Bali Hai Restaurant Reviews

96 | San Diego, CA
See photos, pricing and details

96 Reviews for Bali Hai Restaurant

Recommended by 96% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

96

89 User photos

Order by:
  • Jodi

    Jodi Tam · Getting married on 06/03/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Value for Wedding Venue!

    From the event coordinators (Jenny & Kendyll) to the wait staff, my now-husband and I could not have asked for a more accomodating and organized group of people to help us execute our big day beyond our expectations. Having a group that is detail-oriented, organized, and fast responders was a huge priority for us in making the wedding as stress-free as possible. The tasting for the food was included with our package which isn't common. The food was great and was a highlight of our wedding day, as were the mai tai's and champagne punch bowl. You definitely get a great waterfront view at Bali Hai, but what you will get that you will not get elsewhere is by far the biggest bang for your buck. Choosing this place was most gratifying decision we made for our wedding.

    Sent on 06/10/2019
  • Alexandra

    Alexandra Mcquarrie · Getting married on 10/09/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend!!

    My husband and I couldn't have asked for a better venue for our ceremony and reception! We chose to have our reception in the outdoor Hawaiian pavilion, and it was an excellent decision. Our guests were amazed with the beauty and views of this venue. The wait staff exceeded our expectations as well and you can't go wrong with their amazing food. Jenny and Kendyll were a pleasure to work with. We highly recommend!

    Sent on 10/09/2019
  • Daniel

    Daniel Audick · Married on 08/04/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing and picturesque venue for a wedding ceremony and reception!

    Absolutely! We have actually already told many friends and associates about our wedding and the wonderful venue and services of Bali Hai! It was the perfect setting with a very romantic backdrop of the City of San Diego on the other side of the San Diego Harbor. The city lights were very picturesque. Lots of our guests were from out of town. It was very convenient for them to get to the ceremony and reception at the same location. They were very impressed to have a view of San Diego lit up across the waters. The pricing options for the ceremony and reception were well within our budget. For those considering a location for a wedding and reception or any other event, we highly recommend the Bali Hai!

    Sent on 05/28/2019
  • J

    JNISHIMOTO · Married on 04/11/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfection

    We got married on November 16, 2019. The entire Bali Hai team were beyond amazing!! The location, price, food quality, and service provided was excellent. I highly recommend celebrating both your wedding and ceremony at this beautiful venue. Thank you for making our wedding day nothing but pure perfection!

    Sent on 01/16/2020
  • Tim

    Tim Wilder · Married on 01/03/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Island Vibe Venue on the Bay of San Diego!

    Wow, Wow, Wow, Bali Hai's wedding coordinators Jenny and Kendall are as professional, accommodating, very responsive, easy to work with and stress free as we could have asked for. After calling around, interviewing and visiting 10 different venues, Bali Hai stood out above the rest for both affordability and for the unbelievable venue site right on the water over looking San Diego bay. After deciding on Bali Hai and locking in a early 2020 wedding date we have had nothing short of a perfect experience with both Jenny and Kendall. They are easy to talk to and very attentive to our request, not to mention the food is amazing. We feel very fortunate to have been able to work with them and highly recommend Bai Hai as a dream island wedding venue in San Diego. Thank you Jenny and Kendall for what you do!

    Mahalo, Sharon and Tim

    Sent on 04/07/2020
  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 11/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love, love, love

    Not only is the property beautiful, the Sales and Catering team are excellent. We came in just for a possible venue sight and we signed that contract the same day. We can't wait to celebrate our wedding here.

    Sent on 01/21/2019
  • Katie

    Katie · Married on 10/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything we dreamed of

    The best decision we could have made for our wedding was hiring the Bali Hai as our reception venue. From the staff, to the food, to the beautiful views, everything about the Bali Hai was perfect. Jenny and Kendyll were so prompt to respond to any and all questions I had regarding the venue, and were very flexible with some rescheduling due to my husband's deployment, and a death in the family. I come from a large Italian family, so we've been to our share of weddings, and everyone in my family is saying this is by far the best wedding they'd ever been to. The food was fantastic, and you just can't beat those views. Do yourself a favor, and book the Bali Hai for your wedding!

