51 Reviews for Aldrich House

4.7
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Bridal Suite (7)
Tables (7)
Chairs (6)
Uncovered Outdoor (4)
Indoor (3)
Set Up (3)
Wheelchair Access (3)
Event Rentals (2)
Dance Floor (2)
Parking (1)
50 Aldrich House Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

Our wedding at the Nelson Aldrich house was perfect. We had 80 guests and the room we got married in provided a big yet intimate feel. The grounds are beautiful and allowed us plenty of outdoor photo ops. The staff were accommodating and incredibly helpful and responsive. I am very happy to have gotten married at the Rhode Island Historical Society HQ, it made our day that much more special to us RI natives.

Profile Picture Magdalene, 10/8/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

My daughter's wedding was held at Aldrich House on August 26. I would HIGHLY recommend Aldrich House. Renada was extremely helpful in not only booking the property but quickly responded to any questions we had at all about the venue. They had a large room that could be locked for the wedding party's personal items or to change. The ballroom was beautiful with French doors that were open during the cocktail hour and reception to the outdoors with our tent about 10 feet outside of the french doors. The weather was great so most of the cocktail party took place on the outside lawns surrounding the tent although some of the guests were visiting in the ballroom or the small landing steps above the ballroom which was set up for gifts and appetizers. (There were also passed apps). The ballroom fits 80 people so we had two tables of 10 seated outside the french doors about 6 feet from the other guest tables since the French doors were open. (They loved it since they could enjoy the outdoors, the band (which was in the tent near them) and still be steps away from the other guests.) In inclement weather these tables could have been in the area where we had gifts and appetizers. We chose to put the band and dancing in the tent which was a huge success since people danced all evening and the bar was outside near the tent. (One suggestion would be to have water and even flavored seltzers) placed on a hightop for guests to serve themselves so they wouldn't have to go to the bar for it (even though next to the tent) but could quickly help themselves especially since dancing). Many weddings that are larger than ours seat people outdoors in the tent or in the yard outside and have dancing in the ballroom esp if they have a DJ. We put the band outside because it would have limited the area for dancing in the ballroom since it was a fairly large band vs a DJ. I'd definitely give Aldrich House a 5 out of a 5. The wedding was perfect. Music must stop by 10:30pm though.

Profile Picture Ann, 8/26/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Aldrich House was the PERFECT venue for our wedding. People told us the entire event was "magical". Renata (who manages Aldrich House) was extremely helpful with both my mother and I offering suggestions and hints to help make the planning easy. She recommended several caterers who were familiar with Aldrich House, which also made it easy to plan our wedding (since I was in Boston and then DC) until a week before the wedding. We had 87 people at the event and we fit perfectly. We chose to have the band and dancing outside in a tent with a dance floor. For a larger wedding, eating outside could accommodate a much larger number of guests either in a tent or outside under the stars with mini lights overhead (and reserve a tent in case of inclement weather). Dancing could be inside especially if a DJ (uses less space). The ballroom and venue is air conditioned and they leave the large french doors open to the outside the entire time so the music easily flowed into the ballroom (or vice versa). The ballroom itself seats 80 people if you choose to eat inside but we also put some tables steps outside the ballroom towards the tent. (The guests at the two tables outside loved being close to the band and having their own space to be as loud as they wanted during dinner!) Everyone congregated outside around the grounds for the cocktail hour for the most part since the bar was outside and then again after eating was outside where the dancing was for toasts and the cake cutting. Music does have to stop at 10:30pm since in Providence but that was our only restriction. We used Pranzi for the caterer since they do everything (coordination, rentals, tent) and work often (among others) with Aldrich House. Our regular florist, Claudia, at East Side Market was wonderful with the flowers. We had such a wonderful experience and wish to thank Renata and Aldrich House for making the planning and execution of our wedding so easy yet wonderful!

