Skip to main content
Weddings

Bon Soir Caterers Reviews

Bon Soir Caterers View more information

56 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 56
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

14 User photos

  • Jacqueline
    Jacqueline R. Married on 10/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Real Deal

    Jeff and the entire team at Bon Soir Caterers are the real deal seasoned players. We chose them to cater our wedding at the Prospect Park Picnic House this past October over any of the other preferred caterers because of their excellent communication, glowing reviews and renowned expertise. And we wouldn't have had it any other way. From their professionalism, experience, attention to detail and warm hospitality, Jeff helped make our wedding day one of the best days of our lives. My husband is a chef and I am a caterer so we know how much hard work goes into putting together an event like this and food is incredibly important to us. Jeff's passion, humor and expertise left us feeling confident we wouldn't have to worry about a thing, and it was true. He is a gem! Their adherence to safety protocols helped make us feel very safe. Even when there were some hiccups like things not showing up on time, we had absolutely no idea because Jeff took care of everything. They really went above and beyond. The presentation, the food, the guidance in the entire planning and production of the day was made so easy because of Bon Soir. The event staff were fantastic, upbeat and professional, and if you are lucky enough to have the Bon Soir team cater your event please show your gratitude through smiles and generous tips because they truly go above and beyond. This business can be grueling work and Jeff is not only an exceptional caterer but he absolutely loves what he does and that love and care really shines through. Our wedding guests are still calling us to rave about how delicious the food was and how it was one of the best parties they have ever been to in their lives! That was one heck of a party! Thank you Bon Soir!
  • Nathaniel
    Nathaniel B. Married on 10/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great caterer for weddings

    Jeff and his team did a fantastic job catering our event and I can't recommend them highly enough. The food and service was phenomenal and so many of our guests told us how fantastic their meal was, especially the pies we had in lieu of a traditional wedding cake. If you need a caterer, look no further than Bon Soir!
  • R
    Ryan Married on 08/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Food I've Ever Had at a Wedding

    The food and day-of service provided by Bon Soir at our wedding was nothing short of amazing. We had our wedding at Greenpoint Loft in August 2021 – and were really impressed by how well the food reflected our experience at the tasting (braised short rib for the win!) – I’ve been to a number of weddings over the years and I’m proud to say our food ranked as one of the best dining experiences when compared to other weddings. Drink service was also a real hit. When planning our wedding, we were interested in having an extensive cocktail list at our wedding and Jeff and his team made it happen – making everything from martinis to palomas – tracking down hard to find ingredients and making fresh simple syrup for the reception. It was also nice working with a vendor who remained conscious of price – and steered us towards options within our budget, but of the best quality. Seriously – if you want people to remember your wedding food in a positive way – go with these guys, you won’t be disappointed.
  • K
    Katie F. Married on 07/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Guest are raving!

    Bon Soir caterers was amazing. Jeff was so helpful and flexible and made the stressful planning process so much easier. My guest are still raving about the food! Dinner was amazing but the guest especially loved the passed appetizers and the desserts that were offered after the cake cutting. I would highly recommend Bon Soir!
  • Tara
    Tara Married on 06/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent!

    The food was excellent. The staff professional. Jeff, the owner was also eager to help us figure out what would be best for our big day. Highly recommended.
  • L
    Leyla L. Married on 09/13/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best there is!!!

    Bon soir met all my needs, If not more. I was so pleased by the food and management of this catering company that I don’t think I will ever use anyone else. That just goes to show you how happy I was on my wedding day! Jeff goes above and beyond you will not be let down by him.
  • Madison
    Madison A. Married on 09/12/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing All Around!

    Jeff and his company were amazing. Easy, everything was laid out for me with no hidden charges and they made everything super easy. The night of my wedding I was able to relax and enjoy the delicious food. The servers and staff were PERFECT. We will use Bon Soir for all future events we have!
  • J
    Julie C. Married on 11/16/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful experience with bon soir

    Words cannot express how wonderful Jeff and the whole Bon Soir team are on every level. Not only did Jeff help us figure out the best menu for our budget he also guided us through creating a blueprint for our entire wedding day. Jeff and the Bon Soir team are always calm, always positive, always easy to reach and always working to make sure you get exactly what you want on your big day. No question went unanswered and every question was met with never-ending patience and wisdom from the whole team. We don't know how we would have planned a wedding for 220 people without Jeff's guidance. He even helped us with wonderful suggestions for alcohol and beer vendors and helped us figure out the best amount to order which was above and beyond his call of duty for our party. The entire staff on the day of the event made sure the party was seamless. Every staff member treated us like royalty from start to finish and they were so sweet to our guests. And, now...the FOOD! Every single one of our guests made a point of raving about every item that was served from appetizers to entrees. Everything was fresh, hot, delicious and looked great. Our friends and family went up for seconds and thirds and could not believe we were serving such delicious food at a party for so many people. For example, the pita with our appetizers was served fresh and hot. When have you ever had fresh, hot pita bread at a party? We did (and so did all our guests) at our wedding. We hope to have another party just so we have an excuse to hire Jeff and his team again. If you are looking for a caterer for your big event, look no further!
  • Brian
    Brian D. Married on 10/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best caterer for a Greenpoint Loft wedding!!

    We had chosen the Greenpoint Loft to celebrate our wedding and weren't very familiar with the catering options in the Brooklyn area coming from CT. Reviewing the recommended vendors listed on our venue's website we came across Bon Soir Caterers. I thought to do a little research and had a good feeling after reading so many positive reviews (pictures of food sold me too). I reached out and spoke to Jeff Riley and the rest was history. Jeff assessed our needs and created a custom menu tailored to what we wanted within a reasonable budget. Speaking with him, you can tell he has years of experience in this industry and we felt comfortable with his recommendations. Came the wedding day, everything was seamless with the staff being punctual, professional, and attentive whenever needed. The food was just as good or if not, better from when we had our tasting! We continue to hear compliments to this day from our guests on how amazing the food was 2 months later. We can't thank you enough on the amazing service you provided us and making our wedding day so much more special.
  • M
    Marcy Married on 09/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Magical Night at The Picnic House

    My daughter's wedding reception at the Picnic House was catered by Bon Soir. They prepared delicious food and presented and served it beautifully. The owner, Jeff, was involved throughout the process. He coordinated all of our deliveries and his staff even helped with "last minute" decorating. His familiarity with the venue made for a perfect event. It was magical to see the empty building transformed into a stunning reception space. Our guests were very impressed!
  • Hayley
    Hayley C. Married on 09/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best decision we made!

    Stop and hire Jeff now. Him and his team were absolutely amazing for us. Since the moment we spoke with him, we knew we were in good hands. We had a vision of the food we wanted and he made sure it came to life! He answered every single question quickly and helped with things that weren't even part of his job. Even after the wedding, he is helping us get back money from a vendor who over charged us. Not his job at all, but again that's the type of guy Jeff is.
  • Michael
    Michael Married on 11/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Look no further

    Bon Soir, especially Jeff during planning and Victor on the big day, gave us the perfect wedding dining experience. The professionalism and organizational help from Bon Soir was top notch, but at the end of the day, their food is what made them stand out. Every single item was exquisite and tasted just as it did during our tasting session several months before the wedding. Many guests told us afterward that the food was better than they'd had at any wedding before, and we both certainly agreed. Would highly recommend!

    Bon Soir Caterers's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words. It has been our pleasure to have served you.
    May you have a blessed life together!
  • L
    Linda W. Married on 11/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful Experience

    Food was delicious, staff were professional, ever-present on day of event and attentive to guests from start to finish.
  • G
    Gabriella R. Married on 10/14/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Informative Professional with lots of experience & Great Food!

    Jeff Riley has tons of experience, is reassuring and straight forward. He really knew our venue and told us what to expect, made great recommendations. His staff was professional and on top of things. We now know why he is on the recommended vendors list. The food was delicious and we received a lot of great feedback from our guests about his staff's professionalism on the day of our wedding. Highly recommend!
  • N
    Nancy Married on 10/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our wedding at the Prospect Park Boathouse. After the previous exclusive caterer went MIA, many of the couples, who were left stranded including ourselves, were invited to a tasting with Jeff and the team. We were blown away by the presentation and taste of the food. After careful considerations, we decided to go with Bon Soir and we are very glad we did!

    Yoriko knew the Boathouse like the back of her hands. She was one of the main reasons that we went with Bon Soir. She was calm and collected the whole night and moved things along, working with my Day-of Coordinator. The staff member were so courteous and sweet, making sure we had everything we need and we looked our best on the day.

    The food was absolutely amazing. I have friends raving about crab cakes and chateaubriand for days. Everything was executed perfectly and timely to our plans and we can't thank Bon Soir enough for our beautiful wedding.
  • Kayla
    Kayla Married on 09/30/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing food

    He makes the absolute best quality food and is willing to customize your particular menu to perfection. He was very flexible in listening to exactly what he wanted. Everyone at the wedding was raving about how good the food was! I posted a pic of some of the desserts.
  • C
    Cam Married on 09/30/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bon Soir Caterers were a package deal with the Prospect Park Boathouse, and they were wonderful to work with. Yoriko (and our day-of captain Ryan) were so so helpful, responsive, and professional; the food was excellent (still getting compliments); and the price was pretty reasonable considering they also took care of our linens, flatware, plates, etc. I'd highly recommend them if you're looking for a caterer!!

