Ocean Key Resort & Spa
    97 Reviews
0 Duval St
Key West, FL 33040  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (97)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
THE BEST! You cannot go wrong with Ocean Key Resort & Spa. Everything at Ocean Key is top notch, the food, the staff, the location, and last but not least the view. You really don't have add anything to the venue to make it perfect. Our guests were blown away by everything. It is the greatest feeling to have your friends and family tell you that your wedding is the best they have ever been to. I attribute a lot of that to Ocean Key. Our entire day was flawless. Not many brides can say this, but because of the staff and catering team at Ocean Key, I did not have one single worry the day of my wedding. Thank you to everyone at Ocean Key, you are all incredible and I would choose this venue again if I had to do it all over!!!
Wedding: 05/19/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lindsay 3 Reviews
Ocean Key Resort & Spa was AMAZING! The staff is extremely caring, helpful, supportive, and attentive. Working with Katherine and Stephanie was a breeze. I received responses to every email within minutes and they made me feel like I was the only bride in the world. Planning this destination wedding was practically stress-free thanks to all of their help and advice. Once we all got down to Key West for the wedding weekend, the entire staff of Ocean Key went above and beyond to make us feel special. We were personally greeted by Stephanie and Katherine as we checked in, and were delighted with handwritten notes from them throughout the weekend. The pool staff even reserved our favorite chairs for us each morning! The servers at our cocktail hour and reception were so friendly and professional. The bartender even arranged for servers to deliver non-alcoholic drinks to my pregnant friend's table so she wouldn't have to get up. The rooms at Ocean Key are incredible and our wedding night suite had a fabulous view. As you can tell, I am an Ocean Key superfan! The resort is the perfect place to host your destination wedding.
Wedding: 05/05/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The staff at Ocean Key is not only professional, they are extremely fun! I planned my wedding from NY and never once felt disconnected from them. Katherine Dolan and Stephanie Happ are amazing. The venue is beautiful and the food was incredible. All of my calls and emails were answered promptly and any concerns/requests I had were discussed at great length. They were extremely accomodating and were happy to offer suggestions, without any pressure to add unnecessary services/items. Our family and friends had a great time at the wedding, which is what we wanted most. The bonus was that we did too!

I hadn't really thought about rain since it wasn't their rainy season, and of course, it rained all morning. Katherine hawked the weather reports all day and cleared the outdoor wedding. And it was perfect. It would later rain briefly during the reception, but you could barely notice. The tent setup is great and definitely did NOT have that muggy tent-in-the-rain feel.

The wedding was perfect. And awesome.

Wedding: 04/29/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We could not have chosen a better venue for our Key West wedding! What really made them stand out to me versus other venues that I inquired with was their (Stephanie Happ and Katherine Dolan) lightning speed replies and promptness in answering all my (many) questions! I literally had an e-mail back from Stephanie Happ not 5 minutes after my initial inquiry. She pretty much won me over right there! She was super helpful and beyond flexible when it came to menu decisions and helping facilitate our room block. They are also very helpful in offering honest opinions and vendor recommendations. Stephanie even helped me decide how to wear my hair - haha! :) These girls really are amazing!

The scenery is beyond gorgeous! It is heaven on earth!! All of our guests were just blown away by the setting! Also, the location beats all of the other wedding venues by far! It's right at the end of Duval St. Most of the other nicer venues are off the beaten path. The ones that are close to Duval are big chains - I inquired with all of them, and just did not receive the same service as I did from Ocean Key. OK is run more like a Mom and Pop operation, and it's SOOOO much more of a personal, friendly experience!

The food was DELICIOUS!!! The guac station is a must! Everyone there said it was by far the best wedding food they have ever had!

If you're getting married in Key West, you will not find a better venue than Ocean Key!!
Wedding: 04/20/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The staff at the Ocean Key Resort and Spa were EXCELLENT from the moment I inquired about wedding services until the day we checked out. Stephanie and Katherine were exceptionally responsive to my every question and need throughout the entire process. I did not have to worry about anything on the day of the wedding, and it was absolutely beautiful.

The food, drink and service was exceptional. The wedding cake provided from the Ocean Key was delicious and beautiful.

