Crowne Plaza San Diego - Mission Valley Reviews

42 | San Diego, CA
See photos, pricing and details

42 Reviews for Crowne Plaza San Diego - Mission Valley

Recommended by 96%

42
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • M

    Marcia · Married on 09/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We received a 5 star wedding experience at Crowne Plaza! 9.6.15 was a perfect day! Searching for our venue was the most important step in wedding planning. It was a holiday weekend, we needed to accommodate our large guestlist, and other places were already booking up. I got nervous. Crowne Plaza offered the best all around amenities, features, and value. I absolutely made the best decision to get married here! When I first visited the hotel, I met with with Cindy as she was their event coordinator at the time. She was great, but she eventually moved on. Closer to my wedding date I worked with Melanie, and she took care of us along the way. Communication with her was never a problem and she worked hard to handle my requests. I was very at ease with her. Whenever I needed to be emailed layouts or updated BEOs, she was quick to respond. Couples get a free bridal suite when getting married here. I LOVED this room. Well, actually its TWO joined rooms- a king bedroom connected to a massive parlor suite! I also booked it for the night before so we could relax and start hair and makeup at 0700. All my bridesmaids and glam squad fit in the room to get ready. It was great and I think it made a big difference in my bridal prep experience! The AC worked really well in the room too. We received complimentary champagne. Our wedding ceremony was held in the Hanalei Courtyard, and was absolutely beautiful. I did have a wedding planner; her and Melanie worked together to make sure everything was in place and that I had everything I needed and asked for. Everything was pretty flawless! See my full review: http://www.yelp.com/biz/crowne-plaza-hotel-san-diego-mission-valley-san-diego

    Sent on 10/15/2015
  • T

    Tracie · Married on 08/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding here this past August and it was simply AMAZING! We had so many compliments from our guests regarding the food, service and decor. Everything went so smoothly. Cindy was so helpful, professional and accommodating. She really made the wedding planning process so easy and fun. We loved everything about our day!

    Sent on 09/09/2014
  • I

    Iris · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved everything about our wedding. Cindy made it that much more special with her helping us out all the way through. Enjoyed her as well.

    Sent on 07/10/2014
  • P

    Pepper and Susan · Married on 06/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great venue! Loved having everything in one location. We had endless compliments on the food!! The staff were professional and friendly. I would highly recommend this venue. Our catering director, Cindy Nelsen, was extremely helpful and accessible. She helped our day run smoothly.

    Sent on 07/14/2014
  • T

    Tim & Arlea · Married on 04/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cindy you were absolutely wonderful and patient and had great communication. The staff at the reception were AWSOME , prompt and friendly. Everything was so wonderful and all my guest raved on what a beautiful wedding it was!!
    Thank you Cindy & Staff for being there every step of the way and making our day everything we wanted!!!

    Sent on 04/23/2014

    Crowne Plaza San Diego - Mission Valley's reply:

    Thank you for the kind and thoughtful review. We take pride in our service and are very happy when we hear what a great job we did! Wishing you both all the best!
  • A

    Amber · Married on 02/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have been happier with having our wedding at Crowne Plaza. Our guests loved the food and one stop shop for ceremony, reception & rooms all in one area. Cindy was amazing to work with and ensured everything went smoothly and very responsive to all emails. She really was the glue to everything and helped with all my crazy bride stress throughout the whole process and day of. I love her!!!

    Sent on 03/07/2014
  • User3953214 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you for recommending the following vendors: Sound Illusions, The Finer Points Event Management & Details, and Flowers by Lina! They were perfect and successfully executed our event!

    Sent on 03/06/2014
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 11/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I could not have been happier with our experience at the Crowne Plaza. We had our rehearsal brunch and wedding reception at the hotel. Our guests loved the hotel atmosphere and the could not stop complimenting us on the food selections. Cindy was a delight to work with and ensured everything went smoothly. We planned long distance from AZ and Cindy was very responsive to all emails and phone calls. Cindy was very accommodating to our needs, budget, and understanding our vision.

    Sent on 12/05/2013
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 10/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am very skeptical on writing reviews and most of the time I end up writing negative ones because of what I have experienced but this one would be different because I am writing a POSITIVE one!

    Yes, everything on my wedding day was perfect because of Cindy and her department. My friend/wedding coordinator contacted Cindy about 6 months before my wedding and told her the details that we wanted--this and that (you know how sometimes some details are left out because it was discussed a long time ago) but, with Cindy she never forgot. She took down detailed notes made it happen and gave me what I want. I had a buffet wedding for over 100 guests. The food was awesome! it was well prepared by the banquet captain and he was there the entire time. One thing I can say is, they are very prompt on serving my guest drinks and making sure that my buffet table was always full of food. Cindy really helped us out on choosing our vendors. She didn't recommend them just because, she did because they were really the best on what they do. My DJ was the best! Linen, and cake. Thank you again CIndy!

