Lorien Hotel & Spa
Stylish Weddings in Old Town Alexandria
    20 Reviews
1600 King Street
Alexandria, VA 22304  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party...
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 100
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (20)   Photos   Deals   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
The director of catering, Kristin, is absolutely wonderful! She is easy to work with, always organized, professional and friendly, and deals with every and any near-crisis with total ease and confidence. I cannot imagine how anyone could do this job any better than Kristin does it. If I had to plan 100 weddings, I would choose her to be on my team every time!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our wedding at the Lorien two weeks ago. The hotel is attached to an amazing restaurant, Brabo, that caters Lorien weddings. Our wedding was amazing and I know a lot of that is due to the staff at the Lorien & Brabo. We had our ceremony on the Presidential Suite terrace. The view of Old Town was lovely and having the beautiful blue sky in the background of our photographs is awesome. The wedding coordinator, Christina, and catering manager, Nikki, were amazing. They were able to keep my calm and answered all of my questions and never once seemed annoyed with my numerous emails. On the day of the wedding, Diante made sure everything ran smoothly and checked in with my husband and I throughout the reception to make sure we were taken care of. Every person we interacted with at the hotel was professional, courteous, and fantastic. I can't express enough what a great group of folks this is to work with. It really makes a difference on your wedding day to know there are so many great people there to make sure things run smoothly. I had an 11 page document with images and directions on how I wanted everything set up for the cocktail hour and reception. All of these were executed perfectly by the staff. I asked if they could fold the dinner napkins like pinwheels, since there were pinwheels throughout my decor, and they did! It was a nice touch for the table settings. There were so many details that I excruciatingly planned out and it was so amazing to see it all executed perfectly by the staff. It was a load off of my shoulders and exemplifies the quality of service you can expect at the Lorien. The food was AWESOME. I was told by several of our guests how wonderful the food was and that it was the best food they'd ever had at a wedding. If you are a foodie, then you should definitely consider Brabo as your caterer. The Lorien Hotel & Spa & Brabo Restaurant: AMAZING STAFF, AMAZING SERVICE, AMAZING FOOD. You won't regret it.
Wedding: 09/01/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Lorien Hotel is a perfect location for a small wedding, especially if you want the ceremony in the same location. We had about 70 people at our wedding and the size of the venue was perfect. Our ceremony was up on a suite balcony. It was great to have 4 rooms to move about for cocktail hour, dinner, and drinks and dancing. The fire pit was on in the courtyard and the overall decor is wonderful for great photographs. The food was delicious - it has been almost 6 months and guests still rave about the pork shank and the chicken entrees. Christina was our wedding planner and she handled everything flawlessly. She was always quick to answer our questions or to modify details getting closer to the wedding day. On the day of, we weren't sure when the flowers were arriving, and Christina got that resolved very quickly. It was a beautiful day without any hiccups and I know it's because of the great work by Christina and the entire staff at the Lorien Hotel.
Wedding: 04/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This hotel is special to my husband and I because we often dine at Brabo restaurant on birthdays and anniversaries and we stayed at the Lorien Hotel & Spa the night my husband and I got engaged. I knew this would be the perfect spot to host a small, intimate wedding reception. I worked with Christina Hardin and she is absolutely amazing and made planning a wedding a breeze! The entire hotel staff treated us like royalty and all of our guests said it was the best wedding they have ever been too (best food too)!! I could not have envised a more perfect wedding. Thank you Lorien Hotel and Christina!
Wedding: 03/03/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Rehva 1 Reviews
The entire staff at The Lorien Hotel provides exceptional customer. The event staff gives new meaning to the word, patient. They worked tirelessly to plan The Day that was more perfect than I could have ever dreamed. Not only will I always remember the day, I will always be grateful to the staff.
Wedding: 08/12/2012
Services Used: Catering, Favors & Gifts, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Because of a storm, we lost power in our original wedding venue. We had 5 hours to plan a new wedding at the Lorien. The staff was amazing, flexible, and responsive. Because of their help we had a wonderful wedding at a beautiful venue. I would certainly recommend them to any bride!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Lorien Hotel hosted both my ceremony and reception for my wedding and it was absolutely the most perfect venue! The hotel itself is very modern and chic and the staff was awesome. Christina the event coordinator was such a pleasure to work with and was always available to answer all my question all the way up to the wedding day and was also there in person for the day of the wedding. The food served here was also amazing, many of our guests commented at how good the food was. We really loved everything about this hotel and the staff and are so happy we choose this venue for our special day!
Wedding: 05/12/2012
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Amazing place. Great wedding coordinators! Amazing food! Couldn't be happier!
Wedding: 05/05/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I used the Lorien Hotel & Spa for my reception and accommodations for guests. The event planners were incredibly helpful, flexible and accommodating. The hotel staff was delightful and all of our guests were very pleased with their experience. The food was excellent, and all was delivered at a very reasonable price. I would do it all again at the Lorien and will definitely consider them for events in the future.
