Barrows House Reviews

7 | Dorset, VT
See photos, pricing and details

7 Reviews for Barrows House

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

7

15 User photos

Sort by:
  • Bria

    Bria · Married on 05/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Overall great experience

    Our wedding was great. Barrows House was our location of choice in Dorset VT. The food was amazing and the day of the wedding everything went smoothly and well. I would definitely recommend. Over all great experience.

    Sent on 12/05/2019
  • J

    Jessica T. · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect in every way

    Our wedding at Barrows House was the best weekend of our lives and everyone who works there made it so easy and seamless that we were able to just relax and enjoy every moment. Colleen was fantastic at organizing everything and she was so flexible - she made every vision and request come true for us. Our day was perfectly customized to us. The food was fantastic, our family still talks about it. Scott helped us create amazing signature cocktails too. We can’t recommend Barrows House enough!! Plus, they are dog friendly :)

    Sent on 12/14/2019
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I married at The Barrows House this past September. I've actually been putting off writing this review because I have had trouble finding the ability to describe how incredible our whole experience was. From the moment we started planning until the very second we left The Barrows House the Sunday after our wedding they were absolutely incredible. Colleen was an essential piece to our wedding planning and was the one that in the end made our vision come to life, even better than I had originally imagined (might I add)! We had our rehearsal dinner there as well and the whole wedding party along with some friends and family stayed all weekend. Every single minute was executed perfectly and without either myself or my husband having to life a finger. The staff was so amazing and always made sure to check on us to see if we had enough to eat (which as the Bride and Groom is so important), enough to drink, or just needed anything at all. Steven and Lauren, Colleen, and the rest of The Barrows House staff as well as The Dorset Inn staff went above and beyond in making our weekend everything we dreamt of. They are exceptional and should truly be recognized as such. I think everyone dreams of the perfect wedding weekend and that does not always happen, however in our case it did and we could not have picked a better place to start our lives and share our experience with our friends and family. The Barrows House is THE ABSOLUTE BEST!

    Love Troy and Nicole Sargent

    Sent on 10/25/2017
  • E

    Emma · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had both our wedding welcome dinner and celebration lunch at Barrows House, and also had many of our guests stay at Barrows House and the sister property the Dorset Inn over our wedding weekend. Colleen and the staff at both properties were UNBELIEVABLE and we could not have been happier that we chose to have our events there and that we and our guests stayed there over the weekend. There are many, many reasons why they were so awesome, but here are a few:
    -The inns themselves are ADORABLE – they are nicely renovated but still have a ton of charm, and are reasonably priced for the area and for what you get.
    -Colleen, who manages all events at the properties, did an awesome job and was so flexible and helpful throughout. They were so relaxed and really helped to make sure our vision came through. When it threatened to rain, they set us up so that we’d be fine rain or shine, which we really appreciated.
    -they really let us make the place “our own” and our guests were playing lawn games, relaxing on the property, and exploring the area. There is something about these two inns that over the course of the weekend they make you feel like part of the family, and you can really tell that their main goal is to make sure you and your guests just have a great time.
    Throughout the weekend and during our events, they were amazing and they made sure we and our guests felt truly at home. We cannot encourage you enough to book them for a wedding, a welcome dinner, or an event, or even just as a place for you or your guests to stay. They will not disappoint.
    -Emma & Jeff

    Sent on 09/25/2016
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I celebrated our wedding at Barrows House in July 2016. We used the Dorset Inn for our rehearsal dinner and hosted all of our guests for welcome cocktails the night before our wedding throughout the first floor of the Dorset Inn. We couldn't have wished for a better venue. Barrows House is a truly unique property which allowed us to have a large portion of our guests right next door (which we looked high and low for!)... and is stunning inside and out. The Dorset Inn, just a couple blocks away, is the epitome of New England charm and a lovely addition to all that Barrows House has to offer. Colleen was a pleasure to work with throughout the process and anything we wanted to do was met with welcomed accommodation. All of our closest friends and family stayed throughout the two properties for our wedding weekend and everyone was complementary of the beautiful rooms and excellent service. Colleen had relationships with most of our vendors and they seamlessly worked together on the day of our wedding, creating a smooth process for all involved. We truly felt Colleen and Barrows House had our back, filling in any gaps we missed or overlooked throughout the process and at our wedding (including getting us a great deal on an upgraded sailcloth tent and even paying our cocktail hour jazz band when we mistakenly forgot to prior to the ceremony). We loved our experience at Barrows House and our guests continue to have nothing but glowing reviews a year later. Thank you to all those involved-you made our day and made the planning process a breeze.

    Sent on 10/09/2016
  • H

    Haley · Married on 01/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Barrows House was incredible! The food was delicious, the staff was so accomadating, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and Colleen did an amazing job organizing the perfect day for us. It was a weekend we will never forget!

    Sent on 02/08/2015

    Barrows House's reply:

    So glad your day was perfect and enjoyed by all! It was a wonderful winter weekend with light snow making it the picture perfect Dorset Village wedding.
    We look forward to welcoming you back next January!

    All the best,
    Colleen, Richard and Staff
  • User3575336 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was personalized. They took our suggestions and thoughts and built our dream wedding. Rooms are fresh and new, we were lucky to find his gem.

    Sent on 10/02/2013

    Barrows House's reply:

    We are so happy that you found the perfect place for your wedding!

    Congratulations from all of us at Barrows House and The Dorset Inn!