    Sent on 11/21/2013

    Crowne Plaza San Diego - Mission Valley's reply:

    Michelle, we really appreciate you honest feedback. We take pride in making sure our clients and their guests are taken care of and they have the best experience possible. It makes me so happy to hear you had an amazing wedding as that tells us we are doing what we love to do!
  • B

    Brenda · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Cindy Nelsen was fantastic. She made sure our special day was perfect. All the staff at the hotel were very friendly and nice.

    Sent on 10/23/2013

    Crowne Plaza San Diego - Mission Valley's reply:

    Thank you for the review Brenda! It was such a pleasure working with you and Eric. You looked so incredibly beautiful and happy on Saturday. I am so happy you hired Diana with Imagine Events because the transformation she did to the room was breathtaking.

    Wishing you and Eric a lifetime of happiness and many blessings.

    Kindest Regards,

    Cindy
  • L

    Lori · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    October 19th I had my daughter’s wedding and reception here at Crowne Plaza. It was a wonderful experience; the Catering Manager Cindy Nelson was such a pleasure to work with. Need to upgrade my sleeping room just days before the event so all the girls the day of the wedding would fit comfortably for makeup and hair, without hesitation Crowne Plaza made it happened. I would refer family, friends, including anyone that I was to come in contact with to use Crowne Plaza for their event. Very clear and the staff is very professional. Everyone at the wedding and the reception said just how wonderful everything was (food, bathrooms being very clean, venue very clean and the staff was very professional).

    Sent on 10/26/2013

    Crowne Plaza San Diego - Mission Valley's reply:

    Thank you for the review. It is our goal to make each and every customer feel special and give them exceptional service. It was such a pleasure working with you and we look forward to doing business with you in the future.

    Kindest Regards,

    Cindy Nelsen
  • A

    Alma · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved my entire experience, from initial walk through, I knew I wanted to have my special day take place at the Crowne Plaza. Friendly staff and all around amazing service. Cindy Nelson is a wonderful person to work with, always chipper and smiling. Day of I was blown away with all the attention to detail. Ceremony and reception set up were perfect. Food was amazing, many great compliments from guest on taste and portion. Tropical gardens made for some amazing pictures. After hours, lounge downstairs was a great time for my guest to keep the party going. At the end of the day, all the hard work showed and the wedding of my dreams had come true, thank you!

    Sent on 11/01/2013

    Crowne Plaza San Diego - Mission Valley's reply:

    Thank you for the kind words Alma! I am so happy that you and your guests had an amazing time. We love to hear from our clients that we are doing a great job! Thank you for letting us share your special day with you and Josue! Wishing you both all the best!
  • Jeannette

    Jeannette · Married on 09/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had our wedding reception at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in San Diego and we are so glad we picked this location. The hotel looks great and has a very tropical theme. Cindy was so Amazing to work with. From the moment we called her and set up our first meeting she has been so professional and extremely helpful. We knew after viewing the location and trusting her experience that we would be in good hands. She was very responsive to our questions that we had and also was able to make the whole planning process for the reception a breeze. It was literally one of the things that we knew we didn't have to worry about. The hotel it self is very pretty and they offer a few different rooms to pick for receptions and they have other areas for ceremonies as well. For the food options, they offer several meal choices and they all taste good and the prices were reasonable. We were very happy with the food it was flavorful, tasty and hot. Our guests even told us they thought the food was very good. We had a Phenomenal Experience here and would highly recommend the Crowne Plaza for your event.

    Sent on 12/04/2013
  • User3379149 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cindy was amazing to work with she made me feel at ease and was all ways one step ahead in getting things done for me. The food is excellent everyone was telling me how great it was not your topical Wedding food : )

    Sent on 07/21/2013
  • K

    Kasie · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cindy was wonderful! I would highly recommend her to any bride that wants her day to go perfectly! Thank you!

