f. duncan reyes events by design Reviews

27 | San Francisco, CA
See photos, pricing and details

27 Reviews for f. duncan reyes events by design

Recommended by 99%

27
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • J

    Jordan · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I are both medical students across the country, so planning a wedding several time zones away was going to be challenging. Additionally, I am a self-described personality type "AAA" so I knew I wanted to be as involved as I could in the wedding planning process but also have someone on my team that I could entrust with all other details when my wedding could not be prioritized. As a thorough individual, I wanted to do my due diligence in researching a wedding planner who would protect my vision, understand my neuroses, and be flexible with a demanding schedule. In the end I made a spreadsheet of 46 wedding planners - spoke to most of them over the phone and eventually landed on Duncan Reyes. Duncan was truly the brains behind our entire wedding- not to mention a complete genius when it comes to knowing who's who in the Bay Area wedding scene. In the end Duncan did so much more than plan our wedding; he introduced us to vendors that I never would have found, answered thousands of e-mails (responding to all of them with lightning speed!), and kept meticulous records of budgets, payments, and meetings. To those of you weighing whether or not to have a wedding planner - it was an absolute must for us and really allowed us to enjoy the wedding planning process and most importantly our wedding day. Duncan Reyes truly has our highest recommendation and is a pleasure to work with. He coordinated our wedding, dealt with crazy nuances (and personalities), and handled all stress and anxiety with poise and grace.

    Several weeks have gone by and we are still getting endless compliments on our wedding and wedding weekend. Duncan absolutely knows how to make YOUR special vision come to life in the most vibrant and fabulous form. Most importantly, my husband and I were beyond floored our wedding day and would not have changed a thing.

    Sent on 07/23/2015
  • A

    AnneMarie · Married on 02/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't recommend Duncan enough!!!

    When my husband I got engaged, I knew that I needed the help of a Wedding Coordinator. I spoke to several other Wedding Coordinators before meeting with Duncan. The others had romantic ideas and emotional outpourings, but I didn't need someone to hold my hand through the process. I needed someone like me. Someone who embraces the power of endless e-mails, adores their own OCD, respects generosity, practices gratitude, and understands that business is business and love is love -- even when the two go hand-in-hand.

    Duncan was a savior during this process. I admire his kind heart, his keen advice, and his overwhelming patience (and I know I tested that with my many many e-mails, questions and changes). His connections and recommendations speak highly of his character.

    I've was consistently impressed with the vendors he recommended. They have kind hearts and did admirable work, just like him.

    He was early to every meeting. He responded quickly to every questions or request. He went above and beyond what I hired him for and exceeded my expectations.

    When I look back at this wedding, I will always think of Duncan. He was the dark horse. He was the man behind the whole occasion. He is the reason that my husband and I will remember our wedding day as the start of our lives together.

    To Duncan--- From the very bottom of my heart, and from Kelvin's heart as well, THANK YOU! I don't know how you do what you do - but you do it with grace and style.

    Sent on 03/05/2013
  • R

    Rhea · Married on 10/27/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We first heard about Duncan through rave reviews from friends and co-workers. When we met him in person, we discovered first hand his knowledge, professionalism and care that so many had described.
    In our experience, we hired Duncan before we even set a date. He was instrumental when working with our vendors on finalizing contracts. He made things easy for us and always had our best interest in mind. Trust is key when working with a wedding planner for the biggest day of your life. Through months of planning, Duncan was there at every meeting, early, with his organized wedding binder and always with a smile. He had amazing recommendations - since he is a pro, he has a huge network of vendors, that have become friends, in the wedding business who are equally skilled and great to work with. He was also very open to work with any vendors who were new to his network of friends - basically Duncan can make anything happen and work with anyone in the business! It's an amazing trait! Being well respected in the wedding business, you will find a lot of vendors that actually look forward to working with him!

    There were many moments where I felt Duncan went above and beyond his duties as a wedding planner and on the day of the wedding I was carefree and able to enjoy every minute knowing that with Duncan, my groom and I were in great hands.

    Having Duncan as our wedding planner was the best thing we could have done for ourselves in the planning of our big day and now we can definitely say that with Duncan, your not just getting a wedding planner - you are gaining a fabulous friend!

