Hawaii Island Retreat

250 Lokahi Road, Kapaau, HI 96755 Map · Phone number
Hired? Save
  • Photos & Videos 16
  • About
  • Reviews 1
  • FAQs

About Hawaii Island Retreat

THE PERFECT PLACE FOR WEDDINGS AND ROMANCE

Hawaii Island Retreat inspires romance in the beauty of an elegant and natural setting. Our 50 acres of pristine ocean-view groves and intimate valley settings offer inspiring venues for your Hawaiian wedding, vow renewal, or Big Island honeymoons. Located in picturesque North Kohala on Hawaii Island, our sacred and historic Hawaiian grounds are filled with mana (spiritual energy) to bless your special day. Our wedding planner can arrange all the wedding details.

Elegant Rooms in a Luxury Eco-Boutique Hotel

Our green boutique hotel features 9 spacious guest rooms, designed with weddings in mind. Each offers large bathrooms containing soaking tubs big enough for two, separate showers and other couples amenities. The oceanfront rooms and the Golden Penthouse Honeymoon Suite have a glorious view of the ocean.

Designed with gracious hospitality in mind, our boutique hotel also offers star-lit balconies, garden courtyards, an open-air dining room, and spacious outdoor lanais for wedding receptions and ceremonies alike.

Please contact us at (808) 889-6336 or at info@hawaiiislandretreat.com for current pricing on all packages.

Other couples have also viewed:

Wedding ring
Wedding ring
hir
Hawaii Island Retreat
Couple kissing
Couple kissing
The couple
The couple
Wine toast
Wine toast
Outdoor wedding
Outdoor wedding
Wedding ceremony
Wedding ceremony
Outdoor wedding
Outdoor wedding
Couple portrait
Couple portrait
Couple kissing
Couple kissing
The couple and their bridesmaids
The couple and their bridesmaids
hir
Hawaii Island Retreat
jar
Hawaii Island Retreat
The couple
The couple
Wedding ceremony area
Wedding ceremony area
The bride
The bride
Wedding ring
Wedding ring
hir
Hawaii Island Retreat
Couple kissing
Couple kissing

Interested in this vendor?

Request pricing
  • Photos 16
  • Videos 1

1 Reviews for Hawaii Island Retreat

Recommended by 78% of couples


3.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.0
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 3.5
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 2.5
Sort by:
  • C

    Crystal · Married on 04/23/2017

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Pros: Gay-friendly, Cute town, Beautiful views, Friendly staff, Comfy large beds, Wonderful bathtubs, Clean rooms, Many different ceremony site options, Variety of rooms (regular inn rooms, bungalows, yurts), Immediate return of our deposit, Owner feels like part of the family, Feels very remote, They grow most food on site, Kind front desk and janitorial staff, Massages and Yoga available on-site
    Cons: They forgot about our dietary restrictions, Hot tub was not working, Pool was very cold, Staff drank our alcohol and took some home without asking, Huge insects in rooms (centipedes, cane spiders, cockroaches, ants), Our guests found the rooms to be way beyond their financial feasibility, No food or drinks readily available for purchase

    Sent on 05/06/2017

    Hawaii Island Retreat's reply:

    Thank you for your comments about how beautiful is this place and our excellent staff.
    There were some miscommunications in your review. We did not do your catering, if you were dissatisfied with your choice of caterers, which needs to be addressed with them. We had no input as to the caterers used. We would have done the job at a lower rate!
    If you were missing some wine, that too needs to be communicated with the caterers. Their servers were provided with wine and beer to be served at the dinner. It again was not our position to monitor what they served. We provided the wine, and ale as per your request, and they served it.
    What you did not say in your review was that we went above and beyond what was arranged for us to do, and whenever additional “jobs” were added on, we graciously complied.
    Your statement about one of our “employees” drinking your ale, is also false. The person in mention is not our employee but a spouse of our employee. He brought his own beer, and yes, that was inappropriate and innocent. He has been informed that he cannot be there with his wife when she is working since distorted perceptions are easy to hold.
    One statement made is correct. This location is far more elegant than your friends may be accustomed to and perhaps you might have been more conscientious about choosing someplace that was cheaper. Although there are few places that are as beautiful and elegant as this, there certainly are cheaper places.
    We are a green property, and do not use toxic chemicals to eradicate insects. So we do have geckos and some occasional insects. We are free of toxic poisons.

    Mahalo
    Staff of HIR

Hawaii Island Retreat FAQ

  • What is the maximum capacity of your venue? 1000
  • What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue? 40
  • How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer? 3
  • Describe your venue: Hotel, Park
  • What kind of settings are available? Indoor, Covered Outdoor, Uncovered Outdoor
  • Which of the following wedding events does your venue service? Ceremony, Reception, Bridal Shower, Engagement Party
  • What event services do you offer? Accommodations

Map

  • 250 Lokahi Road Kapaau, 96755 See on map
    8088896336 (Phone number)

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review