Lorien Hotel & Spa
Stylish Weddings in Old Town Alexandria
    27 Reviews
1600 King Street
Alexandria, VA 22304  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 100
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (27)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Lorien provided the most amazing setting for both my ceremony and reception! If you are having a more intimate-sized wedding you can't go wrong here. The rooftop terrace was lovely for the ceremony (such a nice option, and luckily the weather cooperated with us) and the reception spaces are beautiful. Kristin, the hotel coordinator/catering manager, is SO helpful. She answered my numerous emails quickly, and worked with me to make sure everything went the way we had planned. She was also there on the day of to make sure everything is running smoothly and on schedule, which was a plus for me since I didn't hire an outside wedding planner. The rest of the staff are great too! Also, the food is AMAZING. I can't recommend the Lorien enough.
Wedding: 08/16/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wedding was this past Saturday, June 7th, and I can't say enough good things about the Lorien Hotel and its Director of Catering, Kristin Alley. Kristin was instrumental in making sure that our day went perfectly and that we never had a single concern. She is very friendly and very professional. She was so considerate in leaving us wonderful notes in our room along with food to make sure we had something to eat. We thought our whole cake was going to be needed to feed our guests, but we ended up not touching the top layer and so she put that in our room to take home with us. She even had to run an errand for us (unity candle mishap) in the middle of our wedding. So thoughtful! I would gladly work with her again if I needed to host another big event. Brabo catered the food and everyone raved about how good everything tasted. The hotel staff was also amazing. Dainte (spelling?) was such a pleasure with making sure we were happy through the reception and that we always had a full glass. :) Shane "Showtime" was wonderful with taking care of us throughout the weekend, especially the day after our wedding when he packed up our car for us. We are certain that wouldn't happen at just any hotel. Thank you again, Kristin and the Lorien Staff!!
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our overall experience with the Lorien in Alexandria was fantastic! Kristin was great at contacting us about updates and developments throughout the wedding process, and once we were able to figure out what our vision was for the wedding, Kristin did a fantastic job creating exactly what we wanted. Our wedding required a lot of detail as we tried to be creative throughout the process. We thought that breaking out of a "traditional" wedding would make the process difficult, but it proved to be something that we absolutely enjoyed! Kristin was great at making sure communication was open, so we never felt like we didn't know exactly what was going on. She did a great job in communicating with our vendors, as promised, and was able to work out smaller details that we had not thought about. On the day of the wedding, unexpected things popped up, but Kristin was able to accommodate and adjust as the day went on without breaking a sweat. The entire staff at the Lorien was so friendly and attentive to us and the guests throughout the whole day, and everything was set up beautifully and to our specifications. The catering done through Brabo was fantastic, and many of our guests told us it was the best food they have had at a wedding. We are so thankful to the Lorien and Kristin for working with us through the entire process and helping to create the perfect wedding day!
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
We held our wedding at the Lorien in April. Our wedding had about 50 guests. For smaller weddings such as ours, we can't imagine a much better location than the Lorien. We held the ceremony on the Freedom Terrace, our cocktail hour in the Library and the Independence room, and the reception in the Liberty room. Everything was done just as we requested. Kristin, the wedding specialist, was easy to work with and very attentive throughout the night. Kristen allowed us to modify the standard wedding package in several ways at no additional cost. The staff was amazing. We received numerous compliments from guests about how the staff was constantly on top of everything and very responsive to special requests. The food, prepared by the staff at BRABO, was outstanding. The total cost was less than we were quoted at several other places. Overall, we have no complaints, and feel that the Lorien did a great job with each portion of the night. We enthusiastically recommend the Lorien as a spot for smaller weddings.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had an intimate wedding (50 guests) at the Lorien in April 2014. Kristin Alley was our event coordinator and she was a DREAM! I loved working with her. It's difficult to explain in one review how amazing our experience with Kristin was. She was kind, attentive, helpful, creative, down-to-earth, realistic and my questions/concerns (no matter how silly) never went unanswered. I didn't have a wedding planner, but I felt like I didn't even need one with Kristin's help. Our event went off without any problems. My guests were blown away by the food and venue. Kristin helped us with every detail (menu, timeline, pricing, d├ęcor, etc). Also, We really needed a place that could give us everything we wanted within a very tight budget. I was concerned that the Lorien might have been to pricy for our budget... but once again, with Kristin's help, we were able to have everything we wanted. We had the ceremony, cocktail hour and sit down dinner for a fraction of what I thought it would be. Our favorite dishes were the carrot-ginger soup (best ever!) and brabo chicken. To be honest everything we ate was phenomenal. My guests can't stop talking about how perfect our wedding was. I am so thankful to the Lorien, the exceptional staff and especially Kristin for making our wedding everything we wanted and more. If I could do it all over again I would do everything the exact same way.