    Sent on 04/18/2013
  • C

    carolyn · Married on 08/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have been more happy with the wedding planning services provided by Duncan Reyes and his team. As an individual, he brings expertise, professionalism, business sense, flexibility, creativity and upbeat support to the one time in your life that you need exactly that. He is responsive and has the lightest touch, with the greatest impact. He has vendors on tap, but is open to vendors you bring in. When one of our vendors failed to provide services as paid for, he followed up and we were refunded fully. He keeps your budget in mind throughout, and has even the most random of requests covered. Over the span of the year we spent planning our wedding, I felt like I got to know and trust Duncan as that friend in your life that has the wisdom and insight you depend on daily. My family - notoriously critical - came to trust him completely to run our wedding with a firm, but gentle hand. He was fabulous. Do yourself a favor and send him an email.

    Sent on 08/22/2012
  • C

    Christina · Married on 09/24/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    5 stars all around for Duncan, who lived up to his legendary reputation. Duncan was actually the first vendor we hired. My husband had experienced Duncan's talent at his older brother's wedding and kept saying how smooth everything was. We were lucky that Duncan was available on our date and hired him without hesitation.

    Starting the month before the wedding, Duncan was the main point of contact for every vendor we had hired. A wedding is such a production with so many people involved, so it was super helpful to have a coordinator handle major communications and follow up. Duncan came up with a detailed, 6-page timeline and ensured everyone knew where they needed to be at all times. He has great ideas and is always accessible, quick to respond, and detail-oriented.

    One example that impressed me was how Duncan caught an error on my seating chart. To organize our guests, we had three different spreadsheets in Google Docs. One spreadsheet indicated everyone's entree selections. Another spreadsheet listed everyone by table. A third spreadsheet organized everyone alphabetically. Without my asking, Duncan cross-referenced the three spreadsheets and asked me if one guest was still coming, because her name with missing from the alphabetical order spreadsheet. Good thing Duncan caught that, because I was using the alphabetical order spreadsheet to lay out my seating chart! His timing couldn't have been better because he caught the error before I printed the chart.

    Whenever anyone asks me how my wedding went, I tell them it was everything I hoped it would be and more. The day really was about as perfect as it could have been! I give a huge chunk of the credit to Duncan for making sure everything went off without a hitch. A relaxed bride is a happy bride. I absolutely recommend Duncan as someone you can trust to make your day happen. Hire him so that you can kick back and enjoy every moment!

    Sent on 10/07/2011
  • D

    Dan · Married on 07/09/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I remember the day my fiance (at the time) told me we had to go meet with our wedding planner (Duncan). It was a Sunday and I was not pleased about it. I thought to myself, wow, this is going to take about 3 hours to get through and totally burn my Sunday.

    I came out of that meeting floored by Duncan and remember turning to my wife and saying, "If I could hire 10 more of him and take them to work with me I would have the perfect team and we would accomplish great things." Seriously.

    To say he's on top of his stuff is an understatement. He's not only incredibly considerate of your own thoughts / considerations but comes with a wealth of advice that he'll disperse appropriately and comfortably.
    He'll also come with all the details / contracts / and anything else you can possibly think of prepared. What I thought was going to be a painful meeting going over the ceremony was incredibly enjoyable, fast, and efficient. This same experience happened again and again with him.

    He is truly a pleasure to work with and I can't say enough great things. He exceeded my expectations beyond anything I thought someone was capable of; and that is quite a compliment considering I'm fairly (ok, very) critical. It is such a relief to be having him running point the day of as well - he's a game changer!

    Sent on 08/19/2011
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 06/18/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Before the venue, before the date, and even before the dress - we chose Duncan to be our wedding coordinator! He soon became our GO-TO person for everything from vendor suggestions, decor ideas, and just plain advice about anything we needed. I doubt anyone else could have executed our dream day any more perfectly than Duncan. To all the Brides on the fence about hiring a wedding planner, (as I was one!) it is a definite must. Duncan jumped in and took care of last minute headaches and unexpected whoopies - and there WILL BE whoopies! As perfect as our wedding was, it was Duncan and his A-TEAM who made it so. Thank you my JLO!!!

    Sent on 06/23/2011
  • D

    Donna · Married on 06/19/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Five- stars is nowhere near the number of stars that Duncan deserves.

