murray hill
42910 edwards ferry road
Leesburg, VA 20176  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 200
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (15)   FAQ   Map    
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.7/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.5/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I recently had my wedding at Murray Hill, and let me say, after doing a LOT of shopping for venue a year prior, this one completely took the cake with how beautiful it is for a spring/summer wedding. Though it ended up raining on my big day and we had to move the ceremony inside (instead of near the beautiful view of the Potomac river...such a bummer!), we got some absolutely stunning pictures of the bridal party and my groom and I later when it cleared up a bit. There are beautiful gardens as well to have your cocktail hour in, and the barn is perfect for anyone looking for sort of a pintrest-y place to have your wedding. Peggy and John, the owners at Murray Hill, were wonderful throughout the planning process, and were always responsive to emails and questions. They were happy to offer advice on vendors and planning tips, and also were happy to offer anything around the house/farm I wanted to use for my wedding (like two big beautiful wine barrels to mark the ends of my aisle!). Essentially, the only reason they are not a perfect score is that for value, because most things aren't included (restrooms, tables, chairs, etc..) things end up adding up quick. They do throw in a bonus though of having John drive you away in a 1954 Cadillac limousine, however, which was pretty fantastic. Overall, a GREAT place to have your wedding, so definitely go visit!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Peggy was amazing and the site is beautiful! This wonderful long driveway up to a beautiful stone mansion! I got married and had my reception in the barn and the amount of work Peggy and her team put in was amazing. It rained for an entire week before wedding day and everything was very muddy but they put down stuff to soak up the water so cars could get in and maintained it. I am so thankful to you Peggy and your husband for all the hard work you guys did to make my big day special! Thank you!!!
Wedding: 10/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
Murray Hill was phenomenal. All my guests were so impressed with the venue! And Peggy and John Rust are wonderful to work with!
Wedding: 09/28/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We loved Murray Hill. We were married on the bluff next to the beautiful stone house on the Potomac. We had cocktail hour in the gorgeous, understated gardens before heading to the barn for the reception. We have had so many people tell us that the venue was "amazing," "stunning," "a vision," and "perfect." Everyone loved the view of the Potomac, the gorgeous pool in the garden, and the open barn. We loved that we were able to incorporate three diverse locations into one great evening.

Peggy and John were incredibly accommodating. The wedding planning experience was pretty hectic, and it made such a difference that we were able to come out to the site a few times to plan, come out early to decorate, come back the next day to clean up, etc. All of the other venues we considered wouldn't allow us to start decorating until the morning of, and we would have had to tear down immediately afterward. My parents, husband, and I really appreciated the opportunity to fully enjoy the day!

It was a wonderful wedding at a stunning venue!
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Murray Hill is gorgeous. We still hear from guests who can not get over how beautiful and unique the venue was. We got married over looking the Potomac and our cocktail hour was across the way in the garden. Our reception was in the barn and once it was all set up it looked fantastic. It's beyond words how beautiful and perfect Murray Hill was for our wedding. The pictures turned out amazing. And Peggy and John were easy to work with and without them we wouldn't have the wedding we wanted.
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
This is a gorgeous venue! We could not have picked a better place to hold our wedding. The whole experience was really wonderful. The owners and staff are absolutely professional but are also incredibly warm and family-like. The grounds are well kept and beautiful, as is the house. There are a ton of ways to use the property, but I highly recommend how we did it: ceremony overlooking the river by the house, cocktail hour next to the pool and then reception in the barn. I absolutely recommend this venue!
Wedding: 06/29/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Murray Hill is a beautiful site for a wedding or any event overlooking the Potomac River. Working with Peggy and John at Murray Hill was wonderful. They were very responsive to questions and willing to work with us. The site has many options for the wedding and reception. We had the ceremony overlooking the river next to the house and the reception in the barn. The site is so beautiful that we did not need decorations for the ceremony site only chairs for guests to sit. Similar the barn setting was very natural and required few decorations. I would highly recommend Murray Hill and Peggy for a perfect wedding location.
Wedding: 06/08/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Maddison 6 Reviews
Murray Hill provided the perfect backdrop for the wedding we envisioned: a big Italian dinner party in the Virginia countryside. Not only are the views over the Potomac just gorgeous, but so is the house, the barn, the gardens, the pool, the flowers....The Rusts have done an immaculate job at making their estate one of the most beautiful wedding venues around. Not only was Murray Hill the perfect venue to have our wedding, but the Rusts were really great to work with and made sure that we had no unanswered questions or concerns during the planning process. We chose to have our wedding ceremony on the lawn outside the house, a cocktail hour in the gardens near the pool and then parade to the barn for dinner and dancing. Our guests just loved the progression place to place and enjoyed seeing all of Murray Hill's wonderful property. Really, Murray Hill is the perfect place to have an elegant outdoor wedding with lots of charm. Thank you Rust family for providing such a lovely place for us to host our wedding!
Wedding: 05/18/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Eleanor 5 Reviews
This is a private estate which is open for weddings on the weekend. It was honestly a pleasure to work with the owners. They were excited about the wedding and wanted to make sure their house and property worked for the event. The were flexible and very accommodating. They even moved horses into a nearby field because I wanted there to be some pictures of them. They were there whenever we went buy to view the estate prior to the wedding and they were very helpful. They also provided recommendations based off of past experiences with all their numerous weddings. All of my vendors also loved working with them because they are so flexible and helpful. I am really glad that we found this gem. Their website does not give them justice. I would see the place in person.
Wedding: 05/04/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5
Murray Hill is a breathtaking property situated on a bluff on the Potomac River. We had our ceremony and cocktail hour on the bluff outside and the reception in the recently restored barn, absolutely beautiful. A few cons, my bridal suite had to be cleared out immediately after the ceremony which was stressful to me and my bridal party, I was told sparklers were a no no except for the bridal party at the reception while we were doing the final walk through after I had spent $ (for 80 people) on sparklers/personalized matches and planning the sparkler send off, they were also mysteriously not put out for the reception so now I have 80 matchbooks that Im not sure what to do with. I also had to rent a Don John in additon to 1 bathroom in the barn which was totally fine (I had gone over with the venue manager that women would use the indoor bathroom and men would use the Don John) but the venue manager was ushering women standing in line for the indoor bathroom to the use the Don John outside. And finally one of my guests fell and scraped her knee leaving the barn because the lights had been turned off outside for some reason. Overall there were no major snafus and I am satisfied with the experience.
Wedding: 09/15/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This is an unbelievably beautiful venue. My daughter wanted to have a barn wedding and this was the perfect choice. I cannot recommend it enough. The owners were delightful and very easy to work with, jumping in to help wherever they thought it was needed. Between the backyard overlooking the Potomac River, the barn, the pool and the rest of the beautiful property you will not find a better place. I can hardly wait to see the pictures taken at this lovely spot.
Wedding: 09/08/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.0
  • Responsiveness:  1.5
  • Professionalism:  2.5
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
Murray Hill is a beautiful property. A gorgeous view of the river with a great barn and a pretty pool area. Just perfect for an outdoor wedding.