Profile Picture Caroline, 8/26/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Bridal Suite, Tables
3.7

Our experience at the Aldrich house was all in all good. A little expensive for what you get and a lot of the building is not available for photos . The air conditioner did not work well. The security guard was sitting down drinking during our reception. The wedding itself was beautiful on the grounds but service could have been better for the price. I beleive it was a 2100 dollar rental just for the building. Plus a 500 deposit.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture James, 8/12/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We had our wedding reception at Aldrich House on August 5, 2017 and it was great! Renata was extremely helpful and responsive, and she put us at ease. She is a total pro and recommended vendors who knew the space well. The Aldrich House security staff was professional and helpful. The layout worked very well -- after dinner, the tent on the lawn turned into an all-out dance party, while guests who preferred not to dance were able to go back inside the house (into the beautiful ballroom) for coffee and quiet conversation. We loved that the venue has historic value and many of our guests commented on the unique setting. Would absolutely recommend to anyone looking for a fun and functional venue with a great staff!

Profile Picture Christie, 8/5/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Chairs
4.9

The Aldrich House was the perfect venue for our wedding. The staff was very accommodating and we could do everything we wanted right down to lawn games. The space is very flexible and Renata was a dream to work with!

Profile Picture Michaela, 7/1/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9

Our wedding at the Aldrich House was divine from start to finish. Renata, the event coordinator, was calm, cool and collected; a real joy to work with. We had an outdoor ceremony and set up a big tent in the yard. The grounds are all gorgeous and look even more so in the photos. The place was all our style.... the perfect place for a garden party / BBQ in the heart of providence and all at an affordable rate. Highly reccomeded.

Profile Picture Liz, 6/24/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

I cannot say enough about the awesome event that we had at the Aldrich House. Because of the beautiful day, we were able to have the reception hour for my daughter's bridal shower outside, and the grounds are just lovely for lingering around over a cocktail and, most especially, for pictures. My guests were very impressed with the beautiful historical oil-on-canvas theatre screen depicting the City of Providence which spans the wall in the ballroom. The floor-to-ceiling French doors were flung open to the sunlight so that everyone could just flow into and out of the ballroom. Renata worked the event that day and could not have been more helpful or accommodating; she just pitched right in to help and made sure that everything went off without a hitch. I would highly recommend The Aldrich House to anyone planning their event!

Profile Picture Lisa, 6/17/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6

This is a beautiful location for any event, and the staff take care of every detail, ensuring i don't have to feel stressed or worried about anything. I would recommend Aldrich House to anyone who wants a truly memorable and enjoyable event.

Profile Picture alex, 6/16/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
1.9

The venue itself was quite spacious and pleasant to accommodate around 80 guests. It was also nice to cater the food and drinks we wanted. However, the security person opened the entry 45 min. late and the venue rental manager was completely unavailable. The venue rental manager did not contact us, but the caterer to verify the entry info, keeping in denial of our entry time. What was more frustrating was that, exactly after one week of our wedding date, one reviewer of AH wrote one website that the rental manager was there to help them, unlike for us. The AH director told us that he has a video evidence that we entered the venue after 15 min of the scheduled time, which is not true and we haven't seen yet. We end up disputing the part of the charge we paid. Overall, the wedding went well, but dealing with the rental management team's denial and lying about the late rental time has been unpleasant.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Jihea, 6/10/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The Aldrich house was a beautiful, unique venue for my daughter's wedding reception on June 3. It was the perfect blend of elegance and charm. The gardens were lush and in full bloom. Renata was very accommodating and a pleasure to work with. The staff that was there on the evening of the reception was also wonderful. They were available to us for anything we needed the whole evening and even helped with cleanup at the end of the night.

Profile Picture Ruth, 6/3/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5

This is a really unique space with a lot of character. We loved the ballroom, especially the old tapestry as a backdrop for our day. It was great to find a venue like this right on the East Side of Providence. The communication and organization went well leading up to the event and it all went smoothly despite heavy snow! Renata was even able to accommodate us in changing the start and end time of the event even only a few days before. We had a really special day.

Profile Picture User7744723, 1+ year ago, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9

Lovely venue, wonderful staff, event went off without a hitch!

Profile Picture User7370397, 1+ year ago, 1 Review
Category: Catering, Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

We loved this venue for our wedding. We had 80 guests and it was the perfect size. Renata was so easy to work with - very accommodating and quick to reply to inquiries. The night of the wedding there were a few other staff members present on behalf of the Aldrich House and they too were very kind and friendly. It is a beautiful historic space and provided the atmosphere we were looking for - no need for additional "decorations".