    I first contacted Duncan almost 2- years prior to my wedding date to inquire about his services & pricing. He was very prompt in responding- he always is! Sometimes he even replied within the hour! We couldn't afford it back then (even the 2-week coordination), but when he contacted us again a year later, he mentioned that he was still available & w/ the downturn of the economy he lowered his prices. We were paying for the entire wedding ourselves, and at this point we already had most everything planned, bought, and booked. But we decided that having a professional brought in for the last (hectic, agonizing, anxious) 2-weeks would be worth it.

    It was the best decision ever made. Although our wedding was in Carmel, and we would have had to pay for travel/lodging, Duncan waived it. He said he would stay w/ a friend in San Jose & wouldn't include the expenses in the final contract. And to sweeten the deal even more (and this was AFTER we decided to hire him for 2-weeks), he gave us 2-extra weeks for free! Can you say G-E-N-E-R-O-U-S???

    When we had a photographer nightmare less than 3-weeks before the wedding, Duncan stepped in, contacted a few friends, & found us a Wooooo-nderful photographer to shoot our wedding (here's a shout-out to Mike Steelman Photography!). A talented photojournalist who happened to be free, & after hearing what we went thru, decreased his prices just for us!

    We don't know what we would've done without Duncan. He did more than coordinate for us. He brought calm into the storm, made us laugh & smile when we wanted to throw our hands up and cry, & helped us enjoy our special day.

    Sent on 07/05/2010
  • P

    Patricia · Married on 05/30/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Duncan was invaluable. I planned my Napa wedding from NY, and he dealt with all the logistics, the decor, and details remotely. He allowed me to actually enjoy the wedding weekend instead of having to deal with crazy logistics and last minute coordination, as well as made sure the weekend and actual wedding looked beautiful and went smoothly. He was a lifesaver, and as much as I loved my wedding I think it would have been a nightmare without him!

    Sent on 06/05/2009
  • K

    Khe · Married on 05/09/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A friend referred me to Duncan for my month-of wedding coordinator. It is extremely hard to articulate how amazing and fantastic Duncan is to work with. He is so experienced and truly understands what makes a fun, exciting, elegant wedding. He makes wonderful suggestions, knowing exactly what my husband and I envisioned for our wedding day. He does not "take over" by any means, and really allows you to be as involved in the process as you want to be and really makes your perfect day happen. I swear we could not have pulled off the wedding that we did without his help. I have received so many compliments from family and friends on how well-planned, how detailed and beautiful the wedding was. Duncan took care of everything on the day-of so I could truly enjoy the day with all of my guests. I had the best day of my life and I believe, hiring Duncan was the best decision I ever could have made as a bride. BRIDES: I strongly recommend you meet with Duncan. His calendar is filling up fast and he's doing the most ornate, amazing, awe-inspiring weddings out there. I feel lucky that he chose my wedding to plan!!

    Sent on 06/05/2009
  • A

    Alexis · Married on 05/02/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amy Burke is probably the best I have seen. The flowers she supplied were amazing. She takes a lot of pride in her work and it does not go unnoticed.

    Sent on 06/11/2009
  • C

    Christine · Married on 11/29/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Duncan by far, was the best investment we made during our wedding planning. Not only is he tremendously knowledgeable about everything weddings, he was able to pick up the slack of our reception vendor ever so gracefully and professionally. We were confident that through his knowledge and talents that we were taken care of. We had only heard of Duncan after we'd booked most of our vendors, but if we were to do it again we would hire him for full wedding coordination. I described my vision to Duncan, he went with it, and I was more than satisfied with the way everything turned out. Our guests were ooh-ing and ahh-ing about him too! We will definitely be recommending him. He is such a God send.

    Sent on 02/24/2009
  • P

    Phuong · Married on 11/08/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Five stars across the board! There would be no other score for Duncan. Duncan is the man responsible for my PERFECT wedding. Duncan is pure genius and nothing less. I could not have asked for a more beautiful wedding. He there for me when I had questions. He introduced me to the best (video, photography, cake, florals, decor) vendors that worked with me equally as professional and exceptional as he did. If I had to describe Duncan in one word, it would be AMAZING!

    Sent on 02/18/2009
  • J

    Jason · Married on 11/01/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Duncan was wonderful to work with. Even though he has planned some very high-end and extravagant weddings, he made our small wedding feel just as special. He is very organized, always on time, has terrific ideas to make your event fabulous and also save some money. We would highly recommend him to anyone.