Wedding: 12/10/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our ceremony, cocktail hour and reception at the Lorien. It is the perfect venue for a intimate, relaxed, elegant wedding. The package they offer includes the space, food, wedding cake, a suite for the wedding night, and is a great value. Christina was very helpful, responsive and had good suggestions for different aspects of the ceremony and reception. Some of our guests had a problem making a room reservation at our room block rate, and when I contacted Christina she immediately resolved the situation. The staff was also very friendly, helpful and responsive. Joanne Decoux, the hotel's pastry chef, offered several different flavors and options for the presentation of the cake, which we appreciated. The cake, and all of the food, was delicious. It was fun working with them, and I'd definitely consider using them for other events. You can't go wrong with the Lorien.
Wedding: 11/11/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Lorien's wedding package was a fantastic value. We decided to have all our events at the Lorien, and for our very small wedding of only 25 people the Lorien was the perfect size! None of the rooms felt "too empty." Everyone at the wedding told me how much they enjoyed the food, and I have to say the food was the best I've ever eaten at the wedding. I'm not one for "details," but Christina, the event planner made sure she had me covered well in advance of the wedding. I'm sure it was her behind the scenes expertise that made the evening go like clockwork. The hotel is already so beautifully decorated we barely had to add a thing, and the hotel's spaces really lend themselves to creative and beautiful photography. I have to give a special mention to the staff, who were uniformly very pleasant and supremely helpful. They even helped us return my husband's tuxedo when we realized that the tuxedo rental place was closed the day we had intended to return it (before taking off on our honeymoon). The service went above and beyond, and made my wedding an absolutely low-stress affair. My girlfriends all commented how calm and collected I was, and I think it was totally because I knew that Christina and the Lorien staff had everything taken care of.
Wedding: 01/16/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The cake was exactly how I had envisioned it thanks to pastry chef Kate Baltran. She worked with us on every last detail ensuring it was what we wanted. It was helpful to have the cake tasting event, although it was only one week before our wedding. Wish it had been earlier to ease the stress during the planning process.
Wedding: 06/12/2010
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Although I initially wanted a funky, unusual type of venue like a warehouse or loft space, I'm glad I decided on the Lorien, a beautiful new boutique hotel by Kimpton. It's romantic, modern with traditional touches and calming. The wedding package offered is extraordinarily comprehensive and all of the catering came from Brabo, a Robert Wiedemeier restaurant connected to the hotel. We were hoping for some decent wedding food, but were blown away by the quality of each course - especially the vegetarian entree. In addition, a wedding cake was included in the package and I couldn't believe how smooth and luscious it tasted. I felt lucky to be so taken care of and to be assisted by such friendly staff. Jeana was also a dream to work with. I'd recommend this as a wedding location in a heartbeat.
Wedding: 11/28/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Lorien Hotel is the perfect venue for a smaller wedding. Our wedding was 86 people and we originally thought we would want to do a historic house or museum but once we started investigating it was going to be way too much work for us managing multiple vendors. By chance we ran across the Lorien Hotel after we had dismissed most hotels because we didn't want a huge ballroom for a small wedding. We were so incredibly happy we ended up at the Lorien! The food was out of this world and we received so many complements on it including that it was the best wedding food they ever had from multiple people. I loved that the cake was included since I didn't care that much about it. In the end the cake was beautiful and actually tasted good! The feel of the hotel was modern and classy and our pictures are beautiful. Everyone at the hotel was so accommodating and our guests all felt very well taken care of. The location in Old Town was great because it was close to the metro and people could either walk or take the trolley to the heart of Old Town. I can't say enough good things about this venue for smaller weddings!
Wedding: 09/10/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Fabulous food and fantastic service

We were thrilled when we found the Lorien Hotel & Spa. After a few conversations and meetings with their catering team, we knew it was the spot for us. We were a good sized wedding for the venue at 77 and the set up was impressive yet intimate. What's more the still-new hotel had beautiful rooms at incredibly reasonable prices for our out of town guests. We got all the benefits of a hotel wedding without feeling like we'd selected the Hilton. The food truly sealed the deal though--the three course menu, which included our cake--was divine. No pre-ordering or pre-prep here! Our guests ordered and were served their meals when they sat down for dinner. It took a bit longer the pre-prep but the results were well worth it. Finally the staff was incredibly courteous and responsive to our needs from the catering manager to the pastry chef to our on-site coordinator, no detail was too small for their attention and they all got it just right!
Wedding: 11/13/2010
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our ceremony and reception at the Lorien and could not have been happier! As one of the other reviewers said, several guests said that ours was the best wedding and reception they had ever been to! The staff was extremely professional and the service was outstanding. We had a dessert only reception for about 75 people that flowed through the 3 front rooms. We met with the bartender, Kelly, to identify a signature drink (which was a big hit), and Kate Baltren to determine the selection of desserts that we wanted (many of which were not on the list they gave us). The night before the wedding, we decided to change the layout of the room, and the staff was very flexible with that last-minute change! We had our ceremony in Independence Rooms A and B, which have mirrors on either end of the room. Several guests commented on how much they like having the mirrors up-front because they could see our faces throughout the ceremony. Neat! A big plus - the hotel is so classy that it required very little in the way of additional decorations. Frankly, it saved us a lot of money to have our wedding and reception at the Lorien! We cannot recommend the Lorien highly enough for an interesting and fun ceremony and reception.
Wedding: 10/02/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 571-482-3308
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0