    Sent on 11/19/2019
  • Carl

    Carl Roth · Married on 10/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely Amazing!

    Highly recommend!!

    My wife and I couldn't have asked for a better venue for our ceremony and reception! Our guests loved the views, being outside and excellent food! The tri-tip was Da Bomb! Amazing! The Mai Tai bowls were a hit! The staff exceeded our expectations and did a fantastic job. Jenny and Kendyll were a pleasure to work with! The only thing we would do differently is order more appetizers. One per person is too little.

    Sent on 12/27/2019
  • J

    Jamilah · Married on 09/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stress free and simple

    Jenny and her team made sure that my (now) husband and I didn’t worry about a thing. With her help, our wedding was perfect; no additional wedding coordinator needed.

    We will see y’all in 10 years for our vow renewal!!!!

    Sent on 09/20/2019
  • Annie

    Annie Gonzalez · Married on 09/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tropical Retreat with Unbeatable Views & Service

    Finding the venue is one of the hardest parts of wedding planning. After having a Mai Tai a few months back we talked about how beautiful it would be to get married here! When we toured the Bali Hai it was hands down the place not just because of the good drinks and views but the service too. Jenny, our day-of and wedding go-to made everything about this stressful selection such a breeze! A lot of other venues only provide the space, and you have to coordinate everything else which can turn into a lot of $$ and a lot more stress. To have everything included– tables, linens, food, bar service etc., with options of an indoor or outdoor reception (we went with indoor) and the option of adding the ceremony on the back patio ALL under 1 roof with just 1 contact, made our planning process and budgeting so much more digestible. Jenny constantly kept us up-to-date on changes, what details she needed from us and just stellar communication overall. We were so lucky to have Jenny through this process and the outstanding team that helped provide such a magical day. I cannot recommend the Bali Hai and Jenny enough, our friends and family have and still are talking about how perfect everything was and how we had the perfect space to celebrate! Thanks again!!!

    Sent on 09/17/2019
  • Corina

    Corina · Married on 08/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hawaiian Wedding

    When planning a Hawaiian wedding, it was a no brainer to go with Bali Hai. After I received their initial quote, I was discouraged and thanked them for the information. But they quickly responded with their willingness to accommodate our modest budget. I couldn't believe such a beautiful venue would be so accommodating. The wedding coordinators are very caring and professional. They always responded to my inquiries in a timely fashion. The food was AMAZING! All of my guests were impressed and I am still getting compliments a month later. We were in the Hawaiian village, the outside gazebo, which was perfect for a July wedding. I highly recommend this venue for San Diego weddings!

    Sent on 08/20/2019
  • N

    Nataly Lopez · Married on 08/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent experience!!

    I would totally recommend Bali hai for your special event!

    Sent on 09/06/2019
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 07/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bali Hai was absolutely perfect!

    Great place to have a beautiful wedding Jenny and Kendal were wonderful to work with!!!

    Sent on 08/07/2019
  • Nikki

    Nikki · Married on 06/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fun, relaxed and on the water!

    We loved the Bali Hai and would recommend this to anyone who is looking for an outdoor wedding that affordable and chill. The ceremony site is beautiful and intimate and we held our reception in the outdoor space overlooking the bay. The food is very different than your traditional venues and our guests loved it all.

    Kendyll and Jenny were great to work with and responded to all of our questions right away every time. The venue is flexible and you have more wiggle room to plan your wedding the way you want without being nickeled and dimed for everything.

    We loved this venue, we loved the staff and we loved the relaxed, laid-back vibe, which was important for us!