*Note: The front desk, spa and restaurant staff were really adorable and friendly. Throughout our stay everyone always had a smile on their face and they were a pleasure to be around. Not to mention they have a complimentary wine hour in the lobby every night, brilliant to say the least.
Wedding: 04/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
The director of catering, Kristin, is absolutely wonderful! She is easy to work with, always organized, professional and friendly, and deals with every and any near-crisis with total ease and confidence. I cannot imagine how anyone could do this job any better than Kristin does it. If I had to plan 100 weddings, I would choose her to be on my team every time!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our wedding at the Lorien two weeks ago. The hotel is attached to an amazing restaurant, Brabo, that caters Lorien weddings. Our wedding was amazing and I know a lot of that is due to the staff at the Lorien & Brabo. We had our ceremony on the Presidential Suite terrace. The view of Old Town was lovely and having the beautiful blue sky in the background of our photographs is awesome. The wedding coordinator, Christina, and catering manager, Nikki, were amazing. They were able to keep my calm and answered all of my questions and never once seemed annoyed with my numerous emails. On the day of the wedding, Diante made sure everything ran smoothly and checked in with my husband and I throughout the reception to make sure we were taken care of. Every person we interacted with at the hotel was professional, courteous, and fantastic. I can't express enough what a great group of folks this is to work with. It really makes a difference on your wedding day to know there are so many great people there to make sure things run smoothly. I had an 11 page document with images and directions on how I wanted everything set up for the cocktail hour and reception. All of these were executed perfectly by the staff. I asked if they could fold the dinner napkins like pinwheels, since there were pinwheels throughout my decor, and they did! It was a nice touch for the table settings. There were so many details that I excruciatingly planned out and it was so amazing to see it all executed perfectly by the staff. It was a load off of my shoulders and exemplifies the quality of service you can expect at the Lorien. The food was AWESOME. I was told by several of our guests how wonderful the food was and that it was the best food they'd ever had at a wedding. If you are a foodie, then you should definitely consider Brabo as your caterer. The Lorien Hotel & Spa & Brabo Restaurant: AMAZING STAFF, AMAZING SERVICE, AMAZING FOOD. You won't regret it.
Wedding: 09/01/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Lorien Hotel is a perfect location for a small wedding, especially if you want the ceremony in the same location. We had about 70 people at our wedding and the size of the venue was perfect. Our ceremony was up on a suite balcony. It was great to have 4 rooms to move about for cocktail hour, dinner, and drinks and dancing. The fire pit was on in the courtyard and the overall decor is wonderful for great photographs. The food was delicious - it has been almost 6 months and guests still rave about the pork shank and the chicken entrees. Christina was our wedding planner and she handled everything flawlessly. She was always quick to answer our questions or to modify details getting closer to the wedding day. On the day of, we weren't sure when the flowers were arriving, and Christina got that resolved very quickly. It was a beautiful day without any hiccups and I know it's because of the great work by Christina and the entire staff at the Lorien Hotel.
