Destination Wedding Store Reviews

14 | Hamden, CT
See photos, pricing and details

14 Reviews for Destination Wedding Store

Recommended by 100%

14
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • User3766485 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Janice is wonderful to work with! She helped make our wedding a great memory to cherish, not only for us, but for our families as well. She helped us select a venue in Jamaica so we could privatize and truely personalize our wedding. Even though she has many clients, I never felt she was to busy for me. Janice always made herself available to us...even at 11:30pm! She approaches each wedding as if it were her own, going the extra mile every day we worked together. I know she will be a friend for life!
    I would highly recommend working with Janice to help plan your wedding, anniversay or special event.

    Sent on 12/30/2013
  • C

    Cameshia · Married on 08/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my fiancé and I decided to have a destination wedding I knew that we would need assistance. I did some research and came across destination wedding store. After speaking to Janice I contacted her a fed days later to inform Janice that we would like to use her services and it was one of the best decisions that we made in regards to wedding planning. From the very beginning Janice was on point. Janice gave us a few suggestions as to where to have our wedding and once we decided on Jamaica she wasted no time getting things in order. Janice was with us every step of the way helping us with invitations, flowers, photographers, decorations, etc. Even when I dealing with some unfortunate personal issues Janice was right there with words of encouragement. While in Jamaica when issues arises and Janice was contacted things were handled right away. Janice was not only our wedding planner I consider her a friend. I highly recommend her services. You won't regret it.

    Sent on 10/07/2013
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 05/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Janice is the absolute BEST wedding planner and was a remarkable support system throughout the entire wedding planning process. Under the guidance of Destination Wedding Store, my husband and I were able to plan and experience the wedding of our dreams at Paradisus La Perla in Rivieria Maya, Mexico.

    Our wedding weekend included a rehearsal dinner (sushi-style), welcome fiesta (private pool party), an amazing ceremony and reception and a farewell brunch. Our guest were amazed.

    My husband, our 40 guest of intimate family and friends and I, felt the 4 day wedding celebration was "mejor que un sueno", better than a dream.

    Janice and her team worked diligently for over a year to assist with selecting and booking the venue, all design elements including save the dates, invitations, programs, menu cards, wedding guest welcome gift bags, floral arrangements, bridesmaid coordination, fashion recommendations and so much more. The list goes on and on and on.

    As an added bonus, Janice and her team booked travel for over 95% of our guest. To this day, they all rave about her service, professionalism and pleasant attitude.

    Outside of alleviating all stress for me, as the bride, which in turn made this an enjoyable experience for all involved, including my hubby, Janice has become a lifelong friend. We plan to bug her and shower her with love forever more.

    Our goal was to create a tropical wedding that delivered a romantic, fun and lasting experience. The results: expressing love to family and old friends, creating an atmosphere for the creation of new friendships and two couples from our wedding are now engaged *hearts*. Looks like Janice may have some more work on her hands :)

    We highly recommend Janice and Destination Wedding Store to anyone in need of wedding, event or travel planning. Janice and team - we can never thank you enough. Thank you!

    Sent on 12/30/2013
  • K

    Kim · Married on 08/30/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had the privilege of having Janice plan my destination wedding at the Paris hotel in Las Vegas for my husband and I, along with 15 family members. With everyone coming in from all parts of the country, we needed to orchestrate their travel plans to coincide with the pre wedding activities. She helped me navigate what is one of the most important days of my life, and everything was perfect!! After we had our AMAZING day, Janice arranged for our " reception" at The Palms Restaurant in Caesar's Palace. There are no words!!!!! Later that night Janice, who went above and beyond, had made my husband Rob and I reservations for our first dinner alone as a married couple at the Voodoo Louge at the Rio Hotel. Just amazing!!! The next morning we left for 10 days at the Four Seasons Wailea, Maui. Maui was breath taking. Janice and her team at Destination WeddingStore took care of everything I needed or wanted and didnt know I did!!! I would and have recommended them to any and everyone!! Janice really loves what she does and it is absolutely evident in the finished product.

    Sent on 10/23/2013
  • User3371115 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Destination Wedding helped in making my dreams come true! They were Extremely flexibile, attentive, easy to reach at all times, and kept all other vendors honest and on schedule. I never had to worry about making my time line. I highly recommend Destination Weddings!!

    Sent on 07/04/2013
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 03/26/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experience with Destination wedding store was one that my husband and I will forever be grateful. Another couple recommended and referred us to destination wedding store five months after our engagement. At that point, all we knew was that we wanted a destination wedding & that was it. First, being that we both have very busy careers, neither one of us could dedicate the time required to plan a beautiful wedding. We were able to begin planning right away via phone calls and e-mails. There was always someone available to answer our questions and destination wedding store was there every step of the way. Our guests also had access to our planner to arrange their travel and stay at the resort. Together with our planner, we were able to celebrate our love surrounded by our closest family and friends at a premium all-inclusive resort in Montego Bay, Jamaica.

