Skip to main content
Weddings

Gertrude's Chesapeake Kitchen Reviews

Gertrude's Chesapeake Kitchen

Gertrude's Chesapeake Kitchen

Baltimore, MD
5.0 out of 5 rating, 71 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
71 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
99% Recommended by couples

Awards

71
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

67 User photos

  • K
    Kathryn L. Sent on 10/16/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best. Night. Ever!

    I can’t say enough good things about Emily, Richard, and the whole Gertrude’s team and experience. They have it all— the beautiful outdoor terrace and sculpture garden views, the fountain, the tented dance floor, the intimate dinner experience indoors… it was just so much fun. It was so easy to coordinate and the food is absolutely delicious. Our signature cocktails were a breeze to bring to life as well. Deciding on Gertrude’s as our venue was very easy. Their flexibility, kindness, attention to detail, and excellent quality for reasonable pricing is unmatched around here. For me it was really helpful to do “one stop shopping” and not need multiple vendors to pull off our special day. I had more time to enjoy the planning experience because of that. Gertrude’s is just the best.
  • N
    Nick P. Sent on 11/19/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The BEST day of our lives!

    WALK, DON'T RUN!!! Although my now husband (yaaay!) and I had been to the BMA before, it wasn't until we saw Gertrude's on Wedding Wire that we realized this INCREDIBLE venue (that also happens to be a restaurant) existed. After visiting a few venues and getting sticker shock, we nearly cancelled our scheduled visit , which would have been a HORRIBLE mistake. Emily, Richard and the entire team at Gertrude's truly knocked it out of the park. Our day was even more perfect than we had dreamed. The ambiance, the service, the food - ALL OF IT WAS PERFECT PERFECT PERFECT! Emily runs such an incredible show - she's a down-to-earth, hilarious professional who answered all of our questions and made sure all of our needs were met. When our month-of dropped the ball, we knew we were in good hands because we had been working with Emily for upwards of a year. I could not say enough good things about Gertrude's. You will not regret choosing this venue to host your special day!
  • I
    Irene C. Sent on 06/05/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Baltimore gem

    Emily and the staff at Gertrude’s went above and beyond for our wedding!! Even when issues came up and the schedule had to get altered several times they worked seamlessly and expertly to make sure that myself and my guests had a wonderful time. I cannot recommend them enough!!!!! A special show out to Richard for making sure we always had a drink in our hand, food on our plates and had plenty of time to dance!!! A core memory for sure!!!!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Lillian
    Lillian Sent on 06/01/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Perfect Wedding Venue!

    We had the BEST time at our wedding and so much of that is because Emily and her team are amazing!! They made the day move so seamlessly. Everyone loved the food and the venue. We could not have asked for a better place to have our wedding! I highly recommend booking this venue!!!
  • R
    Rachel Sent on 05/22/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful venue!

    Emily and the rest of the Gertrude's team were excellent - we couldn't have asked for anything more! We got so many compliments from our guests on the food, atmosphere, and wait staff. We would absolutely recommend Gertrude's to anyone looking for a Baltimore venue.
  • V
    Victoria R. Sent on 04/06/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great food, great team

    We are so thrilled we used Gertrude’s for our wedding! The venue was a sentimental pick for us and the wonderful Gertrude’s staff provided such a memorable and hospitable experience for us and our loved ones. Emily was super knowledgeable, helpful and communicative in planning logistics with the venue. Our wedding was months ago and guests are still raving about how great the food and experience was!
  • L
    Liz W. Sent on 10/20/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Wedding Venue!!

    Gertrudes was amazing. It was a very cool location and the event set up was absolutely beautiful, but the best part was how low-stress it was. The event coordinator and the restaurant manager took care of everything and the wedding was amazing. I was blown away by the little details they thought of and the affordability. Perfect outdoor/indoor venue - already decorated beautifully, didn't have to worry about linens or servers or catering - anything! It was truly the perfect wedding location and I am so grateful to the staff for the perfect wedding.
  • J
    Julia B. Sent on 10/12/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    wonderful experience and amazing on-site coordinator

    Gertrudes was a perfect place to have our reception. We chose it because of the food and the setting with the garden and the fountain, and were pleasantly surprised by a few additional perks! First, Emily the on-site coordinator, is amazing. She is incredibly responsive and flexible, and we were able to create a super custom menu and timeline with her help. We were also really happy with the pricing - Gertrude's was a really reasonable spot especially because so much is included (furniture, lighting, a lot of decorations (fountain, natural beauty, bud vases with flowers)). All of our guests were impressed by the service and the space and we will cherish our memories from this evening! Highly highly recommend.
  • M
    Mike M. Sent on 09/12/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing experience and venue!