I have to say that I found working with Peggy, the owner, less than pleasant at times and plain confusing at others. I found that she did not answer questions directly, didn't seem to have set prices for the different areas of the property (perhaps it was just her tone, but it literally sounded like she was making something up when quoting us a price), and made us, our families, and wedding party feel like we were intruding in her home when we had paid lots of money to rent the venue. It was not easy to plan a mostly DIY wedding with her rigidity and not giving straight answers much of the time.

Unfortunately we also didn't find her to be a gracious host on our wedding day - we asked to borrow an iron for my dress and if she had any plastic cups that we could use for champagne in the bridal suite (it would be fine if she didn't we were just asking) and she gave my friends and sisters a hard time about both. She also placed a sign on the bed in the bridal suite that read, "please do not sit on the bed," which i just found ridiculous.

I did wish during much of the time that I spent planning that she was easier to work with and more helpful, but mostly I think that for the price, it would be nice if wedding coordinating services were included or offered - or that SOMETHING else was offered besides literally just the space (with strict time rules at that).

Despite all of this, the beauty of Murray Hill allowed us to host beautiful & memorable celebration for our guests. I would recommend MH because of this but with the added cautionary tale.
Wedding: 05/26/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding reception was the first event in Murray Hill's barn and it was BEAUTIFUL. Our guests are still talking about how lovely the setting was. We only had 40 people (you could easily fit more) but the space felt like just the right size -- a testament to Peggy's decorating expertise. And, the fenced field next to the barn's open wall was perfect for the kids to run around in. Peggy also is extremely pleasant to work with. We appreciate all that she did and I would not hesitate to recommend her -- and Murray Hill -- to any bride.
Wedding: 05/05/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Murray Hill is a gorgeous property over-looking the potomac river. For our wedding we had our cocktail hour at this location and a tent/seating area by the pool. With 160 guests this location was able to easy cater to our needs as a group.

Peggy Rust handled the coordination of the venue, flowers and transportation. She did a fantastic job with all three of the above.

Our only issues were that the original quote ended up being doubled, the flowers were purchased without a contract, and sometimes it felt like we were catering her instead of the other way around. In the end the wedding was perfect and I wouldn't have gone with another vendor. They also provided us free transportation from the church to their property in their decorated cadillac which was perfect!

Thanks!
-Tim
Wedding: 06/25/2011
Services Used: Flowers, Transportation, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Murray Hill is a gorgeous location! Open spaces, an elegant stone home and beautiful views overlooking the Potomac River. Peggy and John were great to work with and we thoroughly enjoyed getting to know both of them. Peggy was so helpful and welcomed us to her home graciously.

Peggy also did all the flower arrangements and staged the flowers and many of the decorations. It was a stunning display! Murray Hill is a wonderful venue for your wedding or special event. You will not be disappointed!!
Wedding: 10/30/2010
Services Used: Flowers, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 703-777-1139
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0