    Sent on 12/25/2011
  • B

    Brenda · Married on 03/19/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Please know that Janice will help you create the wedding you always dreamed of. My husband & I got married in Dreams Punta Cana & Spa in Punta Cana, DR last year. I found destination wedding store while I was searching online for ideas. From the moment I spoke to Janice Shortier, all my worries & stress were truly gone. Her services were a blessing and we truly felt as if she was part of the family but with all the time in the world to help us plan our wedding. I am not even kidding!
    She also helped my guests (60 people) with their travel booking & definitely found the best resort deals for them with extra bonuses.
    Janice is truly an amazing person & definitely loves what she does.
    I honestly feel terrible for writing this review a year later but it has been quite busy for us since we moved to another state, etc.
    Today I made it part of my to do list because we will never forget how thankful we are for all her help. Also, her wonderful services need to be known & recognized every day! Plus, I would like to help other future couples in feeling less stress by truly recommending Janice services as we all know that planning a wedding is not easy and nevertheless in another country ;-) etc. You will see that you will feel just as blessed. Everything we talked about from ideas to questions for the resort, etc., she either answered, helped, inspired, added, compared, etc.
    We can honestly say that things would have not been the same without JANICE!! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR EVERYTHING, and for making our WEDDING a true DREAM come TRUE!!! In my heart, you are more than a company that provided services, you are my FRIEND!! I miss our chats. Hope to catch up with you soon. Love, Brenda Abreu

    Sent on 07/13/2011
  • K

    Kendra · Married on 02/06/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Destination wedding Store exceeded all my expectations. I was always able to speak to Janice whenever I wanted. Her creativity was especially appreciated, since it is a skill I personally lack. Her years in the industry are so obvious when dealing with vendors. She was able to get better deals than I would have ever thought. Because of this, we were able to do so much more than we thought we could afford. I have recommended Destination Wedding Store to my friends and have had 3 friends use them as well!

    Sent on 01/08/2012
  • K

    Karianne · Married on 11/28/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are having a destination wedding, you need to work with Janice! My fiancee and I always knew that we were going to do a destination wedding, so last January, I started to plan it myself. What I realized is that resorts and hotels are slow to respond and as an individual, you have little leverage. That's where Janice came in.
    I heard about Janice from a co-worker who was thinking about doing a destination wedding. Although they ultimately remained stateside, they still highly recommended Janice from the initial contact with her and also through another friend that worked with Janice. Honestly, the money that we spent to use Janice was the best money that we spent for the entire wedding. She did so much for us that we felt like her services should have cost so much more. Not only did we have an awesome wedding, but also found a friend in Janice.

    What Janice did for us:

    1. Pre-marriage counseling - When my fiance and I had a little miscommunication in the wedding location and cost to our guests, what was a minor issue turned into a major fight. All I know is that Janice reached out to him and a few hours later, he was apologizing and agreeing that the original plan was an excellent one. She's got such a calming and polite manner about her that it's almost magical.

    2. Resort location, time & date - While I was having trouble even getting one resort wedding planner to respond back to me, within a week, Janice had secured optimal times and dates at my desired resorts. She's got so many connections that she's able to get things done that you can't do on your own.

    3. Miscellaneous tasks - I'm a consultant so I travel a lot and work really long hours. Janice works ever longer than I do. She did all sorts of things for me including proofreading invitations, writing letters to my guests, finding cute white flip flops for me, suggesting vendors, hairstyles bridesmaids gifts, helping with wedding gown selection and bridesmaid dress selection.

    4. Travel planner - Janice works with your guests to help book hotels. She's got excellent rates and connections, and her magic usually results in some sort of upgrade. We got a beautiful honeymoon suite at our wedding resort.

    5. Color schemes - Janice talked with me about my wedding concept and colors that I like and came up with numerous inspiration boards. She suggested cake designs, flower bouquets, table decorations, shoes for bridesmaids and cute suggestions like a candy table

    6. Will work with any budget - Janice will help you get the wedding you want
    whether it's a $5,000 budget or a$50,000 budget.

    7. Ceremony - Helped look for Mexican wedding traditions to incorporate into our ceremony. Also helped us write the ceremony.

    8. Resort help - There was a fairly major issue at our resort (no fault of Janice's.) Within minutes of emailing Janice for help, she was at work with the resort's wedding planner, resolving the issue. She was able to get all of our guests upgrades, had our wedding decorations upgraded, and a bunch of other things free. I felt bad talking to the other brides because they didn't get the extra special treatment that we got since we were working with Janice. She has clout, so if any issue pops up, the resort tries to resolve it immediately when they know you are with Janice. She's got a large social network behind her, so the resorts don't want to get on her bad side. our wedding ended up being 91 people with 22 people staying at the resort.

    Janice is available for what seems like 24 hours a day. I'm not quite sure when she actually sleeps, but she is amazingly responsive, always enthusiastic and sweet. All my guests were actually raving about their interactions with Janice. Now that my wedding is over, I'm going to miss my weekly talks. I will still plan on working with Janice on any future trips that I take.

