Weddings By Sherry
New Caney, TX 77357  | map
Services: Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious...
Religious affliliations: Christian (no denomination), Christian - Anglican...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (15)   FAQ   Map    
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.2/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (3.4/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.3/5.0)
Value:
 (4.2/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (3.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
I was looking for a non-denominational minister, and that was when I came across Sherry Tavel. Her prices are very reasonable compared to other ministers ($300 vs $650). Sherry provided ceremony vows for us to personalize, which was very helpful. Both her and her husband are ordained ministers, so be clear as to who you want to show up to your ceremony (in writing) so there are no surprises. Seeing that we were both very busy, Sherry offered to meet via FaceTime/Skype - which worked much better for both of our schedules. My only negative review of Sherry was the fact that she announced my husband and I as "Mr. & Mrs. Brad LastName"... my husband's name is Brandon, not Brad. Overall, you get what you pay for. They are both extremely nice indivdiauls - her husband even took tons of pictures of our rehearsal and wedding and e-mailed them to me.
Wedding: 03/30/2013
Services Used: Officiant
0.0 out of 5.0
0.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0
our wedding was on 12-24-2011 we had booked her a couple of months in advance communication was good at the time of booking her after that almost non existing.anyway she failed us big time .she told us she would be at our home thirty minutes before our wedding started and was supposed to start at seven pm sharp.we got a call from her at five after seven stating that her husband was lost after we sent them a map and our address. she gave us his cell number to call him so we did come to find out sherry wasnt coming he was instead. they never let us know this until five after seven he had plenty of time to let us know this we told him to go home we had several guests waiting we were very upset !!! thank god we had a stand in .he said we would get our deposite back never did still waiting and they wont respond to our calls or emails .this was the biggest day of our lives obviously it didnt matter to her we are very disgusted we will not ever recomend SHERRY.
Wedding: 12/24/2011
Services Used: Officiant
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0
I had already read reviews stating that Sherry did not reply in a very timely manner. That was spot on but I expected it so it really wasn't that big of a deal!
I was a little dissapointed that when performing our ceremony she seemed to be reading it for the first time.
She was on time and was very professional and her prices are much more reasonable than anyone else we spoke with.
Wedding: 10/22/2011
Services Used: Officiant
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Sherry was absolutely fantastic! Her and her family even took pictures at our wedding and e-mailed them to us within days! It was wonderful working with her.
Wedding: 10/17/2010
Services Used: Officiant
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I liked Sherry. She was very personable and I loved our ceremony. Sometimes I would email her and send her a follow up email because I wouldn't receive a response but other than that, everything else was great.
Wedding: 10/10/2010
Services Used: Officiant
1.4 out of 5.0
1.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.5
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  2.5
  • Value:  2.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0
The wedding ceremony was nice but was not what was originally agreed upon. We were supposed to have a sand ceremony, but did not get one. Now...I was willing to over look that...because it did turn out nice.

I felt that I was basically rushed and pushed out the door so that they could make the next wedding. I understood that 10/10/10 was a popular date, but guests at my wedding did not appreciate the rudeness and bad attitude. My ring was basically ripped out of my maid-of-honor's hand when presenting the ring for my husband to put on my hand.

During the ceremony my middle name was incorrectly said and misspelled on the certificate they give you. Even though they called confirm the information a few days before.

Now...I got married in October and I have NOT been able to get a hold of them and get the certificate reprinted. At the wedding I was assured that I would be mailed a new one...STILL WAITING.

I have called and emailed MULTIPLE times with NO response. I cannot believe this is how they treat past customers.

They came highly recommend and that is why I chose them. When we first meet them, everything went well and I had a good feel about having A Wedding By Sherry handle my ceremony...but the follow-up is nonexistent. I am still in shock that I cannot get a simple reprint.

Thank you.
Weddings By Sherry responded with the following comments:
I do not recall any of these details to have happened. I was on time, completed the pre-approved ceremony. The Bride was late and I had to wait and even though the agreement contains a late fee, I did not charge one. I sent several emails and language is in the agreement that the couple must fax me a copy of the license so I can make sure names are correct. The certificate is something I do special for the couple and not something required. We took pictures of the ceremony and sent them to the couple. I suppose that you cannot please everyone, even though we try our hardest
Wedding: 10/10/2010
Services Used: Officiant
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mrs. Tavel did a fantastic job at our wedding despite some miscommunication which they graciously worked around which made everything so much less stressful. Both Mr. and Mrs. Tavel were very friendly and open to our guests which made them feel more like guests :)
Wedding: 09/18/2010
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Great service and done in a timely manner.
Wedding: 04/24/2010
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Sherry drove a long way to come do my wedding....from day one she has been nothing but smiles, honestly, flexibiliy, affordable, and honestly out of all the chaos of the other wedding problems I was always at ease knowing that she would be there. I got so lucky to have found her as quickly as I did, and she was wonderful! I recommend her to anyone! Thank you Sherry!
Wedding: 04/25/2009
Services Used: Officiant, Photography
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
We rented a mic stand for her to use so everyone could hear her and us but she didn't use it for some reason. Instead, she placed the mic in between her book and no one could hear us. I was pleased with her overall service but very disappointed that no one heard us. We worked hard on our vows and it was something we were proud to share with everyone.

Overall, she is a very nice person and was very flexible with us since we were 2 different religions. She was willing to read whatever we gave her and even offered to wear a special stole we designed with the Islamic & Christian symbols on it.

Weddings By Sherry responded with the following comments:
The stand for the microphone was no where on the stage to be utilized. I was handed a large microphone and due to a wrist injury, could not hold it and hold the booklet with the ceremony.
Wedding: 04/25/2009
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
hello its michael and ivy ..we just got married last march 29,09 by Ms,Sherry Tavel thank you so much Ms.Sherry you did an amazing job in our wedding,you are very professional at a very affordable cost of service..we would highly recommend her as a wedding officiant.
Wedding: 03/29/2009
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Dress & Attire, Favors & Gifts, Flowers, Invitations, Officiant, Photography, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I booked Sherry at the last minute and she was very compliant and her rates are incredibly reasonable. My wedding ceremony was much better then I was expecting and my vows were beautiful. Sherry is highly recommended by me. Sherrys husband also came along and took pictures which they e-mailed me.
Wedding: 12/26/2008
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Sherry Tavel made our wedding special, and fun.
Wedding: 08/08/2008
Services Used: Officiant
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Beautiful ceremony!
Wedding: 08/01/2008
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We want to personally thank you and let you know our wedding was a true success because of you. We don't believe that we would have asked for anthing more. You are the best! thanks and love from, Chris and Misty Winslett 07/07/07
Wedding: 07/07/2007
Services Used: Officiant
 281-399-8614
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0
out of 5.0