    Sent on 07/28/2013
  • P

    Patrice · Married on 06/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I worked with Cindy of Crowne Plaza San Diego for a little over a year on my wedding and she worked with me through all my ups and downs. She never seemed to get tired of me asking questions even the smallest questions. She is an amazing woman to work with and made my wedding such a beautiful moment. I would definitely recommend this hotel for your wedding ceremony. It has a little hidden waterfall that made our dreams come true. The food, suites/rooms, service, and everything else was simply amazing. Thank you!
    Patrice

    Sent on 06/22/2013
  • R

    Rebekah · Married on 05/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I decided to have a BIG wedding (325 ppl), and The Crowne Plaza had the best value, hands down. Their prices were reasonable to begin with, but their coordinator, Cindy, went out of her way to help us out. She discounted the meal prices, comp'd our parents' suites (since it was Mother's Day wknd) and was simply a delight to work with. I would recommend this place to anyone--the food was good, the space was ideal, and the employees there are great. Also (and this was the best part!), they take care of everything: food, tables, chairs, linens, etc. If you're on the fence, do it! You won't regret it :)

    Sent on 05/30/2013

    Crowne Plaza San Diego - Mission Valley's reply:

    Thank you Rebekah for the great review. I love what I do and you and Aaron are an amazing couple. We take pride in our venue, service and food and will always go out of our way to take care of our guests. We are so happy that your experience will be one that you will always remember!
  • User3351106 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cindy Nelson is amazing! Helpful, sweet and always professional! Food was delicious and room was nice. Staff was friendly.

    Sent on 06/25/2013
  • J

    John · Married on 01/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cindy was awesome and helped take so much of the pressure off of us. She helped direct us to other vendors that she trusted and they also did very well for us. This was a major event in our lives as we got to see our daughter have her wedding. Like any parents, we worried about all the little and big things that could go wrong. Cindy helped us figure things out and plan most of the details she was involved with and even gave us tips on things she was not involved with. Then she made it all happen, and between her and her staff and the great people she helped us find, the wedding came off even better than we expected.

    Sent on 03/10/2013
  • J

    Jo · Married on 01/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were very accommodating and helpful in making my brother's wedding meaningful especially to the bride's immediate family (who were not in the country but were able to watch the ceremony through Skype). The food was great! Cindy had a lot of recommendations and I suggest people should take it into consideration. We did a double celebration that night and the staff helped me make that happen too. We totally had an awesome experience even with just a couple of months of preparation.

    Sent on 03/10/2013
  • E

    Erika · Married on 12/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone at the Crowne Plaza Hanalei helped my husband and I with our event in a professional, kind, and enjoyable manner. I would highly recommend this location to anyone looking for flexible people with excellent value.

    Sent on 03/28/2013
  • T

    Tiffany · Married on 10/13/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego was a beautiful venue to have our wedding. Cindy Nelsen as well as the other staff members were attentive and responded quickly to all our request and needs. My guest loved the delicious buffett as well as cocktail hour. The staff at the Crowne Plaza helped make our dreams come true. I would highly reccomend to anyone searching to have a wedding or event at the hotel.
    Thank You!!!

    Sent on 10/27/2012

    Crowne Plaza San Diego - Mission Valley's reply:

    Hi Tiffany,

    Thank you for the kind words and sharing your special day with us! We are happy to hear that you and your guests enjoyed the food as well as the service. We take pride in what we do and it means so much that you and your guests noticed.

    Wishing you and Keith all the best!
  • T

    Theron · Married on 10/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Would recommended to anyone getting married, there service was great. Everything they said it was

    Sent on 11/02/2012
  • K

    Karla · Married on 08/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words cannot express how pleased and content i am in making the decision of choosing Crown Plaza as my event venue. My respect goes out to all the workers there, but foremost i need to acknowledge Cindy Nielsen. I met Cindy while inquiring about the location. Cindy is not only a catering manager but a person who offers help and flexibility beyond her work expectations. Through out the many times that I dealt with Cindy I felt a stronger bond. She was very honest and upfront about any ideas or concerns I might of had. Regardless of the many calls and emails, Cindy always responded in a timely manner. The food is great. I think i can say this now, but you guys are too low in your prices for the amount of food and its quality. I do hope my wedding is placed in the hotel website, the photos in there now under estimate the place. Thank you Crown Plaza for making the best day of my life a dream come true!!!

    Sent on 09/08/2012

    Crowne Plaza San Diego - Mission Valley's reply:

    Hi Karla,

    It was so much fun working with you. You were always a breath of fresh air. You are a very special person and I could see just how much you are loved by everyone. I will miss working with you, but keep in touch. If you are ever in the area, please stop by and have lunch!

    Kindest Regards,

    Cindy
  • G

    Gladys · Married on 08/04/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After meeting Cindy Nelsen (Catering Sales Manager) and seeing the Crowne Plaza Hotel, we knew this was the place to have our Wedding Reception. Planning our Wedding was going to be difficult but Cindy made the process so easy and answered all of our questions. She responded promptly to any of our phone calls or emails. When necessary, she was always available to meet up in person to discuss any issues. She went above and beyond what we expected, we felt she was like our wedding planner. We highly recommend Cindy and the rest of the staff at Crowne Plaza for any event.

    Sent on 10/10/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review