Profile Picture E, 10/8/16, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8

Dealing with Aldrich House, specifically Renata, was always a dream. The house and grounds are beautiful, especially the curtain with the mural in the ballroom. The neighborhood is adorable, including cobblestone sidewalks, perfect for pictures.
The planning before our event and the execution day of was so smooth. Rentals include use of tons of tables and chairs, as well as use of a bridal suite. Cost was very affordable and there is a discount if you are a member (tons of savings for only $100 membership). Tons of street parking made it easy for guests.
Although set-up hours on the day of may seem short, they allow you to do whatever you want to do outside any time. It meant that we could set up all day Friday, have yoga on Saturday morning on the lawn and set up throughout the day on Sunday. By the time the house was unlocked two hours before the event, we had more than enough time to do minimal interior decor. Music must end by 1030, though that worked out perfectly for us. The security staff provided were pleasant and helpful, they went above and beyond their duties.
Only slight issue was that there are only two bathrooms. The staff kept them clean all night and well stocked, but we always had a line. Not their fault, but good to know if you are planning a big group.
I'd highly recommend the Aldrich House for your wedding. There are enough cool features that you don't need to add tons of decorations, but simple enough that you can add decorations and make it your own.

Profile Picture Johanna, 9/10/16, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

Venue: Beautiful house, both inside and outside. Could not go wrong with either an indoor or outdoor ceremony. Separate bride and groom rooms that are equally beautiful and perfect for getting-ready photos.
Location: Quiet neighborhood, just east of Brown University, ample street parking for guests
Details: Renata was fantastic from the very beginning--easily reachable via phone or email. Flexible with any ideas about the ceremony or pictures afterwards. Fantastic in-house staffing was provided on the day of the event, who seamlessly took on the role of a ceremony coordinator based on their experiences with multiple prior weddings!

Profile Picture User7178428, 1+ year ago, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

This is a true hidden gem on the East Side of Providence that combines vintage, cozy, elegant, and a city/artsy vibe. I feel like you could dress this place up any way you wanted to. I absolutely loved the historical touches all through out the house so I felt like I needed minimal decorations for my wedding to look absolutely stunning. Renata is a dream to work with. She responds so quickly to all my messages and E-mails, made sure everything flowed seamlessly for the rehearsal and the day of the wedding, and exudes so much calm and kindness that I was completely relaxed the day of my wedding knowing everything was good to go. I love the flexibility the venue offers as well. We only needed it for our ceremony and pictures afterward, so we were charged by the hour which is so difficult to find! There are many photo opportunities both inside and outside the house that will give you and your photographer a ton of variety. Please check this place out-you will not regret it!!

Profile Picture Michaela, 8/26/16, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Chairs, Indoor, Bridal Suite, Set Up
5.0

This is the perfect venue for a classy summer wedding! The grounds and house are beautiful, there's so much room for personalization. From the start, everything was perfect! Renata was fantastic to work with, answering all of our questions and meeting with us a few times to make sure that everything was in order. The staff at the house both before and during our wedding could not have been nicer. The porch and staircase make for beautiful photographs and the lawn is great for cocktail hour under a tent. Everything was wonderful!

Profile Picture E, 6/18/16, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
Services Used: Bridal Suite, Event Rentals, Set Up, Chairs, Tables
3.8

This is a lovely setting in Providence for an outdoor wedding ceremony and cocktail style reception indoors.

Profile Picture User6862369, 1+ year ago, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor, Chairs, Dance Floor, Tables
4.9

We loved our wedding at the Aldrich House and our guests have continued to rave about the space in the weeks following! Renata was responsive throughout the process, always answering our questions within 24 hours. Because the venue is a historic home, there are certain limitations (for example, you can't hang things on the wall). Renata was able to problem solve with us and allow us to decorate the space in the style we wanted without breaking any of the historic home rules. The venue was a great size for our wedding (135 guests). We had our ceremony outdoors, our cocktail hour in the ballroom with spillover to the upstairs foyer and lawn, and our reception tented in the lawn. There was great indoor-outdoor flow and perfect for a New England wedding where weather can be unpredictable.

There was ample space for the wedding party to wait prior to the wedding. The lighting in the "brides room" isn't the most flattering so I would recommend having your "getting ready photos" taken elsewhere. Lots of gorgeous outdoor space for wedding party and family photos.