    We can't say enough about how great Gertrude's is! The venue is stunning, the service is impeccable, and the food is amazing. From the moment we inquired, Emily V. was responsive, professional, and thorough and we immediately knew Gertrude's would be the perfect venue for us. We received countless compliments from our guests and even our outside vendors who had not yet visited the space.

    Emily worked with us to select our food options (of which there are SO MANY to choose from) so that we could build the perfect menu for our guests. She also provided a list of vendors for every aspect you can think of which made it so easy to connect with the perfect DJ, photographer, florist, etc.

    Throughout Gertrude's and the BMA, there are countless locations that provide a beautiful variety of backdrops for pictures and allowed us to capture our day in so many ways.

    We really couldn't recommend a better venue and team to anyone. It was an incredible day that was made so easy because of Gertrude's!
  • R
    Rachel Sent on 11/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gertude's gave us the perfect wedding

    Emily and the entire Gertrude's staff are so professional, responsive, and talented, and I am so thankful for their hard work. Our guests keep telling us the food was amazing and they had such a fun evening. We have recommended the venue to everyone we know who is getting married - everything felt perfect!
  • K
    Katie C. Sent on 09/07/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gertrude's provided the most amazing wedding experience!

    Gertrude's and the Sculpture Gardens at the BMA provided the perfect setting for our wedding. From the incredible food, to the gorgeous decor and ambience, we couldn't be happier with how our special day turned out. Emily Villarreal was a fantastic planner and made sure everything went off without a hitch. We would recommend this venue to anyone!!
  • H
    Hannah K. Sent on 04/13/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Bridal Shower Experience

    We booked my sister's bridal shower at Gertrude's, and the entire experience was fantastic. John talked me through all of the decisions and details, made helpful suggestions, and expanded what was standard to make this a custom event, all while keeping me abreast of impact on budget. Day of, Olga and her team were absolutely phenomenal, communicating with me about timing and moving easily among the guests to make sure that everyone was taken care of. The food was also stellar, from custom appetizers to their famous crab cakes to adorable dessert shooters. We could not have imagined a better experience from start to finish!
  • Emily
    Emily G. Sent on 06/18/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Book Gertrude's now!

    Booking Gertrude’s was the best wedding decision we could have made. Not only is it an incredible space, but the food is delicious. We have guests that are still talking about how good the food was! We opted to use the BMA sculpture garden for our ceremony and that process was seamless. Emily V at Gertrude’s is so easy to work with – she answered all of my many questions and provided us with everything we needed and more. The day-of, the service went so smoothly, we could not have asked for anything better. We went with food stations and open seating and it worked out great and we had our own server that continually brought us food and drink throughout the night. Gertrude’s offers an incredible atmosphere and backdrop that will make your wedding day feel like a dream. It was so nice that our guests could be either inside the dining room, outside under the tent, or outside in the gardens and we had our ceremony and reception all in one spot. I cannot recommend Gertrude’s highly enough if you are looking for a beautiful space with delicious food!!
  • Robert
    Robert B. Sent on 03/21/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfection!

    Excellent service. Highly recommended.
  • Amelie
    Amelie Sent on 10/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect venue!!

    We had our reception at Gertrude's last weekend and it was perfect!! We were able to get beautiful photos down in the BMA gardens and had the cocktail hour in the sculpture garden and on the terrace. We did food stations so we got to select 3 different entrees along with 2 sides, and they were ALL DELICIOUS!!! The guests raved about the food! They could get whatever they wanted and go back for seconds and thirds. We had Angus beef with mushroom risotto and mosaic vegetables, fried chicken with mashed potatoes and green beans, and vegetable lasagna with a kale & sweet potato curry and greek salad. Guests were able to eat dinner either indoors or out on the terrace, and then we danced the night away on the terrace, where there was plenty of space! It was great because if anyone wanted to sit and chat in a quieter environment, they could just go back inside and sit by the bar or at one of the tables.

    The servers were super attentive and Richard was wonderful and took great care of me and my husband throughout the night! Emily was fantastic! She coordinated everything and communicated with me throughout the planning process and during the event. Emily is super responsive, personable, and patient. She made everything so easy and answered all my questions in the months leading up to the reception. We couldn't have asked for a better coordinator or venue! The guests kept commenting on how beautiful it was and how much fun they had. We're so grateful that we found Gertrude's and that they were available on our date! Thank you to everyone for making our day so special!!
  • Meaghan
    Meaghan Sent on 01/27/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly recommend

    Gertrude’s is the best. We were looking for a place that wouldn’t require a lot of work on our parts - if you’re the same way, this is the venue for you. They do pretty much everything. Emily helped us make all the necessary choices leading up to the wedding day and was super easy to communicate with. The night went off without a hitch - beautiful setting, amazing food (really, it’s so good and the chef is willing to work with you to make the menu what you want it to be), and wonderful, attentive staff. We got lots of compliments on the food and the atmosphere and everyone had a great time. Highly recommend!
  • A
    Alycia P. Sent on 10/26/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Unique venue with amazing food and service!