It was the most amazing experience of my life! I would highly recommend the Ocean Key to anyone looking for a venue in Key West, FL. Every staff member seemed to know who I was throughout my week-long stay and could not have been more professional, friendly and helpful!

I LOVE THE OCEAN KEY!!!!!!!!
Wedding: 04/14/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Ocean Key Resort is absolutely amazing. Every expectation that we had was exceeded (and our expectations were pretty high : ) ) The resort is absolutely gorgeous and perfect in every way. The staff is truly amazing; we were actually hugging several of them by the time we left.

I could not recommend a better place to have a wedding than the Sunset Pier. Sixty-eight of our friends and family traveled to Key West for our wedding and every single one of them was absolutely blown away. I'm pretty sure that every guest we've spoken to so far has told us it was the best wedding they have ever attended.

The food at the wedding was incredible. I have never been to a wedding where people were as blown away by their meals. Several people told us that it was the best steak / fish that they have ever had. That's pretty impressive to hear about food at a wedding (and there are a lot of foodies in our group)!!

I can not say enough about Katherine Dolan and Stephanie Happ. Neither my new husband nor I had ever been to Ocean Key Resort, and we booked our wedding solely on the basis of pictures of the resort online. We relied on the knowledgeable recommendations of Katherine and Stephanie for virtually everything. They not only made our wedding the most memorable event in our lives, but they made everything so easy. These two ladies are absolutely incredible!

My husband and I got married on March 24th, 2012. We are counting the days until we come back to Ocean Key Resort for our one-year anniversary!
Wedding: 03/24/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The staff is very professional and friendly. The scenery is absolutely breathtaking. The suites are beyond luxurious. The food is mouth-wateringly delicious. Overall, our wedding was perfect, and I cannot imagine how they could have done it better or a better place for it!
Wedding: 03/17/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
John and I celebrated our wedding day at the Ocean Key Resort and Spa in March 2012. The service we received from Stephanie and Katherine along with the whole hotel was impeccable. Throughout the entire planning of our wedding Stephanie was very attentive and always helpful. The Ocean Key went above and beyond for us in every way making us feel very special. The food was absolutely delicious (the best wedding food our guests had tasted) The location is the best in Key West, you really cannot beat it! I wish we could go back and do it again!
Wedding: 03/10/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Ocean Key was wonderful to work with. They were so organized and professional. The food was superb, the atmosphere romantic. Everything was flawless, from the ceremony sight to the reception on the Pier. It was such a pleasure to work with such a professional staff. The guests said it was the best "destination wedding" they had ever attended. I highly recommend this venue and vendor to future brides. The attention to detail is exceptional.
Wedding: 02/04/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I will make a bold statement & say that Ocean Key Resort & Spa is hands down the #1 wedding venue in Key West. The best view, food & staff on the island. View - you can not get a better backdrop with the Gulf of Mexico, and our guests loved their sunset view. The food was inspired, our guests are still raving about the food they experience at our non traditional wedding where we hosted a cocktail reception style event with variety of 10 different butler passed appetizers and 5 chef attended stations. Katherine ran the show with an accuracy of a seasoned professional and all with a big smile. The catered staff was fun and helpful. We had an amazing wedding, one for the books and we have Ocean Key to thank for providing us with a venue that set the tone for the rest of the event.
Wedding: 11/26/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I chose the Ocean Key for our Destination Wedding in November, and it was the best decision we could have made! We are from New York, and were looking for something fun and intimate in a tropical-yet-close-enough locale. We were actually not even able to go down to the property before the wedding, so we planned the whole thing over email/phone. We never felt worried that we hadn't made the trip down because the reviews were all terrific and Stephanie Happ was amazing throughout the process: friendly, accommodating, responsive and so professional. She had every detail covered. The Ocean Key also provides you with a list of trusted vendors which makes the whole planning process that much easier.

The ceremony and reception were so picturesque and turned out even better than we could have imagined. We lucked out and the weather was perfect on our wedding day. The sunset ceremony was absolutely gorgeous! They do a very nice job of making the moment private for you and your guests - definitely better than any other resort/destination wedding I have seen. Our guests (~ 40, from New York) have all said it was one of the most fun weddings they have been to. Stephanie Happ and her team helped us create our wedding so that it felt very much customized to our personality. We have such great memories from our wedding!