While we wouldn't have changed a thing about our wedding, there are a few things we wished we had known in advance:
1) While the cost of renting the Aldrich House is very reasonable, there are some hidden costs (NOT to the Aldrich House, but necessary if you want to host an event there). We anticipated the costs of a tent and associated rentals, but did not anticipate the $500 permit fees the city of Providence charges (apparently this fee is not predictable and depends on the size of the tent etc.)
2) We had a power issue and at the last minute our caterer needed to get a generator. This problem was fixed prior to our wedding ceremony and reception. Renata assured us that this had never happened before and was a fluke.

Even with the unexpected costs we were really happy with the event! The location and space can't be beat!

Profile Picture Hannah, 5/7/16, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Bridal Suite, Chairs, Tables
5.0

The Aldrich House is a wonderful venue! The house and grounds are beautifully maintained and therefore require very little additional decorating. The ballroom boasts a fantastic mural of Providence which provided a stunning backdrop for our reception. Our wedding was in late October and we chose to have the ceremony outside among the brightly colored foliage. The charm of the house and grounds made for wonderful photographs as well.

Working with the staff at Aldrich House was a dream. Renata, the rental manager, was so sweet and collaborative. She let us know right away what kinds of things we couldn't do (such as no open flames or exploring the second floor of the house) and she was very open to the ideas we had. She was very accessible any time I had a question, and made it quite clear she wanted to make sure our wedding was everything we dreamed it would be. On the day of our wedding, they provided security staff (to make sure there was no damage to the historical home) who also worked hard to make sure everything was going well and we had what we needed.

This venue was the perfect location for our small wedding (65-70 guests), but they can accommodate larger weddings (up to 200, I think) by using a tent in the yard. They offer use of their tables/chairs and will set these up for you. As for decorating and event coordination, you will have to look elsewhere. However, I found it especially helpful that I was able to drop off and set up some of the decorations the day before.

I would not change a single thing about our wedding and highly recommend the Aldrich House to others. It is truly a hidden gem!

Profile Picture Lilly, 10/24/15, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Uncovered Outdoor, Chairs, Dance Floor, Tables, Wheelchair Access, Bridal Suite
4.7

The Aldrich House is the hidden gem of Providence wedding venues. The location is private, quaint and puts your wedding into a world of itself. The rental coordinator, Renata, is a pleasure to work with, has great recommendations for vendors and works her hardest to make sure the Aldrich is in tip-top shape for your event. All of my guests as well as vendors were in awe of the property and had never been to such a unique and picturesque wedding venue. I recommend to anyone looking for a historical and unique wedding location at an exceptional value.

Profile Picture Tempestt, 9/19/15, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor, Bridal Suite, Tables, Parking, Wheelchair Access
5.0

The Aldrich House was the perfect place for us! It was historic and beautiful, but the big outdoor space gave us the flexibility to make the sort of wedding we wanted.

Profile Picture Rachel, 9/5/15, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Uncovered Outdoor, Bridal Suite, Event Rentals, Set Up, Tables, Wheelchair Access
4.8

We're really excited to have our wedding at the Aldrich House in August. We wanted to find a venue with both a usable outdoor and indoor space and Aldrich House was the only one that fit the bill and had availability for the popular summer Saturdays we were hoping for. Renata has been really helpful and easy to work with as we plan our wedding from out-of-state. It will be entirely sight unseen for me, although my fiance has visited and says it's great (only concern is the small number of bathrooms- 2 total for our 100+ guests, yikes!). The extra expense to keep in mind with this venue is that you'll need to rent a tent if you have more than 75 or so people and are planning to have a meal. The inside isn't large enough to accommodate more than that for a sit down meal. We are working with Emory's catering who is also taking care of the tent, upgraded chairs, and some extra table rentals through one of the vendors they partner with and it's a really good deal. Much better than Pranzi quoted or any of the actual tent companies themselves quoted.

Profile Picture Brittany, 8/8/15, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Aldrich House was a wonderful venue to work with. Renata was very kind, responded to emails right away, and paid attention to all the details. At every step it was reassuring to have Renata on the other end of the phone line (we planned our wedding from afar). Renata was also great at communicating with our caterer and the folks who showed up to help us set up the day before. We had our ceremony and reception outdoors, with a garden-party feel, but the space would also work very well for a more formal style. I would recommend the Aldrich House in a heartbeat!

Profile Picture User5396210, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue