MVP Hair & Make-up Artistry
    29 Reviews
Playa del Carmen 77710 Mexico  | map
Services: Hair, Makeup, Manicure / Pedicure
Consultations: Yes
Large groups: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (29)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Derya 1 Reviews
Best.Decision.Ever!

Starting this process I was worried that I would not be happy with how my hair and makeup turned out if left in the hands of the resort salon. So, i started searching for an outside vendor and came across Melissa and Edgar.

I read brilliant reviews over and over again and it seemed that not one person had a negative experience with them. I sent an email off to request a quote and within 15 minutes I had a response from Edgar in my inbox! Edgar was always so quick to respond to any questions I had.

My hair is very difficult (curly,frizzy,wavy) and i was still nervous that Melissa would have a tough time working with it. Edgar assured me each and every email that I was in good hands. He was right!!! Melissa is amazing at what she does and the fact that she is from L.A. and has worked with the best was very comforting and definitely showed in her work.

They are very punctual and professional. From beginning to end it was seriously the easiest part of my wedding to plan! Take it from me brides, you will NOT go wrong hiring these guys!

Thank you Melissa and Edgar for making me beautiful and taking away some of the stress on my big day! Love you guys!!!!
Wedding: 01/31/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Sarah 1 Reviews
Melissa was really great to work with, couldn't of asked for more. Perfection!!
Wedding: 01/18/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Nicole 1 Reviews
Melissa Was amazing! I couldn't be happier with my hair and make up on my wedding day! She was very pleasant and professional. She understood my vision and made it happen! I would highly recommend her!
Wedding: 01/16/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
Melissa and Edgar were a joy to work with! Very responsive and helpful with pre-wedding beauty tips. We met months prior to the wedding for the trial run. It was a relaxing experience with great conversation. The day of the wedding Melissa and her team were professional yet fun to be with. I had decided last minute to change my hair from the original up do to partial down and I had complete confidence it was going to look amazing even though we had not practiced that in the trial. Melissa has a great eye and ability to to make you feel confident and comfortable in her hands to mae you into a beautiful bride. Thank you so much to the team of MVP!!!!!
Wedding: 12/01/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Melissa and Edgar are amazing!

Edgar was super responsive throughout the planning process and made sure everything went smoothly.

Melissa's talent is beyond words. I love her acute attention to detail - everything MUST be perfect! She'll never let a client go unless everything is how you want it to be. While she did my trial for my welcome reception and my hair and makeup for my wedding, I would really recommend her for any event!
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Melissa is an amazing makeup artist- she made me look and feel like an empress! I booked my wedding date and events with Melissa after researching makeup artists in Cancun thoroughly. I ultimately chose Melissa because of reviews I read about her and the pictures- which speak for themselves! She was highly professional, super upbeat and very creative! Best of all... SHE IS A PERFECTIONIST!! There is nothing I admire more than someone who seeks to produce the best product they possibly can, even when working with drab material (such as myself, haha). I bought the Meagan package so Melissa also did my hair and makeup for the rehearsal dinner and she made me look stunning for it as well! I LOVED my hair both days but ESPECIALLY at the wedding!! It was waaaay better than I imagined it would be and looks amazing in all my pictures, as did my makeup! You must purchase the trial so that you can get an idea of just how much she is capable of, and how amazing she will make you look and feel.


I should note that I was very nervous about the whole hair and makeup aspect because I am Black and read that the hotel salons do not really have makeup or hair stylists to work with my skin tone or hair type. Since I can't do makeup and I didn't want to be worrying about doing my hair I knew the makeup artist I chose was of utmost importance. I couldn't have made a better choice :)

I really only have positive things to say about the entire experience, I have never felt so beautiful. Thank you Melissa!
Wedding: 08/03/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Melissa is amazing!! She has a gift at what she does and you can tell she loves doing hair and makeup. She made me feel so beautiful on my wedding day. Melissa and her husband Edgar are very professional. i would recommend MVP hair and salon to anyone, who wants to look and feel special on their day!!
Wedding: 06/13/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I booked Melissa to do my hair and make up for 3 different events associated with my weeding in Playa del Carmen. She did my hair and make up for my trash the dress session, my rehearsal dinner party and my wedding. I can honestly say my hair and makeup where flawless for all three event.

Melissa and Edgar both did their research prior to my arrival and by the time I got into Playa for my wedding she knew exactly what I what look I was going for. Booking the services for myself as well as some of my brides maids and family members was so easy and they were so flexible with our schedules, I must have switched the times on them a few times and they were always so willing to make the proper changes and accommodate us.

Melissa was very easy to work with she was fun and upbeat and helped me with my nervousness. She was also so good about checking in with me to make sure what she was doing was in fact what I wanted. She asked for feedback though out which was very reassuring.

The day of my wedding I had a touch up after my ceremony scheduled with Melissa, I was so late and I honestly though by the time I got back to the hotel for my touch up she would be gone (which was understandable because of how late I was, I would not have expected her to wait around). However Melissa and Edgar both showed up and did my touch up! I was so unbelievably happy and appreciative of this.

I looked into a few other hair and makeup vendors and although some where more affordable I can honestly say that I am glad I paid the extra money for MVP to be my hair and makeup vendors, There was a few other in my wedding that choose to go with others for their hair and makeup and after seeing their work, I don’t think there is anyone in the area that could have done better. They are simply the best.....by far!
Wedding: 05/12/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Words cannot begin to describe MVP Hair and Makeup Artistry – lets just say, the pleasure was all mine! Being an Indian bride with extravagant outfits, you know your look has to match! It was so important for me to work with someone that understood the colours and the vibrancy of the Indian culture so the look of my hair and makeup complimented my Indian outfits. MVP was perfect for it!

Melissa has to be one of the BEST makeup and hair artist I have come across and Edgar is super fantastic to communicate with. Edgar was on top of his emails, replying back almost immediately, answering all my questions and really making me feel confident with my decision. He was very professional, patient and informative. I had my trials on the Thursday we flew in, which was also the night of our welcome party. For a trial, Melissa dolled me up… I didn’t expect the trial to be a full application of makeup and hairdo but was impressed it was. We had over 100 guest and each and everyone of them complimented my look! My husband even personally thanked them for doing such a fantastic job! They came for my wedding ceremony, reception and trash the dress a few days later. Each time they came, they were on time, ready to go and gave me 4 very distinct looks. I loved how Melissa took her time getting me ready; she is a perfectionist so you know you will look flawless! I wish I had professional pictures to share right now, but I will be receiving them by end of August – I will come back and share them then.

For those of you in search of a professional makeup and hair company, all I can say is that you cannot go wrong with booking MVP Hair and Makeup Artistry. You will be happy with your look, the service and most importantly the pictures you will look so flawless in.

Thank you Melissa and Edgar for playing such a big and important part in my wedding week! I loved each and every look you gave me and can’t wait to share the professional pictures with you!
Wedding: 05/04/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Hey,

I would highly recommend MVP Hair and Makeup Artistry; they were amazing!!! I booked them for my wedding day and I could not have been happier. I loved my hair and make-up and thought it was perfect!!! They were great and easy to work with!!! They also did my bridesmaids and some family members, which I loved there makeup and hair as well!!! Book them now!!! Hope to you them again, sometime, in the future in Mexico!!!
Thanks,
Mrs. Dowdell
Wedding: 04/26/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kate 2 Reviews
I was married in Mexico, Mayan Riviera, March 2013. My wedding planner, LM Weddings, arranged MVP Hair and Make-up Artistry and they in turn arranged for my Bridesmaids and I to get ready at Mayakoba Resort in their beautiful, high end, private spa.

The day of the hair and make-up trial Melissa perfectly executed the light, ethereal make-up and messy low side bun I asked for. The day of the wedding she recreated the make-up perfectly, the bun was slightly different but still beautiful.

She also had a assistant helping to do my bridesmaids hair and make up the day of the wedding and they all looked beautiful as well. She was able to work with all the hair types from mid-length and fine hair, to long and thick. And my mothers hair looked gorgeous a well, she has short hair, just above her ears which they styled in soft curls.

The make-up lasted all day and looked perfect until well after mid-night. Some of the girls hair did come loose after dancing but nothing that wasn't easily fixed.

I really enjoyed working with Melissa and her team, they were very warm and pleasant, and most importantly she was able to help my vision come to life. I highly recommend her and her team!
Wedding: 03/25/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Holli 1 Reviews
For those of you ladies getting married in or near Playa del Carmen, Mexico and in need of a fantastic hair and make-up artist, I highly recommend MVP!!!

My husband and I were married at a beautiful all-inclusive resort in Playa del Carmen in March, 2013. While our resort did have a spa and offered to provide hair and make-up services, communicating with the resort spa in advance was problematic. The spa was not able to show me samples of their work or adequately describe their service offerings. For those reasons, I didn't have confidence in their ability to deliver what I wanted for my hair and make-up and decided to search for a better alternative.

Melissa, Edgar and the crew at MVP specialize in hair and make-up for weddings. From the moment I contacted them, they were extremely professional and responsive. We arranged a pre-wedding hair and make-up trial a few days before the wedding so we could practice and make sure I felt comfortable with the general approach. The trial took place at my resort at a time that I chose, which was very convenient. Then, on the day of my wedding, Melissa and one of her associates came to the resort suite and did hair and make-up for me, the MOB, MOG, and brides maids. Melissa had it all, including hair extensions and false lashes! She made us all look stunning and everybody was very happy with their services.

Destination weddings can be extremely stressful, especially when selecting hair and make-up artists/vendors from the U.S. site unseen. And let's face it, hair and make-up are important! Every bride wants to look amazingly beautiful for her groom on the big day. Do yourself a favor and spend the extra money to hire some real professionals!

Wedding: 03/22/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Sarah 1 Reviews
The ladies were well prepared, attentive, and talented. They listened to our individual ideas and made each of us look our best while honoring our personal style.
Wedding: 03/22/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kerri 2 Reviews
I wanted to write a review for Melissa, Edgar and their team at MVP Hair and Make-Up Artistry as they were such an important part of our wedding day. My 3 bridesmaids and myself were so thrilled with having Melissa come and spend the morning before the ceremony doing our hair and make-up. We truly feel like she brought out the more polished and beautiful version of us all and there is nothing better than feeling exquisite as a bride on the day of your wedding.

Melissa made me feel so comfortable and relaxed and I knew that I could trust her to do a great job. One of my girls although loved her first hairstyle wanted it to look a bit different and she did not hesitate to make the change she wanted so she was 100% happy with her look and it took her no time at all.

I would absolutely recommend MVP to anyone wanting a Mexican destination wedding. Melissa is professional, sweet, and enjoyable to spend the morning with. Edgar and Melissa return emails so quickly and answer any questions you may have leading up to the big day. They make the getting ready process so easy and eliminate one of the stresses of wedding planning.

I would choose them again and again and recommend them to anyone wanting to look their very best!
Wedding: 02/21/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
Melissa and Edgar are the best! Edgar is incredible at responding immediately and they were both so flexible with scheduling and being able to accommodate my every request. My hair and makeup was one of my very favorite things about the wedding. Melissa did an amazing job--she is so talented. She worked on my younger sisters and my mom and mother-in-law--so a very wide range of ages and hair/makeup needs/wants--she exceeded everyone's expectations and amazingly was able to get 6 women ready in a surprisingly short amount of time. I recommend them absolutely. And as a bonus--in addition to being talented and professional, they are both very nice and kind people and lovely to be around on your wedding day!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ashley 1 Reviews
All 11 of us that had hair & make-up done were very impressed! They finished in a timely matter and really listened when we told them what we wanted. We even had a couple girls that did not originally want their hair & make-up done, but after seeing the results, they asked the stylists to do their hair & make-up too. You will be 100% satisfied with the results. They are professional and great at what they do! Very easy to communicate with, which was a huge "must" since I did not know any spanish. LOVE THEM!
Wedding: 01/05/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
 984-109-6043
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0