Skip to main content
Weddings

Black Pelican Catering Reviews

Black Pelican Catering

Black Pelican Catering

Kitty Hawk, NC
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 76 Reviews
View more information

76 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 76
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

13 User photos

  • K
    Kate Married on 10/15/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Professional and they did an amazing job !!

    Food was amazing ! Especially with not being in the area to taste test .. it was better than I could ever imagine! They were the best, I’d definitely recommend!
  • B
    Brooke Married on 10/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Best Food and Service

    The Black Pelican Catering team was amazing! Jen was great and easy to work with. She was super responsive and thoroughly answered all of our questions along the way! They also offer more than just the food which is super helpful. We were able to secure our rentals through Black Pelican as well which made things easier for us. We did onsite services and couldn't have been happier with the food and the service. Everything we ate was delicious and the servers felt like part of our friends and family. They did a great job setting up everything and they also cleaned up which was a huge help!
  • Alexandra
    Alexandra V. Married on 10/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Apps and Dinner

    The food from Black Pelican was just perfect. Yes, we had leftovers for days and yes we totally ate ALL of our leftovers. The food was just superior from other vendors we tested out. Also, the serious was amazing from all the waiters who were walking around making sure people had what they need all the way to the bar. Our guest just loved the bar and how the bartenders were so positive. Also, our apps were gone before we even entered the venue after we took photos so if that does not say how great the food is I do not know what does. And definitely had a tasting before your wedding because even during COVID Jennifer acted as our waiter so we could get to know her!
  • Heather
    Heather P. Married on 09/17/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome experience!

    My husband and I planned our destination wedding from out of state and we knew we wanted food from the Black Pelican! The catering team was very kind, responsive, and the food was amazing. We are so thankful that we chose them for our wedding food. We would 100 % recommend for your catering needs.
  • Jessica
    Jessica Married on 09/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Food!

    The Black Pelican will not disappoint! We hired them while living out of state and planning a destination wedding. They came through! The food was amazing, great service, and those crab cakes!! Delicious!!
  • Brianna
    Brianna P. Married on 05/28/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Food

    Black Pelican is the place to book for all of your catering needs. We booked them for our wedding food and we do not regret it. You are given a sufficient amount of food for buffet style and the food is amazing. Our guests could not stop raving about the food. Must haves are the chicken wings and chocolate fountain. Yes they have a chocolate fountain!!! The customer service was amazing and the girls that came to work my wedding were nothing but wonderful. They were flexible and easy to work with especially when our wedding got postponed due to COVID.
  • N
    Natalie H. Married on 05/22/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    All the food

    When your husband eats like a teenager, black pelican has everything type of food you can imagine. We had to keep it picky people safe for mostly my husband but everyone enjoyed the food especially the crab cake appetizer! I did have two guests that needed special food one was delivered and the other was vegan plate that didn’t end up at the wedding but she was able to eat other things. So double check to make sure if you have guests that are vegan or have food allergies but overall the food was super yummy!
  • Alyssa
    Alyssa N. Married on 05/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    More than expected!

    Our wedding food was more than I ever imagined! It was so delicious and we got a large quantity... there was definitely enough for our guests plus some! And EVERYTHING was yummy, there isn't one thing on our menu that I wasn't pleased with. Those crab cakes and the shrimp dip were the stars of the show. We live in Pennsylvania so I wasn't able to do a tasting before hand but I relied on their good reviews and its all true they are the best on the beach for a reason. Honestly the quality was worth what we spent on the food. I would use their catering again in the future and recommend to other brides this is the place to go. I was so happy to be able to serve our guests that traveled so far to be with us, an impressive meal... and we sent some of them home with leftovers! Thank you for being a highlight of our wedding.
  • Ashley
    Ashley T. Married on 04/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Catering Experience!

    Black Pelican catered for our rehearsal and reception. The staff had great attitudes and they were pleasant to work with. The food was delicious and I would definitely recommend their services.
  • Tonya
    Tonya Married on 12/09/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exceptional

    Jennifer and Summer were amazingly flexible with all our changes due to COVID. Our guest said that we had the best reception food that they gave ever had.
  • Taylor
    Taylor W. Married on 08/29/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic!!

    We have been coming to the outer banks for years and knew that the Black Pelican was who we wanted to cater our Obx wedding! From the very beginning, Jennifer and the rest of the Black Pelican catering team were professional, responsive, and very easy to work with. They answered all of our many questions and made sure we had everything we needed for the day of! Even when we had to change plans last minute because of Covid, their team did so flawlessly. Not only is the Black Pelican catering team fantastic to work with, the food is out of this world!! Our guests are still raving about the meal! I would highly recommend the Black Pelican to anyone having their wedding in the outer banks!
  • Amanda
    Amanda Married on 10/26/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing food and easy to work with.

    Black Pelican was quick to respond when I began reaching out to caterers for our wedding. They were able to work with our budget and provided wonderful catering service, including beautiful, high quality plastic ware at a good price. Our guests absolutely raved about our food! I was told it was the best wedding food at least one person had ever had. I can't say enough good things.
  • Amy
    Amy Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great service and delicious food!

    Jennifer, Summer, and the rest of the Black Pelican catering team did a great job with our wedding catering. The food was delicious and the wedding catering ran smoothly the day of. Jennifer and Summer were extremely responsive and helpful prior to the wedding day. We ended up doing a pie table with pies from the Black Pelican instead of a wedding cake and the guests loved it. I would highly recommend Black Pelican for any Outer Banks wedding. Thank you again Black Pelican!!!
  • N
    Nicole G. Married on 08/24/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Guest still raving about food!