    We had our wedding this past weekend at Gertrude's and it was exactly what I had envisioned! I wanted a unique/non traditional venue. The garden looked magical during cocktail hour with all of the greenery and the fountain. I did opt to use the BMA section of the garden for our actual ceremony because of my dress's train, but Gertrude's staff handled all of the setup still. It poured about an hour before the ceremony but the staff was able to wipe everything down and finish setting up for us before the ceremony.

    I was planning this wedding from out of state and emailed Emily a million questions throughout the last few months, but she was always super responsive and accommodating! Jay, the catering manager, was amazing and always made sure my husband and I had a drink. He also made us plates during cocktail hour and dinner. We chose to do food stations and we have had so many guests tell us it was the best wedding food they've ever had! Specifically the mashed potatoes and butternut squash ravioli :) Everyone keeps telling us how much fun they had. I was a little nervous about it being cold in the tent since it was a chilly October night, but we closed the sides once the dancing started and it was perfect!
  • Sally
    Sally M. Sent on 09/27/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding at BMA’s Sculpture Garden Gertrude’s Restaurant

    Thank you so much for providing such delicious food and outstanding service to the guests who attended our son’s and daughter-in-law’s wedding on Saturday, September 25th. I have received rave reviews about the food, the service, and the ambiance of the restaurant and venue from many of our guests. Jay in particular did a fantastic job at taking care of what personally needed to be done for us throughout the event. He went above the call of duty! All the servers and the dining room manager did a fantastic job. A special thanks goes to Emily Jean Villarreal the Boutique Events Wedding Planner for doing a super job at organizing all of the various functions related to the ceremony and the reception. Emily guided us every step of the way from the initial connection in 2020 and up to the day of the wedding. She is a gifted lady!

    They are all to be commended for their professionalism.

    Bravo…kudos to all!

    You’re the best!
  • S
    Shannon B. Sent on 09/27/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dreamy Jewel Toned Wedding

    Gertrude’s is AMAZING - the entire process was so smooth. Emily, the coordinator for the venue was suuuuper responsive and kind. The team in general was so accommodating and the food was fantastic. Our wedding on September 24, 2021 was a dream thanks to them and our other vendors. If you are on the fence, hands down book here and you won’t be disappointed!!
    Photo credit: mfieldsphotography.com
  • B
    Brianne Sent on 10/29/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect venue!

    Gertrude’s was the perfect venue for our wedding! Emily, the event coordinator, was an amazing help throughout the process. The venue provides food and drink in addition to the beautiful atmosphere — you don’t need much decoration here! Guests were raving about the food weeks after the wedding. Service from all of the staff was impeccable. It really was the perfect day!
  • N
    Nicole T. Sent on 07/27/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfection!

    Our wedding was everything we dreamed it would be. The service was impeccable, the food was incredible and every single guest told us what a fantastic time they had. The setting and the ambiance was just perfect.
  • V
    Vinita V. Sent on 07/19/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A magical celebration

    It was an outstanding evening in every respect. We appreciate all that the staff, the chef, and the servers did to make it so wonderful. It was just magical...we could not have asked for more. The service, food, ambience and setting were perfect. So happy we lit the fountain.
    They did a phenomenal job....lived up to all our expectations
  • P
    Pat P. Sent on 06/06/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful and delicious. What else could you want.

    My daughter's wedding was magical due to the venue and their staff.
  • K
    Kevin C. Sent on 11/14/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing venue, phenomenal staff

    We had originally booked Gertrude's for our wedding scheduled for June 2020, prior to COVID-19. Ultimately, due to the virus, we did not end up having our ceremony and reception there. However, we wanted to write a review of our experience with them anyway to express how wonderful everyone who worked with us was throughout the process and to offer a full recommendation based on that experience. The venue is absolutely beautiful, and we cannot recommend the food enough -- even after booking the venue, we went back several more times just for a lovely dinner. Throughout the planning stages, Emily was wonderful to work with, and when the shutdowns happened, she was immensely comforting and understanding about the entire situation. She was in constant communication with us, and when we ultimately decided to cancel, was extremely supportive. I cannot recommend the staff at Gertrude's enough.
  • L
    Liz T. Sent on 09/15/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Very flexible during COVID and an amazing venue

    I absolutely loved our experience at Gertrude's. We had to postpone the wedding 4 times due to COVID and they were there for us and made it all possible every step of the way. When we finally thought we were in the clear, the delta variant got us to make a lot of last minute changes to allow for everyone to eat outside. Emily was super helpful the entire time during the planning and the night of. Everyone raved about how delicious the food was and how beautiful the venue was. At the last second we had a lot of chaos and things go wrong, but nothing having to do with Gertrude's went wrong and they helped us sort out any last minute issues. Can't recommend them enough!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message