    Our wedding was more beautiful and elegant that I had pictured in my head. It was magical and I attribute it to Janice. We got so many comments from our guests about how it was the best wedding that they had ever been to. I strongly recommend that you consider Janice for your wedding needs.

    Sent on 12/08/2009
  • B

    Aliana · Married on 08/09/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Relentless work of our wedding planner/travel agent

    My fiancée and I were first introduced to wedding planner, Janice of DestinationWeddingStore.com, by a close friend in June of 2008. Our friend heard about Janice’s work from a fabulous destination wedding in Cancun, Mexico that she had planned the previous year. Pleased to hear of all the positive feedback about her excellent work, we decided to give her a call to help plan our wedding. After one phone call, we were sold!

    Once we told Janice what we envisioned for the big day, she used her creative instincts and ideas to plan our dream wedding in Cancun, Mexico for May 9, 2009. Janice has a great eye; her attention to detail is truly amazing: from the wedding colors to the wedding attire; from invitations to decorations, even slight details that we would have never thought of! She followed up with all planning and kept us in the loop, through phone calls and emails on a daily basis. From early in the morning to late hours of the night, Janice was always available. She is a very meticulous planner. She scheduled all of our meetings with vendors at the resort and booked the DJ, photographer, florist and minister. A total of 42 guests booked their trip through Janice, who also serves as a travel agent. She communicated with each guest directly, making certain to meet all of their needs and to answer any individual questions.

    Our big day was fast approaching. All balances were paid and all guests received their vouchers. We were excited and ready to go! Unfortunately, on April 26, 2009, “Mexican Swine Flu” hit the news wire. We decided to wait a few days to see if the threat of the illness was serious enough to postpone the wedding. After three days of waiting, on April 29, 2009, with advice of Janice and government recommendations; we postponed the wedding. Because of Janice’s established and positive relationship with the vendors, we were able to get refunds for all balances paid. All of our guests received credits for their flights and resort accommodations. With no definite end to the swine flu threat in Mexico, we asked Janice if it were possible to move the wedding location and date. With three long days of hard work, Janice was able to book our wedding at Paradisus Resort in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic for August 9, 2009. She even got our guests an extra night stay at the resort at no additional cost. After telling our guests the news, they were ecstatic!

    My fiancée and I still wanted to go on vacation on May 9, 2009. Janice was able to send us to Maui, Hawaii for five nights with accommodations at the Hyatt Regency. Because of her excellent relationship with the manager of the Hyatt Regency, she was able to get us an upgraded room with an ocean view, at no additional cost. Currently, Janice is working with vendors in Punta Cana and wedding coordinators at Paradisus Resort. We have formed a unique bond with Janice that has allowed us to share our inner thoughts and ideas with her about wedding, the trip, and anything in general. She eased our fears and worries throughout the wedding planning process. If you and your significant other want to plan a destination wedding or just an ordinary trip, I encourage you to give Janice a phone call. I’m certain that she will go above and beyond to meet your needs as she has done for us time and time again. Not only is Janice efficient, but she is always pleasant and friendly. She makes the wedding planning process seem so effortless and easy! Janice is truly a joy to work with. We are extremely grateful for everything that she has done for us. I will definitely use Janice again to plan my next vacation.

    Sent on 05/18/2009
  • M

    Carla · Married on 03/28/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Destination Wedding Store is wonderful and truly helped save my sanity while we were planning our recent wedding in Aruba! Janice is someone who genuinely loves what she does and it shows. No matter what issue came up, she was quick to expertly resolve (with a smile)! In addition to being incredibly knowledgeable about weddings, Janice really did go the extra mile. She gave loads of tips to maximize our budget as well as unique "fun" ideas...(which came in handy on those days when we needed to lighten the mood because my family was stressing me out!)

    I would highly recommend her services from start to finish for anyone planning a destination wedding.

    Sent on 04/26/2009
  • Y

    Yanneris · Married on 04/04/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If your planning to have a destination wedding, Janice @ Destination Wedding Store, will take care of all the details of your wedding. Besides making me an extremely happy and relaxed bride, Janice left my guest wishing she was their personal travel agent. She made it so easy, that my friends think that my husband and I should renew our vows every year!

    Sent on 03/27/2009
  • M

    Mayra · Married on 10/13/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Destination wedding store made my vows renewal possible, i don't think i would of done it without their tremendous and restless help, all the effort and the personalize assistant provided to me was incomparable, I'm truly thankful to have found Janice for my destination wedding

    Sent on 04/23/2009
  • R

    Reina · Married on 04/20/2005

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding destination was in Negril Jamaica and I could not of done it with out Janice. With me living in the west coast and Janice in the east coast it was never a problem planning my destination wedding. All my questions were answered and she took my calls at anytime. Janice has alot of knowledge regarding almost any resort in any location. I would highly recommend her services to anyone who is planning a destination wedding, honeymoon, or just to vacation. My family and I plan to use her services for years to come.

    Reina Perez
    Whittier, Ca

    Sent on 03/31/2009

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review