    Went to a food tasting and it was out of this world! Myself and two others were very pleasured with the quality and flavor of the food. Sometimes food isn't the same day of, but I can't tell you how many people complimented the food. Everyone came from at least 6hours away and they all were super pleased. No a single bad thing was said regarding the catering. Bartender was quick to provided asked for drinks. The employees were attentive to guests. During the process leading up to the wedding, the catering team was quick to reply to emails and provide tons of feedback and recommendations. Even when not getting alcohol from them, they recommended a way for me to calculate the amount needed. Everything with this company is amazing. They even worked with me during the payment process. For example, I made the final payment on time only to realize I had forgotten to include my husband and myself, it was no issue to add the two of us and apply the new total/payment. I would absolutely recommend this company to everyone getting married! If I had to do it all over, I would choose them again to cater my wedding!
  • Rebecca
    Rebecca D. Married on 07/18/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent!!!

    I can’t say enough good things about the Black Pelican catering! The food was delicious, very generous portions so great value for the price. Fair prices and excellent support and service. They were very flexible, fun and great communication!! Thank you so much for making our wedding so special!!
  • AnnMarie
    Annmarie Married on 05/25/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best food I've ever had at a wedding!

    Couldn't of been happier with the food from Black Pelican for my wedding day. Many of my guests came up to me to tell me that it was the best food they've ever had at a wedding! I'm a chef from up in Michigan so letting go and letting another company completely take care of the food for my wedding was really hard, but they did not disappoint!! They will also work with you on the menu and make modifications to fit what you want, I adjusted the salad and a dressing and the butter on our steak and they did everything exactly how I wanted. Couldn't be happier with the food and service that night!! If you are from another state and are looking for a caterer, GO WITH BLACK PELICAN!! You will be so happy and relieved that you did!
  • Seona
    Seona A. Married on 05/23/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    High Quality Catering

    The food is top notch for a great price. My experience with them was stress free and super organized. When my husband and I went to the tasting, they were so polite and attentive. They also let us take home leftovers so we could enjoy their great food later. I'm so happy Tony Joseph (Idoobxweddings), our officiant, recommended them. They had the biggest variety to pick from than any other vendor I have seen. They delivered right on time for the reception. They are timely, organized, polite, and had an amazing selection of high quality foods. Their chef knows how to create some great dishes and combines great flavors.
  • J
    Jackie Married on 05/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    All around Excellence

    From working with Jennifer to construct our menu to the wait staff during our wedding, Black Pelican is amazing! They are flexible with what you want and go above and beyond. Our guests raved about their food and their bartenders are awesome!!
  • C
    Caitlin Married on 05/18/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding delivery

    We hired the Black Pelican for a delivery to cater our wedding and it was one of the best choices we made! Everyone at our reception was raving about the food and there was barely any left. Quite a few of our guests told us that it was the best wedding food that they have had! Their catering team went above and beyond and were so quick at responding! I would recommend them to anyone looking for a caterer. We couldn’t have been more happy with our decision! (P.s. get the BBQ chicken, it is to die for!)
  • Courtney
    Courtney Married on 05/04/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Food was delicious

    Black pelican catering went above and beyond at my wedding on 5.4.19. There aren’t enough words to say how amazing everything was. The food was a priority for me when planning our wedding because that is something your guests will remember when it’s over. Jennifer, the catering coordinator was an absolute pleasure to work with. She was extremely professional, very responsive, and made sure everything ran smoothly at our wedding. Even a month later, our guests are STILL raving about how good the food was. If you are looking for great service & food at a decent price, Black Pelican is your go to! You get what you pay for & we are SO glad we went with the Black Pelican Catering team. Thank you guys SO much for everything!
  • Chelsea
    Chelsea Married on 05/04/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Making fairytales come true

    Thank you very much for the AMAZING food & service provided for my wedding!!!! Your team went above and beyond throughout the entire process. Jen & Nancy were SO amazing - happy to answer any questions we had and really did help bring our vision to life. The food was SO DELICIOUS and many of my guests raved about it saying that it was the best food they have ever had at a wedding! The service you provided was outstanding and it made this special day successful. They even had the servers wear pink bowties for our wedding to fit in with the 'princess/fairytale' theme we had going on. It was honestly a dream come true and it would've never happened without Black Pelican! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!
  • C
    Cori F. Married on 10/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Catered wedding at Jennette's Pier

    We used Black Pelican to cater our wedding at Jennette's Pier. We loved them! They were easy to work with, always responded back to me in a timely manner and answered any questions I had throughout the planning process. The food was amazing and all of our guest loved it! I would recommend them to anyone planning a wedding in the OBX.
  • M
    Meghan Married on 10/20/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious!

    We hired this caterer without taste testing any food because we are out of town and the food was delicious!!! The team was very easy to work with and talk to. The wait staff even changed the schedule the night of my wedding to accommodate our timeline. I dont have any negative things to say about the company or the food! I would 100% hire them again!
  • Kelsey
    Kelsey Married on 10/20/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Definitely the best wedding food I've ever had at a wedding

    The title says it all! It's just an added bonus that it happened to be our wedding! Seriously, the whole Black Pelican crew are amazing. The show up and work so hard. The food is fresh and delicious. They clean it all up and leave whatever food is left in organized containers for you to take with you. If you are unable to taste test because you are booking a destination wedding then you are in great hands with Black Pelican. They give you exactly what you want and customize the menu to whatever YOU want to serve. We had so many of our guests reach out to tell us how amazing the food was.