    Sent on 08/31/2019
  • Jill

    Jill · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing rehearsal dinner

    We had our rehearsal dinner at Bali hai and it was beautiful! We had all of our out of town family (about 60 total) and had a cocktail type party instead of sit down dinner. It was perfect weather and a lot of people hung out outside. We considered this for our wedding venue too but we wanted it fully outdoors. The food was amazing and of course the punch was a hit!

    Sent on 10/04/2019
  • Arianna

    Arianna Farinelli · Married on 06/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply the best!

    Bali Hai is simply the best! We got married 2 weeks ago, and every time we've chatted with any of our guests, they rave about what a great venue Bali Hai was - the food (tri-tip and salmon were AMAZING), the drinks (we recommend the punch bowls!), the view, it all makes for a great party! Working with the Jenny and Kendyll was a breeze and they took care of everything for us. We used the Hawaiian Pavillon for our reception and loved being outside. Our guests liked the fire pit right outside and being able to walk along the water if they needed a breather from all the dancing. Definitely check them out, I couldn't be happier with how our big day went.

    Sent on 07/08/2019
  • Christina

    Christina Hobson · Married on 05/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best wedding spot in San Diego!

    This is the most beautiful wedding spot in San Diego! I had many people tell me at our wedding that it was the most amazing wedding they had ever been to! You can not beat the San Diego bay view during the day and the city lights and San Diego skyline is spectacular at night! I would highly recommend this venue! The food was delicious too! Jenny and Kendyll were awesome and helped make the whole wedding process as smooth and seamless as possible! They answered emails fast and met with me at the Bali Hai several times over the year I was planning our wedding. We had our reception at the South Pacific room and it was just gorgeous! The location makes for the most incredible photos ever! I am just in awe over our wedding pictures! I would 100% recommend this venue to everyone!

    Sent on 06/10/2019
  • Megan

    Megan Aaron · Married on 05/24/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Wedding Ever!

    We were married at Bali Hai 3 weeks ago and had the best experience ever!
    Jenny and Kendyll are the best. They are extremely responsive, helpful and kind. They were easy to schedule with. We live in LA, so it was always challenging to find a time we could do the tastings, etc, but they were extremely flexible and helped us schedule accordingly.
    And I can't say enough about the location and food. Every guest at our wedding commented to us about how beautiful the backdrop of the bay was and how unique the "theme" of the restaurant is.
    The food was fabulous - especially our passed appetizers. We went with the Buffet and everyone said how much they loved it and how they went back for seconds. The servers were amazing and made sure our guests were well fed and always had a beverage. In addition, the security was top notch - we ended up having 2 wedding crashers (i think from the restaurant) and security took care of it seamlessly and with out anyone even noticing.
    Kendyll and Jenny made sure we were happy and comfortable throughout the process and helped with ideas when we needed, but we never felt pushed to do anything a certain way. I'm a vegetarian and allergic to shellfish - they went out of their way to make sure the entire event was shellfish free and even comped me a vegetarian meal.
    If we could do our wedding again, we'd do it at Bali Hai. And we can't wait to come back here and celebrate our one year anniversary with dinner - and our signature cocktail - the paralyzing puffer fish!

    Sent on 06/12/2019
  • Ivonne

    Ivonne Palma Hutt · Married on 04/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    San Diego’s best kept secret wedding venue

    Right from our first meeting, Jenny was amazing! She answered all our questions, and trust us there were many. She shared a lot of information based on her management and coordinating experience which helped us in our planning and timeline. The entire team was professional, responsive and accommodating to all of our requests, including providing a peanut free meal and venue for our wedding reception since we had a guest with a severe allergy.

    The venue is a great value. They offer a ceremony venue with a backdrop that can’t be beat and a reception area with panoramic views, which will have your guests in awe. The food was talked about by all of our guests, many of which wanted to take home the leftovers. We would highly recommend the Bali Hai and working with Jenny to anyone looking for a wedding venue.

    Sent on 05/19/2019
  • Kati

    Kati Vervack · Married on 04/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream team!

