Clustered Spires Pastry Shop Reviews

21 | Frederick, MD
See photos, pricing and details

21 Reviews for Clustered Spires Pastry Shop

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.7

Awards

21

6 User photos

Clustered Spires Pastry Shop 1
Clustered Spires Pastry Shop 2
Clustered Spires Pastry Shop 3
Clustered Spires Pastry Shop 4
Clustered Spires Pastry Shop 5
+ 2
Order by:
  • Sanam

    Sanaa · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deliciously Wonderful

    I decided to order my wedding cake from Clustered Spires after my sister’s positive experience with them. They make the most delicious cakes ever!! Our cake was three tiered with amazingly tasty Astoria icing and cascading flowers made of fondant on the outside. The inside consisted of two different batter flavors and three different icing flavors. I highly recommend this bakery to anyone looking to order wedding or celebration cakes, they’re the best I know of!!

    Sent on 11/07/2018
  • S

    Susie · Married on 11/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had learned of CLustered Spires at a wedding show. The samples were delicious! I booked a tasting with another vendor and really didn’t have that wow reaction with my taste buds. So, finally, i found the information for CLustered Spires and booked a tasting. The cakes were to die for!! I knew that i just had to book them for our wedding. We had a vanilla cake with raspberry marmalade at the bottom, followed by a chocolate cake with raspberry butter cream and the top layer was lemon cake with raspberry marmalade. The cake was a hit! My family members were fighting over the leftover cake! We had leftover cake because we had several no shows and i ordered more than needed. Needless to say, the day after our wedding, we had requests for leftovers. The cake was very elegant and just how we wanted it. You want your guests to rave about the food and cake. Clustered Spires will definitely have that effect! Go get your wedding cake there! I’m already getting request for birthday cakes from there...you will not regret it!!!

    Clustered Spires Pastry Shop 6
    Sent on 11/22/2017
  • A

    Allycia · Married on 11/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We ordered our wedding cake from Clustered Spires for our November 2017 wedding. We did a very simple design since we were also doing an ice cream sundae bar and Karen was willing to add live flowers from the florist on to the cake. It looked beautiful! My husband and I ended up smashing (see pictures below) so what actually made it into my mouth tasted AMAZING!! Our guests loved the cake. It took all the self control I could muster to not bust into our anniversary top layer the last couple weeks. We're praying it still tastes great in 11 months!!

    Clustered Spires Pastry Shop 7
    Clustered Spires Pastry Shop 8
    Clustered Spires Pastry Shop 9
    Clustered Spires Pastry Shop 10
    Clustered Spires Pastry Shop 11
    Sent on 11/23/2017
  • M

    Michele · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen's cakes blew all other cake tastings out of the water. At the tasting, her cakes were so delicious, it wasn't even a contest - we booked her immediately. My husband and I are bakers, so we were very picky when choosing our wedding cake vendor. Karen's cakes not only taste good - they look good! She decorated the cake to mimic the design on my wedding dress, and we were blown away with how elegant it was. She was so accommodating with us, making a smaller cutting cake and two kitchen cakes. All three tiers of our cutting cake had different fillings, and it was no problem. She even provided a mango filling, which she doesn't usually offer. She was prompt with the delivery of the cake as well. Her cake was a hit with all of our guests! Everything but the top layer was eaten, and the guests raved about it. The next day, my husband and I ate the top layer. The cake was so good we couldn't wait! Highly recommend.

    Sent on 08/30/2016
  • H

    Heather · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Started with an amazing tasting & we ended up choosing a small red velvet cake with an assortment of pastries and cupcakes for our wedding because everything was so delicious we couldn't decide! Prices were much more affordable than other bakeries we visited. Karen was quick to respond to any changes or requests. The day of the wedding, the delivery car got a flat tire and they still made it perfectly on time to the venue with everything intact! Guests gobbled up every piece and raved about the selection. Beautiful display, wonderful flavors & great service :)

    Sent on 03/18/2017
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 10/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I came to Karen back in August (my wedding was October 11) and had a couple samples in her shop. Her cakes and icings are exceptional. When I asked for a sample of another flavor, she gladly obliged and had it ready for me in two days. When I came in I was expecting a slice of cake and was given a 6in two layer cake of the sample!!! I couldn't believe it. The cake was to die for. I ended up choosing that flavor for my cake and the rest is history. Karen was so easy to work with and I would work with her again in a heartbeat. You have to give her cakes a try! You won't regret it! I don't think our top tier will make it to our one year anniversary. =)

    Thanks a bunch Karen!

    Kim Petrlik

    Sent on 10/12/2015
  • J

    Jackie · Married on 09/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful! I worked with Karen and she did a magnificent job on the wedding cake, cookies, and challah. She was super flexible with our budget and allowed us to make multiple changes to the menu very close to the date. HIghly recommend!

    Sent on 09/22/2015
  • User5167570 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Clustered spire made the cake for our wedding. We had three flavored: yellow, chocolate, and red velvet; it was absoluely delicious! We weren't really sure what we wanted at first, but they worked with us and created the perfect cake. We will definitely be going back to Clustered Spires Pastry Shop!!

