Pittsburgh's Grand Hall at The Priory
614 Pressley St
Pittsburgh, PA 15212  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (32)   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I am a musician and a wedding vendor myself, and so when planning my wedding, I had the advantage of already having experienced some of the most beautiful wedding venues in Pittsburgh. Five years before my engagement, I played for a cocktail hour that was held in the Grand Hall. The beauty of the venue took my breath away. Originally, I thought I would plan an outdoor wedding. However, as we were planning a wedding in Pittsburgh, a city with completely unpredictable weather (which I dealt with in playing for so many outdoor weddings at different times of the year), I decided that it was important to have an indoor party to alleviate any stress and to have flexibility in choosing a date. The Grand Hall turned out to be the perfect setting for our special celebration. Not only was the venue beautiful, but the food was fantastic!

I especially appreciated Heather, who coordinated our wedding day. She was quickly responsive to any questions I had in the months leading up to our event. She also made sure everything went really smoothly the day of our wedding.

We'd like to send a shout out to Rob the bartender...he was especially awesome!

The Priory is also wonderful in that it offers an adjacent hotel to house wedding guests. It is also very close to downtown Pittsburgh. Many of our guests walked to downtown restaurants, and some even walked to the stadium to enjoy a Pirates game.

Many thanks to the Priory for handling the circus of our two immense families with such grace, and for giving us the gift of a lovely place to house our celebration!
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Absolutely AMAZING experience having our wedding at the Priory!!!!!!!!! Heather, the Priory's Event Planner, helped us every step of the way. From the moment we chose the Priory as our venue (which we fell in love with as soon as we walked in), Heather, was available to answer all of our questions, and put us at ease. She made sure to review all aspects of our wedding reception and made the hall look AMAZING on our wedding day. Our guests raved about the food and the elegance of the Venue. We also used the Priory bakery for our cake, and it was a big hit as well.. thank you so much for all your hard work Heather. you guys made my fairy tale a reality!!!
Wedding: 03/21/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We fell in love with the Priory as soon as we saw it. We got married in March and were given the Winter Wedding Package which is a huge discount over summer months and the absolute highest-end details the Priory has to offer. My husband and I both work full-time and long hours and didn't have time to worry about small details. The Priory took care of everything! We worked with Heather, Sara-Lynn, and Christine throughout the process and each one of them made the process as painless as possible. They gave tips on details I wouldn't have thought of, made sure that every aspect of the wedding ran perfectly, and treated us - as well as all of our guests - like royalty. I can't tell you how many of our friends and family commented afterwards how professional the staff was and the food was excellent. Sara-Lynn ran our wedding reception. Everything ran perfectly and neither my husband or I felt stressed or pushed around in the least. Every detail was planned ahead of time by the Priory and it ran flawlessly. Sara-Lynn even ran to get sewing supplies when the bustle on by dress broke during the cocktail hour! The service was so smooth and flawless I was truly blown away. One of the best things about having our wedding at the Grand Hall at the Priory was having hotel rooms available in the building as well. The rooms were beautiful and very reasonably priced. We even used the apartment suite on the 4th floor for people to get together who wanted to continue the celebration after the wedding. An absolutely gorgeous property. Whether you aren't someone who is into the small details and overwhelmed by the process (like me!) or someone who wants to plan every detail the Priory will make sure your day is perfect and help you every step of the way. They were flexible and accommodated every need we had without complaint. The Priory was well worth the money with our package and much less expensive that most of the other venues that we looked at if you are willing to get married in a
Wedding: 03/08/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
We recently had our wedding at the Priory Grand Hall. It was absolutely everything we could have wanted. The venue was gorgeous, the service was excellent, and the food was really delicious. All of our guests have said what a wonderful time they had! At the end of the night, the whole staff helped us gather up leftover cookies and the valets even pulled my mom's car from the parking lot and loaded it for her! We really could not have asked for any better service!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our reception at the Grand Hall at the Priory on 1.25.14. From the beginning, working with Heather was easy! She is laid back but super attentive to detail. She is easy to contact and responds in a timely manner. She made sure to review all aspects of our wedding reception and made the hall look AMAZING on our wedding day. She paid attention to small details and stayed to wish us well that night. Her wedding team is also awesome to work with... From Gretchen to Sarah, the entire staff at the Priory was awesome. It is a BEAUTIFUL venue and I recommend highly....
Wedding: 01/25/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Jerra 3 Reviews
Everything for the wedding as phenomenal - the food was to die for, even the appetizers were delicious! The bar was excellently staffed and I never saw a long line of people waiting to get drinks. Heather was fantastic, she took care of every little detail and the night went so smoothly! The food was awesome, get the mango glazed chicken with goat cheese, seriously its soooo good! Everyone said the filet was melt-in-your mouth good but I had the chicken. The service was great and the Hall looked absolutely beautiful - we added the wall of lights behind our table and I would highly recommend it, it made a great backdrop for reception pictures. We really had nothing to worry about the day of our wedding, Heather and the Hall made us feel so secure and allowed us just to enjoy ourselves!