    The people at Bali Hai made our experience from the first planning day to our wedding day absolutely seamless, convenient, and awesome! Their willingness to answer our MANY questions, patience as we coordinated over 50 out of town guests, and flexibility with other vendors was so appreciated. Jenny and Kendyll went above and beyond for us, and our guests were blown away by the amazing buffet, downtown/bay views, outdoor ceremony spot, and the South Pacific room for our reception. THANK YOU for the incredible hospitality and helping facilitate our perfect day!

    Sent on 04/16/2019
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 03/23/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Views and Amazing Wedding

    My husband and I chose Bali Hai because they gave us the option of renting out both inside and outside venues, so we essentially rented the entire downstairs for our guests. Everything went smoothly from our ceremony, to our cocktail hour, to our reception. We had dinner outside and then moved drinks and desserts (with the Photo Booth) inside. The fire pit was an amazing addition. Most of our guests were from out of town. So they were able to escape the East Coast glum and enjoy the San Diego skyline and the amazing food and drinks. The Mai Tai was a hit (as was the consumption bar we chose to do). I wish I could do it all over again.

    Sent on 04/05/2019
  • N

    Nikki P · Married on 03/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Masters of their craft

    The event planners and staff of Bali Hai are so professional and kind. They know exactly what they are doing and are so helpful. Kendyall and Jenny were happy to work with our budget and accommodate our needs. This is a wonderful venue.

    Sent on 03/01/2019
  • Lori

    Lori · Married on 12/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mai Tais and Good vibes

    This venue was magical! The view of the San Diego skyline was beautiful. We were outdoor in the Hawaiian Village on a perfect December night in San Diego. Jenny and Kendyll were great to work with. They were quick to respond to any questions or concerns we had. Having open house nights were also very helpful as we were able to check out the venue multiple times throughout our planning while also meeting other vendors who have worked with Bali Hai several times. Food was great! The food actually tasted better the night of the event than when we did the tasting! The banquet staff were very friendly and always made sure Bride and Groom were taken care of. Bali Hai was perfect for us and was very fitting for our tropical themed wedding. I would love to relive our wedding day with them again. There wasn’t anything more we could have asked for in a venue.

    Sent on 02/10/2019

    Bali Hai Restaurant's reply:

    Hi Lori,
    Thank you so much for going out of your way to write this review! We enjoyed having you and Thomas here and are so happy to have been a part of celebrating such a special occasion! As you may not be able to relive that night, the Bali Hai will be here for you to come back to and reminisce as well as create other wonderful memories yet to come! Also, if you like please feel free to email and share photos, as we love to have these on hand to help showcase beautiful weddings here at the Bali Hai.
    All the best and once again, congratulations to you and Thomas!
  • Laura

    Laura Rockland · Married on 11/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful water front venue

    Bali Hai is definitely the best value for a wedding. We had our ceremony & reception there. The ceremony site was breathtaking, I honestly couldn’t have pictured a more idyllic place to get married. They were so attentive to my questions & so helpful on the big day. They set everything up in record time & were so flexible, even when 20 extra guests showed up. They really took away all the wedding day stress especially since I didn’t have a wedding planner. I got so many compliments on the food & drinks, everyone agreed it was the most gorgeous venue. We had the most perfect wedding & we couldn’t have done it without the Bali Hai. I would highly recommend, it was an amazing experience!

    Sent on 02/20/2019
  • L

    Lorin · Married on 03/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Planning a wedding can be extremely stressful for anyone. From the moment I contacted Jenny at Bali Hai to the end of our daughters perfect wedding, the only stress involved was choosing the perfect menu. That was easy, everything was delicious, you can’t make a bad choice. Every detail was taken care of by the wonderful staff. I never once had to ask for anything. We were able to enjoy the entire party without having to micromanage anyone. Jenny was so knowledgeable and made great suggestions to help us with the day. This truly was the perfect place for our daughters dream wedding.

    Sent on 03/26/2018