Wedding: 04/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This hotel is special to my husband and I because we often dine at Brabo restaurant on birthdays and anniversaries and we stayed at the Lorien Hotel & Spa the night my husband and I got engaged. I knew this would be the perfect spot to host a small, intimate wedding reception. I worked with Christina Hardin and she is absolutely amazing and made planning a wedding a breeze! The entire hotel staff treated us like royalty and all of our guests said it was the best wedding they have ever been too (best food too)!! I could not have envised a more perfect wedding. Thank you Lorien Hotel and Christina!
Wedding: 03/03/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Rehva 1 Reviews
The entire staff at The Lorien Hotel provides exceptional customer. The event staff gives new meaning to the word, patient. They worked tirelessly to plan The Day that was more perfect than I could have ever dreamed. Not only will I always remember the day, I will always be grateful to the staff.
Wedding: 08/12/2012
Services Used: Catering, Favors & Gifts, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Because of a storm, we lost power in our original wedding venue. We had 5 hours to plan a new wedding at the Lorien. The staff was amazing, flexible, and responsive. Because of their help we had a wonderful wedding at a beautiful venue. I would certainly recommend them to any bride!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Lorien Hotel hosted both my ceremony and reception for my wedding and it was absolutely the most perfect venue! The hotel itself is very modern and chic and the staff was awesome. Christina the event coordinator was such a pleasure to work with and was always available to answer all my question all the way up to the wedding day and was also there in person for the day of the wedding. The food served here was also amazing, many of our guests commented at how good the food was. We really loved everything about this hotel and the staff and are so happy we choose this venue for our special day!
Wedding: 05/12/2012
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Amazing place. Great wedding coordinators! Amazing food! Couldn't be happier!
Wedding: 05/05/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I used the Lorien Hotel & Spa for my reception and accommodations for guests. The event planners were incredibly helpful, flexible and accommodating. The hotel staff was delightful and all of our guests were very pleased with their experience. The food was excellent, and all was delivered at a very reasonable price. I would do it all again at the Lorien and will definitely consider them for events in the future.
Wedding: 12/10/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our ceremony, cocktail hour and reception at the Lorien. It is the perfect venue for a intimate, relaxed, elegant wedding. The package they offer includes the space, food, wedding cake, a suite for the wedding night, and is a great value. Christina was very helpful, responsive and had good suggestions for different aspects of the ceremony and reception. Some of our guests had a problem making a room reservation at our room block rate, and when I contacted Christina she immediately resolved the situation. The staff was also very friendly, helpful and responsive. Joanne Decoux, the hotel's pastry chef, offered several different flavors and options for the presentation of the cake, which we appreciated. The cake, and all of the food, was delicious. It was fun working with them, and I'd definitely consider using them for other events. You can't go wrong with the Lorien.
Wedding: 11/11/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Lorien's wedding package was a fantastic value. We decided to have all our events at the Lorien, and for our very small wedding of only 25 people the Lorien was the perfect size! None of the rooms felt "too empty." Everyone at the wedding told me how much they enjoyed the food, and I have to say the food was the best I've ever eaten at the wedding. I'm not one for "details," but Christina, the event planner made sure she had me covered well in advance of the wedding. I'm sure it was her behind the scenes expertise that made the evening go like clockwork. The hotel is already so beautifully decorated we barely had to add a thing, and the hotel's spaces really lend themselves to creative and beautiful photography. I have to give a special mention to the staff, who were uniformly very pleasant and supremely helpful. They even helped us return my husband's tuxedo when we realized that the tuxedo rental place was closed the day we had intended to return it (before taking off on our honeymoon). The service went above and beyond, and made my wedding an absolutely low-stress affair. My girlfriends all commented how calm and collected I was, and I think it was totally because I knew that Christina and the Lorien staff had everything taken care of.
Wedding: 01/16/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 571-482-3308
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0