The only thing at our reception was that we had bought glow sticks to give out, and they were never distributed - not sure if this was on the Hall or our DJ, it was definitely on me and my husband as well because we were having so much fun we completely forgot we had them - but we wish someone would have remembered.

The one negative wouldn't be for Heather or for the Hall but for the Priory Hotel - we had family and friends book their rooms months in advance so we did not block them - when they booked their room they were told a certain price but when our wedding came the price had gone up - they adjusted the rates for some of us but that would be my only complaint, that they should have given them the price the room was when they booked it.
Wedding: 01/18/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had a fantastic experience having our wedding at the priory. It was a little different the way they do the good tasting because the just have an open house and if you can come you can sample some but not all items. However they assured us the food has a great reputation, and they were correct. The guests and we enjoyed all of the food from appetizers to entrees. The staff was very attentive and professional and they clean everything up for you at the end of the night. All of our decorations, extra cookies, and all supplies were ready for us to load in the car. (Also, I'd like to add 2 members of the staff helped us unload our decorations etc and take them into the hall as well.) Our wedding was perfect. If you are considering a winter wedding it's extra nice because the hall was all beautifully decorated for the holidays!
Wedding: 12/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Let me start by saying that Heather and Sarah Lynn are amazing!! These two women are extremely professional, well organized, work well together and are willing to help with anything and everything. Being an organized person myself, I was nervous to leave so many details on the day of the wedding up to someone else, but they made sure that everything was done as expected. Because of their hard work and attention to detail, our day went perfectly!!

The venue is absolutely beautiful in and of itself, but the level of service really makes it the perfect place for a wedding. Furthermore, the food goes above and beyond typical "wedding food." We offered chicken, pork and mushroom; all of which the guests were raving about!

We were a little skeptical about having our ceremony in the same room with guests already seated at their tables, but we received positive feedback from our guests that they loved this set up. We liked the convenience of it too.

The only negative I will point out is that the Priory Hotel did mess up some of our guests' reservations and the shuttle that we had reserved. The hotel is beautiful, but overall, it was rather unorganized. It is disappointing because the Grand Hall side of the operation is SO well run that we were expecting a similar level of service and organization from the hotel side. Overall, it was not a big deal, but there is a noticeable difference between the professionalism and attention to detail provided by the two different parts of the operation.