    Sent on 06/11/2015
  • N

    Nicola · Married on 01/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Clustered spires pastry shop did us a great service. The cake tasted amazing (all of our guests commented on it), it looked great and the price was extremely reasonable. Also, we were provided with huge portions for the tasting.

    Sent on 01/19/2015
  • User4321031 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen with Clustered Spires was so exceptional and patient throughout the entire process. Karen made a smaller naked cake as well as a couples cake and cupcakes. Everything was so beautiful and exceeded my expectations! The cakes looked exactly as the pictures I sent to her AND tasted amazing. Guests at my wedding raved about the taste. Would highly recommend.

    Sent on 11/16/2014
  • User3540654 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cake was beautiful, just what I wanted. Our guests are still talking about how delicious the cake was! Can't wait to eat the anniversary cake in a year!

    Sent on 05/29/2014
  • B

    Becca · Married on 09/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I feel so very grateful that we got our cakes from Clustered Spires Pastry shop! We almost moved ahead with another baker, but something told me to hold off. When our wedding coordinators found Clustered Spires, I was happy with them right away. Karen was so great to work with, and she was so patient and flexible with my indecisiveness. She took the time to walk through flavors and cake designs for all five cakes that we were ordering from her, and they all turned out BEAUTIFUL and, more importantly, DELICIOUS! We received a ton of compliments on our cakes (appearance and flavors), all thanks to Karen. I would absolutely recommend her to brides to be!

    Sent on 10/10/2013
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 06/15/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Got pies and sweets here for our wedding. Not only was everything absolutely delicious but it was also reasonably priced. Ricotta cheesecake and orange cream puffs were my favorite, my husband loved the mixed berry pie and the pecan was so good that we didn't get any!

    Sent on 06/20/2018
  • J

    Jay · Married on 09/16/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We've been coming here for almost 10 years - birthdays, holidays, office parties - and it has always been amazing! They're willing to customize any order to make it absolutely PERFECT for you and your event!! I can't imagine going anywhere else for our wedding cake and cupcakes!

    Sent on 09/14/2016
  • A

    ashleigh · Married on 07/08/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen with Clustered Spires was great with communication and helped to create a one of kind cake for our event. I simply found a couple pictures of what I liked and explained how I wanted it changed and - POOF! She created a gorgeous and delicious cake. Delivery was on time, presentation was fantastic and she did an exemplary job of balancing some rough issues that were presented when my mother got a little too involved. She responded to lengthily emails in great detail and was extremely accommodating.

    Sent on 07/12/2012
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 08/05/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so happy with our experience ordering our wedding cake from Clustered Spires of Frederick. Karen was so accommodating for our cake tasting, providing two small cakes in the style that we wanted (naked cakes). She worked with us to make a cake that fit exactly what we wanted including using jam fillings, having minimal icing, and presenting it with fruit scattered on the top and each of the tiers. She offered us to have half the servings presented in a small tiered cake, and the remaining servings in a sheet cake format to save on cost. The guests loved the cake and so did we!!

    Sent on 08/17/2017
  • Ashlee

    Ashlee · Married on 07/09/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen at Clustered Spires was amazing. She created a beautiful grooms cake, wedding cake, and many different flavored cupcakes of all sizes. The cake tasting was wonderful and the cupcakes were all very moist and the frostings flavorful. You won't regret using Clustered Spires for your special day!

    Sent on 07/20/2016
  • T

    Tara · Married on 05/31/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Clustered Spires Pastry shop was amazing in doing our small 2 tiered cake and 110 cupcakes (4 flavors too!) for our big day! Karen is so sweet and really listened to what we had to say when we said we wanted a simple small cake with peach colored icing with fresh flowers cascading down. She was also so flexible when we could not decide on a cake flavor and the size of the cake (we were on a budget and she worked with us) She even made us a batch of cupcakes months before our wedding to taste test some flavor combinations that were not featured at our tasting. No to mention their prices are unbeatable in the Frederick area for well known dessert shops! (and we sure did shop around!) We highly recommend Clustered Spires Pastry Shop!

    Sent on 06/20/2014
  • M

    Jane · Married on 07/20/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The wedding cake was beautiful and match the picture we gave Karen perfectly! We also had an extra sheet cake made with a different flavor for our guest and to have for our company staying with us the next day. Both cakes were amazing but when we went back to Musket Ridge they never gave us the left over sheet cake, only the top of the wedding cake:(

    Thanks Karen for an amazing job well done!!!!

    Sent on 08/11/2012
  • S

    Susan · Married on 06/12/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen with Clustered Spires was so great to work with and made a beautiful cake for our wedding day! She made us a delicious two-tiered buttercream iced, almond cake that looked exactly like the pictures I had shown her during our in-person meeting. Our tasting experience was so fun and we even got to take home two small cakes that she had prepared specifically for our tasting. For the wedding day itself, Karen was very mindful of the hot weather we were expected and even contacted me the day before to suggest an alternate delivery time to help make sure the cake didn't overheat prior to the reception. I would highly recommend this shop and working with Karen for any of your upcoming special events!

    Sent on 08/24/2015
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 09/19/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    She is a very busy lady, but totally worth it, the cake was absolutely delicious and a great price!

    Sent on 10/07/2009

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review