We loved the Ocean Key (and Key West), and definitely look forward to coming back for many anniversaries in the future.
Wedding: 11/20/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I are complete foodies with him being in the restaurant industry. We were so picky about the food and wine for the event. Our wedding probably had the best food of our whole wedding weekend. People are still talking about it, and I am still thinking about it. Even the food the next day at the brunch was beautiful. The staff was great to work with, and the location perfect. We even had dolphins, tarpin fish, and crabs coming to celebrate. It was just a stunning venue!
Wedding: 10/22/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I could not have chosen a more wonderful venue in Key West. You can't beat the location right next to Mallory Square, with just enough privacy, and just enough action; not to mention the amazing view of the sunset. Stephanie at OK always got back to me quickly and had great ideas for our reception that I gladly employed. During our stay the entire staff was welcoming, smiling, and everything from the food service at our reception to front desk help was first class from start to finish.

People are still raving about the food that night. OK was able to customize a fantastic dinner for us based on a couple of different pre-set menus. When we went for the tasting a few months prior, they had prepared everything just like we asked even though we decided on a Stations set-up, which means everything is made to order for each guest. Not lying when I say it was some of the best filet of my life and I'm a steak snob!

I loved that Ocean Key helped us make our ceremony and reception very personal, while providing a lot of the elements within one package. I was hesitant to do a wedding at a resort where so many things are provided for you, but that was no issue. We could choose the exact cake, menu, set-up, and overall vibe that we wanted.

It was raining pretty steadily on our big day, and Ocean Key went right to work setting up an extra tent in a slightly different location to accommodate our ceremony, even in less-than-perfect weather. It turned out just as gorgeous and memorable as it would have as originally planned. Thankfully everything cleared up right before the ceremony...makes you wonder if they didn't have something to do with THAT too! Thanks so much to everyone at Ocean Key for an unforgettable weekend.
Wedding: 10/08/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Everyone at the Ocean Key Resort & spa was an absolute delight to work with. There really isn't a more beautiful setting for a wedding in Key West, than the pool deck and Sunset Pier. We were so grateful to have been able to stay there as well and to work with such great people! Definitely a wonderful experience!
Wedding: 09/24/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Ocean Key was the perfect setting for our destination wedding ceremony and reception. We planned the entire event from Chicago and while I had been to Key West before, I had not been to Ocean Key. We were extremely impressed with the resort and the staff. I can't give enough compliments to Stephanie Happ... she responded quickly to every email and question I had as well as provided valuable insight when I needed to make decisions for other aspects of the wedding. She is extremely knowledgable, courteous and helped ensure our wedding was all we hoped it would be...and better!!

The Ocean Terrace is ideal for a sunset wedding and the resort transforms the terrace into a beatiful and private space. The Sunset Pier is gorgeous and guests loved being out on the peir under the big, white tent and it's the perfect location for watching the sunset. We were not able to do a tasting for the wedding but the food was fantastic and the bar service was excellent. The food from the sunset pier during the day is also great and I highly recommend the fish tacos!

I would recommend this property to anyone who is looking to have a wedding and/or to stay at Ocean Key while in Key West. It's in the best location, at the end of Duval Street, and within walking distance to restaurants, bars, shopping, and tourist attractions. All of the staff were very attentive including the front desk, bell boys and the pool staff. Our friends would hang out at the pool all afternoon and April and Nate took care very good care of them.

Overall, we and our 65 guests loved Ocean Key. They all said it was the best wedding they've been to!
Wedding: 09/23/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Stephanie, Katherine & the staff at Ocean Key Resort & Spa were every bit apart of making our wedding weekend so very special! From the Welcoming to the reception we truly appreciated all their hard work, time and consideration in helping make our wedding weekend for ourselves and guests such an amazing experience. The resort location, ceremony and reception spaces, food and hospitality all truly make the Ocean Key Resort & Spa a very special place for such a special time in your life!
Wedding: 09/04/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 305-295-7043
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0