    Sent on 02/03/2009
  • D

    Darin · Married on 10/04/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As the groom I was skeptical that we actually needed a wedding coordinator. I figured we could do most of it on our own and use friends and family to do the rest. Thank goodness I was overruled.

    Duncan is an amazing professional who treated our wedding as if it were his own (and we know he had others to plan and coordinate at the same time). He fixed existing problems, anticipated problems that we did not foresee, was a great sounding board and most importantly he made sure that the big day went off without a hitch. By the end of our wedding day I wasn't sure whether my wife was more excited about getting married to me or about having the chance to hang out with Duncan.

    He would have been worth at least twice as much as we actually paid him. Of all my vendors I recommend Duncan the most. I work with professionals on a daily basis -- Duncan truly lives up to the title.

    Sent on 02/03/2009
  • D

    Deanna · Married on 09/06/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I give Duncan five stars for his service and commitment to his profession. Our wedding was a success!! He recommended reliable vendors, especially our florist who created amazing arrangements. His artistry in event set up and decor turned our ballroom into a fantasy. My husband and I are truly impressed with his work.

    Sent on 02/03/2009
  • N

    Nik · Married on 08/08/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Duncan was wonderful. He help with everything and really made our day special.

    Sent on 02/06/2009
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 06/07/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Duncan was extraordinary to work with. I have now idea how he keeps every little detail of every wedding he is working on memorized. He never had to look over notes when talking to me, and knew everything we had planned. He is truly amazing. He makes things fun, and he is extremely creative. He is smart and very organized. My husband tells everyone that it is the best money we spent on the wedding. This is the same husband who was asking me why in the world we needed a wedding planner. My dad also calls him his adopted son. Everyone loves Duncan. We have heard several guests at our wedding say that our wedding was the best wedding they have ever been too. Enough said!

    Sent on 02/03/2009
  • M

    Matthew · Married on 06/07/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Duncan did an incredible job handling all the details, providing excellent advice and making sure everything ran smoothly for our wedding. He was our most valuable vendor and best money spent!

    Sent on 02/04/2009
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 05/17/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Duncan was wonderful! I was panicking about the planning our wedding. Our wedding was in May, and when we met Duncan in February, we had done little but choose the venue.

    He listened to all our input and came up with creative ideas and gave us a number of choices at each step. Duncan is extremely well-connected and suggested excellent vendors throughout the Bay Area. Only one vendor didn't quite work out, and we found someone else on our own. Duncan provided excellent advice on budget, and gave us tips on how to find good prices and what to look for with each vendor. We had an outdoor wedding for about 180 people and Duncan arranged a beautiful ceremony and reception for us. He took care of everything in a relaxed manner. Our guests said they had never had so much fun at a wedding. On our wedding day, my mom said that Duncan gave us the "dream wedding", which was true.

    Lastly, Duncan is just a pleasure to work with. He's warm, has a great sense of humor and made us feel comfortable at each step. There were many days leading up to the wedding when my fiance and I looked at each other, said how lucky we were to work with Duncan. I know that Duncan has done so many weddings, but he brings so much enthusiasm, and made us feel very special.

    Sent on 02/04/2009
  • S

    Syma · Married on 10/21/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would not hesitate for a moment to recommend Duncan as a wedding planner. He is kind, respectful, honest, creative, generous, caring, and fun...and that's just for starters.

    Sent on 02/28/2009
  • A

    Alycia · Married on 10/20/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Duncan is an incredible person & was clearly born for this job. He is SO organized, ALWAYS available and has an amazing creative eye. I would have been lost without him.

    Sent on 02/09/2009
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 05/27/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Duncan was an incredible asset! I would recommend him to anyone. He really helped us enjoy our wedding in a way we could not have otherwise!

    Sent on 02/08/2009
  • M

    shane · Married on 05/01/2004

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Duncan was amazing to work with. We really lucked out. If I ever get married again Duncan will be my guy!

    Sent on 02/03/2009
  • J

    Jeff · Married on 05/09/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely fabulous, our wedding was such a success and fun time for everyone who come. Duncan was able to almost predict our needs before we they even occurred to us. He is a true professional and extremely detail oriented. I honestly can't say enough good things about him.

    Sent on 06/05/2009

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review