so content and peaceful on my wedding day having complete confidence and trust in the vision that we had created with Goen South for our ceremony and reception. I cannot thank you enough for making a memorable day so unforgettable for our family and friends- everyone told us it was the most spectacular wedding they had ever seen or attended! What a compliment!! Each small and thoughtful detail was noticed and appreciated by our guests. It is this thoughtfulness that puts Goen South in a category all their own in personal attentiveness and service! Thank you again Morris and company!!!

    Sent on 06/08/2012
  • Estela and Ruben

    Estela and Ruben · Married on 01/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Used them for my DJ service - Dan was the man! The dance floor was never empty, he went above and beyond his services. Thank you!

    Sent on 03/29/2012
  • T

    Tasha · Married on 12/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    How very amazing! The pictures were phenomenal! Our original photography flaked out on us and we called Goen Photography the day of and 1 hour prior to our ceremony. He showed up quickly and took amazing pictures! His staff was very helpful and accommodating. If anyone is looking for a photographer in the San Antonio area I would highly recommend Goen Photography for their pricing, attitudes, and quality of pictures!

    Sent on 02/22/2012
  • L

    Larissa · Married on 04/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They gave me a great deal for my photography. Haven't seen it yet, takes about 6 weeks. The photogragher was Terry Goen, and she did everything she could to take the shots that meant the most. I can't wait to see them and would recommend them to anyone. They also offer other services but I only used Goen South for photography, because of a fantastic special they were running in 2009 and that I was able to take advantage of. Everyone there is great!

    Sent on 05/01/2010
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 07/19/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We ended up with the most amazing pictures. Everyone was extremely nice and helpful with many good ideas. I worked with the owner, Morris, and he is awesome. They made sure to get everything that I needed, helped me with ideas and my venue, and I even used their wedding planner, Carey. I couldn't have done it without her on my wedding day. Goen South also was my florist. I have had tons of people tell me that it was the most beautiful wedding they have seen. My bouquet was all pink orchids and every table had vases full of submerged orchids and candles...along with my alter pieces that were huge vases filled with water, river rocks and orchids. They are definitely worth the money that you will spend in the end. They even stayed the next day and took pictures of the whole wedding party dressed in their attire jumping in the lake! It was beyond words!

    Sent on 10/17/2008
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 02/29/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't know what I would have done without Carey by my side. I'm a HUGE planner, and tried to plan everything on my own, and realized I was so behind on what needed to be done...and then Carey stepped in and made it seem like it wasn't a big deal. She never once let me believe that we weren't going to meet our deadline. She didn't let me panic when one of my bridesmaids called me two weeks before the wedding and told me she wasn't going to be able to make it. Carey merely told me that she did a wedding the weekend before with two bridesmaids and five groomsmen...so not a big deal. I LOVED having her at the wedding and never once worrying about whether we were on time, or whether or not we were going to get everything done. The entire reception ran like clockwork. I saw everyone starting to gather outside to light the sparklers for our BIG FINALE...but I was still taking pictures with some old friends. I ran to Carey and said "Am I late? What do I need to do?" and she made me laugh when she said "Are you kidding? This is YOUR wedding, you have all the time in the world. Go get another drink if you need it. Your guests will wait." That's when I officially knew that I had the best wedding planner EVER!!!

    Sent on 04/08/2008
  • D

    Diana · Married on 10/27/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Morris is by the far the greatest man ever and his staff is wonderful. They made me feel so at ease. I loved having them with me on my wedding day.

    Sent on 11/16/2009
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 07/07/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Morris Goen is AMAZING!!

    Sent on 10/19/2007
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 11/14/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely LOVED them! I would have used them for a lot more but our budget couldn't take it. Carlos and Alexandra were great! I didn't get to see them the day of (I believe only Carlos was there though) but the ceremony site and reception room looked great! Carlos has a great eye and can really envision what you are wanting. And Alexandra was quick with her replies and really helped us get what we wanted without getting way off budget.

    Sent on 01/15/2016
  • J

    Joan · Married on 03/12/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I now have two best FRIENDS in San Antonio. That was my take away from using Goen South to plan my wedding. Morris and Nikki treated me us like their family, going the extra mile, helping out, and over-the-top professionalism.
    Very well organized and experienced. This is an ideal planner for both the ultra specific and the laid back couple. We were both. Morris and his team answered the phone within the first 2 rings every time! Couln't ask for more responsiveness. I felt as if I were his only client.
    Special requests were handled as if he had done it before no matter how unique. From assistance with poem writting to the need for a crane to move the alter his team had it covered and the contacts to do whatever was needed.
    Nikki and his whole team made our special event the "best wedding ever" in the opinion of all of our guests. She, especially, should be a request of yours. Her energy and personal sense of service were awesome and comforting to the bride!
    We plan on using GoenSouth again for our renunions and other events, we will just spend more time upfront with the photgrapher. Sit down with the photgrapher! Everybody expects something different and without direction she will try to hit the middle of the road. It is important that you tell her what you don't want and what your style is.
    -Joan and Will

    Sent on 08/05/2012
  • H

    Heather · Married on 09/15/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Goen South Photography is unmatched in San Antonio. My sister used them, when she got married. However, I had to look into many photographers before deciding on Goen South. I was overwhelmed with the perfection of my bridal portraits. The pictures were beautiful and they caught my personality. My photographer, Laurie, made me feel so at ease throughout the whole process.
    The day of the wedding I felt like Laurie was capturing the moments without interrupting the flow of the ceremony, after ceremony, and reception. I could go on and on about how much I love Goen South Photography and my photographer, Laurie.
    Thanks again for all of your hard work!
    ~Heather Lovelady

    Sent on 10/04/2013
  • C

    Christina · Married on 04/21/2006

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Goen South took the video footage of our wedding day. They did a very good job and got some great material, but the final edited product was less than exceptional. They mixed up a song that we submitted, and the overall quality was just good. When we contacted them to correct our CD, it took weeks of emails to make a connection and receive our product. I have heard wonderful things about their photography, although I just used them for videography. I would suggest interviewing a few videographers, but Goen South are good.

    Sent on 12/16/2007

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review