Weddings

Bakeshop Reviews

Bakeshop View more information

12 Reviews

Rated
4.4
out of 5.0
Recommended by 89% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.1 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.5 out of 5

Awards

  • 12
Sort by:
  • Samantha
    Samantha Married on 04/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Thank you so much for making our favors! We purchased Bakeshop's oreos in a blanket and they were a huge hit. We actually bought 12 extra so that we could take some home but there were none left over by the end of the night. Our wedding planner complimented them and went out of her way to ask where they came from so she could recommend them to future brides. They took our favor stickers and put them on the bags at no extra charge and when the person who I designated to come pick them up told me that she was able to leave a few hours earlier for the wedding and needed to pick them up 2 hours before they were promised, the accommodated us without a problem! Thank you again!

    FYI- we really debated on whether to use their cookies or cupcakes for our wedding and decided to go with cookies. But -- as a heads up, the are significantly less expensive than Georgetown cupcake and Baked and Wired. And they are just as cute!
  • M
    Micaela Married on 04/09/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This is my local bake shop and they serve wonderful coffee and the best melt in your mouth cupcakes. If you're looking for a simpler option for your wedding, meaning not a fancy cake, this place is wonderful! We ended up deciding we wanted to use The Bake Shop because we LOVE their cupcakes and cookies. In the end, we ended up getting a small 6 inch cake (red velvet with cream cheese frosting), 40 cupcakes assorted (but my FAVORITE is the lemon with cream cheese frosting), and 20 assorted cookies. They were a total hit at my wedding! Everyone loved the cupcakes and cookies and we were still able to do the cake cutting with a small and delicious cake. They ended up doing a textured design with the frosting at my request and then I had the florist put some simple tulips on the top when they were setting up. It looked wonderful, but most importantly again tasted SOOOO good and was affordable!
  • K
    Kristen Married on 03/15/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used Bakeshop for our wedding cake. They made a 6in cake and cupcakes for our wedding. The cake and cupcakes were delicious. Pricing and delivery were very reasonable and they delivered on time. We were able to customize the color of the sprinkles on the various flavors. Overall delicious and great value, I would highly recommend.
  • User1260792 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I wanted to have cupcakes instead of a traditional wedding cake- so I went to Justin. I have been to the bakeshop many times and knew I could count on Justin to do an amazing job. We had a variety of flavors and the guests loved them! He also made us a top cake for cutting. Couldn't be happier with our decision! The guests loved the cupcakes!
  • User1124244 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Cupcakes, Cream pie favors, and a 2-tier cake.... what can I say but THANK YOU~! Their cream pies were a hit and our guests were taking stacks of them home with them :) Thank you!!!!!
  • J
    Natalie Married on 04/28/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Best cupcakes and our cutting cake was delish! Justin and team were amazing and everyone had nothing but wonderful compliments for our sweet treats.
  • B
    Lauren Married on 10/16/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We ordered cookies and cupcakes from Bakeshop for a dessert bar that took the place of a formal wedding cake. The cookies and cupcakes are so delicious and the flavors were so much fun. Everybody loved them and there was nothing left at the end of the night. We did have to pick up the desserts on the day of, but that's because our venue was about an hour away from the bakery. I believe they deliver for closer locations. However, this is reflected in the very reasonable price for the desserts. We had enough for 110 people and it was $300. When you consider the cost of a wedding cake, this was a steal...a very very delicious steal.
  • V
    Valerie Married on 10/03/2010
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bake shop was a delicious and affordable wedding dessert option for my wedding. Justin knows how to bake cupcakes and cakes. We and our guests loved the red velvet cupcakes. They were delicious and all out goodness. As a testament to his cupcakes, we had none left over! We also asked Justin to bake a small 8" round cake for us. Exactly like his cupcakes, the cake was moist and yummy. Note: if you want a traditional wedding cake, his bakery is not the option. Justin was very flexible and offered us a tasting, even though he doesn't do this since he's not a traditional wedding baker, used sprinkles to match our wedding colors, and opened his shop up earlier than normal so we could pick up our order (our venue was over an hour away). He did not return emails/phone calls as quickly as I would have liked (maybe a few days turn around), but a simple trip to his bakery took care of everything. The pictures of my dessert table look beautiful and my mouth waters at the thought of those cupcakes. His prices are very affordable and will discount large orders.
  • S
    Susan Married on 06/19/2010
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    The cupcakes were fantastic! My husband doesn't like cake, but even he loved the cupcakes from Baskeshop. We had none left over at all, and we have gotten a ton of feedback about how much people loved them. Unfortunately, Justin was unable to deliver to our reception location, but he worked with us to package them up and help our friends to transport them flawlessly. As he just opened his brick and mortar shop (in Clarendon) months before we were glad he was able to bake for our wedding. Thank you!
  • S
    Sean Married on 09/27/2008
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    Jason knows this craft! We used him for our wedding in September and received rave reviews from our guests. We did an extensive taste testing program against other bakers in the DC area and he was by far the best in terms of BOTH price and taste. We particularly liked the oreo and peanut butter cup options which were both creative and melt in your mouth awesome. I can't wait for him to open a storefront so that I can drop by and get his cupcakes anytime. He was responsive via email and delivered the cupcakes for us personally in protective plastic cases. We highly recommend him.
  • A
    Alexis Married on 10/21/2005
    Rating 2.3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    I cringe just thinking back at the fact that only the kids would eat these.
  • A
    Allison Married on 08/02/2008
    Rating 1.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.5 out of 5
    I had a short notice wedding, leaving me 2-3 months to get everything ready. I chose DC Bakeshop because I wanted wedding cupcakes, and they specialize in cupcakes. The baker relied entirely on email, and at one point stopped replying to my emails, and I was forced to find someone else. He emailed me weeks later asking is he was still doing my cupcakes. The price he quoted was fantastic, but if he cant reply to my emails, I cannot consider him reliable.