    Bon Soir Caterers's reply:

    Thank you so much. Even after 40 years we still need and love the affirmation of a job well done.
    May you have a blessed life together!
    Team Bon Soir
  • K
    K. Married on 09/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bon Soir was our wedding caterer at the Prospect Park Boathouse and the service was superlative. Yoriko has done events at the Boathouse for ten years, so we trusted her entirely, all the details were perfect, and the Bon Soir staff was kind, thoughtful, and frankly, the most professional staff I've encountered at a New York event. I really appreciate their level of service, and recommend them highly.
  • C
    Carolyn Married on 09/23/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    No doubt Bon Soir among the best-- we are so grateful for their work for our daughter's recent wedding! The food and service were excellent, tailored to our needs -- everything was beautifully prepared and served, attentive to food allergies among our guests. They listened to the wedding couple and ensured the setting was beuatiful and addressed last their mintue questions calmly. Bravo-- a job well done.
  • D
    Daniel Married on 08/25/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were very pleased with having Bon Soir as our caterer. Our family and friends could not stop talking about the food at our wedding. We even got asked by multiple people if Bon Soir had a restaurant! Jeff's expertise, guidance, patience, and professionalism really made the whole wedding planning process so much easier on us. We can tell that he genuinely cared about creating an experience that suited our desires and budget. We wanted to have an environmentally friendly & sustainable wedding and he went above and beyond to make sure it came to fruition. We are eternally grateful for all the hard work, time, and effort that Jeff and his staff put into our wedding. We honestly couldn't have chosen a better caterer!
  • L
    Lindsay Married on 08/18/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used Bon Soir at our Picnic House wedding (in Prospect Park) this past August. Jeff and his team have years of experience in catering, and it shows! Jeff helped us pick out our menu and the food was deeeelicious! His day-of team was incredibly helpful and was there to help us with anything we needed. Also, Bon Soir is very affordable considering the area and quality of the food!!! Thanks for making our day great!
  • A
    Aine Married on 12/31/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used Bon Soir for our wedding at the Prospect Park Picnic House. Beyond incredible value, Jeff is a professional. He went above and beyond to accommodate our requests. Leading up to the wedding, he assisted us in creating a menu, seating chart, timeline and even a projection of how much alcohol we should supply. In an often overwhelming process, he has a very calming effect. According to every guest who attended, the food on the day was absolutely amazing!
    We are so lucky we chose to work with Bon Soir!
  • E
    Erin Married on 11/10/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bon Soir was amazing for our Nov. 10th wedding at the Picnic House. Every single bite of food was delicious. We had a handful of food restrictions (I'm a vegetarian, one of the bridesmaids has serious allergies to dairy and greens, a few of our friends keep kosher) and Jeff had no problem making sure everyone was able to eat well. From the passed appetizers to the buffet, all the food was mouth-watering and Jeff's staff packed up all the leftovers and sent us home with them.

    Bon Soir's staff was fantastic. The chef, the servers, and the bartenders anticipated everyone's needs and were kind and courteous and friendly. When I spilled food on my dress (seriously, like my first bite of food because I am not even a little bit graceful), the bartender helped me clean it up with club soda and helped prevent a stain from setting in. When our son ate dinner roll after dinner roll, the servers made sure he always had more. We owe the staff a huge gratitude for being the most professional, impressive group. They truly made our wedding top notch.
  • M
    Maura Married on 11/04/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I were unfortunately one of the couples who were affected by a catering scam at the Boathouse in Prospect Park. We were lucky enough to have a couple of months to gather ourselves and look for someone else. As soon as we spoke to Jeff we felt like we were going to be taken care of and that we could trust him. The food was amazing and the service was impeccable. We still get compliments about the food til this day!
  • A
    Andrew Married on 09/02/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    BonSoir catering serves delicious food! So many options on the Menu to literally cater to anyone’s needs. Their service and the way they do business is top notch!! They swooped in and saved the day for us when our initial caterer skipped town with our intital deposit. We were really impressed with the owner of the business as he really understood our situation and feelings and was super accommodating. When someone is truly trying to provide the best service for your needs it feels good. BonSoir definitely did that. I recommend them to anyone in the NYC area!