Once again, thank you to Heather and Sarah Lynn for all of your hard work and making our day perfect!!
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Ever since we saw the Grand Hall, we knew it was a top contender for where we wanted to have our reception. The knowledgeable, professional staff that could put our minds at ease and make sure every detail was thought of made it the clear choice for us. Our day was wonderful and the Priory's detailed timeline and quick responses to my numerous emails over the last year and a half added up to a great experience. We got so many compliments on the food and how everything was perfect. We're so happy with how everything turned out, I couldn't imagine our wedding any differently.
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
0.5 out of 5.0
0.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.5
  • Responsiveness:  0.5
  • Professionalism:  0.5
  • Value:  0.5
  • Flexibility:  0.5
We were very disappointed with The Grand Hall at the Priory. We purchased the gold package, which is their high-end package. However, many things were far from "golden". The bar was closed for 90 minutes when it was supposed to be open. There was no champagne toast and wine service during dinner was not provided for the first hour of dinner service. The lighting package is of poor quality. Most importantly, the Grand Hall staff failed to follow through with many important details, including the set-up and display of our very expensive table centerpieces. Avoid this venue at all costs.
Wedding: 09/06/2013
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Leigh 2 Reviews
I cannot say enough great things about The Grand Hall at The Priory. First, let me tell you about their staff. Heather, the Priory's Event Planner, helped us every step of the way. From the moment we chose the Priory as our venue, she was available to answer all of our questions, and put us at ease. We held our ceremony in the Grand Hall, as well as our reception, and everything went off without a hitch thanks to Heather's hard work before our event, and the staff's hard work that day. We were able to take wonderful pictures in the courtyard before our ceremony, and then afterwards in the garden across the street, and our pictures came out beautifully. After our ceremony in the Grand Hall, the guests came outside for a lovely cocktail hour in the courtyard with delicious hor'd ourves. The staff quickly arranged the room for our reception, and we came back in for dinner and dancing. My guests raved about the food at both the cocktail hour, and their dinners during the reception. We also used the Priory bakery for our cake, and it was a big hit. The venue itself is beautiful, as you can see in the provided pictures. And the rooms, including the bridal suite, were wonderful as well. The Priory is such an interesting place with so much history. There's even a small speak-easy style bar right near the hotel lobby, which makes you feel like you've gone back in time, in a good way!! Overall, I'd give The Priory the highest recommendation. My husband and I could not have asked for a better wedding, and we have the Priory to thank for that!
Wedding: 08/03/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Tony 8 Reviews
Absolutely beautiful venue to have your reception at. The entire team at The Priory made our wedding day spectacular. It was even better than we could have ever imagined. They walked us through every step of the process and paid attention to every detail. They were very accommodating with our requests to personalize the day. They are extremely professional and answered all of our questions. I don't know if we would have been able to organize the day without their help. The food, service and atmosphere were second to none. So many people were impressed with how beautiful the Hall is. It was nice to have access to the hotel next door and the townhouse across the street. Bravo Grand Hall! Highly recommended.
Wedding: 02/02/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Heather and the staff at the Priory made our dream reception a reality! From the breathtaking architecture to the courteous and hard-working staff no other venue can compare. Heather worked with us from start to finish. Since our wedding, we have received numerous compliments on our reception. Our guests have been raving about the food as well as the class and elegance of the venue. I would HIGHLY recommend the Priory to any soon to be newlyweds :)
Wedding: 11/16/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 3 Reviews
I loved every aspect of wedding planning with the Priory. The staff was super attentive and really made me feel like every detail was as important to them as it was to me. They were extremely easy to work with, and they were amazingly flexible and helpful...I'm so glad that we chose this location for our wedding. It was an absolutely perfect day!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Anonymous 5 Reviews
My husband and I had our wedding at Pittsburgh's Grand Hall at the Priory, and it could not have been more perfect. We still regularly have people tell us that it was the most beautiful wedding they've ever been to, and that the food was the best they've ever had at a wedding. Heather, the sales coordinator, will walk you through the booking process and answer any questions you have, and Walter, the event coordinator, will do everything in his power to make your day exactly the way you want it. It was so nice to not have to worry about *anything* the day of the wedding because the Grand Hall (i.e. Walter - he truly is spectacular) took care of it all! You will not regret holding your wedding here...your guests will thank you!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Steph 2 Reviews
This was an amazing cake for our wedding. We recommend the white almond with raspberry filling and buttercream icing.
Wedding: 06/02/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 412-323-9394
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0